QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 12 2013, 11:58 AM)
Personalities and character is what makes a man. Wealth does not. Wealth can be easily built, reputation can shatter with one wrong move.Personal financial management, V2
Personal financial management, V2
Jan 12 2013, 12:01 PM
12,534 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Penang, KL, China, Indonesia.... |
Jan 12 2013, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 12 2013, 11:58 AM) Yes thanks for the history lesson. Since then I have graduated and have started out independently so yes I do know the real world as you call it. Back to the silver spoon thingy.... compared those who have no opportunity to study overseas and have to take up massive education loan just to study locally.... what spoon did you think they got? Kayu? Aluminium? Glass? Also a lot of working people have no choice but have to pay for their parent's and siblings expenses. Did you do that? There much more to life than wealth.... otherwise the world with turn into one huge materialistic, capitalist mess. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 12 2013, 12:06 PM |
Jan 12 2013, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 12 2013, 12:10 PM) Yeah like my successful mates who had to pay their way through college with a ptpn loan but have achieved great wealth. Yes, there are great wealth builders who have had silver spoons and those with none. Yes a poor man can become wealthy, no doubt about it. But these that really come from rags to riches and not silver spoon to richers and way much more careful in spending their wealth which they get from their blood, sweat and tears. My question is, do you believe a poor person can become wealthy? If your answer is yes then why are we arguing? Yes there is much more to life than money of course. But we are in the personal financial management so let's stick with the numbers. I am not arguing on the wealth generation, just your view that having wealth must be spent which is way misguided. WB donated 90% of his wealth to charity. Why didn't he buy the entire Ferrari company (he can afford it, heck he can buy all the luxury car company) but choose to give out all his money. His children only got like 5% of his wealth. That speak volumes about his character. Wealth is not a means to an end. If you think by having wealth means respect, you are also wrong. Anyway nice conversation with you but I have to end it now otherwise we are spamming the thread to help others achieve their financial freedom. I hope you can really achieve your riches and buy several Ferrari's with pretty girls in tow. Good luck! This post has been edited by gark: Jan 12 2013, 12:19 PM |
Jan 12 2013, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 12 2013, 12:20 PM) QUOTE So the question is, do you think it is possible for an individual to drive a porsche, drink lattes, go to 3 michelin star restaurants and first class travel while having saved more than you ( 200 000 in your 30s)? QUOTE I am nowhere near that , but am slowly but surely reaching. My mentor is a real life individual who is 27 years old. Healthy as a horse. Eats 6 meals a day. Enjoys premium cut beef with the highest of wines for dinner. Doesn't have to work until the sun sets. Travels 3 times a year minimum for pleasure, not business. |
Jan 16 2013, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 16 2013, 07:19 PM) BTW, google about Joe Dominguez - U'd be surprised about his rags to riches then gave it all up for a simpler life, focused on what he is passionate about. "If people paid more attention to how they spent money, they could spend less, it contended; if they spent less they could work less; and if they worked less they could focus on things that meant more to them than accumulating possessions."Good insight, good to see from the other perspective. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 16 2013, 07:40 PM |
Jan 18 2013, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 18 2013, 05:22 PM) U missing THE POINT bro - "..but i also dont want to look poor therefore..." Why need to impress others? As long as you are comfortable with yourself, why bother what everyone thinks?How really wealthy we will be if everyone was blind, no eyes to impress. But that being said, no need to dress like a hobo. |
Jan 22 2013, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 21 2013, 09:09 PM) investment always landed me hitting the wall....if like that I better go genting buy big small chance almost 50-50 I think you have a skewed way of looking at life, money and investment which is not so healthy. If you continue with your thinking you might not achieve what you want in the end.thus I am not greedy, not looking double my income.. I am not informed investor thus I like acquire more money through labor acuity than investment acuity since I have little money. Once enough money I prefer buy property in cash. If you want to aim to earn more money, yes that is one way to be financial independent. The more harder you persevere and you get more income. There is nothing wrong with this and is highly encouraged. Next you scrimp and save, which is worthy as well to increase your wealth. However if you don't get your money to work FOR you, sooner or later something called inflation will come and take it all away bit by bit. However you are missing the big picture. Most do the above as a stepping stone to achieve financial independence. Financial independence is achieved when the day you realize you can quit your job anytime (only if you want to) and you have more than enough to live on. Thus work will no longer be a burden and a multitude of choices is open to you and you are no longer 'enslaved' to work and money. You have earned your freedom, you are free to choose. To achieve financial independence you need to go through several stages. First stage is accumulation which I think you have a pretty clear idea of and indeed you might be doing better than a lot of young people. This stage involves concentrating to increase your income & wealth (hard work, business or investment) whichever route you prefer and lowering your expenses. Second stage is passive income, in which this makes your money work harder for you. You should have a clear and concise investment plan to achieve the minimum income you desire and aim to achieve that with long term investment plan. These investment could be private equity (business), bonds, UT, REIT, dividend stocks, rental property, etc etc on a long term view with income generation. Do look out for the big enemy called inflation which will take a chunk of 3%-5% every year. Risk should be managed and embraced and not shunned. Last stage is financial freedom, your poor overworked money (they don't rest! This is not a dream, many have achieved it, but it requires a lot of discipline to do so and have a consistent & long term view on investment. Some lucky persons will achieved financial independence in a short time, some take 10 - 20 -30 years but most will never do so as they lack the will to do so. So which group are you in? This post has been edited by gark: Jan 22 2013, 02:19 PM |
Jan 22 2013, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 22 2013, 05:35 PM) Additional thoughts: Err sorry sifu! 4%pa is low leh, even lower than most housing loans which the banks hold collateral. Thus, IF U are an investor AND U have things which can, on average make U >=6%pa, U may want to tap this 4%pa loan. IF lar PL interest rate is different from most mortgage reducing rate, so the effective interest rate p.a. is much higher than stated. Effective interest rate for PL @ 4% is about ~7.4% p.a. (our in-house accountant pinky can help us count PL @4%, 20K loan 3 years = 622.22 per month x 36 month = 22,399.92, total interest paid = 2,399.92 PTPN 20% rebate = 14K x0.2 = RM 2,800 You only save like RM 400 for 3 years. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 22 2013, 06:35 PM |
Jan 22 2013, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(jerrymax @ Jan 22 2013, 05:27 PM) Looks like not a bad idea la.. Can use =) PL interest is calculated up-front just like car loan, cannot use reducing principal calculation. Bank also want to cari makan what.. if give you 4% reducing rate want to makan apa? RM1257.29 interest throughout 3 years. Every month pay RM590.48 Better than % rate provided by banks for personal loan. Hope my calculation is correct la.. calculated by monthly rest. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 22 2013, 06:37 PM |
Jan 22 2013, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 22 2013, 06:45 PM) er.. i thought he said company loan wor, not PL? Well technically he say company personal loan if i misread & it's Personal Loan instead of company staff loan (benefits), forget it My bad A lot of people has been conned to think they get better interest rate. Typical sales talk is "only 4% mar a bit higher than FD only what, special for GLC employess only u know..." If really he means company benefit loan, then by all means go for it. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 22 2013, 07:05 PM |
Jan 25 2013, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 24 2013, 08:26 PM) In my years of experience and talking with those old uncles at coffee stores. Sure they do know how to hustle and make lots of dough, but they rarely drive Merc and BMWs. This is just a myth of those people who preach frugal living giving extreme examples to justify their position which is rather silly. You know why those old men will not own a merc? Because they know that a car is not an asset but a liability.It is true however young people these days spend carelessly without giving a second thought. Of course, the best is being able to drink as many chattime drinks as you want while owning a Merc but that is apparently out of the question in this forum so I will refrain from sharing that lifestyle. I have a medium priced car <100K, yet i rather spend my money on properties/investment that generate monthly returns. Lol if I liquidize all my investments, can buy more than a few luxury cars.... but I choose not to do so. It is my choice to make right? Not everyone will spend money if they have it, it is usually those who have easy come easy go attitude, who have not sweat blood and tears on their hard earned money. I would say let those who live a frugal lifestyle has it's own merits, so no need to keep advocating on splashing the/your wealth on 'things'. |
Jan 25 2013, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 24 2013, 09:14 PM) The kopitiam scenario initially came up because a member stated how people saving on soap at kopitiams were millionaires. This is not the best[ You must not have seen real millionaires yet right? If sitting at kopitiam after landing huge business deals is their choice then all props to them. They have achieved the freedom of financial choice which is true wealth. I know a owner of a big listed company (which is still listed now), he is worth billions of RM (yes billions, not million), yet he goes to the wet market, live a simple frugal life, enjoy kopitiam meals, washes his own cars (a medium priced sedan), goes around in shorts and t-shirt. He is very humble and well respected. On day he arrive at one of his factories, alone, with simple attire, in his own car and want to go into the factory. And the security guard refuses to let him in, even after he told the security several times he is the owner, but the security guard did not believe him from his outlook. Then he told the security guard he wants to see the GM, the security ask him to wait and confirm with the GM. He sat on the bench like every other worker and wait for his turn to be called. Once the GM heard his name, the GM ran down from the office to the security guard post where he was quickly ushered into the office and tell off the security that he should recognize the chairman of the board. Instead of getting a scolding, the chairman gave the security a hefty pay raise for not letting stranger into the plant and upholding company rules. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 25 2013, 10:27 AM |
Jan 25 2013, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jan 25 2013, 12:48 PM) I think this will happen in 1 out of 1K billionaires. I personally know many of them will enjoy fine dining and drink red wine, although occasionally you will see them having their meals at hawker food. Anyway, there are many type of rich. Some are rich, and some are wealthy. Rich of wealthy - which are you? categorized it quite accurately. Majority of the "kopitiam" millionaires are financially free are from middle class society and majority of them really fugal or some times over stingy. While the really rich and wealthy category, I doubt they will sit in kopitiam whole day read newspaper, they might just drop by Starbucks nearby their office to pack a cup of latte - provided coffee is their thing. These kind of people will be busy attending meetings and seminars looking way to increase their wealth. And trust me, they don't even care if they lose one soap. So, the soap story only applies to the middle-class rich who aim to be financial free. I think @BeachKid just trying to tell us that "kopitiam" millionaires are frugal and stingy to the extend sacrificing some basic lifestyle or need, while the really wealthy one will not care about one soap. Nowadays, people are using body gel and shampoo - so less wastage Yes you are right RM 1 million nowadays is noting much to shout about. If you have at least 1-2 properties and debt free, you are already a millionaire. In Malaysia generally accepted term to 'feel' rich net worth is at least 1 million USD figuratively speaking.And I think in one article in The Star mentioned that many millionaires don't feel rich - that is because they are really not rich. Can you retire with 1 Million? With 1M, it only takes you 500 months to finish, if the expenses is at RM2K. So, do you think at RM2K, you can spend luxuriously? The answer is no - that is why many millionaires don't feel rich and have to be really frugal. You are also right on the some of the millionaires spend and some don't. Some choose to save and some choose to spend. There is nothing wrong with that. Life is all about the choices we make. It is just that you should not impose YOUR choices on others who CHOOSE to manage their finances differently. Hence either to scrimp and save and to spend lavishly is within their own right. If you think you have to spend lavishly when you are rich, then go ahead, but never look down on people who are savers. Each has it own ways of enjoying their wealth. Some enjoy by just seeing their wealth goes up.. instead of spending it... some enjoy spending it and accumulate 'things'. "Do you know the only thing that gives me pleasure? It's to see my dividends coming in." - John D. Rockefeller, the first American to amass 1 billion dollars. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 25 2013, 01:32 PM |
Feb 22 2013, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 22 2013, 11:46 AM) It is easy, go understand the value investing strategy. IMHO, it is a row risks high return strategy for investments. The principal is to understand that value is what you get and price is what you pay. When you buy at cheap, your risk is lower with potential to earn higher return, of course you should be the non-believer of efficient market hyphotesis. It's always easy to say rather than do. When actual money is involved, emotions comes to play. There is no low risk high return, companies can go bankrupt and delisted as well.. so lower can become lower until zero. By proper investing and diversification, you can only reduce your alpha risk but not your beta (ie. global/constant) risk.For example, most normal investors would think a share that drop from RM100 to RM10 (drop by 90%) is more risky than a share drop from RM100 to RM50 (drop by 50%) due to volatility. However, I look at da ifferent angel that there is more room for RM50 to drop to RM5 (drop by 90%) than RM10 to RM5 (drop by 50%) and thus more risky to buy at RM50. So buying a share from RM100 to RM10 (drop by 90%) is having lower risky than a share drop from RM100 to RM50. When the share price bounce back from RM10 back to RM100 (appreciate by 1000%) and making profiting than if it was to bounce back from RM50 to RM100 (appreciated by 200%). This is what I am emphasising on low risk high return. By all means minibonds and CDO is percepted to be high income and low risk (high interest, AAA investment grade) until it blows up... Also as in Value investing, the price of stock is irrelevant even it is RM 50 or RM 100. What is important is the value of company in relative to the price. Some time in short run ie. 2008-2010 period everyone thinks they are master share investor with gains of over 100% as they caught the low, but looking at bigger picture and longer period they may not be always so lucky. To get constant 20% per year is near impossible, the best investor in the world (WB) is only averaging around 20-24% p.a. Value investing is a good concept, but IMHO reasonable assumption for equity gain should be only 8%. This is so you do not overestimate your 'earning' power. For retirement purpose best to assume 4% income rate to have proper buffer before you decide to take the plunge. This post has been edited by gark: Feb 22 2013, 12:46 PM |
Feb 22 2013, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 22 2013, 01:56 PM) You got your point, I have my own. Yes as you say yourself over the long term and with higher investment amount, you will not get 20% constantly. Good for you to get 20% CAGR for the past few years, but stating that high income with low risk is not correct. Stock market is high risk, you may be lucky to flip several coins in a row to get outsized returns but that does not mean that you will get the same flip year after year. Stock market is high risk and high gain, the risk is measurable by votality, so it is not an implied risk. By stating your view, you might inadvertently encourage people to think that stock market is a free lunch, which it is not, it is dangerous and required loads of hard work to make it work. It is not for everyone, especially those with low tolerance for risk.As I am giving connotation of RM10 VS RM50 VS RM100, I do not mean we should judge investment with absolute value. Let me elaborate another way that if the intrisinc value of a share is RM100, then which position of the price is safer? RM50 or RM100? If RM50 is a safer position to buy, would not it be a position to make more profit when the price reflect the real value. So my arguement still stick. "To get constant 20% per year is near impossible, the best investor in the world (WB) is only averaging around 20-24% p.a." ---> How you know is near impossible? So far I am getting CAGR 20% per year . Warren Buffet indeed achieved more than 20% in his initial year of investment. He used to have achived 30% or 40% in his early year of investment. But when his portfolio size is getting bigger and bigger and eventually it becomes the size of the mini-market, his portfolio is only able to generate average return as what the market achieves. But with his earlier excellance achievement of 30% to 40%, that would still in average raise his 50-year CAGR by 10% higher than the market return at 8% to 10%. Since I am not Warren Buffet, hence I only achieve 20% in my earlier age of investment (not like Warrent Buffet getting 30% to 40% at his early year of investment), eventually if my portfolio size increased, my return would mean reverse close to the market index at 8% to 10%. Then my CAGR return since inception could be reduced to 15% or lower. Whether it is reasonable assumption for equity gain should be 8% or not, that would be subject to your capability of achieving it. Maybe you can't do it but that does not mean other people cannot achieve it. Or you are too just preduent to think that bad year may happen and you wouldn't be able to survive by 4% or not willing to erode your investment portolio, then you it's up to you to have accumulated higher a investment portfolio before you retire. Whereby me had in certain years only achieved return lower than the FD or even negative, but I believe with my researh skill and investment framework will also able to catch some good years for my investment with a return of up to 30% to 40% or even 100% a year, so by average my CAGR is approximately 20% by now, maybe in later years it would reduce to 15% when my portfolio size grows bigger. If you start investing in the 2000's 20% CAGR is not a problem until now, my investment gains more than doubled when I start investing in 2006 until now, but as you say the higher amount you have you will feel the constraints. But who knows on the future, anything might happen, so taking 8% long term view on equity and 4% withdrawal rate is prudent financial practice. Since you are a student of Graham & Buffett, you should be familiar with the quote 'margin of safety'. This post has been edited by gark: Feb 22 2013, 02:15 PM |
Feb 26 2013, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(victor131490 @ Feb 25 2013, 11:34 PM) i wanted to share out my financial situation too. hope can get few advices. Have you consider using penang rapid to go to work? Convenient and cheap wor...salary = 2000 after minus sosco and epf car loan = rm510 house rent + parking = rm115+65 car petrol = rm80 utilities = rm80 parents = rm200 balance = rm950 only manage to save rm200 per month if nothing special case such as going back hometown. maybe will go back hometown once a month. the toll charges will be rm32 + rm40 petrol for two ways. maybe i should find a part time job for weekends. If you can increase to RM 400 savings a month would be very commendable already and start to invest (4,800 a year). Later with yearly increment, you will have more income for property investment etc. |
Feb 28 2013, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 28 2013, 11:12 AM) IMHO 16 months of GROSS INCOME is more than sufficient, I think 18 months of EXPENSES should be ok. Let your money work harder for u IMHO 16 months gross income is a bit overboard for emergency funds, but I see you have kept some in ASB. I would rather keep only 5 months in FD and 1 month in savings account, with the rest in ASB. Investment in ASB is not really considered emergency funds and is more like investment.Since you quality for ASB, suggest you max up your 200k ASB contribution before you consider other investment. ASB is the best risk adjusted investment out there. |
Feb 28 2013, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 28 2013, 01:27 PM) For non-sole breadwinners, i'd suggest: Hmm ...1. logicallizing out the ratio of one's income to the partnership's total income 2. taking the % and multiplying with the above's "sole breadwinner" thoughts If sole breadwinner, but monthly passive income > monthly expenses, then 1 month emergency more than enough? This post has been edited by gark: Feb 28 2013, 02:29 PM |
Feb 28 2013, 02:30 PM
Feb 28 2013, 02:40 PM
| Change to: | 0.0771sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:49 AM |