Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

Gen-X
post Dec 2 2010, 07:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Dec 2 2010, 09:55 AM)
can u list down the places that offer 10% discount  ? why u cancel citibank clear cc ?
Aiyoh, cannot remember all the places lah at mostly shopped at departmental shop only at Takashimaya and OG (gives 8% discount card for tourist) only but one of them was Adidas outlet at Paragon where I did not get the 10% discount as no Citi card.

Cancelled my Citibank Clear Card because places I do spend my money don't give discount with Citi so seldom use it. Find AMEX, HSBC and CIMB/DA better than Citi for my case.

By the way, got sms from HSBC, got TagHeuer, Fendi & Dior watches sale up to 70% at 28th floor Central Plaza, Jln Sultan Ismail on 3-4th Dec10am to 4pm. HSBC card additional 10%.
Gen-X
post Dec 3 2010, 05:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Dec 3 2010, 10:17 AM)
My application for ocbc Ti using DA Plat was successful. In the form I even put my AnnualIncome below the requirement.
Well congrats, looks like OCBC not that "strict". I have read here that many people got rejected when applying for OCBC Titanum. Well guess it makes it kind of exclusive card sweat.gif

For those of you that got rejected, you would roughly have an idea why you got rejected e.g. have record of late payment for loans, or don't have adequate credit history for them to evaluate, over committed with housing plus car loan, total combined credit limit given by other banks higher than annual income etc. If you feel strongly that your application should have been approved by OCBC, then appeal to them stating reason(s) - make life easier for the processing officer to recommend to boss.

Gen-X
post Dec 4 2010, 08:31 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Dec 3 2010, 09:33 PM)
currently a holder of MBB visa petronas platinum.... annual spending on this card more than 120k
was surprise that mbb card centre called me n offer me to upgrade to world mastercard.....

of course i rejected, as 1k annual fee is too expensive smile.gif
with that kind of spending, almost all cards will waive your annual fees.

Just a note, if you do settle all outstanding payments in full and spend at merchants that accept AMEX, you should consider getting AMEX Plat CC where you get 2X, 5X and 10X reward points or next year if AMEX do extend Turbo Points Program (usually in March/April) get AMEX Charge Card and get minimum 3X reward points.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 4 2010, 08:32 AM
Gen-X
post Dec 4 2010, 06:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just had to make a phone call to HLB, DA, AMEX, UOB and HSBC to change my contact number but for Alliance case, I have to fill in a form which they can only fax or email to me on Monday. Alliance bank has to most primitive system and no 24 hours customer service.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 4 2010, 06:47 PM
Gen-X
post Dec 5 2010, 07:57 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 5 2010, 05:56 AM)
Amex (without MBB logo), on the other, has the highest admin fee on forex conversion for overseas transactions.
True AMEX has the highest Admin fees at 2.5% for overseas transactions but it does not necessary means you be paying more when comparing to foreign bank credit cards (i.e. HSBC). For CC issued by banks, on top of bank Admin Fees, I believe Visa and Mastercard also have some kind of charges. zenquix have confirmed that Allaince MC rate lower than Visa for Alliance. Forgot to get my wife to use her Alliance MC recently in SG to confirm.

Below is a table I did last year where you can note that AMEX rate can even be lower than HSBC. There was one AMEX transaction where the rate was even lower than DAVI and Alliance Visa.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_QhqTHNt6ma8/SvlV...Transaction.jpg

you have posted that SCB conversion rate is high, would be helpful if you can do transactions overseas using you AMEX and SCBVI for comparison purposes (small amount lah).
Gen-X
post Dec 5 2010, 06:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Dec 5 2010, 05:59 PM)
How about maybank visa/master admin fees?
should be more or less the same I would guess. But good question. Since both MBB's non-generic Plat Visa and MC have the same benefit for overseas spending i.e. 2X points, it would be good to know if there's a difference. I am planning to get a MBB Plat MC since my MBB Petronas Visa Plat does not give 2X points for overseas. Next month when I get my statement will update all on MBB Petronas Visa Plat rate versus DAWMC, RHB Plat and UOB Plat for transactions in SG.

Just to inform those who lazy to read previous posts - MBB's CC forex conversion rate is the lowest and only MBB Standard Platinum CC gets 2X reward points for overseas spending.
Gen-X
post Dec 6 2010, 06:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(haru.haru @ Dec 6 2010, 05:33 PM)
Hi all,

I need some explanation from MBB agent, if any:

Currently I am having Petronas Gold CC. They say we can withdraw cash from the machine as well.

My bf said the day he went to MBB center, the lady said there would be no extra charge until the day you received the statement and made ur payment. If let say I withdraw 2k, by the dateline, if I make full payment of 2k, there will be no interest. However, if by the dateline, I only make payment of 1k, I will be applied interest.  Is that true?

Somehow, I called up MBB Customer Service

The lady there mentioned

When you withdraw the money , 5% of the full amount will be charged
Plus, everyday since the day you withdraw the money until the day you completely pay the whole amount, there will be 0.18% of  ( full amount + 5% of full amount ) implies every-single-day

Which is true ?
We try withdrawing 1000MYR last week Thursday.

Appreciate if anyone can enlighten me.
You can withdraw cash with your CC and you'll be charged interest as mentioned by MBB cs. Do not withdraw cash with CC, if you have done go, better you go settle in full immediately.

And also next time, do take the time to read the T&C that comes with the card.

Maybe you should read my blog on Intro to CC 101, click below at my sign.
Gen-X
post Dec 8 2010, 06:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 8 2010, 01:06 PM)
I omitted to realise the card was expired this month until seeing the GST appearing online.
QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 8 2010, 08:09 AM)
Ambank doesn't want to offer rebate for GST.

I asked if I cancel now, the GST that was charged few days ago can be waived? ANSWER is No... What the bad bank is....
For Citibank, they charged me too GST and when I called up CS to cancel the card, he said no problems as long as I don't use the card the government will reimburse me the GST within 3 months. The following month statement show GST RM50 credited. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Dec 8 2010, 12:42 PM)
i just got/received citibank platinum by mail

looks like they upgraded my gold to platinum

shall accept it or just continue use my gold?
if it is free yah why not better benefits but if no, do you think they will waive the annual fees?

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 8 2010, 01:13 PM)
Old news..promo until 31 Jan 2011... make sure you apply for Visa + Mastercard to get 2 x RM188
RM376 - RM100 for GST still got cool RM276 thumbup.gif

QUOTE(erry- @ Dec 8 2010, 05:32 PM)
yes i got it! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

swipe rm2579.00 @ 5-dec 11:56:49 and received sms today 2pm (3-days later). thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
you are lucky, always get HSBC cash back notworthy.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 8 2010, 06:09 PM)

This is a different promotion. It runs from 1 Dec 2010 - 15 Jan 2011 and no registration required.
the new HSBC no need sms to register? nowadays I just ignore HSBC promotions when I receive their sms.
What are the T&C?
Gen-X
post Dec 8 2010, 11:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Dec 8 2010, 06:47 PM)
me - swipe rm2579.00 @ 5-dec 11:56:49 and received sms today 2pm (3-days later).
means there is no other hsbc user swipe more than rm2579.00 between 11:56:00 to 11:56:59 on 5-dec  rclxm9.gif
That's equivalent to 1.16% cash back, not too bad. But then again you must be the bigggest spender for that minute. You never thought of splitting the amount to get RM60 tongue.gif

For my case, I prefer I use my AMEX charged card, guaranteed 1.5% cash back for any amount since I got Turbo points. Yesterday bought a watch for wifey at Pavillion, the merchant pleaded to me not to use my AMEX as he claimed he gave me alot of discount (which is true in away as no other outlet willing to give me more than 17% for that particular watch) and in the end I offerred RM5K using my DAWMC (to get the free hamper offerred by CIMB for spending 2K, 5K, 10K and 20K at Sunway Piramid and Pavillion only and Pavillion giving a pouch if spend more than RM300 with MC) and the rest using my AMEX where I will get about RM100 cash back after converting using point plus another RM150 with present 15% cash back offer.

Gen-X
post Dec 9 2010, 05:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 9 2010, 11:10 AM)
You still have to pay for the convenience fee if you pay using a debit card. Therefore, the CIMB e.MasterCard won't help solving your problem.

What you need to do is to enroll for online banking and pay using direct debit. This way you won't have to pay for the convenience fee. However, please note that only direct debit from these 5 banks are supported for the time being. The 5 banks are :
- Maybank
- CIMB Bank
- Public Bank
- AMBank
- Bank Rakyat

last week I did Direct Debit with RHB to get iPhone4 from Digi Online Store.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 9 2010, 04:49 PM)
Did any of you check your CCRIS lately ? I just went to BNM to print my latest CCRIS and found out the last 4-digit of my HSBC credit card is wrong. The Citibank one however, is correct.
I also just went to BNM this morning to print out my CCRIS report and same as you, my HSBC last 8 digits different. Also noted that HLB account number is like 22 digits and Alliance 8 digits blink.gif
Gen-X
post Dec 9 2010, 05:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 9 2010, 05:13 PM)
Sweet !!!  tongue.gif
Yeah ... i am wondering why ...  hmm.gif

Anyway, i was also wondering if they will list out all the rejected applications in our CCRIS because from what i can see in the copy of my CCRIS, it listed only 4 applications all of which have been approved by the respective banks. 2 from HSBC and another 2 from Citibank. The second card from Citibank was approve just this morning   rclxms.gif
Me wanted to check if anyone applied for any credit facilities using my name sweat.gif Make it a pratice to print it out once a year.

Saw that my EON Signature CC application pending but was shocked to see CL only RM15K! Then afternoon EON Bank telemarketer called me to asked if I want to do BT and told me my card approved. Anyway was to busy then to talk to him. Just called EON CS and was told card only approved yesterday (applied on 23rd Nov) and CL 6 figures.

QUOTE(ahdi87 @ Dec 9 2010, 05:08 PM)
Can i ask some question about credit card here?  cry.gif
I found a credit card flexipay plan from web, and there stat down that have 6% interest for minimum use 4k.

But few days ago i went to apply another Axxxxxxx bank credit card, that girl told me that this flexipay plan already become 0% interest.
Is it true?

I wonder if any charge for this plan? Because my credit card limit only have 4k, so i apply one more for it and my stuff that i want pay installment is costing 7k cry.gif

And i need 2 years time to pay this back, anyone can help me calculate the total and i need to pay back per month? Because i really no idea about bank how to calculate this.  icon_question.gif
I bit blur what you trying to say. Correct me if I am wrong.

1) You want to do flexi pay for RM7K (i.e. installement plan) but your CL is RM4K. If this is the case then you cannot apply for the installement plan because your CL is less. In the first place, you cannot even purchase the RM7K stuff with the credit card snce it is limited to RM4K.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 9 2010, 05:48 PM
Gen-X
post Dec 9 2010, 09:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Today I applied for MBB MC Plat by phone only. No need to fill in any forms. Save the hassle to go to branch to fill in application or even fax them the application.

Read more at my blog at creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot

QUOTE(ahdi87 @ Dec 9 2010, 07:15 PM)
Ya, i knew it i cannot purchase more than 4k stuff, so now i have 2 credit cards which limit is 4k x2
So i have 8k limit to purchase, can you help me with more info about flexipay? i dun know all about the charge of bank and the interest.  icon_question.gif
Ok, now I get it. You can make separate payment using both cards, e.g 1 card RM3.8K and the other RM3.2K. As for flexi payment, what card you using, if CIMB/Direct Access/Public Bank they will charge you upfront 1% and then equal installemnts. I think Alliance also upfront by not 0% and then equal installements.

What cards you have then I can go check the T&C.
Gen-X
post Dec 9 2010, 09:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ahdi87 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:21 PM)
I using Public bank now, and alliance bank are applying. Hopefully it can approve  sad.gif
I went to PBB website and cannot find any installement plan (offer expired?) and for Alliance noted only for Balance Transfer.

But just to let you know, Alliance 6% interest for Balance Transfer is charged upfront. For example, if do BT RM3000 for 2 years, they will charged you RM3000 x 6% x 2 years = RM360 upfront. So in reality the interest not really 6% for installement plan more than a year.

Click below for Alliance BT plan:

http://www.alliancebank.com.my/ccard_balan...ore.html#BTFIXP

Before you go buy the RM7K stuff better you check if both cards got installement plan or else you will end up paying really high interest. But my recommendation is not to buy it since you cannot afford it and not fall into the trap of installement plans and end up cannot affort to pay monthly.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 9 2010, 09:43 PM
Gen-X
post Dec 9 2010, 09:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ahdi87 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:52 PM)
Oh i see, thanks a lot for helping me. So i need to check all correctly only can use credit card, btw i did ask public bank for the flexipay plan but they didn't tell me about the charged upfront.  cry.gif
did PBB mentioned the interest how much? You can use the cards but if no flexi plan then you'll end up paying high interest. Seriously, just save money for next 1 year and maybe by that time you want something else.

Mind telling me what you buying? Maybe the merchant offer 0% interest free. Example Dell - 0% for Citibank and Maybank, HP - HLB and many other cards, Harvey Norman - almost all cards, Coach - OCBC, etc.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 9 2010, 09:59 PM
Gen-X
post Dec 9 2010, 10:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bryan_x00 @ Dec 9 2010, 10:01 PM)
If I only have that 3 cards, which is better in terms of cash back or points accumulation?  hmm.gif
best cash back OCBC 5% but capped at RM50 a month - Free For Life

best points accumulation AMEX Gold Credit Card - Free For Life No limit on monthly cash back

click on my sign below on cash back cards.

QUOTE(ahdi87 @ Dec 9 2010, 10:13 PM)
PBB mentioned that is 6% for 24months to pay back all, but i think i need to go there again and fully understand it. No problem, i want to but a high level Digital SLR camera body only which is costing 6k and a lens 1k. And i wanna pay by installment, but shop are allowing 12month installment so i try to ask some installment plan from bank. For my salary now i can take out RM400 ~ RM600 so i calculate i can afford for 24months installment. But if i take 12months installment they need me to pay around RM500+ so that i cannot make a saving for every month, for 24months installment i can make some saving and also backup for emergency. cry.gif
DSLR in two years time will have better and cheaper model and present model much much cheaper tongue.gif

Seriously just save for few months and then get 12 months 0% installements by merchants. Why you want suffer and make bank richer? Unless you telling me you doing part time then no problems getting 12 months installements.

QUOTE(AhNiCk @ Dec 9 2010, 10:30 PM)
hi guys! just wanna know.......

i just graduated and started working last month with the salary of <2k per month, can anyone suggest me a CC that doesn't require any annual fee or hidden cost?

i plan to buy a DSLR which cost RM4000  brows.gif with 12/24 months 0% easy payment scheme.. is it possible for me to pay 333.33 every month for 12 months ?
another guy wanting DSLR when got no money sweat.gif you guys want to follow sinchang (senior forummer at photography section) taking photos of models ah.

FYI, usually buying with 0% installement the price higher compared with paying in full where you can get discount. Best option if got money to buy, pay in full then do BT with 0%.
Gen-X
post Dec 10 2010, 08:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Dec 10 2010, 04:16 AM)
yes of coz u can ask question about credit card here  smile.gif

is Axxxxxxx u mean is Alliance? if yes, then their FPP (Flexible Payment Plan) are:

1. previously: got 1 time upfront charges of 6% for 12months, or 12% for 24months.
2. promo after that: got 1 time upfront charges of 2.5% for 6 months, or 5% for 12 months.
3. LATEST PROMO TILL 31/12/2010: NO UPFRONT CHARGES AT ALL for 6 & 12 months! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

here - http://www.alliancebank.com.my/catalog/pri...gue.aspx?cat=58

so if u purchase 3.5k for 2 cards and call alliance to convert to FPP before 31/12, each card need to pay only rm291.67 per month, for 12months.
thanks for the info, indeed the best offer around for 0% installement. Always thought that the FPP was for selected merchants and never click on it doh.gif
Gen-X
post Dec 10 2010, 03:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Dec 10 2010, 03:30 PM)
btw, anyone can tell me which CC has the lowest overseas transaction rate (is 1% the lowest) or is there any CC offering 0% interest for overseas transactionl? thx~
boy, did you read last post by winner. Everybody keep repeating that MBB lowest for overseas transactions and don't understand why newbies never read the 1st page.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0506sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:18 AM