126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V6 (More than 140 owners), Where Tablets Meets Mobile Phone

unclemike
post Sep 28 2010, 08:29 AM

538 posts

n900 sifus, need ur opinion on this phone.

planning to get one by early october by trading my old phone(n97mini)

comparing with android hp like desire, galaxy S, is this hp worth it?

the is no lag when performing normal task right? even ive seen many of my friends using this hp mentioning that multitasking is not a problem

one more, overclocking the hp to 800mhz would not be a hard thing to do right?
pezal
post Sep 28 2010, 08:39 AM

283 posts

already own n900 yesterday..hehehe
MrJigoku666
post Sep 28 2010, 08:39 AM

OldSkool = LiFe ☆〜(ゝ。∂)
917 posts

lol im kinda late come to new thread smile.gif
Andy214
post Sep 28 2010, 09:26 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(unclemike @ Sep 28 2010, 08:29 AM)
n900 sifus, need ur opinion on this phone.

planning to get one by early october by trading my old phone(n97mini)

comparing with android hp like desire, galaxy S, is this hp worth it?

the is no lag when performing normal task right? even ive seen many of my friends using this hp mentioning that multitasking is not a problem

one more, overclocking the hp to 800mhz would not be a hard thing to do right?
800Mhz is nothing. There's 2 type of overclocking method, one which is sort of permanent type, and another is on demand type (which means, only overclock when you need it, need to do manually, e.g. at a press of a button).

It's like a PC; technically it's an Internet Tablet which incorporates phone functionality; so like a PC, it depends on how you use, what apps you install, the ram usage; there is swap/virtual memory and like PC, when it's used up to certain amount, you will start to notice lag issue.
In short, you can consider this as a low end tablet PC and use it like a PC with very low specs.

Or you can watch this video, which explains about N900 and also some issue some people may face, just like when using a computer:

jananan
post Sep 28 2010, 10:03 AM

Android
1,513 posts

[attachmentid=1804907]

before attaching the Corsair GT 16GB USB Drive

[attachmentid=1804911]

after attaching the Corsair GT 16GB USB Drive

[attachmentid=1804913]

in FileBox, it just appears as Flash. the mmc1 is the MicroSD

[attachmentid=1804914]

in File Manager, it just appears as CORSAIR, since i labelled it that way.

[attachmentid=1804950]

in File Manager, with the volume label removed, it shows the true formatted capacity of the Corsair GT 16GB USB Drive.

- all contents accessible using the built in File Manager as well as FileBox
- can play most near HD quality videos smoothly from the Corsair GT 16GB & Corsair 4GB
- left it connected for 20 minutes, no issues apart from battery drain
- battery continues to discharge even after disconnecting USB Drive, be sure to reboot after testing.

This post has been edited by jananan: Sep 28 2010, 10:21 AM
mashimarow
post Sep 28 2010, 10:05 AM

1,742 posts

wow, this thread is fast to v6 already, I plan to buy N900 around CNY time, hopefully still got stock available then tongue.gif (and pray no price going up)
Shelby
post Sep 28 2010, 10:06 AM

170 posts

fuiyoh!! V6 is burn on the town already.. XD
Andy214
post Sep 28 2010, 10:12 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Sep 28 2010, 10:03 AM)

in File Manager, it just appears as CORSAIR, since i labelled it that way.
- can play most near HD quality videos smoothly from the Corsair GT 16GB & Corsair 4GB
- battery continues to discharge even after disconnecting USB Drive, be sure to reboot after testing.
I'm interested in the above BOLD part; What do you mean?
It's better performance than our internal flash and mmc1?

You're using mplayer or default media player?
kamikazwe
post Sep 28 2010, 10:19 AM

350 posts

weeeeeeeeeeeee.....V6 already....its been a while since i join u all...lolololx..
jananan
post Sep 28 2010, 10:24 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:12 AM)
I'm interested in the above BOLD part; What do you mean?
It's better performance than our internal flash and mmc1?

You're using mplayer or default media player?
i just tested using default media player, it should be as fast as the internal eMMC or faster, since my Corsair GT has avg read speed 30MB/s
Andy214
post Sep 28 2010, 10:32 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Sep 28 2010, 10:24 AM)
i just tested using default media player, it should be as fast as the internal eMMC or faster, since my Corsair GT has avg read speed 30MB/s
internal eMMC and micro SD have noticeable difference in speed? I haven't really test in detail, but seems I didn't notice much cause sometimes I put movies in either one and output to TV.
micro SD also have various speed version, mine was class 4.
unclemike
post Sep 28 2010, 11:17 AM

538 posts

ok. thanks for ur input guys!
super_evil_alien
post Sep 28 2010, 11:18 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Sep 28 2010, 10:03 AM)
in File Manager, with the volume label removed, it shows the true formatted capacity of the Corsair GT 16GB USB Drive.
It's a known bug.Since this version just for testing purpose seems like the coders choose to ignore this 1st.
Should be remove in next version.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:32 AM)
internal eMMC and micro SD have noticeable difference in speed? I haven't really test in detail, but seems I didn't notice much cause sometimes I put movies in either one and output to TV.
micro SD  also have various speed version, mine was class 4.
I'm using class 4 micro sd too.Try playing videos with high bitrate & look closely.Maybe you'll notice the slight laggyness while playing from micro sd.
I think the highest resolution video I've played with N900 are 720p videos from youtube.Initially have the audio/video synch problem & later on played just fine.
Maybe after I go back for sem break this weekend I'll throw in proper 720p/1080p Avatar movie into my N900.Lets see what's happen.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Sep 28 2010, 11:24 AM
jananan
post Sep 28 2010, 11:28 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:32 AM)
micro SD  also have various speed version, mine was class 4.
microSD comes in non-class verified, class 2, class 4, class 6 and class 10.

the class stands for minimum write speed.

some applications read and write data sequentially, while some dont.

reading movies off a mem card is sequential. it does not necessarily mean good random read and write speeds.

some of the newer memory cards, esp class 10 and above (yes, there are faster than class 10 cards, but not microSD) might read and write faster than the eMMC.

eMMC is a cheap storage solution. when you use torrent app for example, and downloading large amounts of data at high speeds on your n900, you will saturate the bus and slow down the entire phone.

Added on September 28, 2010, 11:29 ampost # 999

This post has been edited by jananan: Sep 28 2010, 11:29 AM
kk6513
post Sep 28 2010, 11:43 AM

354 posts

pic of today

by FCam
zdentws
post Sep 28 2010, 12:04 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 28 2010, 12:04 AM)
Your mousy really got water or what?  tongue.gif
hahah !! it jz some 3D pv on top... it's my fren's moussy and i found it quite cool~ looks like watery~ hahaa
zdentws
post Sep 28 2010, 12:12 PM

521 posts

today's pictures blush.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Josh_M
post Sep 28 2010, 12:12 PM

1,604 posts

no particular reason for this pic i was actually trying what aspire did

This post has been edited by Josh_M: Sep 28 2010, 12:13 PM
zdentws
post Sep 28 2010, 12:13 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Sep 28 2010, 12:12 PM)
no particular reason for this pic i was actually trying what aspire did
josh ! cool !!
Josh_M
post Sep 28 2010, 12:15 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(zdentws @ Sep 28 2010, 12:12 PM)
today's pictures  blush.gif
i guess all the airport in sarawak have the same standard design.

BTW nice pics.

126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:49 PM