20 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

cloudwan
post Dec 20 2010, 04:04 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 20 2010, 01:20 PM)
oic...iam doing it now... huhu  icon_rolleyes.gif  thx bro  notworthy.gif

Added on December 20, 2010, 1:21 pm

not old lah bro...just a bit more matured and vintage  laugh.gif
Old & vintage? Then should me, ah_khoo & bro verdict be put in a glass cabinet as perhiasan then? Ya lor coz we are old & vintage sweat.gif sweat.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

BTW how's ur ram testing go? Whats ur highest oc on that ram meh? Got any SS yet? Prime 1 hour sudahlah bro, no need prime for a day lor laugh.gif tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 20 2010, 05:04 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Dec 20 2010, 04:54 PM)
old and berjanggut - lol

how's the ripjaws ler.. sibuk tanya org aje..
Have to wait for my RMA hdd bro, yesterday kasi trial run windows hampir corrupt sweat.gif sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 21 2010, 11:00 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 20 2010, 10:58 PM)
meh... am i that old... there was a buyer of mine thought that i still studyin u know....  :/w  :/P
abg otromen miss his gu too much until treatin psc sticks like bbse... hence d corrupted os...  :/lol:
busy explorin somethin huh?  :/hehe:

that is what kept me busy for d whole w.end...  :/)

but still, d cable management is really sucks to d max thx 2 d fan controllers...  :/x

Aiyoyo unker, not missing my gu that much, just being a dumbo on ram chippies, always thinking every chip the same sweat.gif laugh.gif
U unker really almost make me have a heart attack, i thought u change another case again apparently like the others said the pic is inverted.. really looks like a raven or FT02 there laugh.gif

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 21 2010, 02:01 AM)
Hi all, I am back with AMD machine

CPU: Athlon II X3 440 (Unlocked to Phenom II X4 B40  blush.gif )
Motherboard: Asus M4A88T-M/USB3
RAM: Mushkin Essential 4GB

It seems to be stable for 5 minutes with Prime95, on blend test, and 15 minutes in-place FFT.

Thanks for the recommendation, especially to @cloudwan

Hmm, what to do now? beside running torture test? Thank you.

Edit: Decided to go with X3 440 because it just RM218, Sempron 140 was RM98?. 4 core at RM218 is a steal for me.
Hik hik hik, bro u making me blush.gif don't think i help u in anything coz u already made the decision what.. tongue.gif
Yup the x3 is really a bang for the buck, FYI tho the sempron 140 can also unlock, ask kunta there, so 2 cores for rm98 is ok also laugh.gif
Try oc lah a bit la bro, i think athlon II have no prob oc'ing up to 3.5ghz tho it depends on ur unlock core also hmm.gif

BTW guys i'm sorry but starting today i may face some difficulties in replying any PM or replying here at night.. No internet connection sweat.gif
My adsl modem went kabooom yesterday bcoz of lightning, luckily i think my mobo & router is fine sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 21 2010, 04:12 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 21 2010, 01:02 PM)
Sorry to hear that. Did you install those Belkin surge protector?

Yeah, Sempron 140 for a dual core also worth it. But I think better spend another 100MYR or so. Just in case wink.gif.

What the usual stability test , Prime 95, OCCT? any others. Thanks.
Hahahaha its ok bro just came back from home, kudos to TM for their prompt action in checking my net problem.. thumbup.gif
Apparently my modem all ok, kudos to my APC Surgeprotector it stop the lightning dead on its track but the consequences is that i need to look for a new surgeprotector sweat.gif
U can forget about belkin surgeprotector bro, from what i read got a lot of complaints from forumer's that it doesn't even work laugh.gif

I agree with u, sempron is gud but still if i had the fund i'd go with the X3 too smile.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 21 2010, 09:45 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 21 2010, 09:30 PM)
Hi guys,
New to this overclocking thing, my current problem atm, my current rig as below:
Processor : AMD Phenom™ II X4 965 3.40GHz black edition C3 Deneb
Motherboard : GA-880GMA-UD2H
Ram : Mushkin PC1600 DDR3 2GB X 2 Silverline
Graphic card : ASUS ENGTX460 1GB GDDR5 TOP
PSU : CoolerMaster GX 650W
Heatsink : Hyper 212 Plus

Before i upgraded by video card to GeForce and my heatsink, i managed to OC my CPU to 3.9Ghz by changing the multiplier only.And after changed both parts, i go back to the 3.9Ghz again and the bsod came up everytime when i playing games or by doing nothing.

I tried everything by upping the vcore to 1.5v and change the multiplier to 20x(@ 4.0ghz) at normal HT link and default NB frequency, running okay around 1 hour and then baam bsod came out.

Tried to downclock the ram to 1333 and still same problem.
Any suggestion on how to improve my rig to reach around 3.8-4.0 range?

Thanks for reading. smile.gif
Whats ur cpu temp b4 BSOD? Maybe its overheating prob? hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 21 2010, 10:32 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 21 2010, 09:54 PM)
the temp if im not mistaken around 35-40c after upping it up to 4.0ghz.
i'm not sure it's a overheating problem because b4 this im using old heatsink
and it running perfectly on 3.9ghz range.I'm also baffled, i've already re-check the heatsink it's properly mounted and
all the fans running okay.

Right now im running with default clock speed 3.4ghz.What u guys should suggest, play around CPU NB Freq/and multiplier more?

@ kuntakaw: yeah its weird, i dunno why changing gc n heatsink would be a problem. hmmm so frustating lol

#Updated with SS
Right now running @ 3.8ghz with 2200 NB Freq and vcore 1.475v, just now tried with 1.450v but windows wont load.
Mind giving us the full setting u use?
What ur cpu-nb volt? Maybe play with mix of vcore & cpu-nb@imc volt to turn down the amount of volt u need to keep it stable at that speed..

Beside that, the mobo u choose is a 4+1 phase design, that may play into hand why u can't get stable easily, try putting an active cooling solution (eg: fan) to the mobo pwm's to keep it cool.. hmm.gif
U don't want that mobo to die prematurely sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 21 2010, 11:49 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:45 PM)
Hi there all,

new forumer here  icon_rolleyes.gif

im on AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE mobo is Gigabyte 890PA-UD3H..

i did try to test out by configuring the BIOS 1st..

setting the processor from 3.6GHz to 3.8GHz

the problem is when i'm on windows & running the CoreTemp,
CoreTemp just displaying 0 celcius for all core...

what went wrong? what step that i missed out?  rclxub.gif

Thanx in advance
Were u on a different cpu b4 this? If yes try clearing ur cmos using the clear cmos button 1st.. Try see if that work smile.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:12 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Dec 22 2010, 12:01 AM)
nope.. this is the new rig...

when im reverting back to previous configuration in the BIOS
the coreTemp temperature displayed normally...  hmm.gif

in the meantime i'll try to google out what is the main problem...
try to find out the solution...

. i just want to make sure the temp is ok 1st & then
i try to proceed OC by test it out using Prime95..
Well got a forumer faced this prob b4, he was just upgrading his rig from a Athlon II to a Phenom II and he faced this prob..
Apparently the when he change his cpu, its like his mobo was still carrying bits and pieces info of his old cpu, thats why it reported the 0c temp..
A clear cmos later solves it for him smile.gif Maybe the shop u purchase the mobo had previously tested the mobo with a different cpu, hence the residue info in bios hmm.gif
Just my 2 cents ah smile.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:51 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 12:40 AM)
ermmm... imo u should get a mid range board like 870/880/890g instead of goin 790fx. not sayin 790fx aint gud (see how well bro verdict doin w his gd70) but upgradin from 790fx ddr2 to 790fx ddr3 just lack d... ummppphhh... ram oc is slightly easier on 8xx series too (if u get d right board lah)... my 2 cents bro...  wink.gif
Last time they were doing a clearance sales on the MSI 790FX IIANM, it was around RM3xx only hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 10:57 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 10:34 AM)
i think i tried increasing the NB volt, my default setup is 1.2v for the NB.
Last night i tried increase my NB Freq from 2000 to 2200 and the windows cannot load lol...
How much increment did you put on your NB volt? hmm maybe i should try increasing the NB volt and the vcore also..
So frustrating, the bsod is really getting on my nerves lol..

@ bro cloud: the bsod that i kept getting much the same as when i tried to oc it with my previous g.card and old heatsink.
prolly i'm sure its not the g.card driver issue, cos i did uninstalled the Ati Radeon driver b4 i installed my Geforce in.
i afraid my cpu kong or something  sweat.gif
Please did u tried cooling down ur pwm's & mosfet's when u oc? Oc'ing ur 125W cpu with a 4+1 phase mobo does put quite a huge load on them.. hmm.gif
Last time i put a 80mm fan on top of my pwm area to keep it cool on a pwmsink'less mobo hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 11:38 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 11:17 AM)
q1. what was d previous gfx used?
q2. 3.9GHz setup which gave u bsod is d same (ram freq & timing, nb freq & all voltages) as previous setup?
q3. is there any frequent voltage fluctuation during full load?

For a start, u can try 240 * 15, divider @ 1333, timing @ 7-8-7/8-8-8, votl @ 1.65~1.7v, nb freq @ 2400, imc volt @ 1.25v. if evrything goes well, proceed with higher cpu multi.  :/)
mind not d coretemp coz even they're givin normal temp but infact those are inaccurate readin. i'll take cpu temp anytime for thuban coz d so called core temp are too good to be true. bios update mite help.  :/nod:
x nak msi...  :/P

joke aside, gd70 was & is still one hell of a board.  :/respect:

yeker bro, newbie2 nanti kuar 4.5GHz wprime result...  :/sweat:

go ahsos if u can afford bro, they did pretty well this time (8** series), other than d high price tag (CHIV) & vdrop/overvolt issue, i have no complaint bout 'em.  smile.gif
but yet ur doin great w/ ya bdbg... salute2...  :/respect:
Yeahhh tokan hardware suda keluar laugh.gif

Anyway athlonmax i really believe u can go lower volt at 3.8ghz, here's a SS of my old dumbo oc on my old 955:

I lost my old pic of how but we hang a small fan above this part of ur mobo, its our old way of doing things laugh.gif

cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 11:41 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 11:24 AM)
Well last time with 3.9ghz setting i ran prime95 once only and it was running okay(for me if playing games can last 2-3 days w/o any issue,consider
stable enuff for me hehe) but at the moment, when i ran Wow, for couple min it will become bsod.
Also at 4.0ghz setting, ran CoD Black Ops for 40 mins smoothly and then bsod.
I cant remember my original BIOS setting for the 3.9ghz setting cos when in installing my new heatsink and gc,my hdd suddenly cant detect.
So i reload back the default setting for the Bios and realize that i didnt note down the overclocking settings on it /silly me  vmad.gif
@ cloudwan: i didnt put any cooling on the pwm or mofset on my 3.9ghz setting.How to do that?

@ ah_khoo:
1)My previous gfx is Sapphire Toxic HD 4850 512mb.
2)I think it's the same settings as previous 3.9ghz, cos i accidentally reload back my BIOs settings to default.
3)I'm not sure about that, forgive my noobness smile.gif

u mean FSB 240 * 15 divider? I thought Black Edition doesnt need to adjust the FSB on it?
Even tho a black edition, the best way to oc a cpu is to play a combination of multi & fsb to get ur desired speed, how i miss using a BE wub.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:00 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 11:47 AM)
Is that a Gigabyte mobo u posting there? looks similar to my mobo hehe..

I think with stock vcore voltage is enuff to up to 3.8ghz, from the SS of yours u only increase the multiplier, exactly as my previous
setup hehe..
I will try again later when im back from work tonite.
Thanks for all the replies guys /love
Yup that was my old MA770T-UD3P, altho color the same but its phase is 8+2, more suitable to play2 with high TDP cpu.. wub.gif
That was my old oc, that time just wanna test my cpu, play2 with multi 1st, then play2 with other settings plak, kire noob oc tuh laugh.gif blush.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:24 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 12:11 PM)
hmm... from red to green... usually this spells trouble... if @ stock clock (cpu + ram + nb) still got problem most likely driver issue.  :/hmm:

voltage fluctation, as in +12v rail/vcore went up & down frequently especially on load. if this happen, it's d sign that psu lacks d punch i think. (otai pls correct me if i'm wrong)...  :/sweat:

yup, u can always play2 with htt (or better known as fsb) + multi in amd oc, multi oc alone is kinda boring + mite not able to fully maximize d potential of all component (cpu, ram + nb freq).  ;/)
ape tokan2 bro, my just a retirin noob...  :/(

commercial time...  :/P

Yup, read that the GX 650W has a few flukes in its performance, ripple etc.. sweat.gif

cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 01:06 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 22 2010, 12:37 PM)
d only solid cm psu i've ever used was i-green 600w, but that was at least years ago product.  :/sweat: i'm quite allergic whenever any manufacturers come out w/ gamer/gaming series for their products, to me it's more to gimmicks rather than being quality products (bar d gskills ripjaws > yes., i'm officially gskill fans_oldman tongue.gif )

Ya lor nowdays almost all manufacturer are quick to put the word gaming in their product, even Corsair are coming out with their GS PSU (Gaming series doh.gif)

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 12:49 PM)
Yup, read that the GX 650W has a few flukes in its performance, ripple etc.. :/sweat:
Issit? damn maybe that's the problem that i'm having atm?
should have make more research b4 buying, i thought CM product should be okay wan... :/x
I read about them from hardwaresecrets or was it johnnyguru, they are quite good website for reading bout PSU's.. hmm.gif
For the same price could have get Seasonic S12II 620W or M12II 620W hmm.gif

Don't be sad bro, ur not the only one tricked by the GX, i bought one for my friend too last time, i didn't read bout the review 1st b4 purchasing doh.gif doh.gif
Luckily my friend's rig is not that too crazy in oc, just mild oc only sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 22 2010, 02:48 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 22 2010, 02:28 PM)
hmm, I think I am going to stick with B40 stock, I tried "Test-Mode" overclocking mode, it increased everything to 215MHz, RAM at 700MHz, can play around windows stable > 1 hour, but I did Prime 95, upon it minimize to systray, I am unable to bring it back up

/offtopic: what can GPU that Seasonic S12II 520W support?

Can support Radeon 6850 (AMD web said 500W ) or GTX570 (Nvidia said minimum 550W :/( )?

Hmm, hmm, what should I increase performance (I mean decrease  ;/) ) gradually for RAM timing? Below is the Mushkin Essential 4gb.

Why play with mobo auto oc setting, i really don't trust these manufacturers settings, sometimes oc a bit also need to use so high volt doh.gif
Play with fsb 1st see how high ur cpu can go with stock volt, at the same time keep ur rams & httlink & cpu-nb at its nearest stock speed setting 1st..
When u know ur cpu wall do it pulak for ur ram, see how high it can go hmm.gif
Quite tedious but if u have the heart & time for it why not tongue.gif

I'd say with the Seasonic S12Ii 520W u could even power up a HD6950 ley tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 23 2010, 09:05 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 22 2010, 09:43 PM)
Ok, i've upped my FSB to 205 * 18.5 NB volt 1.24 vcore at 1.450 3.792Ghz speed
So far seems okay, but haven't test on WoW yet cos the server currently down atm.
Here's the SS below:

Will try to up a little bit more and see how it works.
[attachmentid=1953441][attachmentid=1953443]
When u say NB Volt u mean the IMC@CPU-NB Volt right? Don't mistaken the regular NB@Northbridge Volt coz IMO it got nothing to do with OC'ing ur cpu hmm.gif

QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Dec 23 2010, 03:44 AM)
Hey guys..

did try to solve the previous problem that i faced before...
(temp doesn't displayed in Core Temp)

some say it caused by the CPU Unlock is set to Enabled in the BIOS

i did try to test it out by disabling the CPU Unlock, now the temp is displayed..

for your info i've downloaded & use the AMD Overdrive tool.. and try to test it out..
here's the result:

what i did 1st is i set the CPU core multiplier a lil'bit higher

& then i'm running the Stability Test (AMD Overdrive) for 20 min...
if there's BSOD or system hang, i reboot pc, i then set the CPU Voltage a lil'bit higher
and redo again the previous configuration (previous max clock that caused BSOD or system hang)
and the re-run the Stability Test...

and that is the max i get.. for now...

just a question tho, is the Stability Test (that is provided also in the AMD Overdrive), is it reliable?

if everythin ok then i'll try to set it out (the max clock) on the BIOS...
AOD Stability test is a bit weak, try testing it with prime95, orthos or OCCT.. hmm.gif
And like fatalynx05 said thats kinda high cpu volt just for a mere 100mhz increase sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 23 2010, 10:26 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 23 2010, 09:32 AM)
prime is da best  flex.gif btw here some testing with my adata paired with kingston value  tongue.gif
[

Naise clock there bro, but why the mix of ram bro? hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 23 2010, 11:05 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 23 2010, 10:41 AM)
Opps i think regular NB volt cos at 1.26v, which one is the IMC@CPU-NB volt?
Lemme post the ss of the bios

#i've changed the NB voltage control to 1.26v, HT link standard at 2000mhz and CPU northbridge freq at 2000mhz also.
now running at 3.8ghz
[attachmentid=1954087]
Don't see that cpu-nb volt control there, have u tried pressing CTRL+F1 or is it F2 in the bios? Gigabyte has the habit of hiding bios options sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Dec 23 2010, 12:26 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Dec 23 2010, 12:02 PM)
i see, meaning if upgrade to  6 core wouldn't be much difference lah cos as i know,games more on using the clock speed from the cores.
meaning i'm on the max line of quad cores already,unless i change to X6 or converted to Intel  :/w
Talking of converting to Inhell is prohibited here vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(fatalynx05 @ Dec 23 2010, 12:07 PM)
yup... all senior using hexa just for fun ocing them and their wife give as present  :/lol: (except me its fall from the sky :/P ) example my old b50 proc still lead 1xx point in heaven benchies compare to x6 thats kinda special hahahah :/lol:

Added on December 23, 2010, 12:14 pmboth ram a nicely baked :/clap:

now for the main course  :/lol:
What wife, i got no wife, my s3x cor3s is what i got from selling my butt at lorong haji taib wooo laugh.gif tongue.gif

Naise run there bro, what makes it more sweeter is that u able to make all ur rams to play naise with each other wub.gif
U populated all ur ram slots somemore wub.gif

20 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:22 PM