HTC HD2 : Users on Android

TSbenny888
post Oct 14 2010, 07:30 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ic_boyz85 @ Oct 14 2010, 07:24 AM)
Hello Benny.i need help here..i wanna set up internet for froyostone sense 31 using maxis
i already got to Home -> menu -> setting - > mobile networks - > then apns but when i tap apn..the screen black...i cant set up for 3g network.i mean not totally black but when tap apn..the screen show black
For ur info...here rarely have 3g network ..but always have gprs mode..so what i need to do
Press the hard menu button to launch set apn
TSbenny888
post Oct 14 2010, 09:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(milolauda @ Oct 14 2010, 08:41 AM)
@Benny

hav you try W7 on HD2 yet?
Not available yet but I believe we should see a working
version in a month time. only 3 of the hd2 hard button will be functional

TSbenny888
post Oct 14 2010, 10:34 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ic_boyz85 @ Oct 14 2010, 10:18 AM)
Hello benny..i already done this

APN SETTING FOR MAXIS (3G)
==============================

Maxis Mobile Internet 3G
Access point name : unet
Username :
Password :
Account name : Maxis 3G WAP
Proxy server address : 202.75.133.49
Proxy server port : 80
Homepage : http://wap.maxis.com.my/

MMS 3G
Access point name : unet
Username :
Password :
Account name : Maxis 3G MMS
Proxy server address : 202.75.133.49
Proxy server port : 80
Service center address : http://172.16.74.100:10021/mmsc

btw..wanna ask is homepage and service center need to be fill in to..
For ur info, i already filled up all the required term..but still cant connect
This is for 3G . Since you said your area is weak use the 2G settings instead. Which rom are you using, nowadays most of the newer roms has preconfigured in the APN , actually no need to set it anymore

Added on October 14, 2010, 10:40 amI noted you are using Froyostone - he has only PPP version. If by changing to 2G settings still cannot, you have to replace the zimage with a RMNET version. For areas of weak coverage look for roms with RMNET version is better

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 14 2010, 10:40 AM
TSbenny888
post Oct 14 2010, 10:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ic_boyz85 @ Oct 14 2010, 10:40 AM)
i'm currently using froyostone sense 3.1..i'm already try connect without setting apn earlier but i cant connect ...for ur info i'm also using miri v17
Why do you want to use such an old rom when there are so many better and newer choices out there ??
TSbenny888
post Oct 14 2010, 07:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ic_boyz85 @ Oct 14 2010, 06:38 PM)
Thanks..i will try it now..  biggrin.gif...currently downloading Mdeejay FroYo HD v.3.5.1 now ><
This is HD version based on HTC Desire HD : the camera does not work. If you want a full working version, try Mdeejay Sense 3.0 ( based on latest Froyo build )
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=807333
TSbenny888
post Oct 15 2010, 04:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(milolauda @ Oct 15 2010, 04:26 PM)
any link to do the HSPL?

Refer post 1 this thread
TSbenny888
post Oct 15 2010, 06:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Keagan : THe GPS works excellent in all the roms that you have tested and other roms. I think your GPS is a isolated issue

So far in all the roms I have tested, I rarely has screen freeze issue ( it do happen once a while, meaning not even noticeable ) - I also do not understand why quite several users has complain about this. I guess is related to the SD card issue. I am using a class 6 card TEAM brand ( before that was a 8GB Sandisk class 4 )

The only rom until now I NEVER had screen freeze is the MIUI rom. It is also the fastest and most stable rom I have tested

Drop off internet connections I agree is more obvious on Froyostone, so I stop testing his. Try also to use RMNET versions if available. I have even replaced the zimage file ( taken from other RMNET roms ) to those PPP roms. It helps on reducing if not eliminating the drop off in internet connections

So far the only thing I am not happy with all the android roms is battery life. But since it is running off from the SD card, I do understand the higher consumption. Previously, on average my HD2 on WM , battery will drop by about 10 % ( 11 pm to 7 am ) but on Androids it ranges from 30 to 40 % !! It is however not a major issue as I have 2 spare batteries

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 15 2010, 06:07 PM
TSbenny888
post Oct 17 2010, 06:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Some notes on Titanium Backup:

1. Restoring back on same rom is perfect

If you are restoring to a different rom or different build ( same rom ) , you can choose just to restore everything . In principle, your system files of the new rom will not be overwritten. To have a 100 % perfect restore in such rom, it is better to untick all the red highlighted. This is usually what I do.
You can also select the specific red highlighted items if you wish to restore back your emails, sms, mms, bookmarks - I will usually do this after I have restore back

If you wish to restore from Android ver 1.6 or 2.1 to ver 2.2 , then I'd suggest you restore your data ( email, SMS, MMS, bookmarks etc ) using Titanium with care. I noticed some roms will hang. For such I'd recommend you use MyBackup just to restore the data only - I find it more reliable than Titanium

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 17 2010, 06:36 PM
TSbenny888
post Oct 18 2010, 08:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ChiaKhai @ Oct 17 2010, 11:46 PM)
@benny, for MIUI rom beta5, why cant i go into "sd and phone storage" settings? it force closes. so i cant unmount my sd card to install angry birds on it. any advise? thanks

btw, i cant get data on this rom too. but the G/E/H icon is there. just no data. APN is configured automatically, should i reset the settings? or em any better solution?
MIUI BETA 5 has problems ; dont use it - use the beta 4 version. Everything works. USE MCCM version 2 if you want to use MIUI b5

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 18 2010, 08:07 PM
TSbenny888
post Oct 20 2010, 09:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ChiaKhai @ Oct 20 2010, 01:06 AM)
for custom WM roms yes, it has more phone storage.
for android builds i dont think so, it has nothing to do with android phone storage.

*based on my logic, but i think i got it right, pls correct me if im wrong okay =P
Correct. The android is installed on sd card. For the hd2 tmous model with different rom size, just make sure the correct hspl version is installed or the phone will endue as a expensive paperweight
TSbenny888
post Oct 21 2010, 03:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Oct 21 2010, 01:32 PM)
hey guys,

mind sharing me with rom n android built u guys used to enable the paid apps on android market?

i m using miri v17 and mdeejay froyo sense 2.6 now. the built doens't come with market enabler. i dl it seperately myself and fake the t mobile us.

i manage to get paid apps appear.. but everytime i wanna buy it fails...
If you can access paid apps market with market enabler or market access, I dont think is rom problem. Since August in ALL the roms I have tested, I has no problem buying paid apps. You should look back at your payment details - you should be using GoogleCheckout to setup an account to pay for the purchases or - recheck your credit card details

Added on October 21, 2010, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(whoknow88 @ Oct 21 2010, 02:12 PM)
i cant get mdeejay build for Nexus . can u link me ? is it stable ?
All the roms can be found here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=735

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 21 2010, 03:42 PM
TSbenny888
post Oct 21 2010, 11:26 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ic_boyz85 @ Oct 21 2010, 10:12 PM)
Hello...i just wanna ask..which application is da best to block data connection like modaco no data?
Any suggestion guys ?
i already try apndroid..seem not sure  cry.gif
I dont use any as I am on unlimited. But I do read on many websites APNdroid is the most popular and highly recommended. I install 3G watchdog just to monitor my usage which every month is slightly below 3GB
TSbenny888
post Oct 22 2010, 12:06 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Oct 21 2010, 11:27 PM)
is google checkout safe enuff huh... feel kinda insecure wif tat thing..
So if you didn't use GoogleCheckout, how do you plan to pay for your apps ?? Actually safe or not is entirely up to you to decide. I only can tell you from my experience buying and selling on the web for the past 10 years, I have no problems. My first choice is always PayPal and when buying stuffs I try to use Ebay as is most secure and reliable. Refunds are reliable too - got my money back within 10 days. I tried to avoid retail online sites that request me to key in credit card details unless they are established and reputable eg Amazon, Clove UK, Expansys UK
TSbenny888
post Oct 25 2010, 09:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(whoknow88 @ Oct 25 2010, 08:34 PM)
anyone know how to install Angry birds ?
can download . but cant install .
Just tap the apk file , it will just self install
TSbenny888
post Oct 30 2010, 06:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Android on HD2 in STUFF magazine ( MId East edition )

http://stuffmideast.com/2010/10/28/16630/h...windows-mobile/
TSbenny888
post Nov 1 2010, 10:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I have been on android for my hd2 since mid aug. In the last 2.5 months I have been following the rom development. I have also lost count of the number of roms I have tested. Since mid sept I would say most android roms are stable and I have openly endorsed that the hd2 can be a daily android phone 99.99%.

If you were to read the forums at xda or even here , you will see differing opinions. You even see same trend in hd2 cooked windows rom, which I have also tested many of them. Some will say they have problem with A while others will say they have no such issue with A but with B , etc etc. The list of issues and bugs as reported is never ending. As for me I have zero complains as what I need it performs flawlessly. Other people might be facing specific issues due to their different requirements. These are my daily needs: browser, email, rss , tweeter, facebook, weather, ebook, audible books, wifi thether sometimes, no games

I have rated the hd2 on android a score of 8 to 9 versus 10 for nexus and 5 for galaxy s and 8.5 for Dell streak

I hope this help you. But given a choice I will buy a actual android phone. The present htc desire is a great choice
TSbenny888
post Nov 1 2010, 11:24 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nijai @ Nov 1 2010, 10:56 AM)
I'm been following this thread carefully. I'm very tempted to by hd2 as my 1st android phone. Price is one factor, i can get sub Rm 2000 for a new hd2 plus i can tinker this phone to my need i dont think any other phone offer more roms development other than HD2. of course i still have to wait for the DHD or the HD7. hoping it will effect the HD2 price a bit. OR do any of you want to sell your hd2 for under RM1000 smile.gif ?
The going rate for used hd2 is around RM 1200 to rm 1300. Your only possible choice of getting below 1K are those who recently bought the AP sets for 1.5 to 1.6k but is also unlikely they will be selling unless they do not know how to best use it. Just look around at garage sales, they could be such new AP purchased sellers
TSbenny888
post Nov 3 2010, 12:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Nov 2 2010, 11:50 PM)
using Mdeejay froyo Sense 2.7 now, just notice all the apps i have dl and installed are on the phone memory instead of the SD memory.. i tot all will be installed on SD memory,

i m downloading apsahlt racing now which takes abt 98MB of my phone, lets say if i unistall the racing game, my 98 will be restore back right
No apps will ever be installed in phone memory. It all goes to sd. I think you are confused , the phone memory is the sd memory. Where you have this idea it goes to phone memory?
TSbenny888
post Nov 3 2010, 10:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Nov 3 2010, 08:51 AM)
ben,
is the 512mb/1GB image affect RAM /performance or it was merely for program storage ?
This is for storage. Don't think it will affect performance unless you have it full. 1gb is a good size and should satisfy most users. I used less than 300mb
TSbenny888
post Nov 3 2010, 01:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(CRSSER @ Nov 3 2010, 01:27 PM)
I cant install android on my hd2.. can't understand anything in xdadevoloper , any fast guide ?
See post #1 where I have simplified it

Added on November 3, 2010, 1:35 pm
QUOTE(xander @ Nov 3 2010, 11:15 AM)
is it? plz correct me if i m wrong, because everytime i install a new apps to my phone, my internal phone memory got decrased. and i went into settings-> Application -> Manage Application -> Running on SD card, i dun see any application there

so i got the idea that it all went into my internal phone memory
This is default android setting in any android phone. As the hd2 is a port you cannot refer to it. This will show program installs into internal phone memory, any sd ext psrtitions if any and direct install to sdcard? It is not applicable for hd2 as everything is install on card. you want to check your actual memory download free app Quick System Info to check your memory both phone n card. Try delete apps n you will see sd card storage increase

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 3 2010, 01:35 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0459sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:05 PM