Oct 20 2010, 02:19 PM
1,460 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Shah Alam |
anyone here got a collection of portrait photography? I've been seeing canon's ... doesn't seem to be impressed tho... while the other yellow camp seems to got more... of that vibrant warmth to it.. and more dynamic range to it..
anyone get what I'm about to express here? |
Oct 20 2010, 02:20 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Oct 20 2010, 02:19 PM) anyone here got a collection of portrait photography? I've been seeing canon's ... doesn't seem to be impressed tho... while the other yellow camp seems to got more... of that vibrant warmth to it.. and more dynamic range to it.. try looking at orang camp as well anyone get what I'm about to express here? |
Oct 20 2010, 02:24 PM
mmm.. the yellow camp seems to get feel of the portrait look thus the vibrant and the dynamic suits it well.
For canon, it is all about fast shutter or like my friend would say it produces better lens motor in it. For orange camp, I've sense it to be more color solid interms of product placement. but its for a fact... that yellow camp... its getting to me! come someone help me revive the love of my 550d >.< feels like cheating on my camera on go yellow camp on her back |
Oct 20 2010, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Oct 20 2010, 02:24 PM) mmm.. the yellow camp seems to get feel of the portrait look thus the vibrant and the dynamic suits it well. oh boy, you better get your facts right before people here start bombing you. For canon, it is all about fast shutter or like my friend would say it produces better lens motor in it. For orange camp, I've sense it to be more color solid interms of product placement. but its for a fact... that yellow camp... its getting to me! come someone help me revive the love of my 550d >.< feels like cheating on my camera on go yellow camp on her back all 3 systems can have 'fast shutter', whatever you meant. better motor? means what? no doubt USM is really good. This post has been edited by zstan: Oct 20 2010, 02:27 PM |
Oct 20 2010, 02:27 PM
hahaha its basically my noob opinion nobody should be startle by it... thats why I'm provoking them to bomb me so that I can be amazed back by the true beauty of canon
Oct 20 2010, 02:30 PM
4,967 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: somewhere, far far away |
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Oct 20 2010, 02:27 PM) hahaha its basically my noob opinion nobody should be startle by it... thats why I'm provoking them to bomb me so that I can be amazed back by the true beauty of canon learn to use your picture styles. you are actually the first person I heard that prefer other camp color for portrait, most prefer Canon more neutral colormy collection of portrait shoots here and here |
Oct 20 2010, 02:31 PM
12,505 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Triumph in the Skies Status:In LoV3 Again |
^
Canon color for portrait way better than others. |
Oct 20 2010, 02:34 PM
canon picks up red a lot, hence the model's cheeks look more rosy n vibrant.
Oct 20 2010, 02:35 PM
2,966 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Macross Galaxy |
Canon colour originally memang nicer for skin tone one. But if you know how to use photoshop or lightroom to edit the skin tone, every systems out there are the same
Oct 20 2010, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(valho @ Oct 20 2010, 02:30 PM) learn to use your picture styles. you are actually the first person I heard that prefer other camp color for portrait, most prefer Canon more neutral color Sorry to say... but canon produces less "moment" coloring. I know most people prefer neutral coloring... but I guess for me because real life is sucks. I want to make it surreal [not blurred pictures] but more colourful and dynamic.my collection of portrait shoots here and here then again I don't want to jump and then regretting to some extend it can't satisfy me. So please debate with me! From your pictures, I can't sense any moments at all.. more over, it looks dull or somewhat only relying on composition and the pose of the object to bring out your pictures thus bringing your pictures to a dull moment. [sorry if its too harsh] I'm looking for something vibrant and dynamic color. To the extend people will see it while opening their mouth. I know for a fact that a picture is linked trough composition + color + object/subject to tell a story = a good picture or that is what in my opinion. Please anyone debate with me. I want to get it untill the bottom of this issue. P/S: ill be back after sending my last assignment >.> Pp/s : wrong of me for using the word such as vibrant instead colorfull This post has been edited by ComradeZ: Oct 20 2010, 02:46 PM |
Oct 20 2010, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Oct 20 2010, 02:39 PM) Sorry to say... but canon produces less "moment" coloring. I know most people prefer neutral coloring... but I guess for me because real life is sucks. I want to make it surreal [not blurred pictures] but more vibrant and dynamic. the colors actually have to do with what kind of lens you are using as well. the colour produced by L lenses will certainly be much better than say, a tamron? then again I don't want to jump and then regretting to some extend it can't satisfy me. So please debate with me! From your pictures, I can't sense any moments at all.. more over, it looks dull or somewhat only relying on composition and the pose of the object to bring out your pictures thus bringing your pictures to a dull moment. [sorry if its too harsh] I'm looking for something vibrant and dynamic color. To the extend people will see it while opening their mouth. I know for a fact that a picture is linked trough composition + color + object/subject to tell a story = a good picture or that is what in my opinion. Please anyone debate with me. I want to get it untill the bottom of this issue. P/S: ill be back after sending my last assignment >.> can view my noob portraits from the orange army here. |
Oct 20 2010, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Oct 20 2010, 02:39 PM) Sorry to say... but canon produces less "moment" coloring. I know most people prefer neutral coloring... but I guess for me because real life is sucks. I want to make it surreal [not blurred pictures] but more vibrant and dynamic. well color is a very subjective thing, for me it's not necessary for colors to always be vibrant, punchy as long as I get the mood that I want. Too vibrant and punchy color are usually bad for skin tones. Canon default color is always neutral, and neutral color is easier to work with when you post process later. If you want vibrant, dynamic color out of the cam then change your picture style.then again I don't want to jump and then regretting to some extend it can't satisfy me. So please debate with me! From your pictures, I can't sense any moments at all.. more over, it looks dull or somewhat only relying on composition and the pose of the object to bring out your pictures thus bringing your pictures to a dull moment. [sorry if its too harsh] I'm looking for something vibrant and dynamic color. To the extend people will see it while opening their mouth. I know for a fact that a picture is linked trough composition + color + object/subject to tell a story = a good picture or that is what in my opinion. Please anyone debate with me. I want to get it untill the bottom of this issue. P/S: ill be back after sending my last assignment >.> I think the color you are looking for is something like this |
Oct 20 2010, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Oct 20 2010, 02:39 PM) Sorry to say... but canon produces less "moment" coloring. I know most people prefer neutral coloring... but I guess for me because real life is sucks. I want to make it surreal [not blurred pictures] but more vibrant and dynamic. Surreal? You think everyone also came from Dada art movement meh. Everyone has their own taste lo. then again I don't want to jump and then regretting to some extend it can't satisfy me. So please debate with me! From your pictures, I can't sense any moments at all.. more over, it looks dull or somewhat only relying on composition and the pose of the object to bring out your pictures thus bringing your pictures to a dull moment. [sorry if its too harsh] I'm looking for something vibrant and dynamic color. To the extend people will see it while opening their mouth. I know for a fact that a picture is linked trough composition + color + object/subject to tell a story = a good picture or that is what in my opinion. Please anyone debate with me. I want to get it untill the bottom of this issue. P/S: ill be back after sending my last assignment >.> Speechless lah, dunno how to debate with you also. I can feel more missiles flying in soon tho... |
Oct 20 2010, 02:46 PM
23,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taipei |
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Oct 20 2010, 02:39 PM) Sorry to say... but canon produces less "moment" coloring. I know most people prefer neutral coloring... but I guess for me because real life is sucks. I want to make it surreal [not blurred pictures] but more vibrant and dynamic. We had somewhat the same debate recently in the office... it could be relevant topic in film but we're talking about digital photography here.. there's picture style's, temp slider, saturation, hue... yada yada.then again I don't want to jump and then regretting to some extend it can't satisfy me. So please debate with me! From your pictures, I can't sense any moments at all.. more over, it looks dull or somewhat only relying on composition and the pose of the object to bring out your pictures thus bringing your pictures to a dull moment. [sorry if its too harsh] I'm looking for something vibrant and dynamic color. To the extend people will see it while opening their mouth. I know for a fact that a picture is linked trough composition + color + object/subject to tell a story = a good picture or that is what in my opinion. Please anyone debate with me. I want to get it untill the bottom of this issue. P/S: ill be back after sending my last assignment >.> |
Oct 20 2010, 02:48 PM
It's damn subjective lah
Oh btw, who's going to KLPF? Wanna make a gathering? |
Oct 20 2010, 02:49 PM
yup it's a very subjective topic, there's no wrong or right, just user preference. It's not the camera fault either haha, since Canon do provide picture styles for us to play around with rather than just stick a vibrant, dynamic color in our face whether we like it or not.
Oct 20 2010, 02:50 PM
Maybe before I was using the wrong choice of words... sorry to all... and this is a debate indeed so I don't pretty much care what people from dada or whatever just want someone to debate with me thats all.
the word I'm looking for is dynamic.. which is dynamic coloring. not hdr but close. from the yellow camp I've seen alot of dynamic colors. Better yet can be seen as series of depth on each color but in canon i can't see those depth of color... like the whole picture is just 1 big color that controls it. correct me if im wrong. maybe I'm really wrong about this but... I've seen that the skin tone are much well executed in yellow camp... anyone can give sample on canon? I want to make a comparison. I know that you can edit and all.. but I want to see some straight from camera comparison. This post has been edited by ComradeZ: Oct 20 2010, 02:52 PM |
Oct 20 2010, 02:53 PM
yellow camp color are warmer and vibrant by default, Canon color is more neutral by default. Can you do a more vibrant color on Canon? YES.
How? by tweaking your picture style if you want it to be vibrant and dynamic out of camera. if not post process it later. |
Oct 20 2010, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Oct 20 2010, 02:48 PM) me QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Oct 20 2010, 02:50 PM) Maybe before I was using the wrong choice of words... sorry to all... and this is a debate indeed so I don't pretty much care what people from dada or whatever just want someone to debate with me thats all. why not you show us a sample picture of which is dynamic? the word I'm looking for is dynamic.. which is dynamic coloring. not hdr but close. from the yellow camp I've seen alot of dynamic colors. Better yet can be seen as series of depth on each color but in canon i can't see those depth of color... like the whole picture is just 1 big color that controls it. correct me if im wrong. maybe I'm really wrong about this but... I've seen that the skin tone are much well executed in yellow camp... anyone can give sample on canon? I want to make a comparison. I know that you can edit and all.. but I want to see some straight from camera comparison. |
| Change to: | 0.0287sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:11 AM |