HTC Desire Z is launched!, Finally out at Maxis!

un_id
post Jan 9 2011, 02:05 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Hi all..im using dz now..i heard the loose hinge has been an issue. But i bet htc purposely create it that way. Actually for me its better than to hear snappy sound from the hinge of my late n97 & n900, scared they will snap and broke! Now with the dz, it smooth and no issue with it. Performance wise, its good and a bit improved from the late desire. and the display is more crisp and sharp. Using the qwerty keyboard is really convenience. And on screen keyboard is still convenience like the late desire. The design is so slim that ppl ussually did not notice that this phone got keypad underneath! But i nvr satisfied with smartphones battery. Sighh..
un_id
post Jan 9 2011, 02:31 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Jan 9 2011, 02:18 PM)
Have to get an extra high performance battery then.  whistling.gif
Yeah..when im ready to spend a few hundreds on a bat and desktop charger..lol..anyway who selling those item pls pm to offer me. Thanks in advance. smile.gif
un_id
post Jan 24 2011, 09:00 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

anybody rooted their desire z? mind to share? hehe.. i got problem to root mine.. i hv experienced rooted my last desire, but dunno why i just cant get this one done..sighh..
un_id
post Jan 24 2011, 04:04 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Dixon93 @ Jan 24 2011, 12:11 PM)
try to use gfree method, it's available on cyanogen wiki, i followed and it works.

alright..will try..TVM

Added on January 24, 2011, 6:21 pmrooted my DZ..wwhhoott! its time to play with it.. brows.gif

Added on January 24, 2011, 6:21 pmanyone want to suggest the best ROM to flash on?

This post has been edited by un_id: Jan 24 2011, 06:21 PM
un_id
post Jan 25 2011, 09:42 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(deslim @ Jan 25 2011, 09:18 AM)
Buy first la. haha
hehe..
deslim, got yours already? brows.gif
un_id
post Jan 25 2011, 12:59 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(deslim @ Jan 25 2011, 10:30 AM)
Sooooonn enuff.. soon...  rclxm9.gif
hehe..better be hurry..mine rooted dy, and its flashing time..finally can sneak out from schedule to play on my hobby. laugh.gif

thanks DjFoo0000 for advise. downloaded both CM6.1 and CM7, ready to flash.

btw, i need to ask, after install ADB in my laptop, now i can't read my sdcard directly by plug in the DZ to the laptop thru usb cable. it require to install driver. i know we can push the file into the card by using the adb commands. but i want to manage thing in the card. is my issue normal? and even HTC Sync program cant recognize my device ( after i plug in DZ to laptop, i launched HCT Sync, still "no devoce connected").. anyone pls advice.. anything to say DjFoo0000?
un_id
post Jan 25 2011, 11:22 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jan 25 2011, 01:24 PM)
^wtf?

@un_id

errr... how did you root your phone? If you're using adb +rage + gfree, adb should've been working already. Anyway, usually for simple file moving i connect the phone as disk drive and transfer files like I would to a thumbdrive.

Or you mean you connect to another computer now? If like that then of coz you need to install the drivers on that computer.
yes using the adb+rage+gfree.
adb is working fine.. the thing is, after my phone rooted, my laptop (same laptop as i done the adb and rooting things) seems cant recognize my phone anymore. everytime i plugin my phone to the laptop as disk drive, it will require me to install driver (in which i did installed HTC sync before i start the rooting process). so, i cant simply transfer files like a thumbdrive, coz the card did not appear in the My Computer..

in case i screwed the rooting process, can i re-root? do i need to un-root first, then re-root, or i can just repeat the rooting process once more??

Added on January 25, 2011, 11:23 pminstall juice defender will save battery.. smile.gif

Added on January 25, 2011, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 25 2011, 10:10 PM)
first week is also like this or worst? how to delete the htc sense if that apps caused the battery to drop faster?
This post has been edited by un_id: Jan 25 2011, 11:24 PM
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 01:48 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jan 26 2011, 11:37 AM)
Battery life improves (or rather stabilises) with usage.
That shouldn't be the case. Mine was smooth sailing. You got check settings? I know the settings shouldn't run after rooting but just in case.

Or just install the driver as requested? Does it happen everytime? Did you let HTC Sync recognise your phone before rooting? Try reinstalling HTC Sync?

@osho check Garage sales. They are all the same thing so nothing to compare. Unless you want bulk specialty cases from Otterbox or some other brand, then look for bulk sellers in Garage Sales as well.
what setting to check? hmm.gif

i installed HTC sync before, and i used it to transfer files between my ipod and my PC. working fine before, but after i root, the HTC sync don't recognize my device anymore. when i connect the phone to PC, then i open HTC sync, it stated "no device connected".. ok i'll try to re-install HTC sync.

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 26 2011, 12:29 PM)
hey.. any of u guys having problem wt the hinge? flip up down no loose? 

what about the paint job?

I see the dummy set in Maxis center all hinge koyak + colour drop like mad...  all those are real unit casing just no "isi" inside oh...
the hinge is not an issue (for me at least).. did u ever use other full qwerty device before? i used to hv nokia n97 and n900. those device hv tight hinge, produce snappy sound when u open the qwerty keyboard, which i'm afraid that one day the hinge will broke. as for DZ, i like the way the hinge is, easy and smooth to open. i think its not an engineering failure, but it was purposely designed that way.

u saw dummy set which was meant for display, no wonder la koyak and look ugly..haha
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 04:15 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

i never see a display unit koyak also. biggrin.gif in which outlet u saw it?

well, DZ hinge is not a an issue for me..no failure at all.. smile.gif
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 04:42 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

[SOLVED]

hi all..
regarding the issue "my laptop cant recognised my DZ after rooted"
ITS BEEN SOLVED.

the culprit was>> my DZ's USB debugging is turn on

i turn it OFF, then whoott my laptop recognized my DZ, and HTC sync too..
i didn't realize we need to turn off the USB debugging, because before i root it, the USB debugging is always on, and no problem to connect to PC.

un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 04:51 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

oppsss..this is weird..i checked the setting (settings>applications>development) while the device connected to my laptop, i see the USB debugging is on!

so i unplugged, turn off the USB debugging, then connect the device to PC again, then i checked the setting again, USB debugging is on! means, USB debugging is automatically turned on when the device is connected to the PC.

unsatisfied, then i unplugged again, then purposely turn on the USB debugging, then i reconnect the device to PC, whooottttt it recognize my device!!!

so, i dunno why before this my laptop cant recognize my DZ rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on January 26, 2011, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(deslim @ Jan 26 2011, 04:46 PM)
Damn, you gotta teach me all this sh!t when I get one.
haha..deslim, i'm no good at all in android development..just follows what ppl do..just google it and u can find methods..btw, yeah u can ask me anything, dun mind to share if i know.

This post has been edited by un_id: Jan 26 2011, 04:53 PM
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 05:53 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

i flashed CM6.1 on my DZ..but the buttons (home, menu, back and search) not functioning.. did anyone encounter same issue?
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 06:37 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jan 26 2011, 06:28 PM)
Sry for being late for rescue. A lot of ppl (me included) faced this problem because DZ keymaps weren't included in CM6.1.1. Here's a fix:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=847824

Try the v2 first. If it works then keep that file for future use (i suspect DZ users need to flash this every time when flashing CM ROMs). If it doesn't then use the non-v2.
TQVM for the rescue DJFoo000. notworthy.gif

but other ROM, are they working fine?

worst thing is i forgot to backup my stock rom before i flash CM. sighh... can u share yours? i saw some recovery.img shared in xda dev site..but im not sure if its compatible with our asia DZ.. do u know which is out there the correct stock ROM for our DZ? if not, i will just stay with the cooked ROM.
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 06:54 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jan 26 2011, 06:43 PM)
waaaaa..... Dude they always put there 'BACKUP STOCK ROM' before doing anything. You very brave loh. lol. I don't have my phone with me now (sent for repairs, read back few pages to know what happen).

You can try extract the rom at shipped-roms.com and see if it fits. Or try asking around for an Asian DZ nandroid. You bought AP or Ori? Maybe other users can help you out.

And no, recovery.img is ***NOT*** the stock ROM. recovery.img is the STOCK RECOVERY, of which you need to flash when you want to return to stock completely. A  stock ROM is just like a CM ROM, just that it's as shipped (stock).

AFAIK, Sense ROMs have the DZ keypad mappings included. Stock ones need to flash the mappings manually only.
really.. lol silly mistakes, but i know they will dump stock rom someday..i installed the fix, now the buttons working, i'm using villian rom now, looks good, gonna stick with this first..will share if got anything.. got to go..cheers DJFoo000! icon_rolleyes.gif
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 09:35 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

villian got problem, i cant activate bluetooth..so i try supervillian. bluetooth can be activated, all functioning well, except the buttons, cant be fixed using the previous method.. then i try another rom, TheOfficial G2 V2.14.2, everything works well for the time being..swype keyboard is cool! wink.gif
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 09:42 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

haha..probably..btw, i really want my stock recovery..if any luck u hv info bout it in future, pleaassseee let me know. notworthy.gif

Added on January 26, 2011, 9:44 pmow..might try it..cm7 is still in beta, did anyone here tried it?

This post has been edited by un_id: Jan 26 2011, 09:44 PM
un_id
post Jan 26 2011, 09:57 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

1.34.707.5<<< i remember this is exactly my phone stock build number..

ya, i mean i want the stock ROM.

doing some search now.. (how can i done such silly mistake cry.gif )
un_id
post Jan 27 2011, 07:02 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Dixon93 @ Jan 26 2011, 11:50 PM)
well.. if anyone nid a stock nanoriod backup i still got it..
just tell me if anyone needs it then i can upload it for you guys, mine is desire z hongkong set
hi Dixon93..u just brighten up my day. laugh.gif

yes, i need a nandroid backup.. mine is Sg set, i think they are similar.. my build number is 1.34.707.5. hope it is same with yours. wish u can upload your nand backup. Very much appreciated.

TQVM in advance. notworthy.gif

Added on January 27, 2011, 8:38 ami saw in a thread in xda dev, HK build num is 1.34.708.5

its diff... sad.gif

This post has been edited by un_id: Jan 27 2011, 08:38 AM
un_id
post Jan 27 2011, 09:42 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

[TIPS]
i come across this:

if u are going to restore Froyo 2.2 stock ROM, DO NOT flash the CwM 3.0 recovery image, it wont work!
(credit to xda dev members)

Added on January 27, 2011, 9:42 am
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 27 2011, 09:35 AM)
how to check whether the ap set is from sg or hk?
obviously from the build number. or check yr IMEI perhaps?

Added on January 27, 2011, 11:26 amCM6.1 is nice, but no Market application??? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by un_id: Jan 27 2011, 11:26 AM
un_id
post Jan 27 2011, 01:16 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Dixon93 @ Jan 27 2011, 12:12 PM)
yes, mine is 1.34.707.5, hongkong one..
so i believe stil can flash right? only the stock firmware slightly different..
yes! it's the same build number, i bet i can flash it into my DZ.. u r so brighten up my day mate. rclxm9.gif

if u uploaded the nand backup somewhere, pls give a link to me. very much appreciated mate!

TQVM

Good Day.

0.0604sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:04 PM