Hair Salons / Stylists Recommendation Thread, Need recommendations? Ask here

jonny4
post Apr 18 2013, 10:22 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 18 2013, 09:41 AM)
i dont' understand some stylist. having you as customer for 10 years and still screw up your hair.
at 1st she cut my hair pretty well...but the last 3-4 haircuts i had fr her started to be bad.

eg...i always want the sides short n straight...no slope. so on one occasion if told her the right side not straight...sides usually cut using no2 guard. she takes out the guard n attempts to straighten the sides. end up one patch above the ear on the right side bit shorter n my hair is black so its damm obvious. i complain n she just replied "u said u wanted me to straighten the side wat...this is d result lo".

when i complain she says its my head shape bla bla bla.

dats y i needed to try a new salon.

hackwire
post Apr 18 2013, 11:12 AM

4,256 posts

what do you think of hair stylist using a trimmer? Some hairstylist i noticed trying to save time . I prefer those who use scissors all the way to do it and it looks more natural hair cut . the trimmer makes the hair look so stiff and perpendicular.

jonny4
post Apr 18 2013, 11:19 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 18 2013, 11:12 AM)
what do you think of hair stylist using a trimmer? Some hairstylist i noticed trying to save time . I prefer those who use scissors all the way to do it and it looks more natural hair cut . the trimmer makes the hair look so stiff and perpendicular.
i prefer and always request they use a trimmer. its more evenly cut n neater so it sharpens my facial features.

but depends on the hair style too. if u have those korean boyband floppy medium length hairstyles den using scissors would be better.
FrostPiercer
post Apr 18 2013, 09:34 PM

26 posts

LOL I hope I can chose hairstylist like you guys,my mum just bring me to the auntie and cut,normally below 10 ringgit. The past haircut is just terrible,just like those indian fast cut,like put a mangkuk there and trim.....my friend laughed me for the whole week......
jonny4
post Apr 18 2013, 10:22 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(FrostPiercer @ Apr 18 2013, 09:34 PM)
LOL I hope I can chose hairstylist like you guys,my mum just bring me to the auntie and cut,normally below 10 ringgit. The past haircut is just terrible,just like those indian fast cut,like put a mangkuk there and trim.....my friend laughed me for the whole week......
doesn't mean u pay RM30 for a haircut it will turn out nice LOL. trial n error wan la. lucky thing for us guys no matter how shitty d haircut (unless botak) within a few weeks it will get longer n we can try another hairstylist. but most important is communication. the lady that used to cut my hair cant really speak English n my canto is pretty shite. that probably contributed to the shitty haircuts.
Prince H
post Apr 21 2013, 10:11 PM

177 posts

i always go to SS15 saloon which called Cutaway
RM32 for wash and cut... Look for the manager to cut.... So far I try he is the best...
ugmonk
post Apr 27 2013, 12:20 AM

265 posts

Any recommended salons in Rawang?
jlshawn
post Apr 28 2013, 12:26 AM

281 posts

can seek for Joshua at Headish @ C180, Balakong, he is very pro and will discuss with you before hair cutting. He can see your current problem on ur hairstyle.
TamaUser
post May 6 2013, 05:49 PM

130 posts

Any recommendation around bukit bintang (Times square, sg wang, etc)? My budget is around 40+. I went APT in Sunway Pyramid and had their Senior cut my hair, it was really bad. Those hair stylists with senior appellation are around 20+ years old. My mother can cut better.
damachee
post May 28 2013, 12:34 AM

50 posts

Can someone recommend me a hair salon, or better, a specific stylist in hair salon for getting a simple matured manly haircut like those in american crew?
A stylist who is good in english and experience enough to perhaps discuss what kind of hairstyle will suit you? many stylist's tend to not say anything and just cut to what you say even though it might not suit.
I rather pay a bit more ~rm90-120 for a good stylist who knows what he/she is doing.

do you recommend places like 76style for these haircuts; or are they more for girls and super asian jap/kore crazy hairstyles?

snoopdog17
post Jun 7 2013, 09:57 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Apr 18 2013, 01:14 AM)
try Top Passion@Paradigm mall. one of the stylist named Andrew does a pretty good job for me. my hair type is very straight, thick n hard so very difficult to cut. cut too much or thin down too much n the end result will be disastrous. i been there twice edi n both times the haircuts were perfect. he even makes sure the sides n sideburns r evenly shaped unlike some other places where u end up with different shaped sides.

1st time i went there he explained to me in detail wat he gonna do to my hair. not so much bout face shape but he concentrate more on a hairstyle that suits my hair type.
how much did the cut cost u? and what is ur face shape? my face shape is long so not many styles suit my face sad.gif
jonny4
post Jun 7 2013, 11:56 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(snoopdog17 @ Jun 7 2013, 09:57 PM)
how much did the cut cost u? and what is ur face shape? my face shape is long so not many styles suit my face sad.gif
cost me RM25 after discount. normal price is RM28 (senior stylist).

i got an oval shaped face. most hairstyles suit my face shape but my main prob is my hair type which is really straight, coarse n thick.

go to a pro salon n consult the stylist. that way u can get a hairstyle that suits u. communication is key. many times in the past when i used to go to those neighbourhood salons, i couldn't really get d msg across to those aunties. end up with bad haircuts.
snoopdog17
post Jun 8 2013, 09:31 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jun 7 2013, 11:56 PM)
cost me RM25 after discount. normal price is RM28 (senior stylist).

i got an oval shaped face. most hairstyles suit my face shape but my main prob is my hair type which is really straight, coarse n thick.

go to a pro salon n consult the stylist. that way u can get a hairstyle that suits u. communication is key. many times in the past when i used to go to those neighbourhood salons, i couldn't really get d msg across to those aunties. end up with bad haircuts.
but most saloons i go too all just ask me what i want. kinda frustating when u have to pay them and they are supposed to advise u on hairstyles. haha. thx for the tips
jonny4
post Jun 9 2013, 01:00 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(snoopdog17 @ Jun 8 2013, 09:31 PM)
but most saloons i go too all just ask me what i want. kinda frustating when u have to pay them and they are supposed to advise u on hairstyles. haha. thx for the tips
some of them are like that. once my right side was a little uneven due to the shape of my head. i told the auntie n she took the electric clipper n proceeded to buzz d part where it looked uneven. ended up with a patch there as the hair was cut shorter.

always ask d stylist wat is he/she gonna do to ur hair. he/she must be able to tell u in detail.

i prefer male stylist to cut my hair. coz men understand d meaning of evenly shaped sideburns LOL.
Zelz92
post Jun 10 2013, 10:49 AM

366 posts

Steal Justin Timberlake's New Haircut
neo_n9
post Jun 10 2013, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion81 @ Dec 16 2008, 01:50 AM)
As topic.

Besides that? Do you give specific instructions to the stylist or just let them experiment on you?

Please discuss.
you should try at Krenggea Saloon & Boutique @ Royale Bintang Resort & Spa Seremban
he never disappointing me
his job is art to me
I do like my hairstyle now, hee thumbup.gif
SUSblinkxox
post Jun 30 2013, 03:54 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(newx @ Apr 18 2013, 12:45 AM)
Anyone plan to get their haircut @ Truefitt & Hill, BSC?  rclxms.gif

will prolly check it out in 2 weeks time.

just had my hair cut (i have it trimmed evry 3 weeks).
religionx
post Jul 30 2013, 02:13 AM

142 posts

Truefitt & Hill just opened their new barber shop at the new Grand Hyatt KL. Anyone been there before ? Planning to get a haircut for raya soon
religionx
post Jul 30 2013, 02:19 AM

142 posts

Did anyone get a haircut like Don Draper ?
lostmymemories
post Jul 30 2013, 06:16 AM

54 posts

Can anyone suggest any saloon that specialize for men's long hair? not specifically specialize, but can still make decent look for long hair style.

43 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:05 PM