Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

akerue
post Sep 12 2010, 12:16 PM

17 posts

I was searching for HP Procurve 1700-8 in KL and PJ, I have tried to call Asashi as suggested by bro invid but they only carry Dlink. Anyone know where I can get the HP Procurve 1700-8 cash and carry in KL or PJ?
akerue
post Sep 12 2010, 12:24 PM

17 posts

My internet connection is very bad since last 2 days, on and off. Is it a Unifi problem that some of you are experiencing also?
akerue
post Sep 14 2010, 04:40 PM

17 posts

Asus RT-N16 is quite expensive at RM399, but the RT-N12 is only RM179, is it a good choice instead of the TP Link TL-WR941N?
akerue
post Sep 19 2010, 09:28 PM

17 posts

Is the IPTV STB user specific or generic? If it is generic, any members who doesn't care about IPTV I wouldn't mind to buy 1 extra from you. I would like to place one downstairs for my parents to watch.
akerue
post Sep 19 2010, 10:33 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Sep 19 2010, 09:46 PM)
A bit of both.. they utilize the MAC address of the unit for some security features and I remember it used to cause a lot of problems back in early April during my install.
So, does it mean that i can't just buy 1 from friend and run both under 1 account? I am serious to get a 2nd unit but TM is not selling it even if I am willing to buy.
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 10:31 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(rizfield @ Sep 20 2010, 09:40 AM)
damn, i missed the bulk purchased due to long holiday....  =(
I may have an extra, I have asked a friend to buy for me in Singapore, another friend in Jakarta also have ordered for me without telling me. I am waiting if he can cancel the order. If not, I either keep as a spare or if you are interested I can sell it to you at cost (I don't know the price yet but should be around RM150 converted I believe). PM me if you are interested, but it has to be COD in Curve or 1U la weekend whistling.gif
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 10:45 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Sep 20 2010, 10:42 AM)
Maybe you can 'borrow' from someone and try. Many people will be interested to know whether it can be done.
OK, who volunteer to lend me his? I will try and if it works i will buy it from whoever willing to part his brows.gif
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 10:59 AM

17 posts

I have had problem with UniFi surfing lately. BTU and DIR-615 all looks normal from LED indicators at least, but my WIFI connection intermittently dropping (switching from Local and Internet to Local Only), and took minutes to open a web page. Is it a line or equipment problem? I have not called the CS yet.
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 03:05 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(covetous @ Sep 20 2010, 02:42 PM)
Hi guys, just wanted to relate my story regarding HSBB installation today at my house in Kota Damansara.

The HSBB guys came early around 9.45am, but the contractors somehow got lost and only arrived around 10.30am.

My issue was they could not install HSBB for me, because my telephone pit thingy (at my door entrance) was blocked by my built-in shoe rack. My telephone wires and fiber optic cables are underground (the access point is right in front of my house). They said the only solution was to hack the tar road (a bit only) in front of my house to create a new passageway for the cables.
However, i think the contractor didn't have the necessary equipment to do the hacking (judging from his proton saga,i doubt there'd be a big drill in there), so he said it couldn't be done, need approval from Bandaraya etc.

The thing is, my opposite neighbour installed HSBB and they hacked his tar road at the back of his house, he said they didn't even need to connect to the telephone pit thingy. The contractors brought all the equipment to hack the road etc.

Sorry, a little frustrated now, they left not long ago, wasted my day staying at home today mad.gif

Just wondering, anyone else had this problem? Is there a solution to this issue..

p/s: I asked the guy about the DIR-615 issues...he's aware of the router problems, according to him its a voltage problem or something,dunno la.    Apparently TM is tendering for a new contract with another supplier. Then I said "Kalau router ini banyak masalah macam mana?" Reply:"Ikut nasib la,kalau nasib baik,takda masalah"  doh.gif
My phone line duct was blocked also during rennovation. What they did was they used a metal pipe to divert the line to my garden and then dug a path in the garden to my house. It is quite neat actually after it was done.
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 03:48 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 20 2010, 03:42 PM)
Well it is the same for me underground cable here too, they took 9hours to complete my installations.  sweat.gif

External fiber come out from the TNB sewer cover inside my house storeroom(below stairs), then my telephone hub is @ there. doh.gif Because of that my BTU have to be inside my storeroom, so they can wire the VOIP output from BTU to the telephone hub to make all the phone wall socket in 3 storey my house work.  sweat.gif then my TV is @ second floor, they have to wire the full 30meter CAT5e cable to second floor TV, my computer is @ another room, I had to use home plug to connect my own router to 615 that is location next to my TV in living room.

Most sad thing is my BTU @ Storeroom is  doh.gif everytime need to config BTU need to bring notebook hide inside storeroom.  sweat.gif
Actually no need, for VOIP to connect to all your phone sockets in your house is very easy. just plug a RJ11 cable from BTU to any of your phone socket (e.g. in your computer room), and it will work on all other sockets that is connected to it. It doesn't need to be specifically connected to the telephone hub in the store room.
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 04:24 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(covetous @ Sep 20 2010, 03:31 PM)
Thx for the reply, you probably had a better contractor than i did  thumbup.gif  Did they have to hack the road in front of your house? They wanted to do something like that for me, instead of using the existing pipe in the hole in front of my house, they needed to hack the road, make a new entrance for the cable to connect to my garden..something like that, i dunno, a bit difficult to describe it in words lol.  rclxub.gif
Hehe you're lucky biggrin.gif  the installers told me underground cabling got lots of complications, easiest installations are those done from the telephone poles. He said my house developer wanted to make the area more 'cantik' by not putting those telephone poles  sweat.gif
No hacking of road for me, can't they run a pipe across your drain to garden?
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 10:27 PM

17 posts

I have set up the Mikrotik RB250GS per rizvanrp's instructions. Everything is working fine, except the IPTV is jerky. Is it my wrong setting or is it because the RB250GS is not powerful enough for the IPTV bandwidth?
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 10:30 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 20 2010, 10:21 PM)
Just for fun. Showing my unifi setup.

BTU : Hwawei
VLAN Switch : HP Procurve 1700
Router : Asus RT-N16

[attachmentid=1791548]
Do you have jerky issue for IPTV with the Procurve 1700? I am thinking may be Mikrotik RB250GS is not powerful enough for IPTV? icon_question.gif
akerue
post Sep 20 2010, 10:54 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 20 2010, 10:40 PM)
I think it has nothing todo with RB250GS performance, RB250GS is a gigabit switch, you only need 8mbps out of 1000mbps that RB250GS has for IPTV. Something must be wrong at your side.
I notice that port 2 (configured for IPTV) will flash and then stop intermittently, but the BTU keeps flashing rapidly. It looks like it is not switching quick enough? When I switched back to the DIR-615 everything back to normal.
Can anyone using RB250GS comment if they face the same issue?

This post has been edited by akerue: Sep 20 2010, 11:03 PM
akerue
post Sep 21 2010, 11:25 AM

17 posts

I noticed the CallerID of the VOIP is working now.
akerue
post Sep 21 2010, 01:58 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 21 2010, 01:43 PM)
Do you need to subscribe CallerID service ? I only see Private call when receiving call.
I did call to subscribe back in July, but it never got activated until last week.
akerue
post Sep 21 2010, 03:01 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 21 2010, 09:28 AM)
Bought at compuzone digital mall PJ. RM390.
yushin, where did you get your hp Procurve 1700-8? If the Mikrotik RB250GS turns out useless for IPTV, I may want to buy a hp Procurve 1700-8.
akerue
post Sep 21 2010, 03:22 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 21 2010, 03:15 PM)
I got it from Ingram Micro through my company account. How lag is your IPTV lag? Is it so bad until unwatcable?
My IPTV got a bit of jerking when I switch channel and occationally while watching. Not really big deal lor.

The IPTV lag between DIR-615 and RB250GS very noticable?
Unwatchable, the error message came out saying "Service is temporarily not available", after 2-3 times it just totally freeze. I will try again tonight to disable the Auto Negotiation and force Full Duplex, not sure it will help. But anyway, last night I couldn't get live TV through both DIR-615 and RB250GS, so there was already line problem. But DIR-615 can play VOD ok but not RB250GS. So, I am not sure if it is a line problem or hardware problem, or just a configuration problem. However, RB250GS only has 96KB RAM, is it too small and caused the buffering problem?

This post has been edited by akerue: Sep 21 2010, 03:24 PM
akerue
post Sep 21 2010, 04:40 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ayamstim @ Sep 21 2010, 04:34 PM)
The only problem I had recently with IPTV was with the new channels (Universal & SyFy). After watching either channel for a few minutes, it would suddenly hang for a while, then go blank and display that small satellite icon (indicating signal loss?). Funny thing is, I can view them just fine via channel 100. It'll be back to normal after a while, then the same problem would happen again. Haven't had the time to complain to UniFi CS yet. Anyone else experience this issue?
It happened randomly to any channel for me. IPTV is really not stable, a lot of time I can't watch LiveTV but can watch VOD.
akerue
post Sep 21 2010, 04:55 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Prevail @ Sep 21 2010, 04:52 PM)
any experienced often internet down?? IPTV and so on seemed not so important for me but blazing fast internet is what i real concerned..any?
If you use the TM-615 router, you probably have to restart your router few times as it tends to freeze after a while.

0.0901sec    0.56    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:14 AM