4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

klseet
post Sep 10 2010, 12:58 AM

130 posts

I was still typing at v6 just now... tongue.gif

Happy Hari Raya holiday to everyone ! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Sep 10 2010, 12:37 AM)
ill add more info to the 1st post when my internet is back up and running.
i cant update the list for RB250GS so ill leave the job to klseet http://forum.lowyat.net/user/klseet
to the muslims, happy raya. and to others, happy holidays. take care and welcome to all unifi users smile.gif
Ok, Calvin, I'll maintain it on the Excel and will update post here each end of the day, thx! nod.gif

Anywhere, guys, this might be off UniFi topic, but I just want to share this really value for money TP-Link TL-WR941ND 3T3R Atheros 400mhz 4/32MB router which supported by dd-wrt:
http://www.tp-link.com/products/productDet...odel=TL-WR941ND

eventhough the official dd-wrt website didn't list this router, I've tested the latest BrainSlayer's built (941ND hardware version 2/3):
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V...k_tl-wr941ndv3/
and it's working! icon_rolleyes.gif

I've been using it for 2 weeks now and the result is definitely much better than my current Buffalo WHR-G300N in terms of signal strength, speed & coverage! thumbup.gif

But be careful, this 941ND has several hardware versions, particularly the v3.2 which some cases reported where it cannot save settings:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php...r=asc&start=225
dd-wrt guru LOM confirmed that if v3.2 with "Intel 25F320S33B and dd-wrt can not handle that chip"

Actually I bought a unit few months ago at LY All IT Hypermarket at RM149, it was v3.2, recently I flashed with the above latest built and it works!
Recently I saw it at LY ViewNet [beside All IT] also v3.2, my friends bite the bullet and ask me to buy 4 units, confirmed can flash & working also!
We bargain a bit and the ViewNet sales guy Kelvin sold us at RM139! biggrin.gif

So I presume those v3.2 batches sell here are supported by dd-wrt....
and at the price of RM139 for a dd-wrt 3T3R router, I think it's really worth the money man! nod.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 10 2010, 01:08 AM
klseet
post Sep 10 2010, 10:06 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 10 2010, 01:36 AM)
Hey guys,

Wanna ask something regarding network

(Group A)
BTU <---Router A(NAT/firewall)--->
<---LAN port 1---> Desktop 1
<---LAN port 2---> HTPC/Desktop 2
<---LAN port 3---> WAN port of switch/bridge with wifi - (was a router with disabled DHCP)
<---LAN port 4---> IPTV

(Group B)
Switch/bridge with wifi
<---LAN port 1---> Desktop 3
<---LAN port 2---> Desktop 4
<---Wifi ---> a couple of Notebooks
Is it possible for setup like this? with all PCs/notebooks with internet accesses and also able to network up each other in both direction?
You mean you want to pull a Cat cable from RouterA[LAN3] to RouterB?
Is RouterA DIR-615 and RouterB your own?

Currently my setup as follows:
HuaweiBTU[LAN1] ----> WHR-G300N (see below)
HuaweiBTU[LAN2] ----> [WAN]DIR-615[LAN4] ----> IPTV

WHR-G300N[LAN1] ----> 8-port switech ----> computers/notebook/etc
WHR-G300N[LAN2] ----> [LAN]TP-Link-TL941ND ~~wireless access point~~ bridging with ASUS RT-N10 & Buffalo WCR-GN

Both routers are running dd-wrt latest built, RT-N10 & WCR-GN stock firmware.
The WHR-G300N is my main NAT/Firewall + DHCP, wireless transmit turn down to 1 (try to disable it)
TL941ND it's just a AP with firewall & HDCP turn off.

I believe you can do similar setup on the DIR-615 as the main router and either cable link or wireless bridge with another router as AP.

QUOTE(shahada @ Sep 10 2010, 02:47 AM)
My take is that the Data Corruption is more of an equipment rather than line issue...
You mean those equipments at TM side or our BTU/router equipments?

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Sep 10 2010, 02:04 AM)
hi, i was thinking of getting the asus rt-n16...but now you reccomend this one..
any comment on the asus one? i check online reviews and seem to be having lots of issues also...
anyone care to reccomend a really good wifi router for heavy downloading and heavy online gaming?? and only on wifi....
Yes, ASUS RT-N16 is another good brand to consider but a bit pricey biggrin.gif
I have a RT-N10 stock firmware currently running bridging mode use for Xbox360, but it seem like there are some wireless problem is runs on dd-wrt.

My RT-N12, originally bought with the hope to create multiple vlan tagging, still no luck of getting it to work:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=478309#478309
and dd-wrt guru phuzi0n mentioned that "as the wiki explains, the switches don't support VLAN's over 15" sad.gif

However, they just confirmed that RT-N16 can do "Port-based VLAN's":
http://secure.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/VLAN_Support
So I'm really confuse now .... rclxub.gif

This 3 models are Broadcom base, so you need to take note if you are planning to get for dd-wrt icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 10 2010, 10:08 AM
klseet
post Sep 10 2010, 11:29 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 10 2010, 11:10 AM)
I assume that you connect the WHR-G300N to one of the LAN on TL941ND instead of WAN?

yes I did a test yest make DIR615 as main router/switch, my own router change to bridge. It work flawlessly even I connect to the WAN port. All PCs on main router and the secondary bridge/switch/AP able t o connect to Internet.

The only problem is the PCs connected on the main router(615) could not connect to the secondary bridge/switch/AP.

Desktop 1/2 cannot access Desktop 3/4 at all.

I suppose it is related to WAN port, can ur computers connected to WHR-G300N able to connect to notebook that is connected to TL-Link-TL941ND
Yes I connect 1 of WHR-G300N (A) LAN to TL941ND LAN (B).
May I know where do you keep the PPPoE profile? What's your ultimate objective for both routers?

Assuming you setup DIR-615 (say A) as main with PPPoE dial-up, NAT/firewall and also turn on the LAN DHCP, then you can connect it to your own router (say B) either through cable or wireless bridge.

If you use cable to link both A & B through LAN ports only, then B should setup as:
- AP mode, not bridge
- have a fix IP & gateway set to A's IP
- LAN DHCP & firewall turn off

If you intend to use wireless to link A & B, then B should setup as bridge or client bridge (depends on your router feature) and try to locate A and pair them together.

In my case, I use A (wireless off) for main control which will be on permanently together with BTU, and use B for wireless AP only.
So I can turn off B if I don't need wireless and I still can use my PC/notebook through A. nod.gif

Btw, yes I can see all the routers since there are on the same LAN submask.

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 10 2010, 11:32 AM
klseet
post Sep 10 2010, 11:40 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 10 2010, 11:37 AM)
(Group A)
BTU <---Router A(NAT/firewall/DHCP on/Wifi off/unifi pppoe Dial)--->
<---LAN port 1---> Desktop 1
<---LAN port 2---> HTPC/Desktop 2
<---LAN port 3---> WAN port of Router B
<---LAN port 4---> IPTV

(Group B)
Router B (Disabled DHCP/Wifi On)
<---LAN port 1---> Desktop 3
<---LAN port 2---> Desktop 4
<---Wifi ---> a couple of Notebooks
I did a setup like this yesterday.

All PCs is able to connect to internet. But the problem is the computers on Group A & B do not talk each other. For ex, I cannot Ping Desktop 3 from Desktop 1.

Why I wondering all these mess?

because I if it work I might go for the full fledged router RB750G.
You should connect A's LAN3 to B's LAN, not WAN.
Assuming your A's IP is 192.168.1.1
You should give B's IP as 192.168.1.2 and gateway setup to 192.168.1.1
then all computers can see each other!

Btw, this is assuming you are using A PPPoE to dial, not B
There can only be 1 PPPoE connection.

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 10 2010, 11:41 AM
klseet
post Sep 10 2010, 11:53 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 10 2010, 11:47 AM)
So I guess with all that, it should work?

Looks like I am going RB750G, Well please drop me from the RB250GS list smile.gif
Er, I'm not sure what do you means by "...it should work? Looks like I am going RB750G..."? blink.gif
I thought we were discussing A & B routers? I don't know about RB750G at all so no comment ....
Ok I'll remove you from the list ! nod.gif
klseet
post Sep 10 2010, 12:18 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 10 2010, 11:59 AM)
Wow, V7 !

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to all muslim LYN forumers, happy holidays to all .

Here's my UNIFI result today. (Huawei HG850a <> TM DIR-615 <> TP Link TL914N (VLAN bridge).

Yours is VIP5? If yes, speed not bad er! laugh.gif
Btw, your 941ND is it ver3.2? you run dd-wrt on it?
klseet
post Sep 10 2010, 12:23 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 10 2010, 12:20 PM)
Thats right if my VIP 5 got that kind of speed, I wont even post here lol
Bloodly ... you guys are so lucky man ... mine constantly around 5MB only ... TM really cap me gao-gao la .. flex.gif
klseet
post Sep 10 2010, 02:03 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 10 2010, 12:44 PM)
Yes, it's ver 3.2 with firmware 3.9.7 Build 090821 Rel.38819n.  I did not run dd-wrt, just follow Riz's guide on VLAN bridge between 615 and 941N.
Not sure whether you are aware that TL941ND latest firmware TL-WR941ND_V3_100609:
http://www.tp-link.com/support/download.as...TL-WR941ND&h=V3
icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 10 2010, 02:03 PM
klseet
post Sep 11 2010, 12:17 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(alexjaya @ Sep 10 2010, 11:24 PM)
RB250GS is just a managed switch? Can't dail a PPPoE connection?

From what i read, DIR-615 is a good piece of hardware, but the original firmware is crap however i doubt the one TM provided is good (mine died in 7 days) got that replaced by TM then ... I went out and bought another DIR-615 (RM130) flashed it with DD-WRT and its has no problems since ... absolute solid thing now ...

Funny thing ...
When I do an upload test with TMs router it max out at 200kb/s
When i do an upload test with DIR-615 (DD-WRT) it max out at 2.5mb/s

I'm trying to order my RB250GS but i don want it if it cant dail a PPPoE, if its only going to do VLAN tagging then DD-WRT can do that, don really need another hardware just for that.

Any comments?

I've done Unifi PPPoE on DIR-615 and DIR-825 with DD-WRT both works fine ... smile.gif

Just so fed-up with the corrupted downloads now ...
Yes, RB250GS is only a managed switch and does not have PPPoE dialer.
If you don't require IPTV and going for dd-wrt with vlan?.500 capability, then yes you don't need it either. nod.gif

However, correct me if I'm wrong, currently for dd-wrt supported routers, Broadcom base seem to have problem keeping vlan?.500 on WAN Port Assignment, it will be gone the moment you re-boot.
Whereas for Ralink & Atheros base, it can create vlan?.500 tagging and WAN connection without problem, but still unable to create another vlan?.600 for IPTV on the same router.

At this moment, I believe the main purpose for RB250GS is to :
- handle both vlan 500 [internet] & 600 [IPTV] concurrently;
- connect any router, with or without dd-wrt, no vlan tagging require to it for internet;
- connect IPTV directly, so can "keep" that DIR-615 for good;
and hopefully, at the very minimum cost involve! icon_rolleyes.gif

Btw, if I'm not mistaken, those DIR-615 from TM is G1 version, those in the market it's like D1, D2, E...
Not sure whether they are the same makes? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 11 2010, 12:18 AM
klseet
post Sep 12 2010, 01:18 AM

130 posts

Mikrotik RB250GS buyers list - confirmed total 34 units as of end of 11Sep:

LYN user name Units Confirmed

azri 1 y
PGGTrader 1 y
ldragon 2 y
alextong8386 1 y
chungss 1 y
Yushin 1 y
Paultantk 1 y
StanleYz 1 y
avex|mode 1 y
leongkh2 1 y
Evirober 1 y
-pWs- 2 y
Mytown 1 y
Susuwatari 1 y
Keevster 1 y
ruffstuff 1 y
ad2000 1 y
Moogle Stiltzkin 1 y
d3vilsim 1 y
y2k 1 y
kaspersky-fan 1 y
andyz 2 y
karkun 1 y
iv'N 1 y
DjiNn 3 y
shahada 3 y
benison 1 y

Pending confirmation:

flame7651
hotspot
jchue73
GreenSamurai
khairuza2002
rizfield

Costing & delivery information:
- Price is about SGD59 / RM140 EXCLUDE tax, will PM banking information once confirmed actual units & shipping cost.
- Self collection in PJ area, can fix a date and go somewhere KL self-collect. [sorry I can't do individual delivery!]
- If have to pay custom tax, then the actual tax amount will be shared equally pay upon collection.
- We'll ask Soliton to write some "Computer Parts" description with lower value on the shipping invoice [need more suggestion/comment on this point]

QUOTE(alextong8386 @ Sep 11 2010, 10:19 PM)
...According to Asus RT-N16 specification stated, it do support VLAN port base tag on....
Are you referring to stock firmware or dd-wrt?
Can you show where to find this information? smile.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 12 2010, 01:24 AM
klseet
post Sep 12 2010, 10:09 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 12 2010, 02:48 AM)
@ klseet
Which part of PJ area? I can cod w u. Thanks. notworthy.gif

-pWs-
I'm thinking either 1Utama or TheCurve area.
Sorry bro I can't do COD as I don't do this for business, I'll collect money from you all then remit to Soliton to ship goods here, then I'll bring to a place & meet you guys to self collect ! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 12 2010, 08:58 AM)
Is there any latency hit when we use RB250gs/smart switch?
I did some PingTest few days ago:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36191505
klseet
post Sep 13 2010, 01:40 AM

130 posts

Mikrotik RB250GS confirmed buyers list total 40 units, list closed:

LYN user name Units

azri 1
PGGTrader 1
ldragon 2
alextong8386 1
chungss 1
Yushin 1
Paultantk 1
StanleYz 1
avex|mode 1
leongkh2 1
Evirober 1
-pWs- 2
Mytown 1
Susuwatari 1
Keevster 1
ruffstuff 1
ad2000 1
Moogle Stiltzkin 1
d3vilsim 1
y2k 1
kaspersky-fan 1
andyz 2
karkun 1
iv'N 1
billytong 1
DjiNn 3
shahada 3
ronaldjoe 1
Youngun 1
benison 1
crittertoo 3

Costing & delivery information:
- Price is about SGD59 / RM140 EXCLUDE tax, now waiting for Soliton to reply with actual cost, will PM banking information to you guys this 2 days.
- If have to pay custom tax upon arrival, then the actual tax amount will be shared equally to all payable upon collection.
- Hopefully can complete payment process & place order by this week, target to receive next week.
- Self-collect at PJ area most likely around 1Utama or TheCurve, can fix a date go KL if necessary. [sorry I can't do individual delivery!]
- We'll ask Soliton to write some "Computer Parts" description with lower value on the shipping invoice.

Will update you guys soon, kindly check your PM often! nod.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 13 2010, 02:56 AM
klseet
post Sep 14 2010, 07:05 PM

130 posts

LYN user name Units

azri 1
PGGTrader 1
ldragon 2
alextong8386 1
chungss 1
Yushin 1
Paultantk 1
StanleYz 1
avex|mode 1
leongkh2 1
Evirober 1
-pWs- 2
Mytown 1
Susuwatari 1
Keevster 1
ruffstuff 1
ad2000 1
Moogle Stiltzkin 1
d3vilsim 1
y2k 1
kaspersky-fan 1
andyz 2
karkun 1
iv'N 1
billytong 1
DjiNn 3
shahada 3
ronaldjoe 1
Youngun 1
benison 1
crittertoo 3

Guys, I've just PMed you the actual cost & payment detail already, kindly read & act on it! nod.gif

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 13 2010, 11:13 AM)
Klseek, The curve are great. More easy to drop off or packing compare to 1U. 

PM me the bank detail when need to make payment. treat u coffee bean yamcha there while waiting other members drop off to collect their from the curve.

thanks a lot for your help =)
Sure bro! biggrin.gif
klseet
post Sep 14 2010, 07:20 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Sep 14 2010, 04:05 PM)
Sorry if i was unclear. I will use the DIR-615 as the vlan bridge, according to the guide by Riz, that's the one that will connect to iptv. The router, if i understand things correctly, will act as the actual device from which i'll interact with UNIFI e.g. connect to wifi, internet, dial up PPoE, etc.
http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=49&Itemid=61
QUOTE(Tentris @ Sep 14 2010, 04:11 PM)
I'm just having difficulty finding the link to the dd-wrt files for TP Link TL-WR941N... been searching and searching, can't seem to find it lol.
Any help anyone?
For TP-Link TL-941ND, you may refer to my post & the correct dd-wrt download link:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36218556
If you buy from ViewNet LowYat 3rd, look for Kelvin and nego with him, he can let go at RM139.
The last I bought was v3.2 and dd-wrt can support it.

Yes, you may configure the DIR-615 according to Riz's guide to watch IPTV only, you may also want to turn-off the wireless.
If you are using Huawei BTU and intend to flash the TL941ND dd-wrt, then you can even create vlan?.500 and connect directly to Huawei BTU for internet without DIR-615.

QUOTE(akerue @ Sep 14 2010, 04:40 PM)
Asus RT-N16 is quite expensive at RM399, but the RT-N12 is only RM179, is it a good choice instead of the TP Link TL-WR941N?
I have a N12 which is Broadcom flashed with latest dd-wrt, however I'm having problem to keep the WAN Port Assignment, so still unable to use this unit to dial internet at vlan?.500.

Compare this 2, I would choose TL941ND, it has 3T3R and it's cheaper than N12! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 14 2010, 07:10 PM)
If any of them backing off, let me know. I may be interested on getting one .. yeah I know a bit late ..
Unless there is buyer willing to swap with you, honestly I really hope there won't be any drop-out at this junction ..... sweat.gif

klseet
post Sep 14 2010, 07:45 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 14 2010, 07:27 PM)
Dont worry buddy, I'll bring another RM140 during collecting my RB250GS in-case if that problem exist. I got 1 more unifi user under me that might want it.
Just make sure the details you PM are 100% correct. *double check lol smile.gif
Happy that you picked Curve as Collection location quite near to my place.  tongue.gif
QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 14 2010, 07:33 PM)
I bought the Microtik as a backup in case my HP Procurve dies.
Good to know the COD place is the curve.
Much easier to find parking.
Thanks klseet for organizing the bulk.
Er, bros, this is not COD la, I'll have to collect from you guys first before transferring & place order with Soliton ..... sweat.gif

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Sep 14 2010, 07:32 PM)
Hey klseet, thanks for bringing in this item, will be patiently waiting for this product =p

do pm us when and where exactly in the curve to meet so that we can come, or inform u if not possible.... thanks again! =)
I'll inform you guys earlier when to meet! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 14 2010, 07:49 PM
klseet
post Sep 14 2010, 08:43 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Sep 14 2010, 08:10 PM)
get the factory one, which is for fresh ddwrt install. the other file is for upgrade from an old version of ddwrt.
The link is for v4, are you sure?

If it's TL-WR941ND v3.2, then the correct link is:
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V...k_tl-wr941ndv3/
use file "factory-to-ddwrt.bin" for 1st time flash.
klseet
post Sep 14 2010, 11:07 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Sep 14 2010, 10:37 PM)
Ok, let me get this straight, if I were to get new router(flashed to DDWRT) and vlan to DIR615 (ori firmware), will I still be able to connect my IPTV? No right?

So if I get new router, vlan it together with DIR615 and both are having original firmware, that would mean I would be able to use IPTV? If that's the case, the cable for IPTV goes to new router or DIR615?
QUOTE(Tentris @ Sep 14 2010, 10:52 PM)
The way i understand it:

1. You buy new router. Flash with dd-wrt.
2. You keep original DIR-615 with original firmware as VLAN bridge.
3. You can still view IPTV because your iptv will connect to your DIR-615, not the new router.

Correct me if i'm wrong, sifus.

That's my intended network setup plan.
That's right, if you have a Huawei BTU and planning to get another router and flash with dd-wrt [either Ralink or Atheros base], in the absent of RB250GS, you can configure as:

Huawei BTU[LAN1] ----> [WAN]dd-wrt router (create vlan?.500 & PPPoE dial-up) ----> computers
Huawei BTU[LAN2] ----> [WAN] DIR-165 (configure as bridge)[LAN4] ----> IPTV

Please read Riz's guide on how to:
Setup & create vlan?.500 for internet on your dd-wrt router, read the section "Setting up VLAN tagging and the PPPoE connection"
http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=53&Itemid=65
Setup DIR-615 as vlan:
http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=49&Itemid=61

klseet
post Sep 15 2010, 02:01 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 14 2010, 07:05 PM)
Payment status update as of today 15Sep 2pm 52% paid already.

For those who has not bank-in, appreciate you could quickly do so before tomorrow 16Sep noon, so we can quickly remit & place order with Soliton within this week. sweat.gif

To be honest, this thing has taken too long and I really want to move-on and settle with it, also to be fair for those who had responded earlier & faster, therefore I'm sorry I have no choice but to either transfer to others or cancel your order if no payment is received by deadline.

Thank you for your understanding & co-operation! nod.gif

klseet
post Sep 15 2010, 02:29 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Sep 15 2010, 02:23 PM)
do let me know if there's still empty slots for orders  icon_rolleyes.gif
Ok put you onto the Standby list! icon_rolleyes.gif
klseet
post Sep 15 2010, 11:04 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 15 2010, 03:40 PM)
Don't forget about me too yah! smile.gif
Sure, include you in Standby list! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(skyklg @ Sep 15 2010, 07:24 PM)
followed rizvanrp's guide on making DIR-516 as bridge for tagging and my own router for internet...
not sure whether its my area's connection or my laptop's wireless(all the while flawless, so i dun think so)
after setting up that... my download speed seems to drop and the latency from speedtest.net 1-2k ms....
issit anything to do with my settings?? or my router (Netgear WGR614v9)??
Before this, may I know how do you connect WGR614v9 and how do you compare after configuring DIR-615 as bridge?
Are you running WGR614v9 stock standard firmware or dd-wrt?

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Sep 15 2010, 05:51 PM)
youtube got its own internal meter, right click and select Show video info...
Didn't know this is how to see YouTube video speed info ... blush.gif
I like to test using this clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFSPW7cAlOk&feature=related tongue.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 15 2010, 11:11 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.41    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:25 PM