kelvinlym
post Jun 18 2013, 10:53 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(win44 @ Jun 18 2013, 01:09 AM)
hey Everyone!

Just looking for public opinion on two questions;

Im not from economics/finance background so i may be wrong, but
I feel quite insecure with the current inflated property price, and feel that a big bubble burst may occur.
In such an event, such as recession, i assume holding one currency (MYR) might not be a good idea. (if malaysia economy crashes)

1. Should i spread out my savings into a couple currencies? (USD, SGD, chinaRMB)?

2. If yes, how should i do it.. forex?

or 3. i have it all wrong. Currency is more valuable in a reccession

Thanks all!
P.S. apologies if it sounds like stupid questions  sweat.gif
Hold cash to ensure at least liquidity for 6-9 months.

Rest of the cash I would suggest spreading it among investments such as stocks in other countries or global companies, e.g. Coca-Cola, J&J, Mcdonald's etc. This way you are less exposed to currency fluctuations as these companies derive income globally. Therefore, if say USD strengthen against other currencies, you gain in value in RM, and if USD weaken against other currencies, the effect will not be so pronounced because these companies will gain more in value of their profits.

Just don't expect to get rich overnight. At least you won't lose sleep at night.
kelvinlym
post Jun 18 2013, 11:06 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(locno_123 @ Jun 8 2013, 06:36 AM)
Dear Forumer,

I'm 35 years old and I will be losing my job next month due to company down sizing.

My current assets are
1. Cash - 300K (90% on FD)
2. Stock - 50K
3. A house fully paid up recently

Liabilities
1. Car - 12k

My monthly commitment is minimum 5.5K. This is because I'm married with a child and I'm fully taking care both of my aging parents. My wife not working to fully take care of my child.

For the last 1.5 year I have been partnering in a business which generate 4K/month on the average. I work on the business on a part time basis or remotely as I travel alot.

Should I take more risk by investing more money and time in expanding my business or look for another stable job? Current economic outlook is quite grim and don't think I can get my previous pay scale as I've gone through multiple job interviews.

My uncertainties on my future really stresses me out. Anyone can offer some word of advice?
It will definitely be tough coping with this sudden loss of income.

However, you have the fortune of some savings and income from somewhere else which will reduce the impact of this change.

Your immediate reaction should be calculating how long can you survive on this negative cash flow situation. With that time frame in mind determine if you need to take action now or you have the possibility of pursuing something else which might take time to bear fruit.

Since you used only part time to generate 4k/month on average, sit down and think about what if you can put full-time in. Will you be able to generate more than the time you put in? Maybe that will open new opportunities for your business.

Good luck, I've been in your shoes before of losing a job, but was fortunate enough to obtain employment immediately.

incredibless
post Jun 21 2013, 12:06 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(gigugigu90 @ Jun 18 2013, 10:59 AM)
hi morning everyone,

i and few friend doing graphic design company, income quite steady , but the problem i like buy a lot of new gadget , cant save money >.< any suggestion to ?
this is the main problem. if you were intended to buy alot new gadgets. for sure you not going to save any money be it now or even next few years. If you would want to save money. just stick to the gadget you owning now and use it for at least few years or until its spoil. that for sure u able to save alot and you be surprise that the amount you have save all this while. me myself was like you previously less than a year changes few phones but now i have stopped since and i actually save alot than previously. I know sometimes new gadget tend to be tempting and drolling you into buying it but..come on do fall for that with your hard earn money. save it for your future. smile.gif
silverwave
post Jun 22 2013, 12:56 AM

4,082 posts

Hi, I need some advice on investing smartly.

My parents are very careful with all their savings and they are not very good in investing. Most of the money is just lying in FD's. Now it's my turn and i'm willing to take some risks.

I'm 26yrs this year and i have about Rm160k of savings (100k in FD) and some other FD's that my mum put under my name.

Initially i thought of using the money to do master abroad but i think i'm still able to invest here and there.

At the moment, i'm able to save around Rm2.5k to Rm3k monthly, i have no car repayment & i've not purchased a house.

Basically, i don't want to keep the money when there's plenty of ways to make money.

Some of the ways that i'm looking into at the moment are PB unit trusts, AS, stocks and new property development. I'm also on the look out for passive income.

Feel free to suggest if you have any good ways. Thanks! blush.gif

Michelle_Wong
post Jun 22 2013, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(gigugigu90 @ Jun 18 2013, 10:59 AM)
hi morning everyone,

i and few friend doing graphic design company, income quite steady , but the problem i like buy a lot of new gadget , cant save money >.< any suggestion to ?
Create a saving habit
Rich_Lim
post Jun 22 2013, 06:54 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Michelle_Wong @ Jun 22 2013, 01:37 PM)
Create a saving habit
Or make it auto credit from your saving into another acct or bank thumbup.gif that being said, proper budgeting still the best solution wink.gif
cherly_lim
post Jun 28 2013, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(icycool @ Sep 27 2010, 06:29 PM)
I am a degree graduate and am earning only 1700 per monthbeing an executive in retail industry, but im happy with my job and my current lifestyle. Having work for 3 years, i have limited savings due to the low salary and high living expenses. But this doesnt deter me from saving and start investing. Got no car, no house, no property whatsoever. Bad Bad

Due to peer pressure, i think its better off to bump up my self confidence and look for better opportunities, when most of my friends are earning more than 5k per month, im earning 1.7k. This is what we choose, what i have choosen 3 years ago. But this thinking had been in my mind the first day i started my current job, and time flies, 3 years later, im still here, complaining that i earn peanuts, but did i do anything? =/ Well, obviously i dint do enough. We must believe that there is a better and brighter sky out there.

For those who earn high income but complain that standard of living is too high, got not enough money to use, think of those like me who earn so little yet managed to save and invest. People earning 1k plus can start a family, by living within their means.  You can do it, the key is actually PERSONAL FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT. Take it personal, there is no plan that is for everyone. Manage it perrsonaly, do not just whine and complain like me =/

Now for those who are like me, always complain that pay is low, do you have capabilities that proved that you are indeed underpaid, if yes, anything been done? Ever look for better opportunities, i believe a lot of you would say No. Because im in the exact same situation so i understand =/ Again, it PERSONAL FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT. Its your life, its personal, its how you managed it. I have been giving it a lot of thought lately, im getting older, i already have a slow start up, now my resolution for 2011 is to get a new job. Albeit slower than those who earn more and save more, we can also achieve it, thru various ways.

Take charged. Make it personal.
As you have 3 yrs plus experience in retail industry, why not try work with Lion Group ie Parkson corporation?

I am graduated as degree in retail management as well. Thus, for my own opinion worked in departmental stores especially parkson will get you a better salary as their also need recruit manpower in a few new stores.

epie
post Jun 29 2013, 09:38 AM

1,590 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Jun 22 2013, 12:56 AM)
Hi, I need some advice on investing smartly.

My parents are very careful with all their savings and they are not very good in investing. Most of the money is just lying in FD's. Now it's my turn and i'm willing to take some risks.

I'm 26yrs this year and i have about Rm160k of savings (100k in FD) and some other FD's that my mum put under my name.

Initially i thought of using the money to do master abroad but i think i'm still able to invest here and there.

At the moment, i'm able to save around Rm2.5k to Rm3k monthly, i have no car repayment & i've not purchased a house.

Basically, i don't want to keep the money when there's plenty of ways to make money.

Some of the ways that i'm looking into at the moment are PB unit trusts, AS, stocks and new property development. I'm also on the look out for passive income.

Feel free to suggest if you have any good ways. Thanks!  blush.gif
High risk=high return
Low risk=low return
Are u willing to risk this money?
cynthusc
post Jul 1 2013, 05:36 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(locno_123 @ Jun 8 2013, 01:36 PM)
Dear Forumer,

I'm 35 years old and I will be losing my job next month due to company down sizing.

My current assets are
1. Cash - 300K (90% on FD)
2. Stock - 50K
3. A house fully paid up recently

Liabilities
1. Car - 12k

My monthly commitment is minimum 5.5K. This is because I'm married with a child and I'm fully taking care both of my aging parents. My wife not working to fully take care of my child.

For the last 1.5 year I have been partnering in a business which generate 4K/month on the average. I work on the business on a part time basis or remotely as I travel alot.

Should I take more risk by investing more money and time in expanding my business or look for another stable job? Current economic outlook is quite grim and don't think I can get my previous pay scale as I've gone through multiple job interviews.

My uncertainties on my future really stresses me out. Anyone can offer some word of advice?
Hi Locno. First of all, sorry to hear about the down sizing. It happens to the best of us. On a positive note your current assets put you in a good position to weather the storm. I would suggest the following:-

1. Tell your family members including your parents about the situation.
2. 5.5K is too much to sustain when you will be essentially earning 4K per month from your business. Adjust your expenses accordingly. You should not spend more than 4K. Since you only have to pay for your car payments and the house is fully paid up, it should not be too difficult to adjust to this new level of income. Your wife and parents should understand this or you should make them understand this.
3. Look at your business income. Will this business be sustainable? Is there room for growth? If the business is something that has potential to grow, you should think about doing it full time. If you can earn 4K doing it part time, you may be able to earn double or even triple if you work on it full time. Try not to pump in anymore money if you can. Take a hard look at the business and analyse it calmly and logically.
4. If the business is something that does not have long term prospects then you will have to think about getting a job even if it means a pay cut. How are you looking for jobs? Is it through friends? You need to network more and get yourself out there. Go through all your contacts, friends, relatives, ex schoolmates, ex colleagues, collegemates, ex lecturers, jobs overseas, out of state etc....You need to put in as much effort in job finding as you do in your job.

Best of luck and do let us know how everything is.

Regards,
TakoC
post Jul 5 2013, 12:08 PM

2,081 posts

A quick question. We all know it's best to spread our investment to obtain passive income.

How many % should be allocate between FD:UT:Stock (100% in total) to generate a comfortable level of passive income. We all know MOST people opt for their UT distributions to be reinvested which means there are no passive income technically, unlike stocks which gives dividends and FD giving interest.

Do enlighten me here.
gark
post Jul 5 2013, 12:23 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 5 2013, 12:08 PM)
A quick question. We all know it's best to spread our investment to obtain passive income.

How many % should be allocate between FD:UT:Stock (100% in total) to generate a comfortable level of passive income. We all know MOST people opt for their UT distributions to be reinvested which means there are no passive income technically, unlike stocks which gives dividends and FD giving interest.

Do enlighten me here.
The percentage is depending on your risk tolerance. The more risk you can take without emotionally troubled then you can invest in higher portion of your money in higher risk elements.

Basically the best advice is ... sell down your risky instruments and convert to FD until you can have a good night's sleep without thinking of your investment. Then you know you are at the right risk tolerance.
TakoC
post Jul 5 2013, 12:28 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jul 5 2013, 12:23 PM)
The percentage is depending on your risk tolerance. The more risk you can take without emotionally troubled then you can invest in higher portion of your money in higher risk elements.

Basically the best advice is ... sell down your risky instruments and convert to FD until you can have a good night's sleep without thinking of your investment. Then you know you are at the right risk tolerance.
Yes, bro gark. I understand the risk tolerance element.

But referring to my earlier post, even if you fall under the higher risk tolerance (UT) bracket, most people opt for their UT distributions to be reinvested. This will not generate passive income. I'm not talking about passive income for 40-60 years old people. I'm referring to 25-40 to the very least. I believe passive income should start young if possible. In order to generate passive income from your UT investment, the person will have to cash out their distributions. For 25-40 years old, I personally feel they should opt for redistribution. So UT does not generate passive income, which means we're only left with stock and FD.

Not sure if you understand where I'm coming from, but you only answered partial of my question.

I'm holding stocks, FD and UT. But my UT holds around 40% of my total portfolio (FD + UT + stocks), and they are not generating me passive income. Only my stocks and FD. Hence, the question.

This post has been edited by TakoC: Jul 5 2013, 12:30 PM
gark
post Jul 5 2013, 12:46 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 5 2013, 12:28 PM)
Yes, bro gark. I understand the risk tolerance element.

But referring to my earlier post, even if you fall under the higher risk tolerance (UT) bracket, most people opt for their UT distributions to be reinvested. This will not generate passive income. I'm not talking about passive income for 40-60 years old people. I'm referring to 25-40 to the very least. I believe passive income should start young if possible. In order to generate passive income from your UT investment, the person will have to cash out their distributions. For 25-40 years old, I personally feel they should opt for redistribution. So UT does not generate passive income, which means we're only left with stock and FD.

Not sure if you understand where I'm coming from, but you only answered partial of my question.

I'm holding stocks, FD and UT. But my UT holds around 40% of my total portfolio (FD + UT + stocks), and they are not generating me passive income. Only my stocks and FD. Hence, the question.
You got it all wrong about passive income.

There are two stages for investment, accumulation and distribution.

During the accumulation, you are to take the passive income and capital gains to be reinvested FULLY for it to compound. Compound interest as Einstein said it is the 8th wonder of the world. This means all passive income and other gains from selling should be used as opportunity fund to purchase more investment to raise your total accumulated wealth. These passive income is not for spending otherwise you will not be able to compound your gains. Typically during this period depending on your investment horizon you would be in more risky investments. Typical ratio will be 50% to 80% stocks/UT, the rest in fixed income.

During the distribution, you are to convert your accumulated wealth generated during the accumulation stage and convert to yield investments, where you will be now time to enjoy your hard work and draw down your investments as cost of living. At these time your passive income will be most useful to you to spend and not for accumulate more wealth. Typically at these time you would want to be invested in safer securities with lower fluctuations. Typical ratio will be 0%-30% stocks/UT and majority in fixed income.

For most people, once the accumulation stage enable them to go to the distribution stage, they they can finally retire and stop working and enjoy their passive income. This is what we call financial freedom. Of course all of it depends on the risk profile as I have mentioned above.

This post has been edited by gark: Jul 5 2013, 12:49 PM
TakoC
post Jul 5 2013, 02:56 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jul 5 2013, 12:46 PM)
You got it all wrong about passive income.

There are two stages for investment, accumulation and  distribution.

During the accumulation, you are to take the passive income and capital gains to be reinvested FULLY for it to compound. Compound interest as Einstein said it is the 8th wonder of the world. This means all passive income and other gains from selling should be used as opportunity fund to purchase more investment to raise your total accumulated wealth. These passive income is not for spending otherwise you will not be able to compound your gains. Typically during this period depending on your investment horizon you would be in more risky investments. Typical ratio will be 50% to 80% stocks/UT, the rest in fixed income.

During the distribution, you are to convert your accumulated wealth generated during the accumulation stage and convert to yield investments, where you will be now time to enjoy your hard work and draw down your investments as cost of living. At these time your passive income will be most useful to you to spend and not for accumulate more wealth. Typically at these time you would want to be invested in safer securities with lower fluctuations. Typical ratio will be 0%-30% stocks/UT and majority in fixed income.

For most people, once the accumulation stage enable them to go to the distribution stage, they they can finally retire and stop working and enjoy their passive income. This is what we call financial freedom. Of course all of it depends on the risk profile as I have mentioned above.
So it is not advisable to go after passive income during your 'young' age is it? I'm now not referring to UT investment. So accumulation stage should start from your 20s to 50s?

Because by investing in stock, you get dividends. That would be passive income for the investors. Once again, I know it depend on risk appetite. But be aware that high dividend stocks tend to have lower risk. I would say that investing in a scale 8-9 UT funds (HSAO, HSAQ etc etc) are riskier than investing in high dividend stocks. And one can always start investing in dividends stocks (start distribution stage) rather than investing in UT (accumulation stage). Lots of assumption we can make here. i.e: dividends received can be reinvested back to the stock. But take note that usually 1 year of dividends received for the same stock can never be sufficient to be reinvested to even buy 1 lot of stock. Hence, accumulation stage is not valid.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 5 2013, 03:07 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

When u invest and receive dividend from stocks, u should REINVEST your dividends, not spend it. That's unker gark's point. wink.gif

Of course 1 dividend is not sufficient to buy, u can always accumulate the dividends in a bond fund/MM fund, then when it's large enough, buy stock.
TakoC
post Jul 5 2013, 03:19 PM

2,081 posts

So back to my initial question, passive income stage comes after your retirement? Accumulate stage is during your working life?
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 5 2013, 03:36 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 5 2013, 03:19 PM)
So back to my initial question, passive income stage comes after your retirement? Accumulate stage is during your working life?
If u managed to accumulate enough when u are 40 years old for example, no rule book says that u cannot retire at 40 wink.gif
gark
post Jul 5 2013, 03:41 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 5 2013, 03:07 PM)
When u invest and receive dividend from stocks, u should REINVEST your dividends, not spend it. That's unker gark's point. wink.gif

Of course 1 dividend is not sufficient to buy, u can always accumulate the dividends in a bond fund/MM fund, then when it's large enough, buy stock.
Ya this is correct. always reinvest your dividend, interest etc...during accumulation stage. rclxms.gif Let it snowball....... flex.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jul 5 2013, 03:42 PM
gark
post Jul 5 2013, 03:43 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 5 2013, 03:19 PM)
Distribution or enjoying your passive income comes after you have achieve financial freedom. Financial freedom means, you are free to do whatever you want in life and not worry about money as it will come automatically...
netmask8
post Jul 5 2013, 04:01 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

Passive Income =Subjective in many ways/views.. Of course, yr investment must able to generate
greater Return Of Investment(ROI) per yr capital / principle..

If yr Ringgit (RM) invest locally here, u will get RM back when u sell/take dividends.. Ratio 1:1 ..
Slow ROI in long-run, right?

If u invest in USA/UK Stock/REIT with Qrtrly earnings +/- yield dividends, with over the
years in long-run(with good Corp mgmt/governance, compound dividends/retained earnings ..etc)
Ratio = depends on Forex / Currency Exchg . Unlike property, which need monthly commitment in good/bad times.

151 Pages « < 137 138 139 140 141 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:02 AM