7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[WTA] Cost for 20 minutes 2D Animation?, Might come out with real project.

TSwgn_white
post Aug 27 2010, 02:44 AM, updated 16y ago

200 posts

I want to ask about the cost of production for 20 minutes 2D animation?

The 2D animation up to standard with Japanese anime, I know we Malaysian can do it.

I'm not an animator and ironicly my field is far from this art field. (Civil and Construction Engineering) But I do have a band. biggrin.gif (Music = Art?)
So I might not know if we Malaysian have already a studio that produce a 2D animation up to Japanese anime standard.

To be honest, I'm not impress at all with the our animation such as Kampung Boy, Keluang Man, Anak-anak Sidek, and etc.
They are doing a good job actually, but still narrowed to "Malaysian settings" only.
We can't sell them out of this country!
That's the bitter fact.

In my opinion it should be promoting Malaysian but without sacrificing what international audience expectation.

Rule of thumb is, give your audience what they want to see, not what you or your government want to see. whistling.gif

But ironicly, without the support of financial from our government, it's hardly to produce a good animation.
Even Upin & Ipin were started off with a grant from government.

So far just know such 3D animation like Ipin & Upin and all those aired in TV1 or TV2.
Actually I'm an entrepreneurs who wants to break event for Malaysian narrow settings of animation.

Can someone also provide me with some additional cost like composing the opening theme song, ending theme song and as well the sound tracks, music back ground, voice actress & actor cost, etc.

Thank you very much. notworthy.gif
pocue
post Aug 27 2010, 03:59 AM

44 posts

ask directly to http://www.animasia-studio.com/swf/home.html malaysian 2d animation studio
meetxj9
post Aug 27 2010, 02:39 PM

187 posts

To be brutally honest, you get what you pay for. Guys like me can give mostly anything to the client, it all depends on how serious is their budget to begin with. Unless you have at least 60k in hand to back you up its going to be hard to do anything. 20 min of animation is going to cost you time, and that doesn't even include the pre-production phase. We really can't do much in terms of quality in Malaysia due to the grant itself, it is peanuts compare to what a canadian company gets. Plus most bosses who run the place have a hard time understanding what they even want. tongue.gif

My advice is get someone who knows what he or she is doing. It may cost a bit more to hire these people but they will save you major problems later on. Another advice is remmber that ANIMATION is NOT MULTIMEDIA DESIGN~ They are both 2 different subjects. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Aug 27 2010, 02:50 PM
TSwgn_white
post Aug 27 2010, 02:50 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(pocue @ Aug 27 2010, 03:59 AM)
ask directly to http://www.animasia-studio.com/swf/home.html malaysian 2d animation studio
The owner is a royal? shocking.gif

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Aug 27 2010, 02:39 PM)
To be brutally honest, you get what you pay for. Guys like me can give mostly anything to the client, it all depends on how serious is their budget to begin with. Unless you have at least 60k in hand to back you up its going to be hard to do anything. 20 min of animation is going to cost you time, and that doesn't even include the pre-production phase. We really can't do much in terms of quality in Malaysia due to the grant itself, it is peanuts compare to what a canadian company gets. Plus most bosses who run the place have a hard time understanding what they even want. tongue.gif
So you're saying that RM60K is for the animation alone?

... and sorry to ask this, the pre-productin phase in this context is such like, character design, market research and etc?

I know I need to research more about this industry. But I really see the potential not just the animation alone.
Well, I'll keep what I forsee to myself for now.
It's just that no one have ever brought the animation far from the animation alone.
Not even Ipin & Upin. Ah~ Haha

When you say most bosses who run the place have a hard time understanding what they want... what it's mean?

The boss of the animation studio? Or the client(me) who hire the animation studio?

Actually, I know what I'm want. I don't afraid to break the taboo of Malaysian animation. Hehe... No... Not hentai for sure! doh.gif

This post has been edited by wgn_white: Aug 27 2010, 02:56 PM
meetxj9
post Aug 27 2010, 02:57 PM

187 posts

RM 60k is the standard for international quality. You can still get away with a lower budget but it all depends on how well you manage it. Right now you don't even have a storyboard or character design to estimate how the show might go. To be honest i already have a marketing plan, it does not include marketing this to Malaysia only.

Asking for estimates now won't show you anything. You will to get something done first like pre-production material to start off the budget count. If your asking for something like anime i can suggest ways to do it, it all depends on how far you want to take quality from there. brows.gif

When i said that most bosses have no idea what they want i meant that they have the iniatial idea but don't know how to develop it into a proper product. brows.gif

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Aug 27 2010, 02:59 PM
TSwgn_white
post Aug 27 2010, 03:07 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Aug 27 2010, 02:57 PM)
RM 60k is the standard for international quality. You can still get away with a lower budget but it all depends on how well you manage it. Right now you don't even have a storyboard or character design to estimate how the show might go. To be honest i already have a marketing plan, it does not include marketing this to Malaysia only.

Asking for estimates now won't show you anything. You will to get something done first like pre-production material to start off the budget count. If your asking for something like anime i can suggest ways to do it, it all depends on how far you want to take quality from there. brows.gif
If that's it?(RM60K) then it's a good news. Good news indeed! rclxms.gif
Cost I'm expecting to pay more.

I am also outsourcing the character design and concept.
But yeah, I don't have the storyline yet. But the story line it would be my task.
Anyway bro, have you produce some animation before?
You sound like an experienced person.
I am eager to learn more from you can I?

What I want is something like Japanese anime, but yeah talking in Malays of course as the primary target market is still Malaysia.
I want to take the quality up to new standard better than kampung boy such as.
The quality in what I mean is the realistic of the movements, settings, and also the lip sync.
Including the world effects and so on.
Realistic sound effect and also good dubbing that will make the anime doesn't sound like it was dubbed in a drum barrel.(you know what I mean right?)

As if for now, from where I should started bro?

At the moment, I only have character design and the theme.
Storyline would be discussed with my other partner.(Of course I'm not doing this alone)

Proper product?
Hehe... I know what product would be coming along and I've already think up some "anti-piracy" campaign as well. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by wgn_white: Aug 27 2010, 03:09 PM
meetxj9
post Aug 27 2010, 03:25 PM

187 posts

2D animation is a tedious process. If you got the people to back you up it will be much easier. But first to get started you will need to do pre-production first. From there you will need to do quality control and so on. Everything need to fit the theme and style. ohmy.gif
TSwgn_white
post Aug 27 2010, 03:30 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Aug 27 2010, 03:25 PM)
2D animation is a tedious process. If you got the people to back you up it will be much easier. But first to get started you will need to do pre-production first. From there you will need to do quality control and so on. Everything need to fit the theme and style. ohmy.gif
... asking this again... what is pre-production phase?
meetxj9
post Aug 27 2010, 04:01 PM

187 posts

Ill let you know in PM. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Aug 27 2010, 04:23 PM
Evil1980
post Sep 11 2010, 05:32 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Aug 27 2010, 03:30 PM)
... asking this again... what is pre-production phase?
Pre-production phase is where storyboard, animatic, character designing and layout making run... They have to pass this phase before the project can proceed to the animation department... Why are you asking here? If you a client looking for a studio to hire, you should visit the studios and choose the one you like... Your idea actually really good and that's what we (animators) like to work on... Now most of malaysian animator getting bored working on pre-school children animation... We want more action, more serious storyline (a little humour too) and nice character design to animate to... Come! Come! Come! to our studio... hehehehe...
TSwgn_white
post Sep 13 2010, 12:08 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(Evil1980 @ Sep 11 2010, 05:32 PM)
Pre-production phase is where storyboard, animatic, character designing and layout making run... They have to pass this phase before the project can proceed to the animation department... Why are you asking here? If you a client looking for a studio to hire, you should visit the studios and choose the one you like... Your idea actually really good and that's what we (animators) like to work on... Now most of malaysian animator getting bored working on pre-school children animation... We want more action, more serious storyline (a little humour too) and nice character design to animate to... Come! Come! Come! to our studio... hehehehe...
What is your studio name?
Do you do the pre-production phase as well?

Actually this project is still in Step 0.

This post has been edited by wgn_white: Sep 13 2010, 12:13 PM
DeeteeCG
post Sep 13 2010, 05:39 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Aug 27 2010, 02:57 PM)

are u sure the standard for international quality is RM60k for 20minutes 2D animation?
im not really from 2D animation field. im from 3D architectural walk through field...
probably 2D animation is similar or lesser than 3D animation, but even it is 2D animation... seriously i find RM60k is very low for 20minutes time length. unless u were talking about freelance prices, which probably make more sense...

meetxj9
post Sep 13 2010, 07:08 PM

187 posts

I believe 60k is MINIMUM for animation, that doesn't include background, storyboard and any other pre-production. He was asking for Animation price, so i gave him just that:). The excess is uncertain since he doesn't have anything developed yet. Pre-pro and animation together will cost him 100k easily and this is a "if everything goes acording to plan estimate".
Evil1980
post Sep 13 2010, 07:11 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Sep 13 2010, 12:08 PM)
What is your studio name?
Do you do the pre-production phase as well?

Actually this project is still in Step 0.
Ah hahaha... I'm from Animasia Studio SDN BHD. I work in animation department. Of course we do pre-production and post-production as well. You can ask my boss and tell your idea and your figure of budget... Arreee... If you really come to my office, please don't mention about me to the boss.
TSwgn_white
post Sep 13 2010, 08:45 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(DeeteeCG @ Sep 13 2010, 05:39 PM)
are u sure the standard for international quality is RM60k for 20minutes 2D animation?
im not really from 2D animation field. im from 3D architectural walk through field...
probably 2D animation is similar or lesser than 3D animation, but even it is 2D animation... seriously i find RM60k is very low for 20minutes time length. unless u were talking about freelance prices, which probably make more sense...
How much it should be in your opinion? smile.gif

... and is there's any different when we outsource this to a freelancer or a studio?

QUOTE(Evil1980 @ Sep 13 2010, 07:11 PM)
Ah hahaha... I'm from Animasia Studio SDN BHD. I work in animation department. Of course we do pre-production and post-production as well. You can ask my boss and tell your idea and your figure of budget... Arreee... If you really come to my office, please don't mention about me to the boss.
Oh... From Animasia itself...

Which boss should I talk to?

Ah, not in this near time thou. Need to wait during semester break then can go travel here and there.

Now just doing some soft approach & research first. brows.gif

Why should not tell your boss? Later your boss know you ular-ing? sweat.gif Hehe

Btw, I never watch any animation done by Animasia, I mean all the tittle listed in Animasia official website.
But the scheme color is vivid and modern. thumbup.gif

From my observation, the animation published more towards US styles rather than Japanese anime.

Never hear how much one episode of those series cost the company? whistling.gif
Evil1980
post Sep 13 2010, 09:07 PM

21 posts

nope... the boss that u should talk to is Wong Kuan Loong a.k.a Ah Loong. He is an easy going person, with broken English. Hahahaha biggrin.gif ... Arree. Most of our project currently are for pre-school children. About the style is actually depend on what our client want. For now, most of our clients are from RTM, necklodeon, afrika and india. So it's western2 style laa mostly... sweat.gif
meetxj9
post Sep 13 2010, 10:04 PM

187 posts

Unless your company have an Art Director and some animators already i think its best you take it to a studio. Difference in Freelancers and Studios is that when dealing with studios you will have to sign a agreement to hand the entire studio the animation job. You will be obligated to pay them by monthly basis or upon delivery of material. I have been to Animasia before, best you go there pesonally to discuss matters. There are a couple more studios around here, so happy hunting~smile.gif

Our friend up there telling the truth, animasia really got no action shows in the making. Unless you count Superstrikers one.LOL.

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Sep 13 2010, 10:06 PM
3dassets
post Sep 13 2010, 10:27 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(Evil1980 @ Sep 13 2010, 09:07 PM)
nope... the boss that u should talk to is Wong Kuan Loong a.k.a Ah Loong. He is an easy going person, with broken English. Hahahaha  biggrin.gif  ... Arree. Most of our project currently are for pre-school children. About the style is actually depend on what our client want. For now, most of our clients are from RTM, necklodeon, afrika and india. So it's western2 style laa mostly... sweat.gif
I know your boss Ah Loon, he know how bad my condition used to be, he couldn't help since he don't use 3D, do you guys still play sport every week?
Evil1980
post Sep 13 2010, 10:43 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Sep 13 2010, 10:27 PM)
I know your boss Ah Loon, he know how bad my condition used to be, he couldn't help since he don't use 3D, do you guys still play sport every week?
Ahahaha... Ya, we still have futsal everyweek. Actually we now have 3D department in our studio, but still very young. There are coming project that we gonna use 3D animation, but it's secret, I can not tell the detail, hehehehe...
3dassets
post Sep 14 2010, 04:40 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

Its about time you guys start using 3D to generated the vector style or anime rendering, but be aware of getting off with the wrong foot and caught somewhere in between technical issues.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:56 PM