4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

Gen-X
post Nov 5 2010, 09:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Nov 5 2010, 07:32 AM)
hi guys..i have been using scb gold card for a year now. how do i upgrade to platinum card if; im already eligible in term of per annum salary and good record of swipe&pay records (swiped around 25k this year all paid never late). call them up or approach their sales ppl whcih i rarely saw..?
Call them up and request that they upgrade your card. If they don't want give you, with your income, go get other banks Plat card which are free e.g. DA, Alliance, etc.

Same thing, call them up for increase in CL.

If you want something, you got to do it yourself. If the CS on the phone is unable to entertain your request (you got to note that CS have no approval authority), write/email to HQ so that your request will reach the "correct" person and tell them why they have to satisfy your request. When talking to the CS, always take down her/his name and follow up with the same person, so when you write or email to HQ you can always refer to the conversations with the CS.

By the way, have you been paying annual fees for your Gold Card?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 5 2010, 09:21 AM
Gen-X
post Nov 5 2010, 05:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Nov 5 2010, 12:05 PM)
IC, thanks..

Yup..been paying..infact, SCB is quite good..RM50 tax..they reward by giving 11k reward point..which 10k point can exchange for rm50 already..
Since you been paying the annual fees for your SCB Gold CC and happy with their service I guess you won't mind paying the annual fees for the Plat card. Next time around, do ask for annual fees waiver, even if they don't give full waiver, SCB may give you partial waiver and that still save you more than RM50.

But like I said, do try out the free Plat cards by Direct Access or Alliance, you may need to pay RM50 GST but that's cheaper than paying the annual fees. Or maybe consider the OCBC Titanum card which is a cash back card with no annual fees and you get 5% cash rebate for ALL petrol station, dining, groceries and utilities.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 5 2010, 05:59 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 6 2010, 10:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Nov 6 2010, 01:25 PM)
OCBC Bank Singapore had launched World Elite Mastercard which by invitation only. Card annual fee S$1500.
Citibank Singapore re-launched their Ultima credit card which also by invitation only for individual with minimum S$5million assets under management. Card annual fee as high as S$3888.
Looks like Singapore is full of high networth individuals.
Maybe it is because they are kiasu and want the "best" tongue.gif People here also want the best but not willing to pay for it.
Gen-X
post Nov 9 2010, 11:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Nov 9 2010, 06:43 PM)
@roccales,
It was the interest charge of the installment.
566.66 is the principal amount and 36.55 is the interest. They separate it though.
Interest charges of RM36.55 for RM566.66? That equivalent to 6.45% and when annualize thats a whopping 77.4%. Never take cash from CC.

QUOTE(mustang @ Nov 9 2010, 09:17 PM)
I am thinking to apply Alliance YouNique and terminate HLB Essential card. Is this a good move? As i got to know the 2% rebate from Alliance.
Why you want to terminate HLB Essential? As winner mentioned, Alliance cash back is based on tier and unless you spend like RM5K the cash back not much. Based on your monthly transactions do make a comparison before applying for Allaince. And also Alliance CS sucks after 9pm.

As everyone mentioned, do apply for OCBC Titanium if you qualify.

On another note, if you do cancel your HLB card, the CS may just call you and offer you free annual fees and rewards points to cover for the GST for the next 3 years.
Gen-X
post Nov 16 2010, 05:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 16 2010, 08:51 AM)
- Maybank
Due to the low admin fee
- SCB VISA Infinite
5x Choice Points
With Alliance Bank Visa rate now comparable to other cards, I reapply for MBB Petronas Plat Visa last week and today called up CS and was told application has been approved.

So anyone here knows if get 2X for overseas spending with MBB Petronas Card?

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Nov 16 2010, 09:04 AM)
Since you are already an existing HSBC Premier holder, just go ahead and place RM250K with SCB to upgrade to  Priority Banking  icon_rolleyes.gif
SCB VI also issued to people having loan with SCB.

As for SCB 1 year FD, there's no promotion rate and rate lowest (unless opt for the weird 5 years FD tenure where interest rate is changeable). For 1 year FD better go deposit with another bank and get extra RM2500 cash and free gift too.

Unless one goes overseas often, what other better benefits does SCB VI offer over other Plat cards?

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 16 2010, 09:23 AM)
OCBC Titanium 1% Cash-Back  Merchants
Malaysia
Borders - The Gardens
MPH - Subang Parade
Prudential Assurance (register with Prudential CS)

Singapore
Premier Taxi - Singapore
OCBC Titanum offers 1% cashback for general transactions, so how is above 1% of importance?
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 16 2010, 03:11 PM)
jz rec this email saying that with my OCBC's Tit i can get discount up to 10% on internet bill.
did anyone rec this?

got the email too, but since it only up to Dec 2010, lazy to go and change auto debit to OCBC.

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 16 2010, 04:31 PM)
jz got my this month statement printed from OCBC tit.

got a total RM19.76 rebte for 1st month usage.  left RM30 to kao dim the GST then can start saving.

the rebate is not particularise, how do we know which is entitled for 5 % and what is entitled for 1%? or or we can only guess and do the calculation manually?
just got my OCBC Titanium statement today too. Unlike AMEX Gold CC where it list down the merchants where we get extra 3X points, OCBC doesn't breakdown the cash back. Got charged interest of RM221.09 and noted there was a reversal for the same amount. Next month got to fast fast do BT to DA and enjoy another 6 months 0% interest. Got max cashback of RM120 thumbup.gif Last month miss the max cash back by RM20.
Gen-X
post Nov 16 2010, 06:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 16 2010, 06:05 PM)
u are not worried that it wil affect yr ccris by not paying in full?

No lah, no outstanding amount owing as BT account also settle accordingly not to kena interest. If add all the credit facilities provided to me by banks, the amount of BT I do is like negligible. Never got problems getting credit card approved nor getting loans from banks and not thinking of getting any loans in the near future.

Got BT facilities with 0% interest might as well make use of it.

Added on November 16, 2010, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(zenquix @ Nov 16 2010, 05:26 PM)
Edit: Just got off the phone again. Co-brands cards need not apply for plat priviledges  mad.gif  Gonna ask them to convert my card to a standard Visa plat (and hopefully don't need to pay GST)
guess that answer my question on 2X Treatpoints for MBB Petronas Plat.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 16 2010, 06:35 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 16 2010, 09:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 16 2010, 09:26 PM)
only for food. and annual fee is rm500 without any chance to get it waived sad.gif
auto waiver if spend RM36K per year.

You can also get RHB Premier Platinum Credit Card which is free as along as you are a PB member. i.e. different application form from standard Plat card application form.
Gen-X
post Nov 16 2010, 10:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 16 2010, 09:49 PM)
Because zero-annual-fee cards are too abundant that they have lost their exclusiveness.
Other people don't bother to look at your zero-annual-fee card because it is too cheap.
I am cheap blush.gif all my cards no annual fees or waived (except a stupid debit card which I have to pay RM50 annual fees for it!) And all credit cards ARE cheap plastic, haha except for AMEX Black card, even if I qualify (in my dream), would not pay for the fees .

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 16 2010, 10:01 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 10:28 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(0misae0 @ Nov 16 2010, 10:37 PM)
I apply Cash One loan at Standard Chartered last thursday. In positive thinking, i may get platinum card should it is approved. Unfortunately, during lunch hour on the same day, the lady told me that my application is rejected. She has invited me to apply platinum credit card. I'm not so confidence to apply platinum card and i just give her a copy of my CIMB Gold card (using more than 2 years). I have one platinum card from other bank but yet 1 year. Just now check with customer service and he said that my card approved. Then I ask the limit and is that platinum card? But funny thing he said that he only can check whether approved or not. Guys, they makes me guess all night le..
Cash One Loan, isn't the interest high and interest charged just like Personal Loan (non reducing). You should be thankful to the application department for rejecting your Cash One application.

As for the card, how come they cannot check CL when it is already approved? They should also be able to tell you if it is a Plat card or not. Call them again and ask.

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Nov 16 2010, 11:31 PM)
Talking about the card design, I wonder there is any copyright for card design or not. For example, a You:nique card that copy the design of a VI card. hmm.gif
good idea, gave me idea on how to get imitation AMEX Black Card. That would make me really cheap, haha

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 17 2010, 02:01 AM)
all my cards are cheap too! haha. btw u should cancel ur stupid debit card la. if still want use debit card, go for cimb e.mastercard (free for life with no condition).

yea yea. my DA plat already replace twice this year! card and chip still ok but when swipe immediately shows chip error. rm20 (rm10 x2) gone for card replacement only sweat.gif

but my HSBC plat, chip very dirty (got black spot on it), and card broken also at bottom (name area), still can use thumbup.gif
Me got no CIMB account. Now starting to collect Debit Cards, so far got 4 Debit Cards already.

Wah you do swipe a lot until both DA and HSBC cards got problems. But you are right, my previous HSBC Plat and DA Plat card also "broke" near the magnetic strip.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 17 2010, 02:30 AM)
His RHB Bank VISA debit card is not stupid actually. Assume he can get the annual fee waived or can actually meet their requirement for auto annual fee waiver which is to sign up for auto-debit or to charge at least RM5,000 into the card in a calender year, it is easily the best debit card in Malaysia due to the fee-free cash withdrawals at all local banks ATM  thumbup.gif
Haha, all cards are stupid since they can't do anything by itself, but then again maybe I am the stupid one since did not read the T&C before signing up doh.gif . Got the RHB debit card because want to skip q to get to teller, and RHB charging me for this! The card only gives cash back 0.5% for transactions, however it does give 4X access to KLIA, LCCT and Senai Lounges. Alliance Plat Debit Card with 2% cashback which is technically free is much better in my opinion.

Having said above, I have yet to use any of my Debit Cards for transactions but mainly to withdraw emergency cash.

Now itchy want to get RHB Plat CC. They getting me the PB application form for Plat Card as was informed that the normal form for Plat card no auto annual fee waiver.
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 11:09 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 17 2010, 10:40 AM)
Do you know if you get the normal ATM card instead, are you still going to get unlimited fee-free cash withdrawals at other local banks ATM ? And are you going to get the same high withdrawal limit per day which is RM10,000 with the RHB PB VISA debit card ?
My 4 Debit Cards issued from Alliance, RHB & UOB and a new HLB ATM card, so free withdrawal not really a concern. Moreover my Debit Cards all link to Savings Account where got less than RM1K most of the time so don't need high withdrawal limit. Never carried an ATM card for more than 10 years until last year got my first Debit Card link to SA. Last week got myself HLB PB ATM card (because they don't have Premier Debit Card) as need to open internet account for my children HLB Junior Debit Card doh.gif Now no longer need wait in q for teller anymore at HLB branches.
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 09:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Nov 17 2010, 12:31 PM)
Why now plat card's credit limit so low (< RM30k)? My Citi silver comes with RM30k CL. Is the bank short charging me?
Reason why Plat starting CL have been reducing is because income to qualify for Plat have been reduced to RM60K which was the minimum income for Gold years ago. However this is good for the general public as Plat cards do offer better travel insurance and purchase protection compared to Gold cards.

As for your Citi Silver RM30K, that may be the max CL already.

Nowadays to show "status" need Premier Cards, Visa Infinite or World Master Cards; then again most us here want the OCBC Titanium card for general day to day use.
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 10:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Nov 17 2010, 10:31 PM)
How does DA 6 months 0% Balance Transfer work? During the period do I need to pay a minimum payment of 5%?
yes, you got to pay minimum 5% of BT amount. Click on my signature below to learn more on DA BT.

and also here http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...0-interest.html

Added on November 17, 2010, 10:48 pm
QUOTE(JonnY @ Nov 17 2010, 10:44 PM)
Erm... a few question here.

When apply a new credit card (fresh grad), do i really need to fill in and give them information about my company and my company chop?

Why cc need a guarantor? Guarantor can be anyone or only siblings and parents can be guarantor?
What card you applying, as far as I remember there is no column for guarantor in application form.

Added on November 17, 2010, 10:50 pm
QUOTE(jonuslee @ Nov 17 2010, 10:36 PM)
Normally how long it takes maybank CC to arrive?I mean collect the CC at branch?The officer tell me that is 14 days and above. Can any MBB card user share their experience.Thx
It should take less than 14 days after it has been approved. The officer most probably told you 14 days to play safe.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 17 2010, 10:52 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 11:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(JonnY @ Nov 17 2010, 10:53 PM)
Ambank mastercard. There is a column for guarantor.

So it's mean I had to get a chop from my company to apply credit card, right?
so troublesome, need company chop and guarantor. Company chop is not for personal use. Go get another credit card. 1st time I have heard CC also need guarantor.
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 11:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Nov 17 2010, 11:11 PM)
Thanks! I normally received the hardcopy statement quite late.
Does DA accept online statement like the one in OCBC internet banking? Any idea?
no idea, call them and ask and report back here.
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 11:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Nov 17 2010, 11:16 PM)
think to avoid confusion, if you only pay 5%, you will need to pay interest on the balance.

A 0% 6-month balance transfer will see the bank charging you your transfer amount/ 6 every month for 6 months, which you pay in full to avoid interest
after i read above, i more confuse, hahaha

For DA BT, very simple. DA will open separate account where you only need to pay 5% of the BT amount (and following months 5% of the outstanding amount) and whatever not paid (i.e. 95% of amount) will be interest free for that month. However must settle in full by end of six months and close the account else will get high interest charges on the 7th month.
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 11:29 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Nov 17 2010, 11:28 PM)
Understood. I will clear it in 5 months. I just want to try it and enjoy the free loan too.

BTW, can I do the transfer more than 1 time and still entitle 0% for 6 months?

For example,

Nov 2010, BT 10K from OCBC to DA. Due date May 2011.
Dec 2010, BT 10K from OCBC to DA. Due date June 2011.
yes you can as long as you still have available credit
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 11:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Nov 17 2010, 11:32 PM)
Great!  rclxms.gif  Will submit my application tomorrow.
just wanna ask you, your OCBC is Titanum and new account?

If yes to above, you will be getting 0% interest for your OCBC until end of Dec. So just BT your OCBC amount to DA next month and enjoy 1 extra month 0% interest for the amount in OCBC.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 17 2010, 11:36 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 11:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Nov 17 2010, 11:40 PM)
Yeah, it is OCBC Titanium. I need to transfer it to clear off my current outstanding balance. It is going to hit the limit. rclxub.gif

OIC, just as a friendly reminder, with 0% interest free you still got to pay back principal and make sure you have funds on hand today for whatever transactions you make today and not fall into bank trap enticing you to spend what you don't have (i.e. cash).
Gen-X
post Nov 18 2010, 09:11 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(johnnyc @ Nov 18 2010, 01:59 AM)
and use the Esso Smile Driver Reward Card together too to earn points  rclxms.gif
if i'm not mistaken, 1000 points can get RM10 worth of fuel
1000 smile points = RM15 petrol
Gen-X
post Nov 18 2010, 10:10 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

The Star reported that as of 30 Sep this year the total Credit Cards in circulation stands at 8.7million compared to 10.8million end of last year. And only 1 million supp cards now.

That's a whopping 2 million less cards in circulation. No wonder we now hear that even MBB is offering reward points to offset GST.

With the GST, the banks are offering more offers to attract new customer and maintain existing customer. Great for us who uses credit cards.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 18 2010, 09:39 AM)
Really? I am not aware of it!
Is it in the TnC?
I don't think it is capped at RM30 for petrol. Someone mentioned long ago in this thread that the cash back is RM30 when using the OCBC website sample calculator for cashback. But it is not mentioned in the T&C.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0211sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:26 PM