6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Using your iPad at Work/Study, What works for you and what doesn't?

sin2010
post Jan 10 2011, 08:38 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(jackyyong @ Jan 10 2011, 01:47 PM)
Of the above, facebook game is not possible, since iPad does not support flash. Editing from other person's document via pendrive is tough, you will need to use a lot of workarounds, like use a camera connection kit, put in cloud, send via email, etc.

Otherwise, the rest works beautifully.
erm.... hmm.gif ..so whiche tablet is more suitable for my case?
jackyyong
post Jan 11 2011, 10:04 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(sin2010 @ Jan 10 2011, 08:38 PM)
erm.... hmm.gif ..so whiche tablet is more suitable for my case?
Errmmm ...... Samsung Galaxy Tab? A bit expensive though for a 7 inch screen. But it has front and rear facing cameras and expandable storage via microSD. You still need to copy your document via the microSD though....

Anybody else has any other recommendations?
Ndrew
post Jan 12 2011, 10:12 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(jackyyong @ Jan 7 2011, 10:06 AM)
Just to share my experience using it for work. I was contemplating buying a laptop initially for my wife to work. Basically she just needs to make entries in a spreadsheet for her accounting purposes. Then when the iPad came out, I thought that buying it would make more sense, since we do not need a powerful laptop to use Excel right?

So I tested some office softwares. I have only the wifi version, and my wife's place dun have internet. So need to edit documents offline and sync them back when she got to a wifi.

Here are the softwares tested and my feedback:

Apple Works : Numbers - Pretty graphics, allows to export to Microsoft Excel format, but I never try that. The deal breaker is that I can't export to cloud storage. Need to use emails. YUCK!!

QuickOffice : Pretty graphics, tabs that actually looks like tabs. Remembers your last page viewed. Can store to cloud storage, BUT it cannot edit the content offline. Dealbreaker I'm afraid! sad.gif

DocsToGo : Worst graphics among the trio, tabs needs some page switching. But it can store to DropBox and edit GoogleDocs directly! And the best part is, when you are offline, you will still be able to edit it! Once you have wifi, you can sync back the changes! Perfect!
hi, i have Quickoffice too. It can sync with Dropbox and i usually trasfer it to my ipad for editing offline. After editing and i get to a place with wifi, i just drag it back to Dropbox to sync. In Dropbox, when you label your file as a favorite, you can still access it when you're offline. How does DocsToGo amend files from Dropbox when it's offline?
Phonzy
post Jan 13 2011, 09:52 AM

542 posts

For insurance agents - when you come out quotation for your client, transfer it to your iPad, then when you meet up , show them the quotation via iPad, some will be impressed biggrin.gif lol
sin2010
post Jan 14 2011, 09:09 PM

148 posts

how about View pad from view sonic??
calmshot
post Jan 14 2011, 10:08 PM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

QUOTE(sin2010 @ Jan 14 2011, 09:09 PM)
how about View pad from view sonic??
Better go for galaxy tab, vewsonic viewpad android version is just the same as csl spice mi700. The spec is not that good... The best current alternative tablet is galaxy tab.

If u can live without facebook game and able to change ur life to use cloud storage rather than usb thumbdrive or sd card, ipad is the way to go.

This post has been edited by calmshot: Jan 14 2011, 10:11 PM
sin2010
post Jan 15 2011, 09:18 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Jan 14 2011, 10:08 PM)
Better go for galaxy tab, vewsonic viewpad android version is just the same as csl spice mi700. The spec is not that good... The best current alternative tablet is galaxy tab.

If u can live without facebook game and able to change ur life to use cloud storage rather than usb thumbdrive or sd card, ipad is the way to go.
erm... galaxy tab is abit expensive to me...
Facebook game is not the "must" to me, surfing internet and viewing document from my friend will b more important, because sometimes when i meet my friend outside, i can take n view a file from my friend ( although this is not alywas happen).. so if it can read from pendrive will be a great thing...hehe tongue.gif
wufei
post Jan 15 2011, 02:01 PM

3,039 posts

Nowdays no one use pendrive liao. Try dropbox.

Convenient and fast

Unless you want to share movie.
sin2010
post Jan 15 2011, 11:39 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Jan 15 2011, 02:01 PM)
Nowdays no one use pendrive liao. Try dropbox.

Convenient and fast

Unless you want to share movie.
ya.. i heard about drpbox before..but many of my friend stil using pendrive.. tongue.gif

i saw some one are using the camera kit to read the USB drive, who try it before? is it really work?? blink.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-fumAV69dc&feature=related
calmshot
post Jan 17 2011, 09:24 PM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

Im doing some freelance website development project... Currently im using dropbox and html editor (capable to upload via ftp) apps... So far so good. I can write html, javascript and a bit of php on the go. Now i dont need to bring my laptop and charger to mcD.. Just bring my ipad to start editing the website.

This post has been edited by calmshot: Jan 17 2011, 09:26 PM
s2000c
post Jan 18 2011, 12:44 PM

1,006 posts

hi all
i have a question , i understand ipad doesnt support Java, any other share trading software can suppport ipad, so can view the live trading ?
steven
sin2010
post Jan 18 2011, 10:34 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(s2000c @ Jan 18 2011, 12:44 PM)
hi all
i have a question , i understand ipad doesnt support Java, any other share trading software can suppport ipad, so can view the live trading ?
steven
if not mistaken CIMB has ipad ver...

Added on January 18, 2011, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(calmshot @ Jan 17 2011, 09:24 PM)
Im doing some freelance website development project... Currently im using dropbox  and html editor (capable to upload via ftp) apps... So far so good. I can write html, javascript and a bit of php on the go. Now i dont need to bring my laptop and charger to mcD.. Just bring my ipad to start editing the website.
This is the situation i want with ipad... portable, and able to do some minor editing.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sin2010: Jan 18 2011, 10:38 PM
s2000c
post Jan 19 2011, 02:08 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(sin2010 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:34 PM)
if not mistaken CIMB has ipad ver...

Added on January 18, 2011, 10:38 pm

This is the situation i want with ipad... portable, and able to do some minor editing..  rclxms.gif
thank u
SUSseijiseimura84
post Mar 19 2011, 12:27 AM

U mess with me? Pancung kepala
4,817 posts

Considering myself a half student n half working

Once in a month, i need to made presentation via my power point

Most of my note is under microsoft one note (.one)

I study most of the time, from computer, from internet n read ebook n made many note via onenote

Question : is IPAD suitable for me?
What is the pro n cons for me?

This post has been edited by seijiseimura84: Mar 19 2011, 12:29 AM
ky-l
post Mar 19 2011, 12:29 AM

126 posts

a netbook or notebook with windows would be better
SUSseijiseimura84
post Mar 19 2011, 12:31 AM

U mess with me? Pancung kepala
4,817 posts

so....generally people use ipad for what?
marlick25
post Mar 19 2011, 12:38 AM

440 posts

to play games tongue.gif

btw yeah in my opinion it would be hard for ipad to replace netbooks
fluffy6640
post Mar 19 2011, 12:43 AM

647 posts

Ipad is cheap now.ask yourself what u CANNOT do with the iPad?

Typing docs can be done,slides,ebooks,awesome net surfing experience.

No it won't replace the net book,but hell,u get good batt life,quick on/off on-the-go convenience.no start ups.

U decide.
nickygin
post Mar 19 2011, 09:26 AM

240 posts

Personally, I think that the iPad is good as long as you don't have to do any complex work like creating charts and power point presentations from scratch... Or at least I have not learnt how to do those yet smile.gif

However, my iPad was more than sufficient to sustain me during a 1 week work travel in which I used the iPad to prepare and edit documentations, communicating with office, reading reports and others. Best was I didn't have to carry my heavy office laptop to do all these smile.gif
SilviaSS
post Mar 19 2011, 09:53 AM

43 posts

I don;t think to own an ipad is a showoff. Is whether you know how to used it or not.
Personally, I used both. I don;t created presentation using ipad, but instead , I used it to present the powerpoint that I created using a PC.
Why I do that? Simply because to create a full presentation using ipad is a bit hard, but to modify the content is easy. Put it this way, if you need to keep on modifying your presentation even till the last minute, you are either not fully prepared for it or you do a lousy job on it. A good point from fluffy,
"get good batt life,quick on/off on-the-go convenience.no start ups." That is major. THose that do presentation a lot would understand what is mean by time is essential. You need to deliver the fact fast and accurate.

I even used it to access my AutoCad drawing send by my designer, client . I used Ipad for such time because of the fast on-off and normally, minor changes are need to be done which can be done using Ipad and vio-la, is done and I can email the copies to everyone instantly about the it.

Can it replace netbook.. well, IMHO, I think is possible, but again this is very personal. For me, I had completely sell off my notebook, laptop and netbook once I get used to Ipad. Is light, easy and moreover, mobility.

THose that treat it as a gadget of games playing, well, it will always remain as another PSP and NDS and if you one of those, please don;t get Ipad, you are only utilizing hmmm.. say 10% of what it capable of .

If you know what you want to do with it and there are apps that support it, I guess, you will find it amaze.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0216sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:02 AM