32 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The Samsung BD-C5500 BD Player owner's thread, For users to share tips and solutions

Andrewtst
post Dec 5 2010, 12:53 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,778 posts

QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Dec 5 2010, 12:09 PM)
oo.. i really dont know such AHEM lolz...

Added on December 5, 2010, 12:12 pmI think better save money and think twice. As now i still enjoying DVD lolz..

By the way, how much is a PS3 right now ? i heard somebody says that PS3 only allow to play Ori wo

Ya. Ahem is RM 25 per BD, some shop do sell buy 5 = RM 100, but Ahem is 25GB not 50GB, quality still not bad, just some longest movie you may find some color render issue or fading issue. (and depends on vendor also, some is badly did even the subtitle is not follow sequence, example you choose English but they give you Chinese subtitle, once you get a nice vendor, you will happy with it)

* Those RM 10 - RM 12 is not BD, those is DVD9 only even the case label with BD.
* Now in market got few damn nice steelbook case which sold RM 20 also not a BD but DVD9 only.

** You can always take out the disc and differentiate on it, the texture surface in BD is different compare with DVD.

*** I am not that rich, sorry I can't get all Ori. Some movie I won't take Ori one, only those my favor to be collection will be in Ori. laugh.gif
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Once you see BD, you won't enjoy DVD anymore, beside clarity, most BD title is remastered better. (Not all title, but most).

PS3 I no idea, never in my mind. I not play TV games one tongue.gif only play PC games.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Dec 5 2010, 01:03 PM
jeehouhee
post Dec 5 2010, 01:06 PM

221 posts

thanks for the info. Me too never play PS/2/3. I more to Pc (ALOT)

But once start BD i think no more DVD and spend alot too. haha

Added on December 5, 2010, 1:11 pm
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 5 2010, 12:53 PM)
Ya. Ahem is RM 25 per BD, some shop do sell buy 5 = RM 100, but Ahem is 25GB not 50GB, quality still not bad, just some longest movie you may find some color render issue or fading issue. (and depends on vendor also, some is badly did even the subtitle is not follow sequence, example you choose English but they give you Chinese subtitle, once you get a nice vendor, you will happy with it)

* Those RM 10 - RM 12 is not BD, those is DVD9 only even the case label with BD.
* Now in market got few damn nice steelbook case which sold RM 20 also not a BD but DVD9 only.

** You can always take out the disc and differentiate on it, the texture surface in BD is different compare with DVD.

*** I am not that rich, sorry I can't get all Ori. Some movie I won't take Ori one, only those my favor to be collection will be in Ori.  laugh.gif
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Once you see BD, you won't enjoy DVD anymore, beside clarity, most BD title is remastered better. (Not all title, but most).

PS3 I no idea, never in my mind. I not play TV games one tongue.gif only play PC games.
Besides, what is the different between RM5 DVD and so call "Bluray" DVD9 that selling RM10-12 ?

This post has been edited by jeehouhee: Dec 5 2010, 01:11 PM
Andrewtst
post Dec 5 2010, 01:14 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,778 posts

QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Dec 5 2010, 01:06 PM)
thanks for the info. Me too never play PS/2/3. I more to Pc (ALOT)

But once start BD i think no more DVD and spend alot too. haha

Welcome, smile.gif Ya me also, now I feel regret buying those ori DVD, especially that LOTR Extended (that time I buy RM 499 - I get it on 1st hand when release).

After I seen Ahem BD of LOTR already damn clear (at least better a lot than DVD lo), wow! I not getting ori as I want extended, hope and when extended BD release, I will buy ori. hehe.

** But anyway for collection, I still highly recommended on Ori. They is still differences between it.

Added on December 5, 2010, 1:17 pm
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Dec 5 2010, 01:06 PM)
Besides, what is the different between RM5 DVD and so call "Bluray" DVD9 that selling RM10-12 ?
RM 5 DVD is DVD5 which is around 4.3GB only and most source from internet or cinema record, sometimes is from screener (those sample copy for internal use) copy.

those BD label but actual DVD9 is 7.4GB and mostly re-encoded from ori BD, some title is just actual DVD9 copy over.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Dec 5 2010, 01:17 PM
jeehouhee
post Dec 5 2010, 01:21 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 5 2010, 01:14 PM)
Welcome, smile.gif Ya me also, now I feel regret buying those ori DVD, especially that LOTR Extended (that time I buy RM 499 - I get it on 1st hand when release).

After I seen Ahem BD of LOTR already damn clear (at least better a lot than DVD lo), wow! I not getting ori as I want extended, hope and when extended BD release, I will buy ori. hehe.
** But anyway for collection, I still highly recommended on Ori. They is still differences between it.

Added on December 5, 2010, 1:17 pm
RM 5 DVD is DVD5 which is around 4.3GB only and most source from internet or cinema record, sometimes is from screener (those sample copy for internal use) copy.

those BD label but actual DVD9 is 7.4GB and mostly re-encoded from ori BD, some title is just actual DVD9 copy over.
OMG RM499. u must be super LOTR fans and Movieholic.

ooo... RM5 DVD cover put DVD9, RM10-12 BD. Pirated memang pirated.
Andrewtst
post Dec 5 2010, 03:23 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,778 posts

QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Dec 5 2010, 01:21 PM)
OMG RM499. u must be super LOTR fans and Movieholic.

ooo... RM5 DVD cover put DVD9, RM10-12 BD. Pirated memang pirated.

Yeah! Because it is pirated ma.

DVD9 already can put BD lo. Why not? tongue.gif

TSronaldkwok
post Dec 5 2010, 05:23 PM

656 posts

Wah, now this thread becomes discussion of ahem DVD/BD rclxub.gif
My comments is that there are also different grades of ahem BD out there (not just the DVD9 copied from BD but the 25G discs) but it is always better to go for the Ori especially those on offer in Amazon or other online source where it costs a bit more but you get the full works, more so if you like the extras stuff that are provided.

bro jeehouhee, the Samsung BD player only cost RM399 compare to a branded HDMI DVD player that cost RM299 so you should invest in one. The BD player can also upscale your DVD. What more you have a Yamaha AVR, so you should enjoy the HD Audio that comes with BD. With the cost of Ori BD approaching that of Ori DVD, one should switch to BD especially if you have a HDTV; otherwise you are not doing justice to the HDTV.

QUOTE(Konohamaru @ Dec 4 2010, 02:11 AM)
no la, i dont know the default setting (upscale full hd) is on or off mah, if default setting is off, i need to turn it on
so ask the expert where to turn on/off upscale 1080p features lor
Not sure whether the default is set to upscale or not. But if you go to Setting > Display > Resolution, set to Auto (if not already that) and the Samsung will automatically output the highest resolution that your TV can support. I suppose at Auto it will upscale to suit the TV.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Dec 5 2010, 05:25 PM
Skylinestar
post Dec 5 2010, 07:17 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 5 2010, 03:23 PM)
Yeah! Because it is pirated ma.

DVD9 already can put BD lo. Why not?  tongue.gif
DVD9 can't even fit in a typical ~15GB 1080p dts MKV. so don't expect too much on quality. sweat.gif
jeehouhee
post Dec 6 2010, 05:31 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Dec 5 2010, 05:23 PM)
Wah, now this thread becomes discussion of ahem DVD/BD rclxub.gif
My comments is that there are also different grades of ahem BD out there (not just the DVD9 copied from BD but the 25G discs) but it is always better to go for the Ori especially those on offer in Amazon or other online source where it costs a bit more but you get the full works, more so if you like the extras stuff that are provided.

bro jeehouhee, the Samsung BD player only cost RM399 compare to a branded HDMI DVD player that cost RM299 so you should invest in one. The BD player can also upscale your DVD. What more you have a Yamaha AVR, so you should enjoy the HD Audio that comes with BD. With the cost of Ori BD approaching that of Ori DVD, one should switch to BD especially if you have a HDTV; otherwise you are not doing justice to the HDTV.
Not sure whether the default is set to upscale or not. But if you go to Setting > Display > Resolution, set to Auto (if not already that) and the Samsung will automatically output the highest resolution that your TV can support. I suppose at Auto it will upscale to suit the TV.
Thks for advise. But Ori Bluray i so expensive for me as i still got alot things need to change. Example : Buy new Plasma or LED (as now i using Sammy LED monitor only) / Velodyne Subwoofer and Bluray Player too ).

Take it slowly to upgrade.
cougar richard
post Dec 6 2010, 06:39 AM

I want money
1,007 posts

QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Dec 6 2010, 05:31 AM)
Thks for advise. But Ori Bluray i so expensive for me as i still got alot things need to change. Example : Buy new Plasma or LED (as now i using Sammy LED monitor only) / Velodyne Subwoofer and Bluray Player too ).

Take it slowly to upgrade.
velodyne sub pairing with monitor seems like over kill leh...
need to change to bigger screen..hehe
jeehouhee
post Dec 6 2010, 07:43 AM

221 posts

But will go for TV 1st la coz now i still having Yamaha Sub ma. Velodyne just the sub ad RM2k++. But i always dream of it. Still lot more to upgrade !!!

Everyday forum forum makes me felt even worst to having all of it
TSronaldkwok
post Dec 6 2010, 11:10 PM

656 posts

You are very right to go for HDTV first before the subwoofer; then get BD player after TV. Can upgrade one by one and not all at once. I think not allow to discuss ahem BD in the forum so can PM me if you wan to know more and not get cheated by what is in the market. The best is to get Ori BD but I can understand the budget issue, so can buy those on offer first and build up your collection slowly. hmm.gif
jazzabel29
post Dec 6 2010, 11:41 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(jeehouhee @ Dec 5 2010, 05:46 AM)
Jazz what price u got for ur BLURAY player?

Any1 know hw much is "ahem" bluray disk ? i heard the "ahem"sales man said that those "ahem" BD that they selling for RM10-12 per Disk is actually DVD9 not BD.

Even DVD player can read those so called "AHEM" BD.
I got it for rm400. I saw some shops sell 'ahem' BD around rm33. Its the real BD and the quality was really good. even dvd player cant play it. smile.gif

Added on December 6, 2010, 11:43 pmcan somebody answer my previous question? whats the difference if we update our player using internet?

This post has been edited by jazzabel29: Dec 6 2010, 11:43 PM
milo-o
post Dec 7 2010, 12:22 AM

37 posts

In fact those "ahem" BD are actually BD-R, 25G or 50G, ripped from Ori BD. Even we can duplicate those BD as long as we have BD writter, 25G blank BD-R nowadays can get below RM10/pc, 50G is around RM30/pc. So if u r buying "ahem" BD for around RM30, definitely is 25G, they might have compressed it into 25G even ori is 50G, cuz you won't get to know whether it's 25G or 50G unless using BD drive. If u r buying for RM10-RM12, for damn sure it's DVD9.
Andrewtst
post Dec 7 2010, 12:44 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,778 posts

QUOTE(milo-o @ Dec 7 2010, 12:22 AM)
In fact those "ahem" BD are actually BD-R, 25G or 50G, ripped from Ori BD. Even we can duplicate those BD as long as we have BD writter, 25G blank BD-R nowadays can get below RM10/pc, 50G is around RM30/pc. So if u r buying "ahem" BD for around RM30, definitely is 25G, they might have compressed it into 25G even ori is 50G, cuz you won't get to know whether it's 25G or 50G unless using BD drive. If u r buying for RM10-RM12, for damn sure it's DVD9.
I don't see any ahem 50GB yet. As I know you can know it by see thru the disc surface where in the center circle they will be two label which means 50GB.

hmm.gif
I think we all shall back to topic now, this thread is not about ahem. It is for Samsung BD-C5500 player. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Dec 7 2010, 12:45 AM
TSronaldkwok
post Dec 7 2010, 06:48 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 7 2010, 12:44 AM)
I think we all shall back to topic now, this thread is not about ahem. It is for Samsung BD-C5500 player.  smile.gif
Right. Since you have upgraded the firmware for the Samsung, what are the improvements or changes that you know? BTW, what version is the latest firmware for the BD-C5500?

cougar richard
post Dec 7 2010, 07:02 AM

I want money
1,007 posts

is there anyway to alter the firmware ourself?
like open source one?
adil-hazly
post Dec 7 2010, 07:36 AM

39 posts

Hi all,

BD movie ehem-ehem already sell openly at RM 28 here at my place Ipoh...

My friend sam C6500 play this ehem without lag/problem...this ehem
is 100% from master copy...

wowww...2011 gonna be year of Blu ray...

Added on December 8, 2010, 7:39 amHArver norman at . Quensbay mall penang has sell sams BD-c5900 3D ready player at 599.

Yesterday still seing only 4 box left on the shop floor.im so bad lucky at that time due to don have enough cash in my wallet.

RM 599 3D bdplayer..totally unbelieveable.Maybe worng price from harv. norman...?

This post has been edited by adil-hazly: Dec 8 2010, 07:39 AM
milo-o
post Dec 8 2010, 08:13 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(adil-hazly @ Dec 7 2010, 07:36 AM)
Hi all,

Added on December 8, 2010, 7:39 amHArver norman at . Quensbay mall penang has sell sams BD-c5900 3D ready player at 599.

Yesterday still seing only 4 box left on the shop floor.im so bad lucky at that time due to don have enough cash in my wallet.

RM 599 3D bdplayer..totally unbelieveable.Maybe worng price from harv. norman...?
Yup i saw the offer too, and the funny thing is, they were selling C5500 for RM699, i wonder who on earth would buy C5500 for RM699 instead of a 3D BD player for RM599. doh.gif

During last week's PC Expo in PISA, C6900 3D BD player were sold at RM500, only 1 or 2 units available cuz got customers bought 3D plasma but didn't want to buy the package offer of C6900 at RM500, my friend grapped 2 units, damn lucky!!! rclxms.gif
Andrewtst
post Dec 8 2010, 10:51 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,778 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Dec 7 2010, 06:48 AM)
Right. Since you have upgraded the firmware for the Samsung, what are the improvements or changes that you know? BTW, what version is the latest firmware for the BD-C5500?
Improvement? Sincerely said I don't know what it updates lo, no different I notice. (It seems load disc more smoothly, at least the only I notice is they don't have issue when you stop in middle and load back, seem more smooth and balance in speed).

Latest firmware is 1019.0
Spawnster
post Dec 8 2010, 11:16 AM

497 posts

just bought my samsung c5500 for RM350 at HLK. so far satisfied with it compared to my pana HTIB. for dvd up scale...the c5500 performs very much better compared to my pana. so worth every cent.

32 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:23 AM