Personal financial management, V2

gark
post Jul 1 2011, 11:33 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Jul 1 2011, 10:48 AM)
and it is assuming u can get tenant. assuming your tenant pay the utility bills. assuming tenant wont make stupid business in your house. assuming you can still pay your house 15 years in the future. assuming you still have a job in 15 years. assuming you still healthy and not dead in 15 years time, assuming property price will continue move up... well u get my point.
So far I am ok, 1 property already rented out >6 years, so far they all still paying the bank for me. I am not speculating with the property prices, as I am looking for stable income, and not likely to sell them off. Even the price stagnate or crash, as long as the rental is reasonable it is ok for me. Even of anything happen to me, I can pass on these income producing assets to my loved ones as the mortgage (loan) is insured via MRTA, which the insurance company will settle the loan.

Yes blood on the street is good, I bought those properties during poor economic times so I am getting good yields on them. Also I am offering the rental at slightly below market value to ensure I get quality "professional" tenants. rclxms.gif

But not all my investments is in properties, they are more diversified. In case of emergency, I can liquidate some of my other assets and can still pay off my loan 100%. So I am more conservative than you think. laugh.gif

Added on July 1, 2011, 11:40 am
QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Jul 1 2011, 10:48 AM)
Property is a form of investment.  But i dont like people with no homes who just started their first job to directly buy three RM100K house.  Thats reckless.
I do agree with you, I saved and "slaved" for 5 hard years before i could get reasonable amount of DP for the 30% down payment. You should not over extend yourself, but there are opportunities everywhere. Properties since 2007 is not interesting because speculation has made the current rental yield are quite ridiculous. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jul 1 2011, 11:42 AM
gark
post Nov 11 2011, 12:50 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Nov 11 2011, 11:48 AM)
So is debt really that bad? What your opinion?
There are two types of debt, good debt and bad debt. You need to be smart to differentiate between the two.

Bad debt are the ones that cause you to LOSE money in the long run mostly via depreciation and obsolete. The debt that you mention all fall into bad debt category. Yes you can "afford" a honda civic by paying monthly and after 9 years what happens? You car will actually LOSE value by about 50%. Also the i-phone you mentioned it will be obsolete in 3-4 years, so what value did you get? Maybe you will lose 70% of the purchase value.

On the other hand there are good debt, which are the ones that help you EARN money in the long run. Debt for investment, business and properties are such debt. After paying for your debt, your holdings will actually gain HIGHER value. Also these items will help you EARN active/passive income. Just make sure you can 'earn' more than the interest rate otherwise it too falls into bad debt category.

See the difference? Bad debt are the ones that tend to destroy people's life over the long run, it is just that you have not realized it yet.

Added on November 11, 2011, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Nov 11 2011, 11:48 AM)
I'm just thinking this monthly installment idea can make people have things that once is financially a burden to them but now it is not. Now people can have iPhone, iPad, nice furniture, tv set without put a massive burden in their financial status.
You are falling into the consumption mentality trap, get out before you destroy yourself. I would not think of buying a nice car even though I can afford to buy it easily. Also I have not touched any i pad, i phone, blackberry etc, my phone is a cheapo RM 200 phone which serves it purpose well. And yes I have some debt, but they are ALL good debt. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 11 2011, 12:55 PM
gark
post Nov 11 2011, 01:31 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 11 2011, 01:26 PM)
"U deserve the best.... now" kinda message. Selling the dream but leading to "debt slavery" doh.gif
Time to 'invest' more in quality bank shares.... let the younger generation consumption habit feed our dividends... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 11 2011, 01:31 PM
gark
post Nov 11 2011, 04:53 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Nov 11 2011, 04:44 PM)
End of the day, its a cat and dog fight story.

Those who want to drive big cars, can find all sorts of reason to justify their buying.

And those who prefer to save and invest for the so called better future, will have their point of views too.

In my opinion, it all boils down to what a person really wants in life.
Instant or delayed gratification, that's the main difference.

And not forgetting, there are always sour grapes out there.
This i justified thru years of reading in LYN.

Peace~
Very true... but there is a middle road as well..

I prefer to invest more during the initial stage and when the time my investment is bearing 'fruit', then I can enjoy by spending those money on what I want and when I want, mostly on my family. Those investment will generate perpetual and increasing income so my spending also goes up with it.

Being financial savvy does not mean you have to be a miser, but spend accordingly to your income. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 11 2011, 04:54 PM
gark
post Nov 19 2011, 09:35 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(redblaque @ Nov 19 2011, 08:44 AM)
Anybody can give me a beginner guide on what to invest in? How much amount should i budget for investment monthly? I've got RM1000 in hand as initial investment.. and I prefer to invest in Islamic investments. I want to save the money i have now before i use it for my shopping habit... Pls help!!
Invest as much as you want and feel comfortable with. Practice pay yourself first, then you will not be attempted to spend all your savings away. Since you are a self proclaimed beginner... below are the steps to start you off with.

1. Figure out how much you would like to save, and put those money away in a different account once you receive your salary. An average saving rate of 20%-30% of your salary is more than adequate. The rest of it, spend and treat yourself once a while. laugh.gif

2. Save at least 3-6 months worth of salary as emergency fund. For your case that will be minimum RM 4k x 3 = RM 12K to start off with. Put these money in 1 month auto-renewal FD. These are the money you may draw if you have emergency such as medical, emergency, lay off etc... grow this emergency fund with your salary as it increases.

3. Since you mention Islamic Investment, I will assume you are bumi, in that case once you have done with your emergency fund, put all off your savings into an ASB account until max. Once it is maximum, then you may consider other investments such as Unit trust and/or bond funds.

4. Never be greedy in investment, especially those too-good-to-be-true scams. If you want to invest directly into share market prepare to do lots of homework and read on investment. But for the mean time ASB investment is good enough.

5. Do not accumulate credit card debt and personal loan ever. Also your car debt has very high interest due to long repayment period, next time you change car, remember to minimize the payment period. It is far better for you to have housing loan debt than a big and long car debt. This is because car depreciates, and property appreciates. But above all, spend within your means and keep with your investment plan.

There you have it, simple 5 step investment plan. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 19 2011, 09:44 AM
gark
post Nov 19 2011, 07:09 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(redblaque @ Nov 19 2011, 01:01 PM)
TQ sifus! I didn't use any downpayment for my car, thus the long repayment period. The rm25 takaful is for accidental death/injury/hospitalisation..

Forgot to mention.. I have another insurance with medical card provided by my company that also covers illnesses.

Right now I don't know if the rm25 takaful i'm currently participating is beneficial or not in the long term.. should i terminate it? just participated for 3 months.. huuu. so n00b..
Take a look at all your insurances, is there any over lapping between the takaful and your company's medical card, if yes then you can consider to discontinue the takaful. If not then you may keep the takaful but look at the big picture.

You need only two types of insurance, the rest of the investment link/savings insurance will not be beneficial to you as most of your savings should go to ASB.

1. Medical/Hospitalization Card/Insurance, with enough annual and lifetime limit to prepare for any illness. Cancer/heart bypass/stroke can cause upwards of RM 100k of hospitalization fees. If your company medical insurance is sufficient, maybe you can opt for a lesser value.

2. Term Life insurance, it depends on the amount, if you have large dependent (family, parents, kids) buy higher value in case if you demise it will not be a burden to them. The life insurance needs should be lesser as you grow older, as your savings and assets will then be sufficient to support your dependents. In fact by near retirement, life insurance is prohibitively expensive to pay and no longer serve the purpose intended as your dependents will be lesser or they obtain their own income.

Well, there is no right or wrong, there are people who prefer to be heavily insured and then there are some who prefer self insurance. I tend to prefer the middle line. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 19 2011, 07:11 PM
gark
post Jan 2 2012, 10:02 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 2 2012, 07:51 AM)
2. It is an closed-end fund, a different ball game VS open-end fun
Fund houses like Public Mutual, Prudential, ING, OSK, etc. are MUST buy your units back when/if U choose to redeem.
iCap trades on the market - just like any other stocks, thus the craze of demand/supply will affect one
Having said that, the craze of the market may also work to one's benefit if market craze is fear + U are buying tongue.gif
Low trading price got hidden advantage also... but not much people focus on it. wink.gif Based on 2011 Annual report...

Total Assets : RM 388,228,921
Cash & equivalent : RM 118,357,839
Stocks : RM 270,506,529

Dividend & Interest Received : RM 17,610,689
Yield on Asset : 4.536%

Now the fun part begins ... share price is RM 2.05, asset is RM 2.71 (latest)

So our yield on cost will be 4.536% x 2.71/2.05 = 5.996% but you must also factor in the "1.5%" fee.

Furthermore we are buying a dollar for 70 cents, so strip out the cash each RM 2.05 we pay for the share we get RM 0.845 in cash and RM 1.93 in stocks. Since cash is basically risk free, so we are effectively buying RM 1.93 worth of "shares" for RM 1.205, at 37.5% discount. laugh.gif Which is approximate early 2010 price, so got time machine here... rclxms.gif

But.... since i-cap does not pay dividend, all the cash is locked up that is why there is so little interest in the shares. Also the liquidity is an issue, and people expect the market to crash soon. The large cash holdings also affects the total yield.

But there might be a re-rating if icap pays a dividend or invest those cash horde to raise yield. But where else can you buy a mutual fund at 30% discount to NAV? brows.gif

Added on January 2, 2012, 10:08 am
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 2 2012, 07:51 AM)
Just some personal thoughts (not God's truth yar & i may be wrong notworthy.gif ) on iCap:
1. I think a lot hinges on Mr Tan TB, thus risk at single-point is higher than other "fund houses" - read as Mr TTB is human and if anything happens to him... (choy choy choy but it's my $ if i invested in iCap wor)

Not really.. if TTB really 'quits' they will likely liquidate all the holdings.. instant profit, since the liquidation NAV is higher than share price drool.gif This is one of the 'exit' strategy for the holdings.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 2 2012, 10:14 AM
gark
post Jan 2 2012, 12:22 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(passmaster14 @ Jan 2 2012, 12:19 PM)
hmmm...quite heavy stuff for a newbie here! in the end, would any of you recommend this over other UTs out there? from what i read at fsm, kenanga growth fund is performing much better than icap (or other UTs) at the moment.

anyway i'm still a student, and i have some cash left over from my student loans. so i want something for the long term with not too high risk (which is why i was considering either the Kidsave trust or iCap).
Remember past performance is not an indication of future performance. What is hot now might not be later. Best if you have some diversification.

If you can't take much risk, then perhaps you might look at bond funds instead of equity funds in which both kidsave and icap falls into. There is no low risk high gain fund out there (except for ASB rolleyes.gif )
gark
post Jan 3 2012, 08:37 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(SkYY @ Jan 3 2012, 08:32 PM)
This should have been brought up before, but couldn't find it. I'm a fresh graduate just join the work force. Earning a little bit pass RM2k, I'm trying to save 50% or more of my income every month. Got no debt and staying with parents, 50% can be achieve, but every now and then, colleague wanna eat expensive lunch (I try to keep lunch within RM5-6), outing during weekends, maybe drinking, 50% is hard then. But if I don't join, I'm sure to drift further slowly.

So what you guys money savers do when facing this kind of situation? Please advice newcomer laugh.gif
Savers are not necessary misers, it it just that they have better planning than spenders. You can practice paying yourself every month which will go to savings and investment and spend the rest. Lets say you commit to save RM 500 per month, whatever left you can budget and spend. If you really cannot afford it, go sometimes and but not all the time. laugh.gif
gark
post Jan 5 2012, 10:02 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(SkYY @ Jan 4 2012, 08:35 PM)
Hmm using the opposite way, instead of commit to save a certain amount per month (say RM500), I try to spend as minimum as possible and then in that way save as much as possible. Yalo I guess I'll go sometimes but not all the time. But lunch is still headache, nobody understand why I want to save as much as possible. At least I can see big savers in action here in LYN thumbup.gif  laugh.gif
Saving too much is an obsession, and not healthy in the long term. laugh.gif Just commit to save maybe 30% or RM 500 of your salary at the beginning of each month and invest those amount wisely. The rest of money just spend it carefully and treat yourself once a while, it makes your life a little bit more worth living. If you still have some extra money left over put in your vacation fund or something. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 5 2012, 10:03 AM
gark
post Jan 5 2012, 12:41 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Jan 5 2012, 10:23 AM)
sorry for butting in, but shouldn't you treat savings and investment separately?

i mean, there's still an element of risk when you invest, and what if you make a bad investment?
If you only save, then with the low interest rate you get, sooner or later it get eaten up by inflation. You need to yield at least above the current inflation rate of 3%-5%.

For me I practice the following...

1 month Expenses in Cash form in SA - For Daily use

6 months Expenses in e-FD form (1 Month-Auto renew) - For emergency Use

The rest in investment, that is well diversified across equity, bonds and others. So if 'kena' 1 bad investment got another 9 other investment to backup. If you are conservative (scared to lose), put a majority of your investment in bonds and only some in high quality equity. With careful portfolio management, you can lower your investment risk substantially by diversification.

So far works well for me. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 5 2012, 12:45 PM
gark
post Mar 15 2012, 07:46 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yap2001 @ Mar 15 2012, 11:36 AM)
Thanks Wong….you really superb for this thread. Need your more idea or suggestion here smile.gif .
The following is my explanations for the earlier info and some questions here;

For the food, at least RM30/per day spent for eating. And we always bring my mum eat in restaurant and cost me at least RM40+ for 1 times. Which mean at least RM900 spent in food.

I assume, average RM600 spent in Hyper market for the groceries, I am the junk food "terminator", always looking for some special and expensive junk food to try. Haha. Actually this groceries normally is for 3 pax only. We also include those installment within this category. Example, facial treatment installment, travel package installment etc.

About the else category, this is some unexpected expenses for every months. Like travel to somewhere, balik kampong etc.

1. First of all avoid all kinds of installment, like your facial and travel installment, all these leads to unnecessary spending. Budget and save up cash allocated for entertainment accordingly. Set up a budget and perhaps target to save at least 30% of your salary? A lot of people are doing about 60%-70% per month. You have spend a lot of money in cars, which is a depreciating item. Anyway you are wrong to calculate car as asset, it is a liability. wink.gif

2. Travel lover does not mean that you have to spend a lot of money. Learn to travel within budget and lower your expectations, and utilize especially budget hotels and budget airlines. Backpacking is a good way to travel and it much better than those organized tour. You can save more than 50% this way and see more sights and have complete freedom. A tour to Australia for 2 person can cost only about RM 5k vs 10+K via travel agency. laugh.gif

3. Prepare 6 months expenses in FD or other liquid investment in case there is an emergency, if you put in housing mortgage (flexi) make sure it can be easily taken out.

4. For your extra house rather than flip for a quick gain, keep it and get rental income. Passive income really helps you in the long run. For the UT, buy within your expectations and risk tolerance value, anyway the money is for long term so no need to concern with some losses.

5. Have you given think about retirement, children's education etc? If you think long and hard, and calculate it the cost is going to scare you, so start preparing now. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 15 2012, 07:47 PM
gark
post Sep 27 2012, 02:21 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(nakula-das @ Sep 27 2012, 01:04 PM)
I'm a financial planner . I could do a free financial health check for u if ur interested . Call me . Ambarish :01128532510
Are you CFP certified?
gark
post Sep 27 2012, 04:11 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Brida @ Sep 27 2012, 04:05 PM)
I calculated with RM 500 x 12 mths x 10 years = RM 60,000 savings. It will turn RM 132,000 with just simple calculation. Compounding like FD will be more lah, but I always look at the simple calculation so whatever I get extra is bonus lah =p.

Well talk is easy and calculation can always show great profit for 'average' 12% gain per year. For those who have been investing a while knows that past performance is not equal to future performance. Also the gains will not be steady, there are bad times and good, depending when you are buying. Invest based on your risk tolerance, and if you take 12% as a guide then your risk tolerance is very high...Question is do you have the holding power if your stocks suddenly take a 40%-50% dive? or do you dare to double down once it hits these number? laugh.gif Well it happened in 1997,2001 and latest at 2008... wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 27 2012, 04:15 PM
gark
post Dec 10 2012, 01:47 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Dec 9 2012, 10:18 PM)

So any sifu, how to increase more passive money...

Plan to retire before 40..with few million in hand
Thank you.

Well if you want to retire with income of 5K a month (should be sufficient for you), and lets says you need a blended passive income target of 5%, then you will need asset of 1.2 mil, but your asset value have to keep up with inflation. So it depends on your preference/risk tolerance/numbers below...

1. Target income per month + 5% inflation p.a.
2. Target yield per month (make sure your yield increment on average beat inflation)
3. List down your holdings eg. property, yield 4% rental rental rise 3% p.a. + FD, yield 3%, rise 0%, stocks yield 6%, rise 3% p.a. etc etc and you can see the whole picture.

In the end you need to know your blended yield to see if you need more passive income or more investment. If your blended yield already covers what you want and you can retire already, why bother to look for more yield?

This post has been edited by gark: Dec 10 2012, 01:50 PM
gark
post Jan 9 2013, 01:43 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Rich_Lim @ Jan 9 2013, 12:36 PM)
Of course from time to time I skip lunch as well but I tend to have gastric prob when I do, in addition I'm in healthcare line too so wouldn't want customer to see me as sick as them sad.gif now I'm starting a new phase of life as someone's husband so every things change, it's no longer only my prob but as married couple's issue to solve..

Maybe like you say, the burning desire is not that great yet or more like I'm getting into the comfortable zone, when te real commitments havent come in yet
Don't beat yourself up to increase your investible wealth. Money is NOT everything, you only live once so you need to enjoy yourself once in a while, starving and penny pinching is not a good practice. Forcing yourself to suffer is neither good for your well being and mental health, thus affecting your income generating work.

Set aside a reasonable amount of your monthly income like 20% for a start and invest diligently, and never be attempted to 'touch' this investment account. The rest spend it all to provide enjoyment for you and your family. If you have good savings and investing habit, in matter of years you can already see your passive income comes up substantially.

Be moderate, but keep a close eye on your expenses and never go into debt for "things"... that does not give your income.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 9 2013, 01:45 PM
gark
post Jan 12 2013, 10:56 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 12 2013, 10:07 AM)

If you answer is no. Then you are wrong because there are people living that way. In short, they have more savings than you, but have lived a richer lifestyle than you.

Being born with a silver spoon in the mouth does not equate to hard work and savings. If you have the wealth readily available then by all means spend all you want, you can spend years throwing away your wealth like the multitudes of super rich kids around and never have to worry about money. They have ready capital at their disposal and any investment will be easy to execute.

What you have no silver spoon and no capital to begin with? Then it is not such a clear cut an easy road. Not everyone is cut out to do business in which you need capital to start with. Basically not everyone is as lucky.

The majority of the people is just not as lucky and have to work their way up to gather wealth. In term of savings, while I do not condone these ultra low cost living strategy, they do have their merits. They wish to build up CAPITAL faster so they can invest and generate income so they can get OUT of the rat race sooner. They are doing what they can to build and preserve wealth.

I used to have ultra low cost living for 10 years after graduation so I understand them, even with a generous salary I was living in a low cost house and hardly spend on things.

Car? Company Issue, never bought one before. House? Got investment property in PJ, rented out for 2.5k a month. Where I used to live? In a single story low cost house, which i am renting for RM 400 a month. Debts? Almost none.

I do also go for overseas holiday and enjoy steak dinner at fancy restaurant, while I do indulge a bit. But these are the fruits of my passive income and not on my capital. On the other hand I am ensuring that my capital is continuing to build at a fast pace and hope to completely retire on my passive income by 50.

So no need to equate the have-it's and those who are working hard to reach there. They are a different breed and have different overwhelming needs.
gark
post Jan 12 2013, 11:09 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 12 2013, 11:06 AM)
I always get this whenever a person sees another rich person. Must be a rich kid.

Nah, he wasn't a descendant of bill gates. He had 5000 in savings up until he was 25. You have heard of the saying-rags to riches right?

Yes for those with no silver spoon-like me, my housemate, my mentor-all born well not in poverty, but definitely not in luxury , we have to make do with our means. You do not need a lot of capital to start a business. This is a myth.

Luck has nothing to do with it. Luck is preparation meeting opportunity.

Everyone wants to get out of the rat race. I am not saying that is not a noble goal. But there are better ways of doing it. All roads lead to rome.
Then i think you no need to come to the financial management section to post all your 'success' as you have obviously said you have attained. We have nothing more to offer you, since you are already extremely confident to your road to wealth.

Your posting here does not offer any 'advice' whatsoever to attain the success, just bragging rights. Well you have it! tongue.gif

Good luck and remember to follow what your 'mentor' says... laugh.gif Sayonara!

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 12 2013, 11:11 AM
gark
post Jan 12 2013, 11:24 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 12 2013, 11:17 AM)
Tsk tsk, I posted the exact same thing in another forum and a few members asked me how to attain that goal. You can see a whole different response here.

Also, I came here to share and get advice. Noone has asked any advice yet so why post? I have stimulated the advice through my questions on lifestyle and wealth. I am not successful as of yet, far from it as I have said. However the most important is the goal. If I can achieve that reality which people are currently living, why dispose of that for any other lifestyle?
Haha! You said you are not successful yet but you can still 'advice' people to be successful? And you are following your mentor to road of success ? That is really wishful thinking. Well good luck! laugh.gif

You don't simulate advice by bragging first. It's more like the other way around. Having a good lifestyle does not equal wealth. There are many rags to riches people who I really respect, yet they do not show & throw their wealth around some of them have multi billion companies. They are humble and treats everyone with respect.

Sorry, for those even rags to riches and throw their wealth around and then brag, do not garner my respect, as I find them to be 'show offs'.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 12 2013, 11:35 AM
gark
post Jan 12 2013, 11:51 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 12 2013, 11:38 AM)
You can choose to be warren buffet who lives frugally.

Or richard branson who buys an island for himself.

Yeah I respect WB, no don't like RB as i think he is brash, obnoxious and crude..

Well again good luck on your journey to wealth, you are more interested with people soliciting you for a 'solution' rather than give genuine advice. Too bad I don't need it as I am comfortable with my wealth. tongue.gif

For 10K a month, that is already consider the low end of my target. So, sorry not interested. laugh.gif

From your previous posting I can see you are from a rich family and still studying overseas. Wait till you get into the real world. Good luck (again, you will need it)!

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 12 2013, 11:57 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:06 AM