123 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V6, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

laica
post Nov 20 2010, 05:23 PM

grown up child
801 posts

QUOTE(alg @ Nov 20 2010, 12:49 PM)
Original PS3 headset.. thumbup.gif
QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Nov 20 2010, 01:48 PM)
or if not enough budget u can get USB converter for 3.5mm+cheap PC headset.i'm using it right now.cost u not more than rm30 biggrin.gif
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Nov 20 2010, 05:04 PM)
official accessories always the best choice
ohh thx for the recommendations
how much does the original one cost?
TSshahreza2000
post Nov 20 2010, 05:26 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(laica @ Nov 20 2010, 05:23 PM)
ohh thx for the recommendations
how much does the original one cost?
rm160+

check with LYN sellers on the new official headset... got new design somemore
pokchik
post Nov 20 2010, 05:41 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

just knew about the new bluetooth design..

wow.
ffrulz
post Nov 20 2010, 07:14 PM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

Yeap, comes with built-in noise cancellation. The older model uses the software method via PS3 to cancel out noise thus it won't do NC when you pair it with your phone, the revised model does.
Kaydon
post Nov 20 2010, 07:33 PM

845 posts

guys quick question.. if i were to get the PS3 from the US.. and plan to bring it back to Msia.. are there any limitations??

i know that for blu ray movies there are limitations where i won't be able to play any asia blu rays.. (i this true?)

but in terms of games.. i can play games from anywhere right? games bought from msia can be played as well right??
ffrulz
post Nov 20 2010, 07:50 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(Kaydon @ Nov 20 2010, 07:33 PM)
guys quick question.. if i were to get the PS3 from the US.. and plan to bring it back to Msia.. are there any limitations??

i know that for blu ray movies there are limitations where i won't be able to play any asia blu rays.. (i this true?)

but in terms of games.. i can play games from anywhere right? games bought from msia can be played as well right??
Confirmation button will be switched if you are using US/CAD console (X for Confirm O for Cancel).

No, for Blu-Rays the Regions are the same. Region A.

For DVDs & PS1 it will be locked like usual, R1 for USA.

Other than that there are no other differences between each other. The plug might be different but no worries on the power compatibility since all PS3s come with a Universal Power Supply.
Erehwon
post Nov 20 2010, 08:31 PM

77 posts

Quick question

Suppose I am using a Malaysian PSN ID.
I then purchase a R1 game that comes with redemption codes.
Do these codes work with my Malaysian PSN ID? Or do I actually need a R1 PSN
ffrulz
post Nov 20 2010, 08:33 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(Erehwon @ Nov 20 2010, 08:31 PM)
Quick question

Suppose I am using a Malaysian PSN ID.
I then purchase a R1 game that comes with redemption codes.
Do these codes work with my Malaysian PSN ID? Or do I actually need a R1 PSN
The latter.
Tamsin
post Nov 20 2010, 11:05 PM

553 posts

Guys I dl demo on my PS3 only can 1 at a time?
hayashi86
post Nov 20 2010, 11:21 PM

47 posts

hello ps3 users,

i plan to get a ps3 soon for the gt5...
is it ok to get a Japanese version of PS3?
since my fren is going to japan and he mentioned the ps3 is cheaper than here a lil...
wat are the pros and cons?

please help ~
victor2212
post Nov 20 2010, 11:25 PM

2,179 posts

Hey guys, i see mostly gs selling sg unit of ps3.

anywhere can get my version cheap + free game? Petaling jaya.

even gamers hideout selling sg version 1299 1 controler and free game or another controler

, their 120gb my version is 1299 comes with 1 controler only -__-

Kaydon
post Nov 21 2010, 12:25 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Nov 20 2010, 07:50 PM)
Confirmation button will be switched if you are using US/CAD console (X for Confirm O for Cancel).

No, for Blu-Rays the Regions are the same. Region A.

For DVDs & PS1 it will be locked like usual, R1 for USA.

Other than that there are no other differences between each other. The plug might be different but no worries on the power compatibility since all PS3s come with a Universal Power Supply.
thanks.. so basically getting the console here shouldn't be any problem?? so next time i can just hop in to any game store in msia and still able to buy any games and still able to play with the ps3 console right?

not necessary the games must be bought from US only they will work rite?? smile.gif

thanks for the help.. a newbie into this thingy.. hehe
dark_heart07
post Nov 21 2010, 01:49 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(hayashi86 @ Nov 20 2010, 11:21 PM)
hello ps3 users,

i plan to get a ps3 soon for the gt5...
is it ok to get a Japanese version of PS3?
since my fren is going to japan and he mentioned the ps3 is cheaper than here a lil...
wat are the pros and cons?

please help ~
its hard to claim warranty since u got it from japan.need to send back there if got prob.better buy official MY console for easy warranty claim.
ffrulz
post Nov 21 2010, 02:38 AM

995 posts

QUOTE(Kaydon @ Nov 21 2010, 12:25 AM)
thanks.. so basically getting the console here shouldn't be any problem?? so next time i can just hop in to any game store in msia and still able to buy any games and still able to play with the ps3 console right?

not necessary the games must be bought from US only they will work rite?? smile.gif

thanks for the help.. a newbie into this thingy.. hehe
Yes no restrictions if you're planning to play PS3 retail games. Blu-ray movies like stated before are limited to Region A and Free copies which isn't a problem if you're importing them from HK or the US.

The only real restriction would be old PS1 games and DVDs as the US region and Asian region are separated.

And also the issue of warranty. No cross regional warranty for PS3s. US Sets are tied to US only and so on.
hayashi86
post Nov 21 2010, 08:37 AM

47 posts

@dark_heart07

Ohh! warranty claim...

but does PS3 problems often occur?

thanks!

This post has been edited by hayashi86: Nov 21 2010, 08:37 AM
sjn hassan
post Nov 21 2010, 10:31 AM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(dead_psycho @ Nov 18 2010, 12:06 PM)
thanks for the help..but just curious, will there be any loss of visual quality converting from HDMI to DVI?
maybe technically YES but it's un-noticable

QUOTE(Kaydon @ Nov 18 2010, 02:53 PM)
hi sifus,

i am curious.. i'm trying to purchase the ps3 move.. so what do i need? i know there is the navigation controller + controller (with the ball) + camera..

are all of these sold separately? or only the camera is separate? i'm not so sure how it works actually.. sad.gif

or i must buy all 3 of them for a game to work??
for MOVE we just need

EYE + Motion (with the ball) and the MOVE game..that's all..so far i still don't need a Navi yet

* just got my 2nd MOVE Motion last nite at Sony Center..they are offering at RM188

* i'm from KB..already ask the games shop and they are selling at RM210 blink.gif (imported set)

Added on November 21, 2010, 10:37 am
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Nov 16 2010, 04:41 PM)
guys..i got 1 problem with Optical connection to my Home Theater when playing a MOVE game. eg: time crysis (demo), sports championship etc

1. it's got sound when i played a movie with DTS / Dobly setting
2. it's got sound when i navigate at XMB
3. it's got sound when i play other games

** i realize it won't have a sound when i point to the MOVE game..normally when we point to the game (before enter it), there will be a preview of the game right?
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 17 2010, 02:38 AM)
I think that's an issue with the game itself is it?
I see quite a few people complaining about no audio from sports championship... so.. hmm.gif
maybe..already test all the BD games i have last few nite and i found

most of the games got sound (GOW collection, Fifa11, WC2010, MGS, IL, Virtua Fighter, Smack Down 2010 etc. all around 1x games) except ;

1. GOW 3
2. Sports Championship

* All movies are no problem

really frustrated if really the game problem especially GOW 3..it's got Dolby / 5.1 audio features / option but why we can't enjoy it? cry.gif

This post has been edited by sjn hassan: Nov 21 2010, 10:37 AM
pokchik
post Nov 21 2010, 12:59 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(hayashi86 @ Nov 21 2010, 08:37 AM)
@dark_heart07

Ohh! warranty claim...

but does PS3 problems often occur?

thanks!
it's not about problem frequency but IF anything occurs,
then it's troublesome to send it back to japan bro..
imagine you ship back to japan, then have to ship back here..

and if something happens during shipment.. etc.. shakehead.gif

better buy MY set instead, unless you're up to the hassle.

for PS3 slim, i haven't heard of any issues yet.. or else
i'm not having good info about it. PS3 phat have YLOD.
munzamir
post Nov 21 2010, 02:52 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Nov 21 2010, 12:59 PM)
it's not about problem frequency but IF anything occurs,
then it's troublesome to send it back to japan bro..
imagine you ship back to japan, then have to ship back here..

and if something happens during shipment.. etc..  shakehead.gif

better buy MY set instead, unless you're up to the hassle.

for PS3 slim, i haven't heard of any issues yet.. or else
i'm not having good info about it. PS3 phat have YLOD.
pokchik,
my PS3 was having issue with the power supply..
sent to SONY SG for repairs already..
it happen last month (within a month of purchased)
this is a known but rare issue with Slim..
anyway, lucky i got 3 set of PS3 brows.gif
TSshahreza2000
post Nov 21 2010, 02:56 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(munzamir @ Nov 21 2010, 02:52 PM)
pokchik,
my PS3 was having issue with the power supply..
sent to SONY SG for repairs already..
it happen last month (within a month of purchased)
this is a known but rare issue with Slim..
anyway, lucky i got 3 set of PS3 brows.gif
bangsawan spotted... ada 3 ps3s whistling.gif
munzamir
post Nov 21 2010, 03:39 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Nov 21 2010, 02:56 PM)
bangsawan spotted... ada 3 ps3s  whistling.gif
wheggot lah shah..
No. 1 = repaired from YLOD 80GB PHAT (got sentimental value this one)
No. 2 = 160 BLACK SG SET (currently with SONY SG having heart surgery)
No. 3 = 320 BLACK MY SET (bought at Sony Center MV since SG SET went to surgery)

too addicted with PS3.. this is what had happened to me.. doh.gif

123 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:04 AM