COUNTERFEIT Windows 7 Retail BOX, How to know FAKE Windows 7 BOX

Quantum_thinking
post Jan 6 2011, 08:37 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 6 2011, 07:43 PM)
He doesn't say that you necessarily get the source made in Puerto Rico, but yeah, MOST stocks came from Puerto Rico before Microsoft have a pressing facility in Singapore. Also, some products are not available in Singapore.
Have any better way? I report, for sure I have no chance to get my hands on one, I blackmail them, later they came to my house and put red paint. So any better way?
What he mean is, where ever you bought the product, the source or supplier of the products must be one of Microsoft approved resellers, or that product might be a stolen one.
This is not the same anyway. Genuine disc have the holographic part "embedded" into the disc, not a sticker.
I see.

Better way? Buy the fake unit from the person being cheated. At least, we provide relief for them and might be able to negotiate with them. Better off than buying from the cheaters. At the same time, you can hear their story as well. tongue.gif

Indeed. However, not all the shops around Malaysia selling the Windows is approved resellers. Sometimes, we just have to take chances in our life.
The main part is that the buyers should really think carefully when buying and make sure that if anything happens, they can find and held the sellers responsible.

About the Nokia phone, I forget to add the "fake" word. That fake Nokia phone have such a low quality compared to the original Nokia phone. I am not sure how to describe it, so next time when i get my hands on it, I will open a thread in the Mobile phone section.
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 11 2011, 09:19 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 6 2011, 08:40 PM)
Anyone have bought the counterfeit one? I'm afraid most doesn't even realize they're buying fakes sweat.gif
Yes, but not all users are aware, so I help whenever I can.
Ahhh, there's no need. I've already seen those fake phones so many times. The problem is, to many peoples in rural area, they can't differentiate the fakes one until someone told them so.
I see. It is good to hear that.

Quantum_thinking
post Jan 14 2011, 08:32 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jan 14 2011, 03:07 PM)
I guess i had the unfortunate luck of getting into contact with the guy (my bro's friend...). Apparently he cannot provide a unit for testing and wants me to buy a set instead..

What are the chances that he'll sell me one ori set, and when that's confirm, unload a bunch of crap counterfeits on the other others.

Sigh.. and i thought it'd be solid lead just because he's close to my bro..
"Close" does not means he might not cheat you.

I always try to distinguish the genuine friend and friends who only get close to me just for the sake of exploiting me.

Just try to get a few sets of it to verify it.

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Jan 14 2011, 08:44 PM
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 14 2011, 11:42 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jan 14 2011, 11:40 PM)
one set about rm 350... a few sets is like couple thousand wei...

*search for microsoft contact to sponsor the sting operation*....
Which version he is selling you for that price?
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 17 2011, 02:27 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(ticke @ Mar 17 2011, 10:02 AM)
now internal drive is quite cheap? else go to office PC or ask someone to transfer to USB drive.
Internal Hard Drive or Internet DVD Drive? hmm.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 31 2011, 12:13 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Mar 30 2011, 11:27 PM)
Which shop is selling genuine Windows 7 Ultimate ?
I guess those business with shoplot won't involve in this kind of scam and smart enough to avoid it.
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 31 2011, 05:21 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Mar 31 2011, 10:32 AM)
What is the cheapest price for Windows 7 Ultimate now ?
OEM ones should be around Rm600 like that and the Retail version is about around Rm690 like that.
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 31 2011, 10:38 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Mar 31 2011, 06:29 PM)
I suggest that you get it from the official channel despite it is more expensive.

Check your PM.
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 2 2011, 09:40 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Justeafy @ Apr 2 2011, 09:15 PM)
where is the proper shop to get 100% genuine win 7?
Business with the proper shoplot should be smart enough to avoid it, but it is hard to say though. Where are you?
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 2 2011, 10:04 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Justeafy @ Apr 2 2011, 10:02 PM)
In KL or PJ area where are the genuine copies? lowyat mall have proper microsoft store?
You go to the shop like the ThunderMatch or the Hub like that should be ok then. wink.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 6 2011, 04:45 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Apr 6 2011, 04:42 PM)
if it is a counterfeit, can it be activated online???
Some copies can be activate when it is newly purchased, but after sometime, it might be blacklisted.
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 12 2011, 11:50 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(hamiru @ Apr 12 2011, 03:41 AM)
what about this?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1816757
everything seems legit, except of the wording 'Origin: Ireland'
It is not normal to see that. Did the seller provide anymore information? hmm.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 13 2011, 04:28 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(hamiru @ Apr 13 2011, 01:13 PM)
not that i know of, since i didn't deal with him

as which also happened to me, i've won a bid to this counterfeit Windows 7 Ultimate

although i've lost some money, it could be worse if the seller actually sell the counterfeit software for the original's price

this video clearly show how to detect such counterfeit software

Lost some money? Mind to share your story here?
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 14 2011, 08:25 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(fadzlie @ Apr 14 2011, 05:21 PM)
i saw someone selling windows 7 ultimate + ms office 2010 pro plus for rm200. claiming it is msdn version. is it legit?
The issue was that the license is not issue to you. I think the chances of you being blacklisted when getting update is less, but if BSA check your license means you are in deep s**t i guess.
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 15 2011, 09:51 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(snail_yin @ Apr 14 2011, 11:59 PM)
wahlau...now oni i knw Windows 7 also got fake one ar???
Even eggs that is sold at RM10.80 also got people wanted to fake it and sell it at a higher price.

Which 1 is not possible? doh.gif doh.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 17 2011, 08:37 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Apr 17 2011, 06:54 PM)
Yes, from what I saw around, the two most counterfeited products are Windows 7 Ultimate and Office 2010 Professional.
This 2 version earns them more "profit" compared to Windows 7 Home premium and other version of the products.

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Apr 17 2011, 07:10 PM)
Due to that I always remind my friends to avoid any cheapo ultimate edition unless they intend to buy from valid and legal sources.
Legal sources?
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 17 2011, 10:51 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Apr 17 2011, 10:36 PM)
generally I meant something from microsoft itself or it's associate that involved in selling their products.  biggrin.gif
I would say a decent business shop would typically avoid involve in this kind of scam. The only issue is that the online deals that is too good to be truth would be a huge risk for user.
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 19 2011, 11:56 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(iori_argami @ Apr 19 2011, 10:51 AM)
I can tell you that if you did not open up the shrink wrap be it you work for Microsoft or you OWN Microsoft you wont be able to tell the difference. From what i encounter is ALL Made In USA is a fake product. I bought 20 of Win 7 Pro Retail Pack. Mind you ALL CAN BE ACTIVATE, but after few days or weeks of usage, the non-genuine will pop out. A call to Microsoft they said that the "key had been blacklisted" Few other of the key cannot be activated, after a call to Microsoft they said that they key cannot be use in other region except US. Few more other is actually MSDN key which when u call microsoft to activate, they ask for your MSDN account. How in the hell is MSDN key can be sell in retail pack?

To me, once i encounter those "made in us" microsoft product, i will not buy them. I dare not risk it. Most of the microsoft product i buy now is "made in sg or puerto rico"

To all buyer or seller out there. Please be very aware of what you are buying. As the outer pack might deceive you. If you can open and check the installation disc then you know which is genuine which is not. Genuine disc is having the printed "embedded" into the disc. while fake 1 you can "feel" like a sticker is stick over the disc.
Phew~

Last time got people try to tempt me about this. Fortunately, I reject it. tongue.gif

Windows distributed in US also cannot be activated in other parts of world like SEA?
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 20 2011, 09:33 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(steven789 @ Apr 20 2011, 05:21 PM)
Holy sh*t. I just bought a counterfeit copy of Windows 7 in lelong.  vmad.gif  cry.gif

Lelong should ban those sellers who sell counterfeited items!  mad.gif
It is not easy for lelong to target them as there might be hundreds of them. So, do your homework first before shopping for cheap stuff.
Quantum_thinking
post May 6 2011, 12:25 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(locco81 @ May 5 2011, 08:56 PM)
Last week I won a bid @lelong for microsoft office 2010 pro. The seller is verified seller and rating is 100% good.

However when I received the packaging quickly I know it was a counterfeit product. I was able to do side-by-side comparison with my original copy of Student & Home Office 2010.

I made one bad comment to his lelong profile stating about his fake product. Few minutes later the seller called me asking me to retract that bad comment and willing to refund my money.

I got my money back.

People please beware. I've learned my lesson biggrin.gif
Lucky for you. Some sellers won't care at all.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0237sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:32 PM