52,874 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 10 2013, 02:29 PM)
thank you. btw EWP=?
Extended warranty package.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 10 2013, 02:43 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

The only way u can "cheat" EPF money legitimately is by buying a house with EPF money and then selling it. But Property Gains Tax is there, don't forget icon_idea.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 10 2013, 03:34 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 10 2013, 02:43 PM)
The only way u can "cheat" EPF money legitimately is by buying a house with EPF money and then selling it. But Property Gains Tax is there, don't forget icon_idea.gif
Another "cheat" for A/C1 = CIMBC25, CIMBA40 and other foreign ETFs via "self-directed" investments brows.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 10 2013, 03:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 10 2013, 03:34 PM)
Another "cheat" for A/C1 = CIMBC25, CIMBA40 and other foreign ETFs via "self-directed" investments  brows.gif
But u cannot take the money out, withdrawals go back to EPF doh.gif

We were talking about taking cash money out
wongmunkeong
post Mar 10 2013, 07:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 10 2013, 03:42 PM)
But u cannot take the money out, withdrawals go back to EPF doh.gif

We were talking about taking cash money out
EPF A/C2 with a Flexi Mortgage lor tongue.gif
Veda
post Mar 11 2013, 02:16 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 9 2013, 11:55 AM)
Erm, viva what model? I'm thinking of 1.0 auto, ok ma? tongue.gif
I see 2-3 persons here driving/considering a Viva Why a Viva? hmm.gif

Why not top up some $ and get the proven, generally decent myvi instead? That's what I did after considering Myvi, Viva and Saga FLX.

Go over to FnF or auto forums and read. For me, if I must get a Viva ... I'll get the cheapest model - 660 BX @RM25k. The price gap between the other Viva models (RM3Xk) and the cheapest Myvi @ RM44k is not big.

From my experience ... sometimes I regret buying things that are the cheapest but don't last long etc. When buying things, it's better to look for value (the same applies in investment)
simplesmile
post Mar 11 2013, 01:45 PM

2,991 posts

Never thought of this. You're an expert in utilizing money in EPF. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 10 2013, 07:28 PM)
poolcarpet
post Mar 11 2013, 01:48 PM

548 posts

For EPF A/C2 with flexi mortgage, you still can't touch the money right? If you withdraw from A/C2 to reduce homeloan, the exact amount cannot be withdrawn under flexi mortgage, right?

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 10 2013, 07:28 PM)
wongmunkeong
post Mar 11 2013, 02:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Mar 11 2013, 01:48 PM)
For EPF A/C2 with flexi mortgage, you still can't touch the money right? If you withdraw from A/C2 to reduce homeloan, the exact amount cannot be withdrawn under flexi mortgage, right?
Monthly withdrawals - can, coz it doesn't even reach your financier, it goes into your "local bank account".
Once there, can put into flexi mortgage to "sit as capital repayment until taken out", thus saving/making the %

Yearly withdrawals - technically cannot coz it goes straight to your financier.
well, heard stories lar but unsure executable or not.

Just a thought
poolcarpet
post Mar 11 2013, 02:57 PM

548 posts

Ok I know yearly withdrawals definitely cannot, not familiar with monthly withdrawals but I would think EPF might want a statement to proof that the money was used to repay the loan and not for anything else... ? anyway hard to touch EPF $$...

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 11 2013, 02:35 PM)
Monthly withdrawals - can, coz it doesn't even reach your financier, it goes into your "local bank account".
Once there, can put into flexi mortgage to "sit as capital repayment until taken out", thus saving/making the %

Yearly withdrawals - technically cannot coz it goes straight to your financier.
well, heard stories lar but unsure executable or not.

Just a thought
wongmunkeong
post Mar 11 2013, 03:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Mar 11 2013, 02:57 PM)
Ok I know yearly withdrawals definitely cannot, not familiar with monthly withdrawals but I would think EPF might want a statement to proof that the money was used to repay the loan and not for anything else... ? anyway hard to touch EPF $$...
FYI - monthly withdrawals were specifically made to enable members to withdraw and paydown OR...
coz it was during the 2008 crises where i think the Gov wanted to stimulate personal spending, thus i guess the "obvious leeway" was built-in.
Of course, personally i'd rather $pend it on investments / appreciating assets than a Galaxy Note 2 lar tongue.gif
Rich_Lim
post Mar 11 2013, 09:47 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(cloudlhs @ Mar 10 2013, 01:47 PM)
Hi guys...
I worked for one and half year, but until now I don't have any saving.
All my income go for car loan, house rent, credit car(petrol, phone),facilities.
I wish to invest such as UT... But first to first, do not have any saving, how to invest on these all?
Do you guys have any recommendation on earning some side income?
Yup, David 83 is right... Can start from per acct 1 if I'm not wrong, UT charges is lower brows.gif
hannahjoo
post Mar 11 2013, 10:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(cloudlhs @ Mar 10 2013, 01:56 PM)
I have try to cut off my expenses. But saving little by little seem like too slow for me.
I try to get part time job, but I have no idea on what part time job should i get.
My working time is from mon to sat. I dont have any time to go for part time, unless some part time that can be done online or thetime is flexible.
Same case here.... This year is my 4th year working but my saving till now is till......
I tried cutting down my expenses too, but bcoz of high living cost today it just won't work... That's why I'm starting my business. I'm doing it part-time currently, online. (Is at my signature)

Attached File(s)
Attached File  NMPitfalls.pdf ( 163.06k ) Number of downloads: 35
felixmask
post Mar 11 2013, 10:17 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 11 2013, 03:01 PM)
FYI - monthly withdrawals were specifically made to enable members to withdraw and paydown OR...
coz it was during the 2008 crises where i think the Gov wanted to stimulate personal spending, thus i guess the "obvious leeway" was built-in.
Of course, personally i'd rather $pend it on investments / appreciating assets than a Galaxy Note 2 lar tongue.gif
Good advice SeaFOod Wong,

Spending on non-asset-item, only depreciate the Value we earn.
Look at grandpa time, when there no such thing HP, Laptop, AirAsia, Android, etc but money save under the bed for raining day.
Generation change didn’t see buy thing using credit the value for tomorrow, forever we will be slave to the BANK.
Look at mall every day i can see young couple buy/shopping thing like watch/accessories/cd/gadget/apparel
Do they see the return of value spending vs future saving, except making the Taukeh boss happy when buying their goods?
Spending non asset-item is juz temporarily lust for entertainment, when the time bored non asset item hv no value.
News spending needs to fill absolute hungry entertainment for emptiness.
Either we create thing we hv absolute value or we hv be patient on our spending.
I regret school never taught on financial independent and our parent financial education not show good example
All children have given gadget by their family to temporarily solve children growth.
Any children understand how $$$ was earn?
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 11 2013, 10:33 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 11 2013, 10:17 PM)
Good advice SeaFOod Wong,

Spending on non-asset-item, only depreciate the Value we earn.
     Look at grandpa time, when there no such thing HP, Laptop, AirAsia, Android, etc but money save under the bed for raining day.
     Generation change didn’t see buy thing using credit the value for tomorrow, forever we will be slave to the BANK.
     Look at mall every day i can see young couple buy/shopping thing like watch/accessories/cd/gadget/apparel
     Do they see the return of value spending vs future saving, except making the Taukeh boss happy when buying their goods?
     Spending non asset-item is juz temporarily lust for entertainment, when the time bored non asset item hv no value.
     News spending needs to fill absolute hungry entertainment for emptiness.
     Either we create thing we hv absolute value or we hv be patient on our spending.
     I regret school never taught on financial independent and our parent financial education not show good example
     All children have given gadget by their family to temporarily solve children growth.
     Any children understand how $$$ was earn?
Well said Felix thumbup.gif

Young ppl often say, "life must enjoy!", but they never thought of what if in their golden years they've got no children to support them, or worst, got childen also no use, "rather give birth to a piece of charsiew" laugh.gif

Ultimately, I believe that we should aim to retire not rich, but self-sufficient nod.gif

Just like what sifu xuzen say, wanna enjoy? Make your investment assets be it rental from property or dividend from shares pay for your luxuries. Reserve your salary only for necessities, and save/invest the excess. icon_idea.gif

My peers find enjoyment in Starbucks, Chatime and expensive Sushi meal, I find pleasure going to my favourite kopi shop where everyone recognise my face and my favourite mamak where the boss know what I want the moment I step in. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 11 2013, 10:34 PM
felixmask
post Mar 11 2013, 10:56 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 11 2013, 10:33 PM)
Well said Felix thumbup.gif

Young ppl often say, "life must enjoy!", but they never thought of what if in their golden years they've got no children to support them, or worst, got childen also no use, "rather give birth to a piece of charsiew" laugh.gif

Ultimately, I believe that we should aim to retire not rich, but self-sufficient nod.gif

Just like what sifu xuzen say, wanna enjoy? Make your investment assets be it rental from property or dividend from shares pay for your luxuries. Reserve your salary only for necessities, and save/invest the excess. icon_idea.gif

My peers find enjoyment in Starbucks, Chatime and expensive Sushi meal, I find pleasure going to my favourite kopi shop where everyone recognise my face and my favourite mamak where the boss know what I want the moment I step in. biggrin.gif
Remind me "Happy eating alone"
No need to order boss already know ...rm6.00 for my dinner.

Life's Blessings
I cried because I had no shoes;
Till I saw a man with no feet.

Life is full of blessings.
Sometimes we're just to blind to see them.

http://www.pravsworld.com/content/inspirat...ife-s-blessings
poolcarpet
post Mar 11 2013, 11:01 PM

548 posts

fully agreed with the last few posts!! rclxms.gif

sometimes i see how today's parents 'spoil' their kids, i rclxub.gif

all expensive branded stuff, new cars, branded watches, super special birthday celebrations, really doh.gif
alexkos
post Mar 11 2013, 11:26 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 10 2013, 02:43 PM)
but no property tax if sold after 5 years right? brows.gif brows.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 11 2013, 11:55 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 11 2013, 11:26 PM)
but no property tax if sold after 5 years right?  brows.gif  brows.gif
5 years is not a short wait bro doh.gif
poolcarpet
post Mar 12 2013, 07:57 AM

548 posts

It's not THAT long... if you buy new properties. I believe the date is from S&P signing date, and for new properties, it will take around 2-3 years for construction anyway, so it will be maybe 2-3 years after VP.

I believe the rates are 15% within first 2 years, and 10% between year 2-5, and this is charged on the profit (not selling price) and you can also deduct costs associated and RM10k relief. Or if really hit a goldmine property (DPC?) and you want maximum, you can also choose to have once in a lifetime exemption.

Unfortunately RPGT is just the smaller amount associated with selling a property, there are other costs too shocking.gif

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 11 2013, 11:55 PM)
5 years is not a short wait bro doh.gif

151 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:42 PM