4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

erry-
post Nov 17 2010, 02:01 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 16 2010, 10:00 PM)
I am cheap  blush.gif  all my cards no annual fees or waived (except a stupid debit card which I have to pay RM50 annual fees for it!) And all credit cards ARE cheap plastic, haha except for AMEX Black card, even if I qualify (in my dream), would not pay for the fees .
all my cards are cheap too! haha. btw u should cancel ur stupid debit card la. if still want use debit card, go for cimb e.mastercard (free for life with no condition).

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 17 2010, 12:14 AM)
Materials used to make the Standard Chartered Priority Banking VISA Infinite are kind of cheap just like HSBC Premier MasterCard. Everything printed/embossed on the card will start to fade away just after 1 year of usage. It is very prone to wear and tear too  doh.gif
QUOTE(woengx2 @ Nov 17 2010, 12:56 AM)
You were lucky it was after 1 year!  rclxms.gif
yea yea. my DA plat already replace twice this year! card and chip still ok but when swipe immediately shows chip error. rm20 (rm10 x2) gone for card replacement only sweat.gif

but my HSBC plat, chip very dirty (got black spot on it), and card broken also at bottom (name area), still can use thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 17 2010, 02:07 AM
erry-
post Nov 17 2010, 03:02 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 17 2010, 02:30 AM)
His RHB Bank VISA debit card is not stupid actually. Assume he can get the annual fee waived or can actually meet their requirement for auto annual fee waiver which is to sign up for auto-debit or to charge at least RM5,000 into the card in a calender year, it is easily the best debit card in Malaysia due to the fee-free cash withdrawals at all local banks ATM thumbup.gif
he himself declare "a stupid debit card" whistling.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 17 2010, 02:30 AM)
I believe you can actually request for the replacement card fee to be waived  smile.gif
yes but need to pay 1st, next statement rm10 credited back.

erry-
post Nov 17 2010, 03:07 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 17 2010, 10:28 AM)
Wah you do swipe a lot until both DA and HSBC cards got problems. But you are right, my previous HSBC Plat and DA Plat card also "broke" near the magnetic strip.
err my DA usually use for petrol pump. i think the pump machine that broke my chip? sweat.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 17 2010, 10:40 AM)
Just in case you also have to replace your HSBC VISA Platinum, they can waive the replacement card fee for you right away without needing you to pay in advance.
ok! will wait until it cannot be use anymore 1st biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 17 2010, 11:23 AM)
DA replacement card can be waived at the point you requested for it.I changed multiple times due to the lousy chip on their Mastercard. All free including courier...
yea, lousy chip sweat.gif noted. will ask waiver immediately next time (means my chip will getting error again? haha)

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ Nov 17 2010, 12:02 PM)
Received my SCB Visa Platinum yesterday.Credit limit rm16k
QUOTE(patricktoh @ Nov 17 2010, 12:31 PM)
Why now plat card's credit limit so low (< RM30k)? My Citi silver comes with RM30k CL. Is the bank short charging me?
yeah rm16k is supposed CL for gold card. platinum should min rm30k. but it depends on bank ~

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 17 2010, 01:48 PM)
it is weird that Citibank never upgrade your card but only your CL. smile.gif
same goes to me with both DA and HSBC previously. using gold card but CL can swipe for brand new car. hehe. after 2 years they post new plat card ~

BTW, updates for HSBC SMS & Win, i didnt swipe yet today. and since now its 3pm already, so i will try it tomorrow sweat.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 17 2010, 03:11 PM
erry-
post Nov 17 2010, 03:16 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(waynekoowy @ Nov 17 2010, 03:13 PM)
Hi all sifus, if i just want a card for petrol. which cards are mostly recommended? i heard maybankard petronas not bad smile.gif
go browse few pages back ok? the best card for petrol is DA Mastercard & OCBC Titanium. rebates on all petrol station. but if u just use petronas then go for that MBB Petronas ~

erry-
post Nov 17 2010, 07:28 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Nov 17 2010, 04:51 PM)
Your answer was not quite correct. The best CCs which give good rebates (5%)  for all petrol stations are OCBC Titanium and Citibank Platinum Cash Back. DA MC only gives 2% cash back for petrol purchases.
citibank plat annual fee is rm195 sweat.gif or got terms to make it free? like swipe 30k/year? and btw the rebate promo is till 31/12 only.

QUOTE(Milshah @ Nov 17 2010, 05:54 PM)
regarding CC...if i signup for the zero% interest..monthly installment...for buying a tv...now I want to pay lump sump...dun like to pay monthly...just settle it...can huh? brows.gif
usualy got penalty, around rm50. call ur bank for more info.

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 17 2010, 07:30 PM
erry-
post Nov 18 2010, 01:52 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(devil0310 @ Nov 18 2010, 12:21 AM)
may i know which bank offer more benefit for ESSO petrol station?
if u use more than rm500/month at esso/mobil, then go for PBE Esso Visa Card. got 6% rebate till March 2011. if u use more than rm800 u get 8%.

if u use less than rm500/month, go for OCBC Titanium.

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 18 2010, 01:53 AM
erry-
post Nov 18 2010, 03:42 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(johnnyc @ Nov 18 2010, 01:59 AM)
and use the Esso Smile Driver Reward Card together too to earn points  rclxms.gif
if i'm not mistaken, 1000 points can get RM10 worth of fuel
QUOTE(winner @ Nov 18 2010, 04:21 AM)
1,000 ESSO points = RM15 fuel actually, equivalent to additional 1.5% cash back. Every RM1 spent at ESSO will give you x1 ESSO reward point.
for fuel rewards card, the best is definately smiles from esso/mobil. points never expired!

1 point for every RM1 on fuel only. on the run cafe / shop wont get points. 1000 points for rm15 fuel.
so swipe petrol ron97 rm80 then shop rm10 will get 80points.

but, the best part is, redeem 1000 points for rm15 petrol, that rm15 will be credited back as 15points.
i usually redeem 3000 points for rm45 then get back 45 points thumbup.gif

and grand saga highway (kajang-cheras) give 2x points! swipe rm500 already get 1000points! rclxms.gif
so rm500 already get back rm15. and of coz, plus 5% rebates from OCBC! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(zenquix @ Nov 18 2010, 01:44 PM)
Think Mesra points will only expire if you did not use the card for X months. Yeah u can do on the spot redemption by using it like a credit card at the pump. Cleared mine to 0 when I moved to Esso/Mobil tongue.gif

yeah go for esso/mobil smiles. coz for petronas mesra cards, 1 point is per 1 litre. but if shop inside mesra store then 1 point per rm1.
swipe petrol ron97 rm80 then store rm10 will get only 47 points, and 1000points can redeem rm10 fuel only sweat.gif
points will expire after 3 years. also will be void if there has been no activity made within 6 months whistling.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 18 2010, 03:53 PM
erry-
post Nov 18 2010, 03:56 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

UPDATES for HSBC SMS & Win Contest:

finally! this morning i swipe around 11:20am then SMS immediately.

after 2 minutes got reply: "Congrats! You have won RM10 cashback." rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

so i bought another 2 things (each price is more then rm100), and ask the cashier to make the bill/swipe separately so i will get another 2 approval code.

SMS, and both also get RM10! so now "Your total cashback won to-date is RM30". thank u HSBC notworthy.gif

tomorrow also need to try in early morning. haha sweat.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 18 2010, 03:57 PM
erry-
post Nov 19 2010, 12:01 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Nov 18 2010, 04:22 PM)
Wow! I was not aware that some ESSO/MOBIL stations give x2 points. That's an extra 3% cash back man! Any idea where else ESSO/MOBIL stations give x2 points?
QUOTE(ck3lam @ Nov 18 2010, 04:59 PM)
Anyway just FYI, Esso stations at Grand Saga always have this kind of promotion (Yes, it’s a promotion and not permanent 2x). You will get 2x points if monthly petrol above RM200 (if I remember correctly, actually glance through only). Plus you get a free tissue box. Heard this promotion is going to end soon (year end maybe).Of course this is a great promotion if you stay in Kajang.

esso/mobil that give 2x points:
grand saga highway (both side),
cheras perdana (entrace flyover near 90cents toll),
bangi sect 10 (near plus exit - kajang),
kajang town (next to KPJ / kompleks kota kajang).

best for kajang/semenyih/bangi/balakong people.

last year they gave 2x points without terms & conditions.
this year 2x points will be given 3 weeks after swipe min rm200 within a month (i usually fuel min rm400/month).
promo is from 7 sep - 31 dec.

oh free tissue if swipe inside (cashier) min rm40. i usually swipe at pump. just twice go inside so far.
the tissue box just small one only. but then, its free ~ smile.gif

i am staying in kajang thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 19 2010, 12:07 AM
erry-
post Nov 19 2010, 12:20 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 18 2010, 05:09 PM)
you sure know how to maximize utilization of cards  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  and thanks for sharing
your welcome notworthy.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 18 2010, 04:25 PM)
Congrats !!!  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(persistence85 @ Nov 18 2010, 05:11 PM)
Cool  brows.gif

thanks guys ~ icon_rolleyes.gif

and i did it again this evening! for paying my maxis bill ~ brows.gif
my bill just out today, rm270+.
i went to maxis at warta bangi. swipe rm100 x2 then sms x2. got rm10 x2 rebates! rclxm9.gif
(i left another rm70 carry forward to next bill tongue.gif)

now, each rm100 get min rm10 rebates! thats equal to 10% ~!! haha.
(of coz need to pay 15sen + 30sen for sms. still, i get back rm9.55).

tomorrow (today actually, friday) planning to swipe another rm100 x2.
i wish can get cash back rm50 or rm100!!! pray for me!!!

note: this HSBC SMS & Win Promo will end 21-Nov. hurry!

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 19 2010, 12:33 AM
erry-
post Nov 19 2010, 12:30 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Nov 19 2010, 12:26 AM)
Based on your detail description, even if you didn't say you stay in kajang, it is obvious that you stay around there. rclxms.gif Swipe at pump also can, just show them your receipt.
bcoz only those stations stated at the ads board. btw i'm a litte bit lazy to go inside. hehe biggrin.gif

erry-
post Nov 19 2010, 12:32 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Nov 19 2010, 12:26 AM)
Not bad, man. I heard my sis said most of the time she can get at least RM10 but she's actually aim for RM100. biggrin.gif
i also aim for rm100!!! brows.gif

edited previous post: accidenly hit 6, it should be rm9.55 sweat.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 19 2010, 12:34 AM
erry-
post Nov 19 2010, 02:36 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

HSBC SMS & Win Contest...

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Nov 19 2010, 12:37 AM)
wah,the promo really can persuade people to use ccard more, i think maybe they will extend the promo, i just got once the rm10 cash rebate, btw im not big spender, make sure to swipe at morning, i think weekdays got high chance to get the rm10 rebate compared to weekend  thumbup.gif
today is weekdays. i SMS at 11:55AM and at 11:57AM received reply already overhelming response!

refer to website, only the 1st 3000 SMS per day will applicable. more details:

The first 50th successful SMS which meets the Qualifying Spend for each Participating Day will stand to receive RM50 cash back.
The 100th successful SMS which meets the Qualifying Spend for each Participating Day will stand to receive RM100 cash back.
In addition, every 55th, 555th, 1055th, 1555th and 2055th successful will also stand to receive RM50 cash back.
The remaining 2,935 winners who do not fall under the category of ‘every 50th successful SMS for the Participating Day will stand to receive RM10 cash
back.

see? at least rm10. but today 11:57AM already more than 3000 SMS they received! rclxub.gif
so today by 12PM, HSBC cc users already swipe at least RM300,000 ~! shocking.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 19 2010, 01:33 AM)
This is definitely one of the best promotions from HSBC so far. It is just so easy to get the free cash  rclxms.gif   Too bad i did not put much attention into it when the promotion started last month. Spent so much in the last few weeks and i did not send in a single sms at all  doh.gif
u r so unlucky. me 1st time noticed it via ads at mid valley, 3-days after the promo started sweat.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 19 2010, 02:40 PM
erry-
post Nov 19 2010, 03:05 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Nov 19 2010, 02:55 PM)
Not keen with HSBC promotions. In the previous cash back promotion, I swapped during the 25% cash back time but only got 10% cash back, Feel cheated to say the least.
u should say, at least get 10% cash back tongue.gif

erry-
post Nov 21 2010, 01:30 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

since starting jan next year, OCBC titanium rebates capped at only RM50/month, any suggestion for another cash rebates card with no annual fee?
erry-
post Nov 21 2010, 03:40 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Nov 21 2010, 09:55 AM)
MBB has already started to grant free 10,000 points for customers to offset the RM50 service tax.
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 21 2010, 10:04 AM)
How they grant? By threaten to terminate the card?
QUOTE(winner @ Nov 21 2010, 11:00 AM)
Somebody here mentioned that MBB offered him free 10,000 points to offset the service tax when he intended to terminate his card.
its me smile.gif

using mbb visa plat (not petronas) since 2007. that time got free 3 years annual fee which is expired oct this year. they already sent new replacement card (extend expiry date to another 3 years) on september (1 month before expired).

i called them to cancel, with reason i already had enough card, dont want to pay gst for this 'another' card, also dont want to pay for annual fee.
so they offer to waived annual fee for another 3 years, and they offered 10k points for me to redeem gst rclxm9.gif
i dont know if this help to waived the annual fee & gst (just additional info) - i always pay my cc statement balance (all cc i had, not only maybank) in full amount or more. never let the bank charge interest on me brows.gif never had debt icon_rolleyes.gif

but i will definately terminate this card on sept next year (which i plan to do this year), since not using it so much.

QUOTE(johnnyc @ Nov 21 2010, 10:45 AM)
Do they grant it for new applicant? perhaps, they do that to attracts new customer.
maybe, this is new cc war being waged after SCB, HLB starts doing it.
err.. dont think MBB will do that? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 21 2010, 03:48 PM
erry-
post Nov 21 2010, 03:48 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Nov 21 2010, 01:24 PM)
hi, can i know how much is the minimum amount for a single purchase(IT hardware) in order to convert it into installment??? *citibank
refer to citi website:

minimum amount for conversion is RM500 (no matter IT hardware or else), from 6 – 36 months, flat interest rate of 9.88% p.a - which is 4 me is too high sweat.gif

if u want to purchase IT hardware or something else and convert it into installment, go apply CIMB petronas (free for life) or Direct Access (if u meet the qualification), their installment rate for me is the cheapest - 3% fee for 6 months (min rm500), 4% for 10 months (min rm1k), or 5% for 30 months (min rm3k) thumbup.gif
erry-
post Nov 21 2010, 03:58 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 21 2010, 01:30 AM)
since starting jan next year, OCBC titanium rebates capped at only RM50/month, any suggestion for another cash rebates card with no annual fee?
QUOTE(zenquix @ Nov 21 2010, 02:49 AM)
more details  on your spending pattern.. will you be using the card for petrol or general purchases etc.?

Cards with cashback you can look at:

SCB Business Plat - 0.5% CB + Points
CTB Cashback Plat - various 5% petrol to 0,3% general
Amex  Gold CC - 2x points equivalent to 1% CB and 5x points items equivalent to 2.5% CB
Alliance Bank cards (plat, gold, younique)
thanks. i'm looking for best cash rebates card for normal local spending.

my average spending per month for petrol+phone+broadband+astro+tnb+groceries/hypermarket is about rm1600.
still no card can beat OCBC 5% for normal locally spending. but they will capped at rm1000 starting jan next year.
i wish can apply 2x OCBC Titanium sweat.gif

currently using OCBC and DA for petrol and groceries rebates (coz DA offer 5% on weekend at Giant/Tesco) smile.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 21 2010, 04:05 PM
erry-
post Nov 21 2010, 04:08 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Nov 21 2010, 12:03 PM)
i still got the same credit limit even though i have been using their card for 6 years...and my payment is really good for this year. ermmm....maybe i can threaten them by trying to terminate the card
QUOTE(epie @ Nov 21 2010, 04:03 PM)
i always pay what i used...so no interest pay by me. better use amex now
good! never let bank charge interest rclxms.gif

maybe u never swipe till reaching the current CL?
like me, previously got limit 18.5k, and i want to swipe 30k.
what i do is, swipe 15k, go deposit 15k, then swipe another 15k.
next month they send letter increase my CL smile.gif

it just like this, u want to buy something cost rm 5k and u have the cash. go fast cash to ur cc then swipe.
u can get 5k points (or rebates) somemore smile.gif

but why treaten to terminate? better ask them to increase CL?
QUOTE(persistence85 @ Nov 21 2010, 01:06 PM)
Why don't u apply for the increasing credit limit at the branch?  cool2.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Nov 21 2010, 04:17 PM
erry-
post Nov 21 2010, 08:40 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(persistence85 @ Nov 21 2010, 07:38 PM)
Good idea  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

How much your Credit Limit has been increased after that? rclxub.gif
more than previous 18.5k lah brows.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0214sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:59 PM