4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

klseet
post Sep 26 2010, 10:31 PM

130 posts

Guys,

Can someone tells me how do I add attachments on PM?
I've been trying to attached the original invoice for you guys but I couldn't find any attachment option on my PM ?!

klseet
post Sep 27 2010, 01:47 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Sep 26 2010, 10:30 PM)
is there anyway that i can get the RB250GS???
Hi, you may refer to Soliton's contact & price info at:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1557389

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 26 2010, 10:48 PM)
@ bro klseet,
Please see below:
I think something wrong with my PM, I see everything except the "attachment" option blink.gif :

any idea how to "enable" attachment?

QUOTE(crittertoo @ Sep 26 2010, 11:54 PM)
typo...it's a cisco 1252g dual radios. N16 radios are turned off, so it's a ethernet PPPOE dialer/router. the 1252 are a gem. does not saturate when i load her with 720p materials (using PLEX), most wireless ap i tried just saturate when 720p are loaded but not with this baby. 1080 materials are still a no-no sad.gif....still need a CAT5e cables - i am not sure whether I wanna wire my home with cat5e...maybe...just maybe....

any ideas to stream 1080 wirelessly?
Huh, get a N16 just for the PPPoE+router and a Cisco for AP .... sweat.gif

Honestly, I dare not think about streaming 720P wirelessly, not to mention 1080P ... sweat.gif sweat.gif

Anywhere, I'll lay Cat6 in my house soon for both network purpose & HDMI transmission over LAN brows.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 27 2010, 01:48 AM
klseet
post Sep 27 2010, 02:56 PM

130 posts

Attention RB250GS buyers:

azri 1
PGGTrader 1
ldragon 2
chungss 1
Yushin 1
Paultantk 1
StanleYz 1
avex|mode 1
leongkh2 1
Evirober 1
-pWs- 2
Mytown 1
Susuwatari 1
Keevster 1
ruffstuff 1
Moogle Stiltzkin 1
d3vilsim 2
y2k 1
kaspersky-fan 1
andyz 2
karkun 1
iv'N 1
billytong 1
DjiNn 3
shahada 3
ronaldjoe 1
Youngun 1
benison 1
crittertoo 3
wiraone 1

Can you guys PM or SMS me your email address?
Somehow I don't have attachment option under PM, I need to email you guys the invoice just in case [touch-wood] you need RMA with Soliton.
klseet
post Sep 28 2010, 08:38 PM

130 posts

aiyah, no need so neat la, after a while sure messy again la ... tongue.gif
i just throw everything underneath staircase, only the wireless AP on top of cabinet brows.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 28 2010, 08:39 PM
klseet
post Sep 29 2010, 08:52 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 28 2010, 09:39 PM)
The device which need well ventilated is TM DIR-615, and I have it VLAN bridged to TL-WR941ND wireless router to reduce its stress.

Since you have purchased RB250GS to replace TM DIR-615, it shouldn't be any problem on ventilation but it's recommended to have ventilation to get rid of the heat. (is there any USB port from RB250GS?)
If you are using Huawei BTU & your 941ND is running on dd-wrt, you can create vlan1.500 tagging & PPPoE dialer on 941ND and just connect directly to the BTU for internet:
BTU[LAN1] --> [WAN]941ND --> PC/computers
BTU[LAN2] --> [WAN]DIR-615[LAN4] --> IPTV
Internet & IPTV run independently!

QUOTE(avex|mode @ Sep 29 2010, 08:32 AM)
Finally set-up my RB250GS. So the final installation looks like this.

ZTE BTU > RB250GS > TP-Link WR1043ND (DD-WRT) > Desktop PC/NAS (I'm not using IPTV, I don't watch TV).

My NAS is my backup/torrent box. Currently I'm using Synology DS410j running on Transmission BT.

I noticed my online gaming's smoother last night. Probably I was lucky last night  sweat.gif

Thanks to klseet for bringing the RB250GS and recommending me the router.
Bro, if you don't need IPTV & your 1043ND is already dd-wrt, you can consider the above setup! icon_rolleyes.gif
But later if you need IPTV, then you'll still need RB250GS on ZTE BTU nod.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 29 2010, 08:53 AM
klseet
post Sep 29 2010, 12:54 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 29 2010, 11:15 AM)
My earlier post, I did not run dd-wrt, my worry if my V 3.2 941ND is able to flash this dd-wrt as your post earlier (DD-WRT guru LOM said certain V 3.2 with Intel Chips xxxx unable to save the setting).

How to run DD-WRT again?  Any step by step guide? I checked your previous post and the ftp link, there are two files (.bin), I have downloaded them.  I have checked Riz's guide on DD-WRT but it's for TM DIR-615.

Really appreciate if you give me step-by-step guidance.

My current setup is currently following Riz's guide on VLAN

BTU[LAN1] --> [WAN]TM DIR-615
TM DIR-615[LAN3] --> [LAN]941ND --> PC/MAC/ Squeezebox/iPod Touch (wireless) with DHCP management from 941ND
TM DIR-615[LAN4] --> [LAN]STB--> LCD TV
I have done my PPPoE dialer on 941ND, so I do not need to reconfig 941ND, right?

Just to reconfig BTU setting on LAN1 and LAN2, right? If yes, any guide on BTU reconfiguration?

Thanks in advance
May I know where & when you bought the 941ND?
I first bought it from All IT HyperMarket at LY 4/5 months ago, it was v3.2 can work on dd-wrt.
About a month ago bought 5 units from ViewNet [next to All IT], also v3.2 confirmed can work on dd-wrt.
So I assumed those v3.2 sold here are not using that Intel chip on board which not supported by dd-wrt.

If you really want to dd-wrt, please note that you are doing this at your own risk and may void the warranty.
I haven't tried to flash-back original firmware, but I presume it should work.

If you understand the risk and still want to proceed, then:

1. download latest build from: ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V...k_tl-wr941ndv3/

2. login to your 941ND stock firmware, go to upgrade firmware page and use "factory-to-ddwrt.bin" file to upgrade

3. DO NOT touch anything until you see the dd-wrt page!

4. Once you see the dd-wrt page, DO NOT do anything yet, UNPLUG power supply, wait 1min

5. use a sharp object press the reset button [small hole beside the WAN port], DO NOT release, plug-in power supply, still hold it for at least 30sec, unplug power supply then release the re-set button, wait for another 30sec
[note: some said no need this step, but I still suggest you to do so for a really clean vram to start with]

6. pug-in power supply, open browser type 192.168.1.1 and you should see the dd-wrt page

7. enter a user ID [eg, root] with your password, then you are good to setup PPPoE, vlan tagging, wireless, etc like usual.

So far to me it's pretty straight forward and I can flash all the 941ND without any problem. nod.gif

You DO NOT have to do anything on the Huawei BTU, just connect like my previous post will do.
Good luck ! icon_rolleyes.gif
klseet
post Sep 29 2010, 02:38 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 29 2010, 01:11 PM)
I bought it later than yours from C-zone @ LY on early September. It is ver 3.2 941ND

My current firmware is 3.11.8 Build 100609 Rel.61214n (as per your earlier advise if you can still recall, is this firmware DD-WRT?)

What happen to the second file in the ftp (original 941ND bin file?)? Only copy the factory-to-ddwrt.bin?

May I know what's the advantage of dd-wrt?  Will I get a better torrent download speed?

Thanks again

add-on:

Q1. What is the user ID and password on dd-wrt page?
Q2. If I am using BTU[LAN1] for 941ND, the Vlan number should be vlan1? Tag number = 500? Prio = 0?
That one you are using now is stock standard and is not dd-wrt ....
For first time flashing, you need that "factory-to-ddwrt.bin", the 2nd file is for update from previous dd-wrt version.

Advantage? How do I say..... I personally prefer dd-wrt for it's features, stability, more powerful & robust .... tongue.gif

Ans1. the first time after you flashed, the default dd-wrt IP is 192.168.1.1 it will ask you to enter your desire admin user ID & password in order to proceed further.

Ans2. My 941ND is using vlan1 for wan, you may refer to Riz's guide on DIR-615 dd-wrt, only the part where it show how to create vlan tagging.
Note that 941ND is vlan1.500 as every router has it's own assignment.

Anywhere, if you are not familiar with dd-wrt flashing or if you don't really need dd-wrt, then I won't suggest you to go for it ! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 29 2010, 02:40 PM
klseet
post Sep 29 2010, 03:11 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 29 2010, 02:44 PM)
I have no plan to flash dd-wrt too as everything working fine, I have 3 pc/mac connected, Squeezebox, iPod Touch, sometimes Blackberry tongue.gif

How do you know my 941ND is stock standard, hmm, just curious ?
Bro, if you are using dd-wrt, you won't be asking me "What is the user ID and password on dd-wrt page?" tongue.gif
klseet
post Oct 1 2010, 01:09 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(oreomambo @ Sep 25 2010, 02:14 PM)
Joeaggas,

I am using Mikrotik RB750G with successful connection. You'll need to do this:

1) remove any bridge you have right now (so it won't interfere with what you are going to start with). Bridge will be needed later for IPTV setup, but get on with your PPPoE first.

2) Setup vlan with ID 500 (under interface->vlan) and attach it to Ethernet1 (assuming you are using Ethernet1 to connect to the BTU). So under winbox you'll see
    Ether1
        +-- vlan1.500

3) Create a PPPoE interface and have it attached to the vlan ID 500 that you've created above. Ensure that the Enable service tag is unchecked.
4) Immediately, you'll see it get connected.
5) ensure you create a NAT to masq the srcnat.

i am working out a longer set of instructions to get the pppoe + iptv setup for RB750G. Juggling between work and this...stay tuned.
QUOTE(oreomambo @ Sep 25 2010, 02:55 PM)
For IPTV,

1) use ether5 (my choice)
2) setup ether5 to be neither master nor slave. That means bound to "none". So this will not enable the switching function under this physical port (cos we want to bridge it)
3) setup vlan ID 600 under ether1 (yes, that wan port to btu). You probably have a vlan ID 500 under this ehter1 as well for PPPoE.
4) Create a bridge, call it bridge.iptv.
5) Put the vlan ID 600 interface created above and ether5 under this bridge->port . That mean you are bridging vlan 600 (under ether1) + ether5 physical port itself. Traffic going out via port1 will have vlan ID 600 tagged.
6) still in the bridge window, you'll see a button "bridge setup" (i think), uncheck Bridge for firwall, vlan and pppoe (yes, all 3 unchecked)
7) hook up the STB to ether5 port and power up the box. Have fun.

* as for your DHCP bit, i don't think it is the dhcp server. Disconnection here could be other stuff, check if you have mis configure any other interface with bridge. Your management port (probably ether2) should only hold dhcp and an IP address. nothing else.
Hi Oreomambo,

Follow your guides, I managed to setup the RB750 & RB750G with both internet & IPTV working, thank you bro !! notworthy.gif

Luckily MikroTik has the WinBox GUI, lots of features & information, otherwise I don't think I'm capable to configure it at command lines ... sweat.gif

The setup is rather straight forward, just few setup screen out of the box:

Interface – create vlan 500 & 600

Interface – set LAN5 neither master nor slave [to use for IPTV STB direct connection]

Bridge – create a bridge for IPTV

Bridge – Ports for IPTV bridge

PPP – Create PPPoE client for UniFi

Firewall – setup NAT

IP – DHCP server

That's all, internet & IPTV up & running! rclxms.gif

Now have to figure out how to tighten the firewall ... sweat.gif

klseet
post Oct 1 2010, 09:37 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Oct 1 2010, 08:59 AM)

Added on October 1, 2010, 9:18 amBtw, someone need to bulk order again. I need 750G tongue.gif brows.gif
The RB750, which is the same price with RB250GS, is really tempting ! drool.gif
I think it's another item to consider for ppl who want full features router+vlan tagging and also those advance functions.

For me it means another less equipment and also neat since RB750/750G is the same size with RB250GS! nod.gif
klseet
post Oct 7 2010, 11:33 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Oct 7 2010, 11:00 AM)
I'm already using DIR615 for the vlan tag, but wondering if the vlan tag can be done through the router as well as the Vlan option is available in the DDWRT option for Linksys WRT610N router.
You may try to create vlan?.500, attach it to the WAN Port Assignment, then REBOOT it.
If the vlan?.500 still remain at the WAN Port Assignment, then you should be able to connect it directly with your BTU.

I have no luck to save it on Broadcom base dd-wrt routers on my Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 & ASUS-RT-N12, the moment I reboot, it's gone.
But I have no such problem on those Ralink & Atheros base dd-wrt routers.

You may also want to refer to the following links, which many dd-wrt gurus tested and claimed that some Broadcom dd-wrt routers support vlan tagging:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php...der=asc&start=0
http://secure.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/VLAN_Support
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Setti...ireless_traffic

So far I tried it but still no luck, it's kind of confusing to me, but I still can't find anything which state vlan?.500 connection on Broadcom base.
I was told by a dd-wrt guru that "the switches don't support VLAN's over 15", I really don't know what does that mean either .....

I could be wrong, it seem like at this moment, probably only Ralink & Atheros base dd-wrt routers can create vlan?.500 and connect directly to BTU without problem.
klseet
post Oct 7 2010, 11:45 AM

130 posts

Been busy lately since my last setup on RB750, just did some firewall setting according to oreomambo's link, then tested it last night:

with uTorrent only:

with both uTorrent+IPTV [HD channel]

It seem to me that the throughput is slightly better than my current Buffalo WHR-G300N dd-wrt.
Also the IPTV doesn't seem to affect the internet traffic load.

Any other RB750 users here can share more experience in terms of connection/load/tweaking etc?
klseet
post Oct 10 2010, 10:00 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Oct 9 2010, 11:18 PM)
Hi, I have 4 DECT phone at home, 3 Panasonic of various model from the basic to the advance colored, and 1 free no brand DECT from TM when I signed up for 4mb combo. So far all the 3 Panasonic DECT work flawlessly but the TM one has exactly the same problem you mentioned. No ring, though I can still answer it. Btw, I am on VIP20.
I've been using Pana Dect for a long time, currently I have this 2 models:
KX-TG7202ML http://www.panasonic.com.my/web/pid/7057 [been using for 2 years]
KX-TG6512ML http://direct.panasonic.com.my/Products.aspx/Details/1290 [new model just bought in Aug10 PC fair]

I can pair the TM's Dect to both without problem, but I noticed model 7202 still produce slightly better voice & hands-free quality.
Whereas model 6512 seem to have some problem on hands-free and occasionally the other side can't hear me.

I just sent the 6512 set to Pana Service Center few days ago [under warranty], apparently the base unit rosak liao, got power but no signal sent out ! sweat.gif
I not sure whether it's the model problem since both TM's Dect and this 6512 is considered Pana's latest "Eco" model range ....... hmm.gif

I like 6512's keyboard, screen size & the small & light power adapter; but I still prefer 7202's voice & signal quality.

QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 9 2010, 11:51 PM)
Such a huge size difference between HP Procurve switch and Microtik RB250GS switch.

[attachmentid=1825729]

[attachmentid=1825730]
Wah bro, you really looks like running a mini server room ! tongue.gif
Btw, didn't see your NAS?! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Oct 10 2010, 08:23 AM)
And they underestimate us. I think they assumed that I guessed the password the first time because it was so simple, so they decided to make it more complex. The PS3 can be hacked using a USB based buffer overflow, Apple products can be jailbroken.. yet to TM, the mighty orange TM DIR-615 password cannot be cracked using any form of technology known to man at this point. The person who decided to lock down the router should have his head checked.
Bro Riz, you did it again, bravo man!! rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

Apparently TM never learn, I'm really puzzled on why they keep wanting to enable the Remote Management over their already messy yet vulnerable network ..... sweat.gif
True enough, whoever that person, I guess his head is indeed squarish one! tongue.gif
klseet
post Oct 10 2010, 10:31 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Oct 10 2010, 10:06 AM)
Yeah thanks to Riz.

I think they probably want to save the hassle of customer calling them complaining about Internet line issue. With remote management they can set settings on the fly without sending technician to customer house directly. Thats the only reason I can think of, unless otherwise there is some other reason also.
If the network is down, they can't connect through remotely; and if the network no problem, why they want to connect for?? doh.gif
Not to mention how lousy built that DIR-615 is, I don't think looking at that 615 remotely can do anything better to either support or trouble-shooting yawn.gif
klseet
post Oct 10 2010, 06:18 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Oct 10 2010, 12:33 PM)
Exactly, it's totally pointless IMO :3 The security tradeoff is not worth the risk.

Anyway this is my final shot at the config.bin exploit before I go to bed. Spent the last 4 hours working on it (reversing the config.bin packing/unpacking process, coding, bleh..) and realized something silly.. the config.bin isn't even encrypted. It only uses gzip compression with some dummy data thrown in :3 It's a compressed XML file biggrin.gif !

Don't even have to use RouterPassView anymore.. I made an unpacker in PHP which neatly displays all the needed info after you upload your config.bin to the site tongue.gif
This really sound bad & worry enough shocking.gif
Really wonder what kind of security officer over there can even think about such "security" design tongue.gif

QUOTE(rexio @ Oct 10 2010, 02:59 PM)
But I can get rid of TM DIR-615 and just use my WRT54GL with TM's ZTE ZXDSL 931. Only 2 hardwares and no need to buy additional VLAN switch.
QUOTE(rexio @ Oct 10 2010, 03:04 PM)
No. I'm not running OpenWRT/DDWRT. I'm using Tomato without VLAN functionality on my WRT54GL.
If its not VDSL(ZTE ZXDSL 931), then you modem/router might looks like this right?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=1518231
Can you share more on how do you setup your Tomato & connect to the BTU directly?
Are both internet [vlan.500] & IPTV [vlan.600] runs concurrently on your WRT54GL?

QUOTE(Tentris @ Oct 10 2010, 03:36 PM)
I'm trying to setup:

Fiberhome --> RB250GS --> TP941ND

My question, how do i secure the RB250GS? I've set it up according to Riz's guide here:

http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=55&Itemid=67

Currently, the default ID is "admin" with "blank" password. Riz'a guide doesn't say anything about changing the password.

Do i need to change anything here to ensure its secure from outside interference?
I think you can just change the RB250GS Admin password [under System tab] will do!
klseet
post Oct 10 2010, 11:09 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 10 2010, 07:10 PM)
there is a wiki page on a simple firewall rule for microtik..

you can find it somewhere... need to dig back the link...

you can go here.. and add some of the basic simple rules...

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Firewall

or you can just read this

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Securing_your_router

might be good to add

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/DoS_attack_protection
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Drop_port_scanners
Can we do all these on RB250GS?
Correct me if I'm wrong, I thought those firewall setting it's for RouterOS like RB750/750G?

QUOTE(rexio @ Oct 10 2010, 08:27 PM)
Hi klseet,

FYI, all the VLANs trunking are done in the VDSL modem. BTW, I'm using VDSL.
You can use any router to connect to the internet, for my case, I'm using WRT54GL. Thje IPTV is working without any problem.
There is no need for VLAN support on the router. That's why I'm asking why some of you need to buy the VLAN capable switch.
This is my current setup.

Copper phone cable --> ZTE ZXDSL 931 --> WRT54GL & Set Top Box  <---it's pretty simple right?

ZTE ZXDSL 931
LAN Port 1 -- > WRT54GL WAN Port
LAN Port 2 --> IPTV Set Top Box
LAN Port 3 --> Empty
LAN Port 4 --> Empty

The modem(ZTE ZXDSL 931) is capable of doing VLAN trunking. You can even dial PPPoE from the modem itself(same as Streamyx) but I havent try this as I'm pretty sure most of you will be using WiFi and don't want the modem alone to handle all the internet traffic.
I'm pretty sure that your fiber modem can do the same. Just think this way, if from the fiber cable need VLAN trunking, don't you think that the modem itself(ONU) need to be VLAN capable?

May I know what is the ONU brand and model for fiber users?
Seems like got a guy in this thread like to get the "name" without crediting other people.
I know many of DIR-615 G2 users are stuck before this because they cannot get the password, yesterday I got my unifi installed and able to decrypt the password, I post it in this thread that I'm able to get the password. Although you know how to do it, but you wont be helping any DIR-615 G2 users if I didn't post the "reply" and give you some idea yesterday right?

Sorry for my bad English.

In Malay : "Siapa yang makan cili, dia yang terasa pedasnya"
Wooah, I didn't know ZTE BTU can create both vlan500 & 600 ! blink.gif
That is interesting, mind to share how you do it? I guess ZTE users would be interested to know! nod.gif

I'm using Huawei EchoLife HG850a BTU, can create vlan.500 & PPPoE as per pr0's instruction, but I didn't use it because of double NAT.
So far still no luck & don't know how to create vlan.600 for IPTV ... sad.gif

klseet
post Oct 11 2010, 10:46 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(sohlican @ Oct 11 2010, 12:10 AM)
Silencer, this is what you need to do.

Connect your laptop/pc to Port 4 of your ZTE BTU 931

Manually set your laptop/pc I to 192.168.1.2 subnect mask 255.255.255.0, you may leave the gateway blank.

After that login to your BTU, via 192.168.1.1 and type in username and password = admin

After that, follow this screenshot below.

Disclaimer, I am not liable for any damages/down time caused to anyone.  Do it at your own risk.

Port 1 (Connects to your router's WAN port)

Click on Advanced Setup > Vlan Trunk Setting

Then follow this screenshot.

Click Save/Apply

After this, click on the LAN Interface Select pull down menu on top and select LAN2

Tick vlan Trunk Enable and configure as per screenshot below

Port 2 (Connects to  your IPTV)

Click Save/Apply.

Reboot your ZTE BTU and IPTV and Router.
It's interesting to know ZTE BTU itself already can create vlan tagging, that means no need for another device! thumbup.gif
How I wish I could do the same thing on my Huawei BTU .... sad.gif
klseet
post Nov 22 2010, 02:23 PM

130 posts

It has been quite sometime didn't access this forum since my RB750 been running perfectly so far, hope I didn't miss out any interesting topics tongue.gif

Anywhere, just an update that soon there will be a replacement for DIR-615 on retail market! brows.gif

Recently by chance I met the TP-Link MY+SG sales manager, we talk a bit on routers and when we talk about UniFi topic (especially on the DIR-615 problem), he immediately offer to pass me a beta test unit TL-841ND
http://www.tp-link.com/products/productDet...odel=TL-WR841ND

They have actually customised a special firmware for UniFi to have both vlan.500 & 600 tagging on it, my initial test on my 5MB Huawei BTU seem to be very encouraging:

I have yet to test out IPTV and WiFi, so far it seem like I'm the only end-user to test out the unit, been busy lately .... sweat.gif
Since I'm not that technical enough, would really appreciate any sifu here can let me know on what else need to be tested, telnet to check or whatever need to be improved on the firmware. TP-Link developer has committed to work & support all the way, their main purpose is to allow consumers to have flexibility in choosing/replacing UniFi routers. nod.gif

According to him, once the beta firmware tested & confirmed ok, they will release it on their official website solely for Malaysia UniFi users.
Later users can either buy the product and update the firmware, they may also release a pre-pack package for UniFi Malaysia. rclxms.gif
klseet
post Nov 23 2010, 12:45 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Nov 22 2010, 02:23 PM)
It has been quite sometime didn't access this forum since my RB750 been running perfectly so far, hope I didn't miss out any interesting topics  tongue.gif 

Anywhere, just an update that soon there will be a replacement for DIR-615 on retail market!  brows.gif

Recently by chance I met the TP-Link MY+SG sales manager, we talk a bit on routers and when we talk about UniFi topic (especially on the DIR-615 problem), he immediately offer to pass me a beta test unit TL-841ND
http://www.tp-link.com/products/productDet...odel=TL-WR841ND

They have actually customised a special firmware for UniFi to have both vlan.500 & 600 tagging on it, my initial test on my 5MB Huawei BTU seem to be very encouraging:

I have yet to test out IPTV and WiFi, so far it seem like I'm the only end-user to test out the unit, been busy lately .... sweat.gif
Since I'm not that technical enough, would really appreciate any sifu here can let me know on what else need to be tested, telnet to check or whatever need to be improved on the firmware.  TP-Link developer has committed to work & support all the way, their main purpose is to allow consumers to have flexibility in choosing/replacing UniFi routers.  nod.gif

According to him, once the beta firmware tested & confirmed ok, they will release it on their official website solely for Malaysia UniFi users.
Later users can either buy the product and update the firmware, they may also release a pre-pack package for UniFi Malaysia. rclxms.gif
Further tests last night:
- WiFi is good, can get around 4~6MB/s through WPA2-AES (N) access
- uTorrent up/down around 500kbs
- online xbox360 gaming very smooth
No disconnection/change IP throughout 5 hours duration testing, overall performance feel just like my RB750! rclxms.gif

But IPTV still cannot watch yet, somehow the STB can get the IP address from host but it cannot load channels.
I can see from the TV screen, after it passed through the DHCP and get the IP, it keep showing "Searching....." and there is no "Network error" message.

I've captured some Wireshark data, since I'm not technical, I'm totally lost by looking at those Wireshark data rclxub.gif
Anyone can help here?

I've also sent those data for their developer to trouble-shoot, hope they can fix it soon.

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Nov 22 2010, 02:57 PM)
wow...can u test wifi stability??
issit tht router soon use by tm??
after clearing tht DIR 615??
No sure whether TM will change to other brand/model or not, but at least we know there will be alternative out there! nod.gif

QUOTE(otosan @ Nov 23 2010, 01:26 AM)

Added on November 23, 2010, 1:31 am
If TL-WR1043 ND is supported i gonna be very happy..!! One of the most Amazing router i ever have!
QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Nov 23 2010, 01:49 AM)

Added on November 23, 2010, 1:52 am

Do you know if there's any chance that they will also customise the firmware for other models?
Their developers are super busy now, their main focus now is to get at least a model to work first.
Once working fine, there's plan to do it for other models, may be even for 450MB WiFi product later.

klseet
post Nov 24 2010, 10:07 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(namee @ Nov 24 2010, 09:39 PM)
unifi in kepong is damn slow now !!! what happen!!?? anyone having this problem ??
One of my friend from Kepong complained UniFi slow last week, after checking, he was shock to see his IP became 175x and not 110x anymore blink.gif
I remembered my office Streamyx IP is always 175x, so I suspect he was assigned into non-UniFi network.
His problem only resolve few days after he complained few times.

And guess what, now the problem started in my area, since Monday, I noticed my IP also became 175x, when I use PingTest.net to check, I was shock to see I'm in Brunei!! blink.gif

The download/upload speed vary between 0.8~3MB on these Brunei's 175x IP. At first I tried to disconnect & reconnect, power-off wait few min & on again, sometime I get back 110x, but few hours it goes back to 175x !! mad.gif

The situation became worst yesterday evening, irregardless what I did it always give me 175x
I really tak boleh tahan liao, call them complaint gao-gao, insist to get my technical fault report#, capture screen and email them.

I actually told them if they still put me on non-UniFi network in the next 24 hours, I'll have no choice but to refer this case to MCMC as this amount to breach of service contract.

This morning someone few calls from them, they promised will get technician to resolve soonest possible. This evening I came back, the problem seem to be resolved, tested few times connect/disconnect and I still get the same 110x IP, hope it won't happen again. sweat.gif

I could be wrong, it seem to me something could be wrong at their back-end, may be they mix-up Streamyx & UniFi users. So better the IP & SpeedTest, if it's not up to your package, better call and complaint to them and make sure they create and give you the technical report# for tracking & monitoring.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0865sec    0.66    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:20 AM