79 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Z is launched!, Finally out at Maxis!

deslim
post Jan 28 2011, 12:40 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 28 2011, 12:28 AM)
im using miui now.. smile.gif
MIUI; smooth in terms of what? responsive like iPhone?
Dixon93
post Jan 28 2011, 01:30 AM

huh what?
921 posts

so how was MIUI? mind to give some short review?
Savor_Savvy
post Jan 28 2011, 09:31 AM

2,776 posts

looking for good quality screen protector and casing...any recommendation?

btw, for ap set, can we register ourselves at the htc e-club? although my set is ap, but my imei is the same with the imei on the box. i thought ap set, the imei won't be the same?
Calex
post Jan 28 2011, 10:04 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

I'm using MIUI on the Nexus One, and its really slick.

Basically what MIUI does is that it makes it look as close to the iOS as possible. The menu structure, the settings, the overall UI is made and changed completely to resemble the iOS. Even the menus are changed to white and the on/off toggles of the iOS are used.

The main reason why I use it though is that it also changes the stock apps. Again, making them resemble the iOS. But some of them is really good, for example, the dialer looks exactly like the one in iOS and includes smart dial and the likes. As well as the SMS app.

Some things are modded to give it a unique feel too. Like for example the stock music app is changed to MIUI's own one. It automatically searches for lyrics, has folder play, and even has a visual EQ. That EQ even displays on the lockscreen in real time, and is smooth, not laggy.

Of course, it might not be everyone's taste, since it basically resembles the iOS so much. sweat.gif

Added on January 28, 2011, 10:07 am
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 28 2011, 09:31 AM)

btw, for ap set, can we register ourselves at the htc e-club? although my set is ap, but my imei is the same with the imei on the box. i thought ap set, the imei won't be the same?
Then you're lucky. They used the box that came with your phone. The reason why most ap sets' is different is because they usually take a random box with a random phone. Like sometimes you bought a white phone but the box they gave you states its black.

Casings? Otterbox is always my answer tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Calex: Jan 28 2011, 10:07 AM
un_id
post Jan 28 2011, 10:20 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

MIUI..hmm..i may not compare the smoothnest in term of performance.. but ya, the UI is smooth.. biggrin.gif if u like clean, slick, smooth and a bit fancy design, so go for MIUI..

but every other rom got their own pros and cons..current MIUI ported for DZ still hv some glitches, for instance, when i slide open my physical keyboard, the screen will not turn into landscape, so u cant browse the menu pages in landscape mode. this make sense becoz it was build based on the iOS UI. my ipod also will not turn into landscape when i tilt it to the side (landscape) while in the main menu mode (@ home). but when in application, it will turn into landscape view.

Calex
post Jan 28 2011, 10:38 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 28 2011, 10:20 AM)
MIUI..hmm..i may not compare the smoothnest in term of performance.. but ya, the UI is smooth.. biggrin.gif if u like clean, slick, smooth and a bit fancy design, so go for MIUI..

but every other rom got their own pros and cons..current MIUI ported for DZ still hv some glitches, for instance, when i slide open my physical keyboard, the screen will not turn into landscape, so u cant browse the menu pages in landscape mode. this make sense becoz it was build based on the iOS UI. my ipod also will not turn into landscape when i tilt it to the side (landscape) while in the main menu mode (@ home). but when in application, it will turn into landscape view.
Hmm.. Its not really a glitch. It's because it was never meant for landscape in the first place, I guess you are referring to the stock MIUI launcher? hmm.gif Most likely would have to wait for someone to mod the launcher to support landscape, or get something that already does. Like LauncherPro.

The Desire Z's can turn to landscape when you slide out the keyboard simply because it was designed to, and only the Z's ROM can do that. A DHD ROM won't be able to go landscape even if you slide out the keyboard.
un_id
post Jan 28 2011, 10:48 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Calex @ Jan 28 2011, 10:38 AM)
Hmm.. Its not really a glitch. It's because it was never meant for landscape in the first place, I guess you are referring to the stock MIUI launcher?  hmm.gif Most likely would have to wait for someone to mod the launcher to support landscape, or get something that already does. Like LauncherPro.

The Desire Z's can turn to landscape when you slide out the keyboard simply because it was designed to, and only the Z's ROM can do that. A DHD ROM won't be able to go landscape even if you slide out the keyboard.
ya.. very true..hehe..so waiting for mod. rclxms.gif
Dixon93
post Jan 28 2011, 01:40 PM

huh what?
921 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 28 2011, 09:31 AM)

you wan a screen protector? i got few spare.. it's dcmugen anti glare.. tell me if you interested biggrin.gif
Savor_Savvy
post Jan 28 2011, 11:14 PM

2,776 posts

going for otterbox then...

btw, my previous ques, can someone answer me? happy.gif happy.gif
Dixon93
post Jan 28 2011, 11:23 PM

huh what?
921 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 28 2011, 11:14 PM)
going for otterbox then...

btw, my previous ques, can someone answer me?  happy.gif  happy.gif
yes, can register, it's still a valid imei and desire z what...
un_id
post Jan 29 2011, 07:47 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Hi all..currently im having both DZ and DHD. tongue.gif

Want me to compare? Hehe..

NO MUCH DIFFERENT.

Performance: i dun see any different tho dhd specs higher than dz
Display: exactly the same, just dhd bigger screen. But in web browsing experience, i think its a draw, coz eventho dhd got bigger screen, but keypad will take up half of the screen while typing, but with dz, can view fullscreen when typing with physical kepad.
Functions: i think its 99.9% same. Still yet to discover any additional function. Both using froyo 2.2 maa..
Camera: hmmm..maybe better in dhd..but dz camera is good enough
Sound: dhd having Dolby or SRS surround sound..but i dun hear the diff. Lol
Internet and wifi speed: same.
Graphic rendering performce: i cant sense any diff

So far, thats my comparison..anybody want to ask some more?

Conclusion: who like physical keyboard, buy a DZ..who dun mind about physical keyboard, buy DHD. Price also only 100 diff ( ori )
Savor_Savvy
post Jan 29 2011, 03:29 PM

2,776 posts

Playing fb games lag badly. How to solve this?

DJFoo000
post Jan 29 2011, 03:34 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

If it lags then don't play it. lol. The games are meant for desktops to begin with. You can try and see if the smoothness improves after overclocking.

Want play flash games that are optimised for mobile devices go to

kongregate.com
apika
post Jan 29 2011, 03:45 PM

203 posts

hey guys just wanna ask, if we buy this phone from maxis with the full price, do we still need to get the plan or we can just buy the phone? i'm not interested in getting any data plans nor do i want to buy an AP set.
his
post Jan 29 2011, 04:00 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(apika @ Jan 29 2011, 04:45 PM)
hey guys just wanna ask, if we buy this phone from maxis with the full price, do we still need to get the plan or we can just buy the phone? i'm not interested in getting any data plans nor do i want to buy an AP set.
If u buy the phone at RM 2299 as stated by maxis, you no longer need to go with plan at all. The plan is only when u are not able to pay it in full amount at one time go.

Added on January 29, 2011, 4:03 pm
QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 29 2011, 08:47 AM)
Hi all..currently im having both DZ and DHD.  tongue.gif

NO MUCH DIFFERENT.

Display: exactly the same, just dhd bigger screen. But in web browsing experience, i think its a draw, coz eventho dhd got bigger screen, but keypad will take up half of the screen while typing, but with dz, can view fullscreen when typing with physical kepad.
Functions: i think its 99.9% same. Still yet to discover any additional function. Both using froyo 2.2 maa..

Conclusion: who like physical keyboard, buy a DZ..who dun mind about physical keyboard, buy DHD. Price also only 100 diff ( ori )
bro, do u have a problem slotting the DHD as to compare to DZ into pants pocket ?

This post has been edited by his: Jan 29 2011, 04:04 PM
deslim
post Jan 29 2011, 04:17 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 29 2011, 07:47 AM)
Hi all..currently im having both DZ and DHD.  tongue.gif

NO MUCH DIFFERENT.

Hbout battery life? whistling.gif
un_id
post Jan 29 2011, 05:35 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

DHD is not too big la, can easily slot into pocket..

Battery life? Hvn't run a test to compare. But pretty looks similar, as i surf the net, next thing i knw a warning pop out ask me to connect charger. Lol
Savor_Savvy
post Jan 30 2011, 09:06 AM

2,776 posts

Haha,true. Battery cn last 2 days if w/o using internet. So far this phone is excellent,just a downside, it is heavy...

Added on January 30, 2011, 12:34 pmi got this message when i wanna transfer pic to my laptop

failure reason: this transfer is forbidden by the target device

how to fix this? sad.gif

This post has been edited by Savor_Savvy: Jan 30 2011, 12:34 PM
DJFoo000
post Jan 31 2011, 11:24 AM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

problem is at your laptop's side. Bluetooth?
Savor_Savvy
post Jan 31 2011, 12:00 PM

2,776 posts

ya, i think is my laptops' bluetooth...
nvm, i just use cable then.

79 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:37 AM