124 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

English Clubs Chelsea FC - LYN True Blues 10/11, 12/12 Tottenham v Chelsea 23:55 CH817

jenglots
post Oct 7 2010, 11:33 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Alex)
'If you look at Chelsea's start to the season, you'd have expected them to have won all those games, so the position they're in doesn't surprise me.

'Meanwhile, we've had tricky trips to Fulham and Everton then played Liverpool at home. Those are difficult matches.

'Liverpool, Arsenal and ourselves have all played top sides early on.

'Chelsea's sterner tests are still to come.'
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...n.html#comments

I LOL at this. He started mind games, just like every season he did.
esca_flo
post Oct 7 2010, 11:42 PM

just learned how to do custom title today.....
770 posts

In a way i agree with him. Chelsea sterner test hv yet to come, but its time now. We will go thru it together. Dont worry, we know our ability.
destfull
post Oct 8 2010, 12:09 AM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

Roman Abramovich in no 4 of EPL owner rich list but yet people complaining about our richness..

Arsenal biggest shareholders - Alisher Usmanov is no3, yet they kena tapau last week
redart
post Oct 8 2010, 12:48 AM

315 posts

Arsenal supporter here, issue about the new stadium attract my attention so just sharing some info here.

Regarding moving to a new stadium I don't know if it'll really benefit you guys. It's not simply by moving into new stadium the club will rake in more money. The traditional size of the supporters play a big part here.

Here's an article that explain why Arsenal made the move to a new stadium and Tottenham contemplating to do the same.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/article-1...elsea-fans.html
madfag
post Oct 8 2010, 08:32 AM

the Legend.
564 posts

hmmm, i dont think there is much harm in expanding, if expandable, because currently, there is no space around stamford bridge that can be expanded.

if we expand, we can lower the price of the tickets by a little, and more fans will come to the bridge. grow might be slow in London but around the world, i do think there are more and more Chelsea fans.

its a slow process, but i think the expansion of the stadium will do more good than harm. the only problem is, to move from our current grounds. we cant.
TSplokoon
post Oct 8 2010, 09:07 AM

Baek
753 posts

Not planning to burst your bubbles or anything, but for those who think it's wise to expand the stadium's capacity or more to a new stadium, they should stop and read this first:

Roman Abramovich has spent £457m finding 1,639 new Chelsea fans...no wonder the Russian is trimming his investment

In the seven years before Roman Abramovich took over at Chelsea, the club spent £106million on players and drew an average gate of 39,784.

Since Abramovich arrived, £457m has been poured into the transfer market and attendances have risen - to 41,423.
That is a difference of just 1,639 people, or £278,828 per fan. No wonder the talk is that Abramovich is trimming his investment, introducing cost-cutting measures and reduced transfer budgets at Stamford Bridge.

Never forget that three league titles have been won in his time, and an equivalent number of FA Cups. The League Cup has been won twice and Chelsea have appeared in the last four of the Champions League on no fewer than five occasions.
There are obviously contributory factors, not least the capacity at Stamford Bridge. It is likely that for certain big matches the club could have sold considerably more than the 42,449 permitted.

Yet Chelsea's average gate since Abramovich came in would still not constitute a sell-out. The fact is that while the significance of Chelsea has grown in Abramovich's seven years, the size of the club has remained largely unmoved.
It is not familiarity that has bred this contempt, either. Over the preceding decades the supporters hardly had the opportunity to grow weary of the heights of European football, yet it is noticeable that the ground is rarely full for Champions League group games.

Chelsea should have exploded in Abramovich's time, making a move to bigger premises essential. He has done everything right. He has invested substantially in players of good quality, who have in turn delivered success. He has encouraged entertaining football, and 44 goals in 11 games this season suggest an ambition fulfilled there, too.

He even froze ticket prices for four years prior to this season, equating to a net deduction of 15 per cent, with inflation considered. So what is Chelsea's problem? Strangely, there isn't one. They are simply proof of how incredibly hard it is to grow a club organically beyond its traditional size.

Arsenal moved from Highbury, where the capacity at closure was 38,419, to a new stadium at Ashburton Grove holding 60,355, and filled it instantly. Yet Arsenal have long been established as the biggest club in London and at the time of leaving Highbury had a 20,000-strong waiting list for season tickets, closed for some time. This, in part, prompted their move. The board knew that, in essence, Arsenal were a club with a following of 60,000; it was just that 22,000 of them couldn't fit inside the stadium.

Part of the reason Tottenham Hotspur are so desperate to upgrade White Hart Lane is to accommodate their own substantial waiting list. Yet on June 9, Chelsea announced season tickets were available to any 2010/11 member with 67 loyalty points or more, the equivalent of having attended every home match last season, using a ticket purchased on free sale.

Chelsea continue to look at plans to expand, but without the enthusiasm that exists elsewhere. Their big leap came between 1989 and 2003 when the average gate rose from 15,957 to 39,770. They hit the 41,000-mark the following year and have remained there since.
Bruce Buck, the chairman, is a realist. Abramovich is too, in his way. Beyond swapping lunacy for financial responsibility, his enthusiasm does not wane. Even with unprecedented success and £457m lavished on players, Chelsea find growth hard, yet Abramovich has not lost interest, as many expected.

But how many will follow him, once UEFA's poorly-conceived financial regulations take hold? If Chelsea's progress in joining the traditional upper echelons of European football is so dauntingly slow, imagine how difficult it will be when clubs are denied the potential of fast-tracking through owner investment? The transition from small to middling, middling to elite, will be glacial, and considerably more problematic than it is already.

If Abramovich cannot do it, who can? And more importantly, who will be bothered?

This post has been edited by plokoon: Oct 8 2010, 09:07 AM
chitchat
post Oct 8 2010, 09:19 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ Oct 8 2010, 12:09 AM)
Roman Abramovich in no 4 of EPL owner rich list but yet people complaining about our richness..

Arsenal biggest shareholders - Alisher Usmanov is no3, yet they kena tapau last week
Seriously those who complain are just plain jealous, all other club are dreaming to have an owner like RA. Because he is a football man and love the club not like some arab sheik for publicity stun or some yanks for milking profits.

BLUES PLAN TO STAY AT THE BRIDGE
Chelsea have again reiterated their desire to remain at Stamford Bridge.

If we wanted to move to a new stadium, i am sure we will buy over CHELSEA FC naming right unless they are asking crazy price.

This post has been edited by chitchat: Oct 8 2010, 09:19 AM
madfag
post Oct 8 2010, 10:18 AM

the Legend.
564 posts

there's an interesting statistic from statman!
And while discussing different nations , Davin Varhun wants to know whether data is collected on the amount of people visiting this very website from different nations. Davin asks about India specifically.

Three per cent of traffic to chelseafc.com comes from India with the top five countries for visitors being:

UK
USA
Nigeria
Malaysia
India
there is definitely alot of Chelsea fans in Malaysia! they are just hidden laugh.gif

Added on October 8, 2010, 10:23 amnever write out FRANK LAMPARD! 20+ goals with 17 assist for a midfielder? thats FRANK LAMPARD for you! laugh.gif

Last season Frank Lampard was top of their figures with 17 assists followed by Cesc Fabregas on 15, Drogba on 13, James Milner 12, Ryan Giggs 11 and Nicolas Anelka 10.

The all-time Premier League list up to the end of last season is Giggs 90, Lampard 81, Steven Gerrard 71. Next among Chelsea players was Anelka with 48.

Added on October 8, 2010, 10:30 am
Nicky Fernandez asks who were the last teams to come to the Bridge in the Premier League, beat us and keep a clean sheet.

In reverse order the last four were:

2008/09 - Liverpool won 1-0
2003/04 - Liverpool won 1-0
2001/2 - Man United won 3-0
2001/2 - Charlton won 1-0

looks like its not easy for teams to keep clean sheets against us at the bridge smile.gif

This post has been edited by madfag: Oct 8 2010, 10:30 AM
ijamz
post Oct 8 2010, 11:04 AM

This is my 176524th cigar in my life
1,828 posts

We need the power of Ayah Pin to win the league..i read somewhere else that RA and Ayah Pin is related.

Jk.im bored..No epl ..kind aaa.... hollowww...
eeki
post Oct 8 2010, 11:14 AM

299 posts

no EPL but got international match what. anyone watch Brazil game yesterday? ramires is playing.
madfag
post Oct 8 2010, 11:37 AM

the Legend.
564 posts

QUOTE(ijamz @ Oct 8 2010, 11:04 AM)
We need the power of Ayah Pin to win the league..i read somewhere else that RA and Ayah Pin is related.
Jk.im bored..No epl ..kind aaa.... hollowww...
dude. thats a horrible joke.

what i would do is, bigger stadium, lower ticket prices. iinm, stamford bridge tickets are very very expensive. alot of fans end up watching in pubs and what not.
Belphegor
post Oct 8 2010, 12:06 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Malouda want some samba football before he finishes his career. Neymar suspect following Rooney's habit? On the other hand, we might see another German midfielder coming to us with Arsenal thinks they have the funds to get his signature.
madfag
post Oct 8 2010, 12:24 PM

the Legend.
564 posts

i think there is too much media surrounding the brazilian young superstar. but i dont really care if he bring back whores to his hotel room, as long as he performs on the pitch.

our number 9 is still vacant. its a sign!

looks like our number 7 jinx is no longer in effect!
hidzwan
post Oct 8 2010, 04:39 PM

377 posts

Congratz Big Pete for winning the Czech Best Player 2009-2010 for the 5th time. Though theres not much competition i suppose.. biggrin.gif
ericling
post Oct 8 2010, 07:33 PM

323 posts

Talking about stadium. I remember I play FIFA 11 last few days, I heard the commentator said: "is it Stamford Bridge big enough for Chelsea?"
I am not very sure, but then it's something like that tongue.gif

Wow, we won't have the Chelsea name if we move from SB. I don't think it's now to build/expand the stadium. By the way, do we still have the space to expand?
Ichighost
post Oct 9 2010, 12:17 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(esca_flo @ Oct 7 2010, 11:52 PM)
Do u know that if chelsea move out of SB , they dont have the right to use the name chelsea anymore . The name stays at SB , forgot where i read it . Any one care to clarify/ investigate?
I know but..If we want it.there always a way to do it..just need a good damm lawyer...

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Oct 8 2010, 12:27 AM)
OMG yeah.

sauce: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chelsea_Pitch_Owners

OMG Don't move away from SB! Expand it instead. Apparently they own the naming rights. Maybe if we really move, we can buy out the rights of the name. hmm.gif
We cant expand it..cuz...we stuck in the middle...

QUOTE(ericling @ Oct 8 2010, 08:33 PM)
Talking about stadium. I remember I play FIFA 11 last few days, I heard the commentator said: "is it Stamford Bridge big enough for Chelsea?"
I am not very sure, but then it's something like that tongue.gif

Wow, we won't have the Chelsea name if we move from SB. I don't think it's now to build/expand the stadium. By the way, do we still have the space to expand?
Nope..for long term...yes we fine and okey with RA...if we take advantage while he still around to build new stadium..after that if he leave we can generate more money..and that will help us to sustain the club...

~ 100% Support New Capacity Stadium for CFC..and I still want Chelsea as the club name...Hehehe
taor3n
post Oct 9 2010, 06:29 PM

937 posts

i read 1 news on goal.com..
capello...was thinking wether to axe terry or ferdinand to partner wif jagielka...
wad a jokeeeee....
how can u ever thought about ...axing john....
how can that even crossed his mind about this....

dumbass..capello...

now jagielka injured...so no need think of axing who...already...

retarddddd...axe himself would be the best choice...

This post has been edited by taor3n: Oct 9 2010, 06:34 PM
eszol
post Oct 9 2010, 06:46 PM

rules aren't always right
1,252 posts

lolol

in drog we trust
obefriend
post Oct 9 2010, 06:46 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(taor3n @ Oct 9 2010, 06:29 PM)
i read 1 news on goal.com..
capello...was thinking wether to axe terry or ferdinand to partner wif jagielka...
wad a jokeeeee....
how can u ever thought about ...axing john....
how can that even crossed his mind about this....

dumbass..capello...

now jagielka injured...so no need think of axing who...already...

retarddddd...axe himself would be the best choice...
let me see

he won the league in 2 countries
won the ECL once i think

what have u ever won in real world? sorry pal but playing CM for 10 year does not make you a manager.

Capello is spot. Let me explain. Terry is never the nippiest defender in the league. He is slow as a whale. Now. Over the years in the england set up he was partnered by Ferdinand who is alot faster and more agile than our Johnny T

this is no longer the case guv. As we all know Ferdinand have a troublesome back. He can no longer cover Terry deficiency in covering a rampaging forward

just look at the City game. Look at home Terry got absolutely raped by Tevez. Not even Cole can catch up with him. Capello is just using logic. The achilles heel in the England D is the slowness of the 2 center backs.

You sir is a disgrace. Calling one of the top manager a retard when your reasoning for disagreeing with him stemmed from your blind club allegience. The tard is you and you bloody know it guv

lok3i
post Oct 9 2010, 07:53 PM

cycling for a healthy life
559 posts

Capello is that good eh? i wonder why England not winning world cup

Added on October 9, 2010, 7:56 pm
Broughton (Liverpool chairman) 'scoured the world' for sugar daddy

"We searched the world looking for another owner like the ones at Chelsea and Manchester City. With all of Liverpool's traditions, heritage, history and powerful global brand, I must admit I thought it would be possible to find one.

"We hoped for someone who wanted a 'trophy asset', but having scoured the world without finding one, the conclusion is that there are no more Romans out there.

"Yes, of course, it is disappointing that even a name like Liverpool failed to attract one, so I cannot imagine other club having much luck."

"But the truth is that there is only one Roman Abramovich, there is only one Sheikh Mansour, because we couldn't find another one."

rclxms.gif

Full Story --> http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id...england&cc=4716

This post has been edited by lok3i: Oct 9 2010, 07:58 PM

124 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0809sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:08 AM