Quote "What magical device when hold in right hand is a phone but in left hand, it's a media player?"
-Is it Iphone4? huhu-
Nokia N8 - V6 - [The King of Camera Phones], Nokia N8... It's Coming!!!!!
Oct 12 2010, 02:54 PM
157 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Quote "What magical device when hold in right hand is a phone but in left hand, it's a media player?"
-Is it Iphone4? huhu- |
Oct 12 2010, 02:54 PM
3,308 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 12 2010, 02:49 PM) Is that a fair comparison? Last time I check, iPhone does not support flash at all, while the Symbian Internet browser (called webkit?) does, it may be just flash lite, but better than nothing. Perhaps can rephrase for Web Browsing experience to "Web version/optimized page" or even "iOS optimized"? My not try the Opera on the N8 just to make it fair with iPhone browser? All I can say is, features should be provided; It's up to the user whether they want to use/turn it on or not. Not providing the feature and giving excuses is another story; Whoever buys the excuses is again another story. Well, there's no wrong or right in this, as long as the Customer for the product is happy. |
Oct 12 2010, 02:56 PM
5,893 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Oct 12 2010, 02:57 PM
6,317 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(SecretPaladin @ Oct 12 2010, 02:29 PM) so you mean Android 1st , iOS 2nd and Symbian 3rd.. i believe your choice is because you are too used to Symbian edi la...Android and iOS IMO is actually better then SymbianI have many symbian phones and i got 1 iphone 3g + HTC legend with android. The reasons i use so many symbian phones is because i found it work better. the reason i sold out my iphone 3g recently is because i dont fullfill my needs. HTC legend also seldom use.. SO i will put Symbian 1st, 2nd Symbian and 3rd also Symbian. End Discussion. |
Oct 12 2010, 03:11 PM
2,844 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 12 2010, 02:49 PM) Is that a fair comparison? Last time I check, iPhone does not support flash at all, while the Symbian Internet browser (called webkit?) does, it may be just flash lite, but better than nothing. I think it's a fair comparison because I'm comparing the browsers overall. 90% of web content is HTML and images. Smooth scrolling, screen rotation, pinch-to-zoom and automatic text rearrangement so it fits your screen are things I like more about the iPhone browser than Symbian's. And if we wish to compare Android's with Symbian's, Symbian is even further behind because Android has all the iPhone features and it still supports Flash.QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 12 2010, 02:49 PM) My not try the Opera on the N8 just to make it fair with iPhone browser? Because it isn't the default browser. You can also install Opera on Android and iPhones. This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Oct 12 2010, 03:12 PM |
Oct 12 2010, 03:13 PM
1,091 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: PenangLoveLand |
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 12 2010, 02:39 PM) I commend you on your unbiased and impartial judgement. Thats why i said your need and mine not same. you want browser. but i dont need that seriously. Seriously though, I guess it depends on the user. In my case, browsing on a Symbian device is a pain in the ass. Even with the new improvements on Symbian^3, it's still not as fluid or optimized as Android's or iPhone's. Connectivity-wise though, I'm happy to say Symbian phone come out on top. I've never had problems connecting to WiFi/Edge/3G with Symbian phones, only with Android/iPhone devices (although usually in special cases). I've also become addicted to storing all my contacts in Gmail and syncing them via Android/iPhone. Symbian is a bit more difficult which is why I seldom carry my Nokia phones around anymore. Camera-wise, there's no competition. Nokia makes better camera phones, especially N82 and N8, while Android and iPhone cameras are so-so only. I think in the long term though, Android has the most survivability and long term prospects. It's just too friggin flexible. I've seen people customize it in really crazy ways through installing alternative home applications and flashing ROMs. Development on Symbian/Qt is a pain in the ass if you're tried it. iPhone applications are the easiest to develop thanks to standard width and height (480x320) in the code, whether it's iPhone 1 or iPhone 4. QUOTE(620omen @ Oct 12 2010, 02:47 PM) That is ur opinion.. But u must consider other opinion..~ Dont be selfish.. it's not bad to know other opinion.. im not selfish.. he declared out his need and i declare mine..QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 12 2010, 02:49 PM) Is that a fair comparison? Last time I check, iPhone does not support flash at all, while the Symbian Internet browser (called webkit?) does, it may be just flash lite, but better than nothing. yes.. not all term is good for android or iOS.My not try the Opera on the N8 just to make it fair with iPhone browser? |
Oct 12 2010, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(SecretPaladin @ Oct 12 2010, 03:13 PM) Thats why i said your need and mine not same. you want browser. but i dont need that seriously. It's just that your statement "SO i will put Symbian 1st, 2nd Symbian and 3rd also Symbian. End Discussion." sounds like you don't even think other operating systems deserve to be considered. im not selfish.. he declared out his need and i declare mine.. yes.. not all term is good for android or iOS. |
Oct 12 2010, 03:18 PM
Oct 12 2010, 03:21 PM
6,358 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Internet World |
I have tried alot of OS.
If only Maemo still have support from Nokia, I would put it on the top Android>Maemo>Symbian>iOS iOS at the last, coz its pretty sickening with all the restriction. I hope someone could cook up Maemo ROM for N8 This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 12 2010, 03:24 PM |
Oct 12 2010, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 12 2010, 03:21 PM) I have tried alot of OS. lol...true on that one, but what about jailbroken iOS then?If only Maemo still have support from Nokia, I would put it on the top Android>Maemo>Symbian>iOS iOS at the last, coz its pretty sickening with all the restriction. I hope someone could cook up Maemo ROM for N8 |
Oct 12 2010, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(SecretPaladin @ Oct 12 2010, 03:18 PM) Oh I understood you meant only for yourself. I wasn't referring to anybody else except you. Added on October 12, 2010, 3:27 pm QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 12 2010, 03:21 PM) I would put Windows Phone 7 as the last, because it's got all the disadvantages of the other OSs and none of their advantages. This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Oct 12 2010, 03:27 PM |
Oct 12 2010, 03:27 PM
6,357 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Penang |
Oct 12 2010, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 12 2010, 04:26 PM) Oh I understood you meant only for yourself. I wasn't referring to anybody else except you. Haven't try WP7 liao. I only list the OS I tried/used so far. Added on October 12, 2010, 3:27 pm I would put Windows Phone 7 as the last, because it's got all the disadvantages of the other OSs and none of their advantages. I have tried WinMo but since WP7 is out, I don't put in the list. This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 12 2010, 03:30 PM |
Oct 12 2010, 03:31 PM
8,407 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 12 2010, 03:21 PM) I have tried alot of OS. cook "Meego" for N8.. possible? :hmm.. a lot of driver issue oh.. If only Maemo still have support from Nokia, I would put it on the top Android>Maemo>Symbian>iOS iOS at the last, coz its pretty sickening with all the restriction. I hope someone could cook up Maemo ROM for N8 still... nHD not enough for Meego.. QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 12 2010, 03:27 PM) oh yah.. Leo.. u should put WP7 now at the far back.. coz it come with all the iOS restriction.. . u need to toiletbreak it.. |
Oct 12 2010, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 12 2010, 03:26 PM) I would put Windows Phone 7 as the last, because it's got all the disadvantages of the other OSs and none of their advantages. honestly, WP7 kinda reminds me of iOS 1.0...QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 12 2010, 03:27 PM) for iOS it's called jailbreak mah, so use back the original term lor..what irritates me is people are using the word for even PS3..wouldn't "hack" be a shorter, better understood term?Prisonbreak cannot lar, that one got copyright issue lol... |
Oct 12 2010, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 12 2010, 04:31 PM) cook "Meego" for N8.. possible? :hmm.. a lot of driver issue oh.. I haven't tried WP7 lor. So didn't put it in the list although its really obvious WP7 has lots of restriction. WP7 = iOS 1.0/2.0 = fail. But if it produce zombie fanboy like apple fanboy, eg WP fanboy, it will sell like hotcake still... nHD not enough for Meego.. oh yah.. Leo.. u should put WP7 now at the far back.. coz it come with all the iOS restriction.. . u need to toiletbreak it.. |
Oct 12 2010, 03:34 PM
157 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 12 2010, 03:31 PM) honestly, WP7 kinda reminds me of iOS 1.0... for iOS it's called jailbreak mah, so use back the original term lor..what irritates me is people are using the word for even PS3..wouldn't "hack" be a shorter, better understood term? Prisonbreak cannot lar, that one got copyright issue lol... |
Oct 12 2010, 03:42 PM
n8 coming soon.. coming to town to beat all cameraphone~
Oct 12 2010, 03:57 PM
8,407 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Oct 12 2010, 04:01 PM
1,447 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
i dun think Windows Mobile is tat bad.... based on my past experience with Windows Mobile (5.0 - 6.5 version) i would said windows mobile can do a lot of things.
The onli problem with it is the OS sometimes hangs or start to become slow motion or lag. A lot of bug i would said. But on functionality on the phone itself it beats the crap out of other OS. Just i cant ignore the problem having constantly restarting my phone. That why i end up going back to nokia 6300 and then to n79. But now Windows mobile is coming back. Lets give it a chance. At least M$ is willing to make a big change not like Nokia's Symbian have any much changes. |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:12 PM |