Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums
Yeobster
Feb 4 2012, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(Einjahr @ Feb 4 2012, 02:08 PM) Temensis sighted ! where are you located btws ? can you share a bit about keeping Temensis and Peacock bass happy and healthy ? the last i tried, they died... sadly  Died?how come?the fish that you put in the steel tank?
Yeobster
Feb 5 2012, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(Einjahr @ Feb 5 2012, 02:01 AM) hmm ok no probs cheers but would you know what type of filter he uses in the pic above ? tq its the submersible pump that pump the wter into sump tank maybe..thats why the water is so clear. basic for filteration is to have the pump capacity double or triple the amount of the water in the tank at least. check at ur pump..how many liter/hour it will pump the water. then only go to your filter mechanism. u might need mechanical filter(foam) and bio-filter (bio ring etc) and carbon if needed for chemical filteration. DIY your top filter to hv 3 slot to put all those thing or get ready stock plastic top filter(that have 3 or 4 slots and works like sump tank) at ur nearest LFS. it shud work. btw the tank that u used is it brand new or used one? if its a brand new, ur fish died maybe because of 'new tank syndrom'. there are a lot of bad bacteria in glass silicon.to avoid them..just rinse with clorox n clean water. leave it dry under the sun for few days n can start to cycle the water..test with feeder fish..if they survive then ur tank is now ready for ur monster.
Yeobster
Feb 5 2012, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(Einjahr @ Feb 5 2012, 07:37 PM) thanks ! really appreciate it! all-i-have-to-do-now is just to convert that for a 300 - 400 gallon steel tank setup, i prefer to see them swim freely with loads of space to move around. cheers cool! your steel tank is it meant for fish keeping or what? i wonder how it looks...sounds quite big with 300-400g..haha can you post the picture if u dont mind? thanx..  nway wil pm u adress to bro khairulanuar's place..will visit him maybe on tuesday..feel free to come...
Yeobster
Feb 6 2012, 03:01 AM
Sharing some of my little monsters. Enjoy! Red Tail sleepyhead  Polypterus endlicheri  Albino polypterus senegalus  Lil' Alligator Gar  Spotted Gar  datnioides  Peacock Bass  Scleropages jardini (pearl aro)  Lil' Sturgeon   will upload more later.
Yeobster
Feb 6 2012, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Feb 6 2012, 07:29 AM) wow~ cool!! my LFs is selling" Albino polypterus senegalus" really cheap. Is it that cheap for a small specimen? Anyone tried pacu? Upclosed i find them adorable. A close replica of a pirahna. yup..they are very common polyp but still nice..hehehe never tried pacu but got a friend rear them..they feed on vegetables(kubis bunga or broccoli)..hahaha btw this guys can be huge..
Yeobster
Feb 9 2012, 03:35 AM
QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Feb 8 2012, 03:12 AM) Nice sturgeon! Where can I get one?  get it from my fren...but earlier today sighted sturgeon at Alive Aquarium jln pasar...they got 2 sturgeon selling at rm45/pc. but 1 of it looks like dying...so hurry up buddy..get yours today...hahahaha they also got 2pc lemon grass pleco L200 selling at rm150/pc.size range 2"-3" and few other small pleco(looks like the Gold Royal pleco L-027) but not very sure. go check it out!
Yeobster
Feb 9 2012, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Feb 9 2012, 08:44 AM) Thx for the tip! But cannot go today lor.  How big was the sturgeons btw? its juvenile sturgeon...bout 3-4".
Yeobster
Feb 9 2012, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(-DaRReN-C- @ Feb 9 2012, 06:37 PM) actually both of them are cheap in thailand, the price for piranha also same like price of pacu here just the 'smuggling' fees make it expensive =p please have a look at the below photo for identifying pacu and piranha the piranha have a thicker and slightly longer jaw (lips) [attachmentid=2676219] GOOD INFO!  Added on February 9, 2012, 10:09 pmQUOTE(L3()nZ @ Feb 9 2012, 07:52 PM) hi, anyone has any 2.5feet tank to let go? i would like to adopt one at my hostel:) i got 1 2.5ft but hv to do some cleaning job. wud b better if can exchange with bigger tank..4ft or 5ft..hahahaha This post has been edited by Yeobster: Feb 9 2012, 10:09 PM
Yeobster
Feb 10 2012, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Feb 9 2012, 10:36 PM) At INDO, piranha price just USD0.60  bring them in bro....hahaha
Yeobster
Feb 10 2012, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(beawolf64 @ Feb 10 2012, 11:02 AM) so got ppl selling those piranhas in malaysia too?  smuggled piranhas...hahaha
Yeobster
Feb 14 2012, 03:24 AM
what a sad episode...yesterday my mala wolf ate african aro for lunch and today he jumped out of the tank hit the floor...found dead almost dried..CSI team says he commit suicide coz feel guilty after had a good lunch yesterday...  what a loss.
Yeobster
Feb 17 2012, 03:22 AM
QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Feb 15 2012, 11:53 AM) Tragic story bro  ..... bro did u put cover for ur tank? Wolf fish n poly are good jumpers! its a custom made tank cover and got small holes(3 holes sized 50cent coin in the middle for feeding n ventilation). maybe he jump out thru it. what a good jumper!!..huhu  Added on February 21, 2012, 8:47 pmanyone got any info in keeping freshwater dolphin? saw them at xialeng batu pahat. This post has been edited by Yeobster: Feb 21 2012, 08:47 PM
Yeobster
Feb 22 2012, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Feb 22 2012, 02:53 AM) anyone knw whr i can customize 2x2x2 tank in KL? cheap ones...need a one for my fish urgently. Try Top Master Aquarium Jalan Gombak..they are aqua manufCturer...or maybe u can go to any glass shop and ask them to build 1 for u...
Yeobster
Feb 29 2012, 03:53 AM
nice tank L3()nz....i want it too..  .hahaha..
Yeobster
Mar 1 2012, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(broken_string @ Feb 29 2012, 09:05 AM) my neighbour wana renovate his house soon. anyone would like to adopt a 10 years plus kaloi ? its longer than 1ft if no takers he will release it in the river. the fish is in kampar, if interested pm me. thx got picture? Added on March 1, 2012, 12:51 amQUOTE(L3()nZ @ Feb 29 2012, 09:26 AM) hehe Thanks guys  my 6footer halfway done..hehe will post the pix later... This post has been edited by Yeobster: Mar 1 2012, 12:51 AM
Yeobster
Mar 3 2012, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(broken_string @ Mar 2 2012, 08:27 PM) sorry dun have. its house in a concrete tank with a glass panel but its too dark to take a clear pic. i will lepas it in the lake tis weekend.. well good luck to the fish...may she brings good population for our future generation.  Added on March 3, 2012, 4:30 pmQUOTE(Devillsin @ Mar 2 2012, 06:49 PM) guys how much do datnoids cost roughly ? lastime got this 3bar IT for rm45/pc  Added on March 3, 2012, 4:34 pmQUOTE(PIMPIN @ Mar 2 2012, 05:06 AM) Any Arapaima around? Or to 'lari topic' any tiger fishes? saw 1 juvenile arapaima at fins n green... This post has been edited by Yeobster: Mar 3 2012, 04:34 PM
Yeobster
Mar 5 2012, 01:30 AM
QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Mar 4 2012, 07:00 PM) Bro that northen thai tiger..not IT...now I'm clear about it  is that your definite answer?hahaha...
Yeobster
Mar 5 2012, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Mar 5 2012, 09:26 AM) already see the picture. Yup..def. NTT... last time u only inform me via SMS..  hahaha...good to know that..now its clear. thanx also to L3()nZ for ID.
Yeobster
Mar 6 2012, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Mar 6 2012, 04:39 PM) Yea the female ray is very skinny when I got her. She just arrived my place for one week. But the male one looks better. So far her diet is alright. I feeding her with live shrimps. Hope she will slowly get b her shape....will move them to a new tank and by then will start to pump them with sotong haha cool..pump her with sotong!!!sliced or 1piece?
Yeobster
Mar 7 2012, 02:02 AM
QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Mar 7 2012, 12:41 AM) sliced into pieces. As they are still small. well cool...nway how do u feed your bichir?im having problem to feed them after putting sand bed into the tank. previously they feed on small feeder n sinking pellet..now having problem to catch small feeder as the feeder so much faster than they are..and having dificulty to find pellet in the sand.