Photography Film | Analog Thread, 35mm, 120, LF

ifer
post Oct 11 2011, 01:31 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(yoong @ Oct 10 2011, 11:49 PM)
Hp5 is pretty tolerant, so 1600 is not a problem. I regularly shoot my trix at 3200 and once or twice managed to push it to 125,000 before!
If you are looking to experiment of stand development, try the Rodinal. At high dilutions, like 1+100, it has a compensating effect that maintains the highlights.

For me when I develop my trix at 1600 or 3200, I use dil B (HC110), partly because I'm too lazy to use a higher dilution and partly because if I want to push, it means I was high contrast. Here are some samples of tri-x @ 3200, dil B http://yoongkhean.wordpress.com/articles/s...ith-tri-x-3200/
Yes, you can rent mine. I have two enlargers in my darkroom, from 35mm, medium and large format. Here are my rates: http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=186031088108845

Do pm me if interested.
yoong, i am sure you meant 12,500 iso and not 125,000
ifer
post Oct 12 2011, 05:37 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(yoong @ Oct 12 2011, 03:19 PM)
6 hours only? I once spend 13 hours straight in my darkroom tongue.gif
was it hunger or delusion that made you stop? tongue.gif
ifer
post Oct 17 2011, 09:55 PM

4,637 posts

what makes you think that bigger camera will scare people off?
ifer
post Oct 19 2011, 12:26 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Oct 18 2011, 09:42 AM)
One time I tried to snap a burly Indon shoe repair man near the building besides Kotaraya, he saw me, then the stood up, pointed his finger and shouted at me  shocking.gif  shocking.gif . He wanted to chase me  cry.gif . Almost "pee"ed in my pants  blush.gif . Knees shaking badly but managed to run across the road and cabut. Luckily didn't get hit by Metrobus  sweat.gif .

I was only using a tiny P&S camera and I didn't think he saw my camera. What he saw was me raising my cam to shoot. No matter how small the camera, the photographer is just so much bigger. Also people just have a sixth sense on when some idiot is about to point a camera in their face  doh.gif .

so sorry hiroboroi as i actually lol when i was reading your story. though i find it funny here, i am sure it was terrifying for you at that moment. i am one of those photographers who use the large format though i do not use a dark cloth and stick my head into it nor i run across the road and get hit by a metrobus.

there was once when i was at an open space car park nearby pudu plaza. i noticed that i can see a nice view of the city from the car park. asked the boy who manage the space and he said ok not problem. so i took my camera out and start setting it up and stuffs. took me 15 to 20 minutes to set up my camera actually.

approximately 20 minutes later, a dude who has a conan the barbarian size came up to me and asked why am i taking photographs. i told him that i am taking photographs as a hobby and i teach photography and i see this beautiful view of the city from here and stuffs.

he started screaming like a WWE champion saying how i trespass the area as this space is a private owned space and i am not allowed to be here. he even told me that he will get his buddies (whom i assume have the same body size as his) to come together and beat the sh*t out of me.

he even said that since i trespassed, he can decapitate me and hang my head in the tree and nobody will know anything about it and if they do, the law couldn't do anything because i trespass.

prior his arrival, i managed to take a photo. so i thought since i have my photo, there is no point in arguing with him. i just said my sorry and how i didn't realise it's a private owned stuffs and smile and act dumb and stuffs (show bambi eyes).

he kept on shouting and kept on saying he can smash my face onto the ground and everything. 5 minutes later, he asked me how long more do i need. i told him i need 5 more minutes. i guess i wanted to shoot another same shot as insurance before i leave.

he left me alone. after i have shot my 2nd photo, i packed up and leave. before i leave the ground, he walked up to me and said sorry for being rude to me and i have to understand his situation as the land belongs to the government and how if the government see someone here he will lose his job and stuff.

i said my last sorry and i left the place.

i got my photos. and my head is still on my body. phew!
ifer
post Oct 31 2011, 12:23 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Oct 30 2011, 01:49 PM)
With regard to the film counter, I'm generally talking about 35mm film cameras. So I assumed that this is  also the same with medium format cameras. My Nikon Fm2 will advance the counter even if there is no filmtongue.gif

p/s - For the price we are paying for our films  cry.gif , we should have the right to molest it to our heart's content.  thumbup.gif
on bold: OMG! then how do you know if there was a roll in your FM 2 or not leh?
ifer
post Oct 31 2011, 08:25 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(kel_jink @ Oct 30 2011, 01:31 PM)
"hahaha..sometimes i also slack la...but keeping the film box in the camera bag/pouch would let you remember it as well.."

I too keep film box in my bag, but sometimes, ok, most of the time I have more than 5 types of film in my bag, and when I'm lazy to clean my bag, there will be 5 different empty boxes of the 5 films i use... GOD Y U NO MAKE ME MORE HARDWORKING!
can i ask questions?
why do you use 5 different type of films?
what type of films are they?

ifer
post Oct 31 2011, 09:53 AM

4,637 posts

rx330, ermm... most of the medium format cameras do not have a built in light meter... means they do not have an iso setting as well
ifer
post Oct 31 2011, 10:27 AM

4,637 posts

eh, i think i must have missed that. hahaa didnt really realise about that.
but then again, i guess i personally don't find it a need to have an iso dial on a body that do not have a light meter coz the iso setting will be in the hand held meter.

besides, i use only iso 100 films so yeah...
ifer
post Oct 31 2011, 12:50 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(yoong @ Oct 31 2011, 12:39 PM)
Wait till you get a LF camera. You'll need a more elaborate workflow just so you dont screw up the shots!  tongue.gif

So dont worry about having film inside, etc. Just pick a workflow and go shoot  cool2.gif
eh, you know arr... i come to realise that i enjoy using my largeformat more than any other cameras that i have used before. this is partly because of the slow set up and everything. i like it. i mean the slow set up.
ifer
post Nov 2 2011, 10:13 AM

4,637 posts

mamiya 6 is damn expensive weii
ifer
post Nov 2 2011, 10:33 AM

4,637 posts

RB67 is at least 2 times the size of a hassy.
well, maybe not but it's huge. and heavy.
and the mirror slap is a bit clumsy
ifer
post Nov 2 2011, 04:14 PM

4,637 posts

woah this mamiya looks clumsy leh... as big as a large format. it can even fit a large format film...
ifer
post Nov 2 2011, 04:19 PM

4,637 posts

i think you can convert it seeing that it comes with a mamiya cut film holder. hahaa consider selling that to me if you do not want it ya.

but one of the joy/fun, in my case necessity of using a large format is the ability to tilt and shift the camera. can the giant do it?
ifer
post Nov 2 2011, 04:26 PM

4,637 posts

moving the film plane or the lens plane
ifer
post Nov 2 2011, 04:34 PM

4,637 posts

it was a press camera. not meant to be movable (i think)
ifer
post Nov 2 2011, 04:41 PM

4,637 posts

because it was used by the press photographers. press as in newspaper press photographer.
these were the days before leica came out with their super small camera that accepts movie film (35mm format)

no D3s at that time. no 60 focusing points. lol
ifer
post Nov 3 2011, 08:35 AM

4,637 posts

press the shutter release down at least one inch... what kind of camera is that?

This post has been edited by ifer: Nov 3 2011, 08:36 AM
ifer
post Nov 3 2011, 12:19 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 3 2011, 09:19 AM)
hiro, u and ur lengluis...
some i took, as personal fren, i cant post la

riggo, i mean easier not as in focusing easier, my N90 is manual focus
for slr u can compose together while focusing, whereas for the rangefinder u need to focus then compose

askar, u cum cum jaybee, i let u rape n raba my miss miya
rape... sweat.gif
ifer
post Nov 10 2011, 11:23 AM

4,637 posts

rx330,
get a nikon film camera hehee
a camera that was manufactured in the same year that you were born.
that will be super cool
ifer
post Nov 10 2011, 05:39 PM

4,637 posts

eh F90 / N90 is a camera built in the 90s.
how old are you?

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:55 PM