5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

HTC Desire Official Thread V6, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)

draco82
post Nov 3 2010, 09:56 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Nov 2 2010, 10:20 PM)
i managed to complete 1 to 7. can you please detail guide me from 8 thru 10. i tried but fail to flash from recovery mode.

does anyone here have the latest MIUI rom link with english version where i can download from

thanks a lot in advance
I flash China version MIUI using rom manager recovery, it should be okay for you to flash it too but remember to wipe~~
State why you fail to flash? normally it will state reason whether is signature verification or what?
I'm not sure about mod english version from xda, but be mind that China MIUI doesn't support rom manager......
I have difficulty flashing certain zip file using rom manager or his clockworkmod recovery....
about english version MIUI just search in xda developer htc desire forum, there are two version
eevek and j-style..something like that~~

This post has been edited by draco82: Nov 3 2010, 10:00 AM
draco82
post Nov 3 2010, 11:00 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Nov 3 2010, 10:48 AM)
i did the hard reboot to access recovery screen and re partition and re wipe again. after reboot to system it successfully go in to MIUI screen, now it running and screen off and on. will wait for a while see if it can go in to the main screen or not

Added on November 3, 2010, 10:55 amthis is my first time flashing a rom. want to ask normally how long does it need to complete the flashing after system reboot? it's more than 10 minutes now and screen still showing android MIUI flashing screen. is this normal?
If your screen is on and off then you might stuck in a boot loop already~~
you can try to reboot into recovery and reflash the rom again~~
draco82
post Nov 3 2010, 04:07 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(motopolah @ Nov 3 2010, 02:20 PM)
hello.

i bought 32gb micro sd.. got problem..
i did transfer all data from old card to new card..
but when loading,it stuck at htc logo..

how to overcome? is there any proper way..??
You are on custom rom with a2sd?
some custom rom will face problem when you switch sdcard unless you copy data of your ext3 to new card~~
draco82
post Nov 3 2010, 05:26 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(motopolah @ Nov 3 2010, 04:26 PM)
im on neo 7.8.1..
i copied all my data in old card into new 32gb card (assuming this will transfer my ext3 also, rite? )
but still, cant boot up.. still stuck at htc logo..

any other ideas?

thx

Added on November 3, 2010, 4:27 pm

i did reinstall rom..neophyte 7.8.1.. but still stuck at htc logo..
donno y?
No, this will not transfer you ext3 data as windows don't read and recognize ext3~~
find a linux based computer to transfer or you have to reflash your rom~~
draco82
post Nov 3 2010, 05:49 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Nov 3 2010, 05:32 PM)
Think you need to repartition your new card..and restore apps through the phone..not just copy paste from your com..
Yes, forget about this....most custom rom with a2sd+ will trap in bootloop if your sdcard got no ext3
draco82
post Nov 4 2010, 10:34 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 4 2010, 10:20 AM)
Hi bryan_823,
I just switch ti MIUI, low space now  rclxub.gif
can you share with me the instructions to use A2SD+ ?
did you try and good to have it insteads of A2SD only ?
a2sd+ is ready, but not dalvik cache to sd...
most space filled up in your phone memory is dalvik cache....
go into emulator type:
su
a2sd check (*optional, only if you want to make sure your a2sd work)
a2sd zipalign (*optional, just to perform zip align)
a2sd cachesd (*must do, to move all dalvik-cache to ext2)

your phone will reboot after cachesd, after reboot you should have most of your phone memory back~~

This post has been edited by draco82: Nov 4 2010, 10:35 AM
draco82
post Nov 4 2010, 11:44 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Nov 4 2010, 11:06 AM)
this apply to any rom right bro?
only need for rom with old school a2sd.....
for custom rom stated a2sd+ (which means include moving dalvik-cache) they will run the script for you when you flash the rom...
so don't neeed to run again...
If not sure about your dalvik-cache location, you can always check with
su
a2sd check
draco82
post Nov 8 2010, 07:11 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Nov 8 2010, 06:53 PM)
yeah something like dat . i also kena tipu with dis .  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

would be awsome if the htc widget can be use on vannila ui .

the sense apps is like smart dialler , clock , alam etc .
Actually if you use launcher pro plus with beautiful widgets on sense base rom like supervillain then you can have most of the widgets replace~~
launcher pro plus have people widget, beautiful widget provide clock with weather (the weather is updated better with accu weather),
there are tons of music widget out there which is better....
so you can actually create a htc like home screen with same widget functions, but faster and more customization...

This post has been edited by draco82: Nov 8 2010, 07:12 PM
draco82
post Nov 9 2010, 12:41 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Nov 9 2010, 11:52 AM)
like this bro..you can check using quick info pro, there you can see under system. by default everybody will have 250mb partition. rom will be install under this section. like you install software inside your hdd but the diff is, we can install anything inside hdd. but under system partition we only can install rom. and Lee droid required 225mb. i cant remember how many mb miui need...maybe 175mb..so the balance 75mb is waste like that..
but apply patching the img from alpharev (this method required to S-OFF first), you can assign partition for system become 180mb..enough for miui (let say i'm correct with the rom size). and the balance 75mb will be add to data partition which is by default only have 150mb. and now become 225mb.

system 250mb -->this section for rom installation
cache 40mb
data 150mb -->this section that for application

after patch (diff patch diff size base on alpharev. in this case i take example data++)
system 180mb
cache 10mb
data  261mb

now you can see data partition already increase..

for some of us, we already using adsd+ which is much larger than modified data partition base on our ex2/3/4 configuration. but there are some people do not like on asds+ and still stick with the original one..so they might need larger data partition.

if other sifu see on this..correct me if i'm wrong..
Yes, you are right....
using roms like MIUI, OD, CM, you can have more than 300mb of data storage (*if you dont push GApps in system)....

draco82
post Nov 9 2010, 07:14 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Nov 9 2010, 07:03 PM)
hazril,

i tried rom manager - Partition SD Card ...

it then prompted Ext Size .. select 512MB

Swap Size 256MB ... then say wanna reboot ...

then always restart in rom manager ... then reboot nothing happens?
download quick system info and check whether your a2sd works or not~~ smile.gif smile.gif
haven ask, satisfied with the battery?
draco82
post Nov 10 2010, 11:24 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 10 2010, 10:28 PM)
Hi guys,

Anyone using J-Style MIUI 11.05 can tell me if the contacts saved in the phone is a Phone contact / FB contact / Mail contact? I noticed it does not allow us to save first name or last name. Just one field for the name category.

I also noticed this does not work with HTC Sync. If anyone got it to work, please share your experience.

Thank you.
Yes, MIUI doesnt work with HTC Sync because it is an AOSP rom~~ More modification than others AOSP rom...
not related to htc or any other rom...thats why htc sync doesnt support...
it is not possible to get it work...
draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 07:18 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 10 2010, 11:38 PM)
I see. Thanks for the explanation. I am managing my contacts with Gmail Contacts now.
Thank you.
Also notice the SMS interface looks good, I can finally discard Handcent SMS.
But when I received a sms from a number which I have not saved. Later, I saved it as name "XYZ" but it is not smart enough to appear in the SMS. Still appearing as numbers..
Yes, that is 1 of the few little bugs that need to solve by MIUI.....
actually MIUI is a new and under develop rom (testing rom)....
so do espect some little bugs....
even sms i found that sometimes the sms will shows the balloon only without the text in sms....
waiting the developer to solved all these problem....
besides draining battery abit compare to cyanogen mod, it is a good rom ....

Added on November 11, 2010, 7:22 am
QUOTE(ayin79 @ Nov 11 2010, 02:56 AM)
is cyanogenmod a good custom rom? seems like many people using aurax.. mivi... supervillain.. lee droid.. confused...
Yes, cyanogen mod is one of the best and stablest AOSP rom out there.....of course senseless....
all rom you state above is sense based, still majority of HTC user perfer sense based rom, that is y many people using rom above.....
but compare to sense rom, AOSP provide lighter rom, more customization, and more function.....
faster and no laggy~~
there are pros and cons.....
i personal tried cyanogen mod before......a great rom......
another AOSP i will try later is from AdamG which is oxygen......
seems attractive~~ smile.gif

This post has been edited by draco82: Nov 11 2010, 07:22 AM
draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 07:54 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(hakeemy_007 @ Nov 11 2010, 05:28 AM)
hi guys..if using unrevoked3.2 to root my desire do i still need to install "Windows HBOOT driver" first b4 rooting? or just open - load slcd image (mine is slcd screen) - start unrevoked and connect my desire?

Also..my radio is currently 32.41.00.32u_4.08.00.09.
if i want to use latest leedroid's rom..is my radio base qualified onot? oso do i flash custom rom then update radio..hehe..(newbie here) or d other way round...

appreciate any guidance n help..
You can flash custom rom then only update radio.....
old radio got no harm to froyo os, just you will lost some functionality like camera, camcoder......

Added on November 11, 2010, 7:59 am
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 11 2010, 07:46 AM)
Well thanks for your input.

One other big problem is that when we removed an app, the space on home screen becomes blank. Any other app we install will not take up the space making lots of gap in between.

Any auto sort?
I'm afraid no.....they will always fill up from the last icon or widget you have at your last pages...
because when you customize your home screen and leave out some space in between, it will be difficult to find the apps if they just fill up any empty space you have in your home screen......that is what i tot....
you can always rearrange by dragging the last apps to fill up the space in between.....

This post has been edited by draco82: Nov 11 2010, 07:59 AM
draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 09:34 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Nov 11 2010, 09:00 AM)
it's not a big problem and even not a problem, you have manually add the new app to cover the blank space. just click and hold (with ur fincger of course) the screen where the blank space is, then a menu will popup, choose application, and then select which application you want to put it on the homescreen.
haha...he is using MIUI, different story with sense or AOSP....
MIUI dont have shortcut or apps drawer, once you install apps, the apps will shows on the home screen.....
so when you remove any apps, an empty space will be left, new apps install will be added behind the last icon or widget on the homepage...
of course we can always fill the empty space up by moving apps behind to fill it up...
draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 09:57 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(CONANDOR @ Nov 11 2010, 09:48 AM)
I partitioned my card to have ext3. however how can i see if the app is installed to ext3? i still found some app folder at fat32 side
For sure you will have apps folder in FAT32....
those are data folder, they will always in FAT32...
a2sd is for the system or installation apps files and folders only...
to check whether your a2sd works, use quick system info...

This post has been edited by draco82: Nov 11 2010, 09:58 AM
draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 02:07 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(CONANDOR @ Nov 11 2010, 01:09 PM)
I installed Quick System Info, seem A2SD work fine.
[attachmentid=1879288]

I also have DiskUsage to have better picture.
It seem all the apps' apk are installed under Apps2SD folder at FAT32 partition (and have little davikCache on internal storage).
I don't see the ext4 partition.

However till this point I still don't understand what's the partition ext use for, as everything is stored at FAT partition.
No, the a2sd here is your ext3/4...
yes, whenever you install an app, more or less it will take out some space of your internal memory....

draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 02:49 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(CONANDOR @ Nov 11 2010, 02:32 PM)
i see
is there anyway to see whats inside the ext3/4 partition? mount the card on a linux system?
yes, linux, ubuntu, fedora, ubuntu live cd...

Added on November 11, 2010, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Nov 11 2010, 02:32 PM)
How come your A2SD only 50MB?
hmm.gif hmm.gif weird ...
how do you partition your sdcard?

This post has been edited by draco82: Nov 11 2010, 02:51 PM
draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 03:10 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Nov 11 2010, 02:55 PM)
i plan to swap to miui as well  smile.gif
so i just cleanup everything.. then flash part 1 + part 2(english) rite??

previously i saw someone stated that.. after done flashing.. A2SD+ is not enabled.. i need to install something from the market.. then type in some command..
what is it again?  smile.gif
will probably flash it tonite  smile.gif
a2sd+ is work, but dalvik-cache is left in phone memory....
download terminal emulator
type:
su
a2sd check (to check whether your a2sd is mounted properly)
a2sd zipalign (to perform zipalign)
a2sd cachesd (move dalvik-cache to sd)

your phone will reboot and take sometimes.....
after that you will find your internal memory increase~~
draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 03:52 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(CONANDOR @ Nov 11 2010, 03:42 PM)
using ubuntu's gparted XD
Then shouldnt be problem....
i'm did my partition same way~~
draco82
post Nov 11 2010, 04:44 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Nov 11 2010, 04:29 PM)
It's so nice that I don't miss sense at all  whistling.gif
but somehow i feel that MIUI drain more battery~~ sad.gif sad.gif
not sure because of the lighter background....
my display usage in MIUI seems to be using more battery...
previous rom i used if i make the screen brightness to lowest, they don't use up the battery percentage so much...

Added on November 11, 2010, 4:49 pm
QUOTE(CONANDOR @ Nov 11 2010, 04:35 PM)
perhaps i din mount it properly on android?
maybe but i'm not sure about it....
but i think the possibility is low as your phone can detect the a2sd.....
maybe you need to recheck using ubuntu see anything wrong with the partition or not~~
how much you partition your ext3?

This post has been edited by draco82: Nov 11 2010, 04:49 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0347sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:04 AM