7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!

ronnie
post May 23 2012, 12:50 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

What's the Upload Speed for the 10Mbps Maxis Fibre ?
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 08:28 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ May 23 2012, 07:48 AM)
yeah..  icon_rolleyes.gif
what is the latency for anyway? I never bother to take note of that.
But since there are quite a number of you guys asking around, I would like to know abt it as well  icon_question.gif
Simply put it latency is the ping time from your computer to a server. The shorter the ping time, the lower the latency.
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 08:37 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ May 23 2012, 08:33 AM)
it is like the shorter the time, the faster you connect to the internet?
Not entirely true.
Latency is time to get from point A to point B.
Shorter latency means your access to resources B is quicker. Internet has billions of point A,B, C,...
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 08:44 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ May 23 2012, 08:40 AM)
wahlau..so even the latency is shorter also not necessaryly means that you will have fast connection to the server outside?  shocking.gif
Let's say ping time to Server A is 10ms and ping time to Server B is 20ms.
If all factors being equal, accessing Server A is faster than Server B.

Let's say server A is serving 1 million users and Server serving on 1000 users.
Server B access would be faster actually.

Latency is measured at that point in time...does not guarantee it will be the same 24x7x365.
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 08:56 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ May 23 2012, 08:52 AM)
so it means that the actual is no one knows which is faster unless they have the data & statistics available with them to know the real accessing time n stuff..
You got it... if someone claiming to have 7ms to Game Server ABC, you could get better or worse than that person. Networks are dynamic in nature. We are not alone on the Internet (which most people think the server only serve one customer: ME)
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 09:01 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ May 23 2012, 08:59 AM)
i think it is possible for u to keep the TM line
they are running in different line
If you live in a condo, it's using the same RJ11 phone jack.
If you live in a landed property, you can keep it. Why support TM ?
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 09:06 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ May 23 2012, 09:04 AM)
yeah..corrent..forgot to mention that..
if calling fixed line tm-tm is ok la..cn talk untill u die also  tongue.gif
Only the Baby Boomers still call on TM Fixed line... Gen-X/Y/Z all uses mobilephones/skype/....
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 09:11 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ May 23 2012, 09:05 AM)
no i just wanna keep the TM line for the phone call. i read you need to change your number if you change to maxis.
hence keeping the TM line for home phone call while using this for internet.
Maxis range of landline number will be different from TM's.
You can also use Maxis to make free calls but to Maxis Fixed Lines, Maxis Mobiles and IDD only... TM not included.
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 09:14 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

With added Astro IPTV in the pipeline, Maxis will win Unifi....
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 09:32 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ May 23 2012, 09:27 AM)
yeah..even though astro is famous for their returns & returns
you can..but the tm or maxis need to pull an additional cable from the building to your unit and that will cost you a few hundreds bucks
it's called re-runs....
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 09:43 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ May 23 2012, 09:34 AM)
yeah..in 1 day they showed the same movie for like 2-3 times
Good what... in case you miss the first time showing....
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 09:49 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ May 23 2012, 09:45 AM)
Is it confirm? Worry later it said, for new subscription only =.=

Have applied mine from DrPitchard. Recommended thumbup.gif
another user thamch also confirm getting IPTV decoder under this package.
ronnie
post May 23 2012, 08:14 PM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(mjchua @ May 23 2012, 06:39 PM)
I saw from Maxis Forum, if over quota, the speed will cap at 512kbps
This is the answer from Maxis.
No quota until further notice. Thus we should "enjoy" the freedom
ronnie
post May 24 2012, 09:22 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

I thought capping is 10% of your subscribe speed.. 10% of 10Mbps = 1Mbps
ronnie
post May 24 2012, 10:00 PM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ May 24 2012, 06:43 PM)
All service provider quota also include download and upload man. Haha. Just scare that after quota thy will charge us. M**** always do that.
Once you exceed the quota, your 10Mbps speed will be slowed down to 512kbps (or < 1Mbps).
No excess data to pay....
ronnie
post May 25 2012, 04:31 PM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(DemonKnight @ May 25 2012, 09:13 AM)
if apply new line, does it included? must get from telekom?

Added on May 25, 2012, 9:15 amwhat if my area not in coverage?
The phone line will be provided by Maxis... Telekom™ won't be required.
ronnie
post May 25 2012, 06:30 PM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

Let's update here to see who gets a call from the Maxis Home Fibre installer...after submitting the form to DrPrichard
ronnie
post May 26 2012, 12:02 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(lokwm @ May 25 2012, 11:59 PM)
5ms.... rclxms.gif  tongue.gif
Where are you located ? Nice speed and ping time.
ronnie
post May 27 2012, 07:25 PM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(decimus @ May 27 2012, 07:11 PM)
correct...unifi RM149 for 13Mbps..
Don't misled newbies with your statement... you don't get to utilise the HyppTV's 8Mbps lah doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
ronnie
post May 28 2012, 10:14 AM

Not enough stars
21,307 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ May 28 2012, 12:41 AM)
how long does it take to terminate my phone line and internet ( tmnet, streamyx )
You have to walk into any TMPoint to terminate Streamyx + Phone line.
Possibly take at least 1 week (GLC style working pace) and plenty of follow-up.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0390sec    1.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:44 AM