126 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

Motorola DEFY Official Thread, A tough phone for Android

dnth
post Mar 11 2011, 01:20 PM

65 posts

Finland Froyo ROM : Can goapk defy recovery work on this?? i cant seem to boot to recovery mode.. phone hangs after display of motorola logo at starting..

i cant seem to boot to android recovery mode either..
any idea why??
abbygirl
post Mar 11 2011, 01:36 PM

74 posts

firstly my build number is JRDNEM_U3_2.51.0...is this build compatible with the guide??

>> Yes...it's compatible with the 1st page guide

i have to install the RSD Lite and USB Driver Motorola first before plugging the usb driver?btw what's RSD Lite for??

>> Yes, you have to install those to the pc before plugging. RSD Lite is to flash the TmobileUS_Boot_Devtree file listed on the front page to your phone.

after installing USB Driver i have to plug in usb and reboot the phone into recovery and run the exe to install usbflash driver (something like that) right?

>> i think u need to read the guide again. your steps are a bit wrong

after the installation reboot phone in normal mode and install the rest drivers?
sorry for all the troublesome questions...but i think my main problem is the driver...

>> what driver?

To make it easy....just download these files from the front page :

1. Download USB Driver Motorola HERE
2. Download RSD Lite HERE
3. Download system recovery HERE
4. Download SuperOneclick from previous spoiler
5. Download Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 (by iaio72-xda-developers) do HERE
6. Download TmobileUS_Boot_Devtree HERE

Then Install RSD Lite and USB Driver Motorola into your pc or laptop.

Next, Extract the file Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 from ur pc and place the folder in sdcard/goapkrev/backup in your phone ( if you cannot find the folder, create one). Leave ur pc/laptop aside.

Next, root your phone using SuperOneclick (see the guide on the 1st page)

Next, copy System Recovery apk file. to your sd card and install it. Open the app and click the 1st option - Install System Recovery.

Next, Click Recovery boot and it should enter clockwork mod recovery

Next, scrol to backup/restore using ur volume button. Click Backup by using the power button to backup ur current ROM.

Next, Scroll to Wipe data/Rest and click enter.

Next, Scroll to Advance , choose wipe dalvik cache and enter. Then return to the main menu.

Next, Scroll to backup/restore again....this time choose restore. Look for the file Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 in sdcard/goapkrev/backup. Restore it.

Next, wait untill it finish restore....then click reboot and IMMEDIATELY press and hold down volumn up button and you should be in boot mode

Next, Plug in you Defy to computer and open RSD Lite. Open the file TmobileUS_Boot_Devtree and flash with it.

After the flashing is done, go to clockwork mod recovery again and wipe data and dalvik cache

Lastly, reboot for the last time and you are currently running Froyo 2.2.
TSlingch
post Mar 11 2011, 02:27 PM

Master of the house
1,755 posts

New sifu in action rclxms.gif
abbygirl
post Mar 11 2011, 02:39 PM

74 posts

Aiyo...where got sifu...YOU ARE THE SIFU!!! I just try make it more simple to understand for noobs like me. Cos i do get confuse at first as i dont have any experience on this.
kennethbta
post Mar 11 2011, 05:04 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(abbygirl @ Mar 11 2011, 01:36 PM)
firstly my build number is JRDNEM_U3_2.51.0...is this build compatible with the guide??

>> Yes...it's compatible with the 1st page guide

i have to install the RSD Lite and USB Driver Motorola first before plugging the usb driver?btw what's RSD Lite for??

>> Yes, you have to install those to the pc before plugging. RSD Lite is to flash the TmobileUS_Boot_Devtree file listed on the front page to your phone.
after installing USB Driver i have to plug in usb and reboot the phone into recovery and run the exe to install usbflash driver (something like that) right?

>> i think u need to read the guide again. your steps are a bit wrong

after the installation reboot phone in normal mode and install the rest drivers?
sorry for all the troublesome questions...but i think my main problem is the driver...

>> what driver?

To make it easy....just download these files from the front page :

1. Download USB Driver Motorola HERE
2. Download RSD Lite HERE
3. Download system recovery HERE
4. Download SuperOneclick from previous spoiler
5. Download Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 (by iaio72-xda-developers) do HERE
6. Download TmobileUS_Boot_Devtree HERE

Then Install RSD Lite and USB Driver Motorola into your pc or laptop.
Next, Extract the file Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 from ur pc and place the folder in sdcard/goapkrev/backup in your phone ( if you cannot find the folder, create one).  Leave ur pc/laptop aside.

Next, root your phone using SuperOneclick (see the guide on the 1st page)

Next, copy System Recovery apk file. to your sd card and install it. Open the app and click the 1st option - Install System Recovery.
Next, Click Recovery boot and it should enter clockwork mod recovery

Next, scrol to backup/restore using ur volume button. Click Backup by using the power button to backup ur current ROM.

Next, Scroll to Wipe data/Rest and click enter.

Next, Scroll  to Advance , choose wipe dalvik cache and enter. Then return to the main menu.

Next, Scroll to backup/restore again....this time choose restore. Look for the file Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 in sdcard/goapkrev/backup. Restore it.

Next, wait untill it finish restore....then click reboot and IMMEDIATELY press and hold down volumn up button and you should be in boot mode

Next, Plug in you Defy to computer and open RSD Lite. Open the file TmobileUS_Boot_Devtree and flash with it.
After the flashing is done,  go to clockwork mod recovery again and wipe data and dalvik cache

Lastly, reboot for the last time and you are currently running Froyo 2.2.
thanks for the help~finally get rooted and updated rclxms.gif
but i found the guide abit confusing...mayb just me lol
when rooting using superoneclick i don't have to switch to portal mode...i just switch to memory storage mode..
the Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 u given is a zip file..have to extract in order to restore...at least for me lar...
btw after flashing there is no more haptic feedback?and the bright sensor seems buggy too...

This post has been edited by kennethbta: Mar 11 2011, 05:44 PM
monyetgila
post Mar 11 2011, 05:11 PM

132 posts

did any of experience phone hang..
my defy now using jboogie honey deblur.
it will hang whenever i use the phone
need to take off battery to reboot..
it is still on when it hangs because i try to call using other number and it was ringing but my defy still hang..any solution?

This post has been edited by monyetgila: Mar 11 2011, 05:11 PM
kennethbta
post Mar 11 2011, 06:09 PM

197 posts

err...guys i accidentally format my sd card...and i lost my nandroid backup of stock eclair...how?=.=
if now im in froyo i and i want to install jboogie rom i just flash it through recovery that's it?
tyenfei
post Mar 11 2011, 11:38 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(kennethbta @ Mar 11 2011, 06:09 PM)
err...guys i accidentally format my sd card...and i lost my nandroid backup of stock eclair...how?=.=
if now im in froyo i and i want to install jboogie rom i just flash it through recovery that's it?
so ? u r in eclair for froyo now??
TSlingch
post Mar 12 2011, 09:38 AM

Master of the house
1,755 posts

For those that are still on stock rom sg set, can please let me know the system version, baseband version, kernel version and build number?
kennethbta
post Mar 12 2011, 10:33 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Mar 11 2011, 11:38 PM)
so ? u r in eclair for froyo now??
im on jboogie deblur honey now...
but i deleted my stock eclair and i might need it in case i wanted to claim warranty sad.gif

QUOTE(lingch @ Mar 12 2011, 09:38 AM)
For those that are still on stock rom sg set, can please let me know the system version, baseband version, kernel version and build number?
i only remembered my build number is JRDNEM_U3_2.51.0...
dnth
post Mar 12 2011, 12:59 PM

65 posts

this is my personal experience in claiming warranty at PJ.
the other day when my earpiece failed, i sent my phone to them. but i forgotten to unroot my phone. they took and reformatted everything to normal without any question when i wen to collect my phne back..
SUSkhalpowers
post Mar 12 2011, 01:02 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(dnth @ Mar 12 2011, 01:59 PM)
this is my personal experience in claiming warranty at PJ.
the other day when my earpiece failed, i sent my phone to them. but i forgotten to unroot my phone. they took and reformatted everything to normal without any question when i wen to collect my phne back..
Yeap....moto not strict bcoz their lock bootloader...hehe
blackwhitechipsKL
post Mar 12 2011, 01:52 PM

330 posts

what if root and flashed to other ROM?
dnth
post Mar 12 2011, 03:21 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Mar 12 2011, 01:52 PM)
what if root and flashed to other ROM?
not too sure that one.. but shouldnt have problem..they told me can do within 30 mins..
TSlingch
post Mar 12 2011, 03:28 PM

Master of the house
1,755 posts

Not to worry. All the froyo sbf now provided with downgrade ability already biggrin.gif Now can safely use full flash to froyo with ease
dnth
post Mar 12 2011, 07:33 PM

65 posts

anyone know any gps software can recommend??
psychict
post Mar 12 2011, 07:34 PM

Demolition Team
717 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Mar 12 2011, 09:38 AM)
System Version: Moto_Version.2.5.1.MB525.Retail.en.SEA18

Baseband: EPU93ST2_U_03.0A.01

Kernal Version: 2.6.29nbcm48@zch68lnxdroid40 #1

Build Number JRDNEM_U3_2.51.0
tyenfei
post Mar 12 2011, 09:25 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(dnth @ Mar 12 2011, 07:33 PM)
anyone know any gps software can recommend??
Sycgic Aura quite professional look blush.gif but!!....

Malaysia and Defy use I prefer papago x5 rclxms.gif
blackwhitechipsKL
post Mar 12 2011, 10:53 PM

330 posts

new Google Maps apparently got voice as well, but never try, cos use data. Perhaps if i'm on Digi lah, but been with Maxis long time.
dnth
post Mar 12 2011, 11:19 PM

65 posts

thanks fot the replies!
any apps to recommend to restore nandroid backups???
i was on goapk recovery (tenfar) but not working in froyo.. any solutions??

126 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.9836sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:27 AM