[BULK] Amazon and Kindle 3 Heavy Items Bulk!, New Bulk 15 Just Opened!Shipped in quick
mr.anutta
Jan 14 2011, 12:33 AM
hi estara, don't worry...  just do this, QUOTE If you have moved to a different country, you can easily update your country for your Amazon account at www.Amazon.com/manageyourkindle 1. login to your amazon account and verify "Your Country" is set to United States. If it's asking for a U.S address, use google to find an address for you www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle2. download and install http://hotspotshield.com/. close any IE/firefox browser before run hotspotshield 3. now,login to your amazon account again and viola!!! let us know the outcome...good luck!!!
estara
Jan 14 2011, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(havocx @ Jan 14 2011, 12:26 AM)
Heads up buddy, your quote's in your box  Firstly estara dont panic, there's actually no reason to actually use a real US address, you can remove the address and add another one. Remember I have the White House as an address while my wife now has an obscure US Mcdonalds as an address. You dont have to put your friends address as an address for your account, any US address will do. That said, the email is just an automated mail from Amazon, nothing for you to be worried about and wont affect your friend at all 
That said, lets look next your account and the email address. Did the email address you associated with your Amazon account shows in any way or ties to Malaysia ? Then there in lies the issue. Hopefully it works for ya  It's automated? *phew* ok. Not too bad then. I just thought maybe using the real deal might be better but obviously not. I'm wondering where my identity got leaked too. I even used hotspot shield when I login to Amazon. I checked my email and got no local address or anything. Now I'm thinking of the phone no. I had to fill in in my Amazon acc. It's a local no. Shall I change it to an US no.? And if yes, what no. am I suppose to put in? I don't know any...if I put the pizza shop no. or something I think they'll know easily. Duh...do I have to clear cache too? I googled and some people say that might help... I'm now thinking of creating a brand new Gmail acc just for Amazon haha this is crazy...
yuna1987
Jan 14 2011, 12:52 AM

To havocx, Thank you very much for the details explanation about the whole shipping thing from US to Malaysia. Although im not accepting the service you offer, you still willing to reply and give me more then a answer im asking for. Would like to deal with you in the future if possible. Once again, Thank you !
TShavocx
Jan 14 2011, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(estara @ Jan 14 2011, 12:38 AM) It's automated? *phew* ok. Not too bad then. I just thought maybe using the real deal might be better but obviously not. I'm wondering where my identity got leaked too. I even used hotspot shield when I login to Amazon. I checked my email and got no local address or anything. Now I'm thinking of the phone no. I had to fill in in my Amazon acc. It's a local no. Shall I change it to an US no.? And if yes, what no. am I suppose to put in? I don't know any...if I put the pizza shop no. or something I think they'll know easily. Duh...do I have to clear cache too? I googled and some people say that might help... I'm now thinking of creating a brand new Gmail acc just for Amazon haha this is crazy... Yep, a US Phone number, actually any number really. Find a Coach store location perhaps and then put that number in. Ta-dah US number. Lets try that first before you go crazy.
QUOTE(yuna1987 @ Jan 14 2011, 12:52 AM) To havocx, Thank you very much for the details explanation about the whole shipping thing from US to Malaysia. Although im not accepting the service you offer, you still willing to reply and give me more then a answer im asking for. Would like to deal with you in the future if possible. Once again, Thank you !  Glad to help Yuna1987. Sorry for your unfortunate incident in your deals, come anytime, ill be glad to help when i can
estara
Jan 14 2011, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(mr.anutta @ Jan 14 2011, 12:33 AM) hi estara, don't worry...  just do this, 1. login to your amazon account and verify "Your Country" is set to United States. If it's asking for a U.S address, use google to find an address for you www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle2. download and install http://hotspotshield.com/. close any IE/firefox browser before run hotspotshield 3. now,login to your amazon account again and viola!!! let us know the outcome...good luck!!!  QUOTE(havocx @ Jan 14 2011, 01:02 AM) Yep, a US Phone number, actually any number really. Find a Coach store location perhaps and then put that number in. Ta-dah US number. Lets try that first before you go crazy.
Right. I changed the address a bit and changed the phone number to some NY McD's no. All with hotspot shield on. I'm thinking maybe next time I gotta choose to download the ebooks to my PC then sync with USB...maybe it's got something to do with downloading directly through wifi? I dunno...just guessing. And now I won't know if I'll get any warning anymore until I buy another ebook. Thanks mr. anutta and havocx. I almost freaked out for a moment. On a side note, this hotspot shield is a malware isn't it? It won't allow me to go to Google properly and almost couldn't come into lowyat forum just now. Kept redirecting me to some qbyrd search engine...
mr.anutta
Jan 14 2011, 01:21 AM
hi estara, it's more easier to download and then transfer into Kindle with USB  p.s : alternative to amazon's ebooks catalog This post has been edited by mr.anutta: Jan 14 2011, 01:23 AM
rmage
Jan 14 2011, 07:26 AM
kengsim
Jan 14 2011, 07:56 AM
I got that message before. Nothing to worry about. Just use a proxy server based in the US and that message won't pop-up. Just do a Google for "free proxy server" and you'll get tons. Or you can use apps like http://hidemyass.com/ which routes your internet traffic through a VPN. Hidemyass also has a free proxy service. The list of servers can be found at http://www.hidemyass.com/proxy-list/. Once you use a proxy that's located in the US, Amazon won't know your geographical location. If you don't know how to set your browser's proxy settings, let us know. I only turn the proxy on when I get that message. Otherwise, proxy server is always off. It's quite simple actually. Hope this helps. QUOTE(estara @ Jan 14 2011, 12:01 AM) Hey guys, I'm facing possible problem here. This is scaring me a bit so I hope someone can help me out. I bought an ebook at the Kindle Store under a US address which is valid and a friend's. I did it through the gift card method, using my sister's Amazon acc to buy the card and gift it to my acc. Then I got the book and thought it's all fine but nope. A short while ago, I received this email from Amazon and it's this:- Dear (my name),
I see that you attempted to purchase "The Pursuit of Happyness [Kindle Edition]" while in a different country than the United States listed on your Amazon account. Certain Kindle titles are not available everywhere. We are reaching out to you to ensure the best possible service for your account.
If you have moved to a different country, you can easily update your country for your Amazon account at www.Amazon.com/manageyourkindle
If this is not the case, and you would like to share information that you live in the United States, we can be reached by fax at 001-206-266-1838 from outside the US, or 206-266-1838 from within the US. Helpful information includes: – Passport – Military ID – Permanent Resident Card – Driver’s License – Other state photo identity card
We want to assure you that we handle this information in a secure manner: these are dedicated fax lines, staffed in an area with limited employee access. The fax is never printed, just converted to an electronic image that is used to check the country, then the image is deleted.
Best regards,
Account Specialist Amazon.com Your feedback is helping us build Earth's Most Customer-Centric Company. http://www.amazon.com/your-accountSo what am I supposed to do? I don't wanna give any difficulty to my friend who had so graciously allowed me to use her address and I don't wanna face any legal trouble here for merely buying a book. If none of you have this problem buying Kindle books then where did I go wrong?
TShavocx
Jan 14 2011, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(rmage @ Jan 14 2011, 07:26 AM) Quote's in your inbox buddy 
QUOTE(kengsim @ Jan 14 2011, 07:56 AM) I got that message before. Nothing to worry about. Just use a proxy server based in the US and that message won't pop-up. Just do a Google for "free proxy server" and you'll get tons. Or you can use apps like http://hidemyass.com/ which routes your internet traffic through a VPN. Hidemyass also has a free proxy service. The list of servers can be found at http://www.hidemyass.com/proxy-list/. Once you use a proxy that's located in the US, Amazon won't know your geographical location. If you don't know how to set your browser's proxy settings, let us know. I only turn the proxy on when I get that message. Otherwise, proxy server is always off. It's quite simple actually. Hope this helps. Me too, i personally I like Hidemyass.com
unpronounciable
Jan 14 2011, 06:38 PM
i suddenly wondered can kindle have gps? can kindle 3g have gps? or kindle wifi can oso? or both kenot?
and 2nd question does kindle have like apps? where we can install softwares and stuff?
jittyz
Jan 14 2011, 06:44 PM
All item received from Havocx in previous bulk. He is a really nice guy. eventho all my item are really heavy, he let me join his bulk and make it happen to me. He is your guy if you ever need anything in the US, big or small! Of course don't go overboard like buying a 50" TV lol. All the items were packed properly and all item received in its original condition. He provides the most speedy service ever and he checks with postage company to make sure where your item is! A very responsible person! The only concern that I have is that he is too awesome and too god damn easy to deal with. Other than that, there is nothing to complain about.
estara
Jan 14 2011, 08:06 PM
QUOTE(mr.anutta @ Jan 14 2011, 01:21 AM) hi estara, it's more easier to download and then transfer into Kindle with USB  p.s : alternative to amazon's ebooks catalog Yes I think it's less risky too. Don't wanna get tracked again. Thanks for the link. QUOTE(kengsim @ Jan 14 2011, 07:56 AM) I got that message before. Nothing to worry about. Just use a proxy server based in the US and that message won't pop-up. Just do a Google for "free proxy server" and you'll get tons. Or you can use apps like http://hidemyass.com/ which routes your internet traffic through a VPN. Hidemyass also has a free proxy service. The list of servers can be found at http://www.hidemyass.com/proxy-list/. Once you use a proxy that's located in the US, Amazon won't know your geographical location. If you don't know how to set your browser's proxy settings, let us know. I only turn the proxy on when I get that message. Otherwise, proxy server is always off. It's quite simple actually. Hope this helps. Thanks! But I really don't know how to set my browser's proxy setting. Do you mind giving me a step by step instruction or provide me a link to one? It sounds good so I'd like to do that whenever I login to Amazon.
TShavocx
Jan 15 2011, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(jittyz @ Jan 14 2011, 06:44 PM) All item received from Havocx in previous bulk. He is a really nice guy. eventho all my item are really heavy, he let me join his bulk and make it happen to me. He is your guy if you ever need anything in the US, big or small! Of course don't go overboard like buying a 50" TV lol. All the items were packed properly and all item received in its original condition. He provides the most speedy service ever and he checks with postage company to make sure where your item is! A very responsible person! The only concern that I have is that he is too awesome and too god damn easy to deal with. Other than that, there is nothing to complain about.  Salute buddy, thanks for the compliments ! Really appreciated 
QUOTE(estara @ Jan 14 2011, 08:06 PM) Yes I think it's less risky too. Don't wanna get tracked again. Thanks for the link. Thanks! But I really don't know how to set my browser's proxy setting. Do you mind giving me a step by step instruction or provide me a link to one? It sounds good so I'd like to do that whenever I login to Amazon. Here's how if youre using Internet Explorer Link Here Here's how if youre using Firefox Link Here Here's how if youre using Chrome Link Here
On a side note brrr...its 2 degrees in Osaka right now. Im travelling to Japan till 24th. Just so you folks know my replies might be slightly delayed because of that. Folks in current Bulk 6 and Bulk 7, you can always contact me via my number which Ive sent to you guys earlier
unpronounciable
Jan 16 2011, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(unpronounciable @ Jan 14 2011, 06:38 PM) i suddenly wondered can kindle have gps? can kindle 3g have gps? or kindle wifi can oso? or both kenot? and 2nd question does kindle have like apps? where we can install softwares and stuff? uhh bump hehe
TShavocx
Jan 16 2011, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(unpronounciable @ Jan 14 2011, 06:38 PM) i suddenly wondered can kindle have gps? can kindle 3g have gps? or kindle wifi can oso? or both kenot? and 2nd question does kindle have like apps? where we can install softwares and stuff? Sorry bout missing your query buddy, dont know why i missed it. So here's the answers to your query.
The short simple answer to all is unfortunately no.
Firstly you must know that as an Ebook Reader only a Kindle cannot be compared to an Ipad. Kindle's does it main function as an eBook reader very very and folks buying a Kindle would buy it simply because of its awesome ability to be able to access your reading material whenever they need to take up on their reading hobby easily. Kindle's are really light, both on the software and the hardware. Tou understand this difference an easy way to compare is to actually compare a normal Notepad to an Ipad app, Notes. The iPad is app is really cool, you can have multiple formats, multiple backgrounds and even multiple fonts when youre writing notes. Notepad is pretty boring, the writing depends on your own, you cant change the background unless you change papers and yes you have to use your fingers and a pen to actually take down notes, pretty boring stuff.
Lets say though you receive a phone call while using your Ipad and there's a notepad too nearby and you need to take down a message. Even though its pretty snazzy, very cool, the first thing you'll actually reach for would still be the Notepad simply because its so much easier andq quicker and it was the reason it was created for. Kindle excels in what it does really really, really well for the same reasons, such as it is you cant compare it Apple to well Apple Ipad It doesnt even come from the same family.
On Apps its pretty much limited to the use of the Apps on the e-ink screen which different from an LCD screen on its ability and its disadvantages. Its also limited to the hardware and firmware the Kindle uses vs other electronic devices. For instance, a Kindle on a single charge can have power up to 30 days, no eReader or tablet in the market can claim that. That said though the Kindle does not have apps for it simply because that no software has been written for it yet by Amazon, and even if there is, it would be limited to the hardware limitations of the Kindle. Remember the old Nokia's ? One without Apps ? Even with the Apps nowadays for Nokia, you cant simply be installing it in the old phones because of both Hardware and Software limitations right ? 
When you choose a Kindle, its like choosing a dedicated GPS unit. You dont purchase a GPS unit for its ability to play MP3, to show pictures and to play videos. Its a plus but that's not the reason youre getting it. Youd be more concerned with the maps and the chipsets within because you want it to be a dedicated unit in your car for your use, its the same for the Kindle too 
Hope that helps!
fluene
Jan 16 2011, 07:31 PM
Is there any way I can see only free ebooks for kindle by Amazon? When I go to the kindle's store, the free and non free books are listed together.
Share meaningful passages with friends and family with built-in Twitter and Facebook integration. What does this means actually? How do we do using the kindle?
Havocx, I am back from Tokyo. It was 1 deg C there. Sooo cold.
This post has been edited by fluene: Jan 16 2011, 08:18 PM
TShavocx
Jan 16 2011, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(fluene @ Jan 16 2011, 07:31 PM) Is there any way I can see only free ebooks for kindle by Amazon? When I go to the kindle's store, the free and non free books are listed together. Share meaningful passages with friends and family with built-in Twitter and Facebook integration. What does this means actually? How do we do using the kindle? Havocx, I am back from Tokyo. It was 1 deg C there. Sooo cold. Yep when you get to the Kindle ebooks, sort by prices, lowest to highest, youll see the cheapest ie free ebooks there  I actually havent tested the Kindle Twitter and Facebook intergration myself but the intergration does not mean you can check your tweets actually, its only for you to share your tweets. Kinda like when you dont have data plans but when say like me in Tokyo, instead of using Wifi, i send an sms to a Malaysian number, i cant check my replies from there.
For an example here's a little demo at the very last part of the site.
Tokyo is cold, doesnt beat Osaka yet though, Osaka is 0 celcius today, that and the fact that its a port city with superbly windy chills blowing in from the sea, that wind chill factor probably brought the temp down another 3 degrees making the wind here lower than freezing. No snow yet though.
estara
Jan 17 2011, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(havocx @ Jan 15 2011, 10:48 PM)
Salute buddy, thanks for the compliments ! Really appreciated  Here's how if youre using Internet Explorer Link Here Here's how if youre using Firefox Link Here Here's how if youre using Chrome Link Here On a side note brrr...its 2 degrees in Osaka right now. Im travelling to Japan till 24th. Just so you folks know my replies might be slightly delayed because of that. Folks in current Bulk 6 and Bulk 7, you can always contact me via my number which Ive sent to you guys earlier Here's sending a shout out to the awesomest guy in Japan! So helpful even when you're traveling. Really, if you're in sales, I've no doubt you'll always be the Top Salesperson of the Year.
TShavocx
Jan 17 2011, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(estara @ Jan 17 2011, 05:41 PM) Here's sending a shout out to the awesomest guy in Japan! So helpful even when you're traveling. Really, if you're in sales, I've no doubt you'll always be the Top Salesperson of the Year. Haha no worries, like i mentioned, im earnest about helping, its not about the money, far from it, this bulk makes almost no profit at all. If there is, those would be a paltry RM5-RM10 difference to which most of the time is spent ensuring your items reach you if say Bulk gets stuck in Customs and all that. If the savings significant, like im sure most of you experienced, those difference would be returned to you. That depends on the grace and efficiency of Customs though, the more relaxed they are in their work, the more our savings would be haha 
If im in sales huh ? Thats what everyone in the Office tells me too. Ah well, guess im stuck with this job. Heading out to Tokyo tomorow. Enjoyed my stay in Osaka. Still too cold though haha