174 Pages « < 151 152 153 154 155 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK V3

Flame Haze
post Dec 25 2014, 06:57 PM

814 posts

Anyone bound for UK next Aug/Sep? Would like to have a casual chat considering I've received 3 out of my 5 offers. Aaaaaargh this wait for offers is killing me.
studyboy
post Dec 26 2014, 12:15 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(Flame Haze @ Dec 25 2014, 06:57 PM)
Anyone bound for UK next Aug/Sep? Would like to have a casual chat considering I've received 3 out of my 5 offers. Aaaaaargh this wait for offers is killing me.
Are you going to make anyone of them your firm offer?
Flame Haze
post Dec 26 2014, 03:23 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Dec 26 2014, 12:15 AM)
Are you going to make anyone of them your firm offer?
Still waiting for LSE and Warwick, but yeah if I don't get them I'm firming Bath.
SUSdD_se7en
post Dec 26 2014, 08:21 AM

Ang! Ang! Ang!
887 posts

hi everyone, may i know the financial proof of RM100k is necessary for the visa application? or is there any others way? such as reduce the amount, etc.
corad
post Dec 26 2014, 08:41 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(Flame Haze @ Dec 26 2014, 03:23 AM)
Still waiting for LSE and Warwick, but yeah if I don't get them I'm firming Bath.
If you got Bath, I'm sure it's no problem for the remaining two.

A happy dilemma you have now is to choose between LSE or Bath tongue.gif Most Malaysians would definitely jump at the chance at LSE, but I would give Bath more thought if you're into extra-curricular and a friendly community (and university!)

Flame Haze
post Dec 26 2014, 05:39 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Dec 26 2014, 08:41 AM)
If you got Bath, I'm sure it's no problem for the remaining two.

A happy dilemma you have now is to choose between LSE or Bath tongue.gif Most Malaysians would definitely jump at the chance at LSE, but I would give Bath more thought if you're into extra-curricular and a friendly community (and university!)
I sure hope so, but competition for LSE is damn stiff. I did give Bath more thought since I give priority to a more friendly community, but if I get into LSE, my scholarship pays me extra 500bucks per month, so I'm in quite a dilemma. Not to mention the better international reputation of LSE too!
corad
post Dec 27 2014, 12:24 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(Flame Haze @ Dec 26 2014, 05:39 PM)
I sure hope so, but competition for LSE is damn stiff. I did give Bath more thought since I give priority to a more friendly community, but if I get into LSE, my scholarship pays me extra 500bucks per month, so I'm in quite a dilemma. Not to mention the better international reputation of LSE too!
Sounds like JPA then ?

No arguing about LSE's superior reputation. But from another perspective, it's much easier to shine at a place like Bath (think Student Union President, Captain / Chair of societies etc) and the academic staff will be much more approachable ... which means instant contact if your prof invites you to meet people / recommendation to his friends in industry.

Of course in LSE chances are even higher of rubbing shoulders with off-spring of important people ... which may come in useful after they've established their careers in 10+ years. Academic staff unfortunately will be more of an "ivory tower" so no short cuts to anything tongue.gif Tradition wise (for fun stuff) LSE is almost equivalent to Bath which is not a strong point for either.

In any case, both are AAA universities. IMHO, keep an open mind and don't blindly go to LSE/Oxbridge for reputation's sake ... I know I would have been happier at another uni despite the brand name (Cantab 2012).

Flame Haze
post Dec 27 2014, 01:21 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Dec 27 2014, 12:24 AM)
Sounds like JPA then ?

No arguing about LSE's superior reputation. But from another perspective, it's much easier to shine at a place like Bath (think Student Union President, Captain / Chair of societies etc) and the academic staff will be much more approachable ... which means instant contact if your prof invites you to meet people / recommendation to his friends in industry.

Of course in LSE chances are even higher of rubbing shoulders with off-spring of important people ... which may come in useful after they've established their careers in 10+ years. Academic staff unfortunately will be more of an "ivory tower" so no short cuts to anything tongue.gif Tradition wise (for fun stuff) LSE is almost equivalent to Bath which is not a strong point for either.

In any case, both are AAA universities. IMHO, keep an open mind and don't blindly go to LSE/Oxbridge for reputation's sake ... I know I would have been happier at another uni despite the brand name (Cantab 2012).
Pros of LSE:
Networking
Pros of Bath:
More friendly community
More campus life
Their A&F course ranks number 1 in UK
Cheaper cost of living
I don't drink much lol. tongue.gif

The decision should be pretty easy eh? Maybe things will be easier if I get rejected by LSE. Deep down I want to go to Bath/Warwick but everyone says LSE so yeah.....maybe i'll convince myself by saying it'll help my future prospects

I'm sponsored by JPA, but the thing is, JPA doesn't let us study at Bath (stupid thing considering Bath's rank). Only filled in Bath coz JPA only had 4 choices (LSE, Warwick, Manchester, Edinburgh). Share your experience, if you don't mind? wink.gif

This post has been edited by Flame Haze: Dec 27 2014, 01:23 AM
SUSdD_se7en
post Dec 27 2014, 09:07 AM

Ang! Ang! Ang!
887 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Dec 26 2014, 08:21 AM)
hi everyone, may i know the financial proof of RM100k is necessary for the visa application? or is there any others way? such as reduce the amount, etc.
limeuu
post Dec 27 2014, 11:58 AM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(Flame Haze @ Dec 27 2014, 01:21 AM)

I'm sponsored by JPA, but the thing is, JPA doesn't let us study at Bath (stupid thing considering Bath's rank). Only filled in Bath coz JPA only had 4 choices (LSE, Warwick, Manchester, Edinburgh). Share your experience, if you don't mind?  wink.gif
jpa only sponsor students enrolled in the top 50 unis in the times higher education list...but it appears that list has now been changed by jpa....

bath is very lowly ranked in most ranking systems, and hence is not considered a top world uni....

if it's that part on england you want to be, try bristol....
studyboy
post Dec 28 2014, 11:30 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(Flame Haze @ Dec 26 2014, 03:23 AM)
Wait for them! You have till next year to decide! biggrin.gif All the best!
studyboy
post Dec 28 2014, 11:50 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Dec 27 2014, 09:07 AM)

Have you read the guide? What was the amount required for financial proof?
studyboy
post Dec 29 2014, 12:08 AM

522 posts

Pros of LSE:
Networking
Pros of Bath:
More friendly community
More campus life
Cheaper cost of living
I don't drink much lol.  tongue.gif

The decision should be pretty easy eh? Maybe things will be easier if I get rejected by LSE. Deep down I want to go to Bath/Warwick but everyone says LSE so yeah.....maybe i'll convince myself by saying it'll help my future prospects

I'm sponsored by JPA, but the thing is, JPA doesn't let us study at Bath (stupid thing considering Bath's rank). Only filled in Bath coz JPA only had 4 choices (LSE, Warwick, Manchester, Edinburgh). Share your experience, if you don't mind?  wink.gif
I couldn't agree more with corad here. Do not throw yourself into deciding a university based on ranking alone. You would committing a grave mistake! Try to glean as much information as possible about the life of an A&F student at LSE, Warwick and Bath from current or past students if need be. There is little need to conform to the ideals of others and go for LSE.

Nevertheles, do note that we are not trying to dissuade you from going to LSE! laugh.gif If anything, I thought London is fantastic place for a student. If I may, Bath and Warwick are to me rather small a city and boast little excitement too! I suppose it depends on your preference. You might say you like Bath owing to the perception of having a more friendly community, campus life and etc but what if they do not live up to your expectations? In contrast, London has everything for everyone! tongue.gif
cckkpr
post Dec 29 2014, 12:01 PM

4,518 posts

Pros of LSE:
Networking
Pros of Bath:
More friendly community
More campus life
Cheaper cost of living
I don't drink much lol.  tongue.gif

For A & F, preferred choice will be LSE and next Warwick. If you plan to work in bolehland, take LSE.
OTRoad
post Dec 29 2014, 01:02 PM

158 posts

I don't know if it's the right place to ask here but let's say someone pursues Accounting & Finance under a scholarship (say BNM/ Khazanah). When he graduates, what will he be working as to pay off his bond? Thanks.
SUSdD_se7en
post Dec 29 2014, 01:35 PM

Ang! Ang! Ang!
887 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Dec 28 2014, 11:50 PM)
Have you read the guide? What was the amount required for financial proof?
Which guide? I checked on some website which is stated RM100k, but what if i dont have so much cash? is there any others way? Anyone faced this problem before?
studyboy
post Dec 30 2014, 12:13 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Dec 29 2014, 01:35 PM)
Which guide? I checked on some website which is stated RM100k, but what if i dont have so much cash? is there any others way? Anyone faced this problem before?
https://www.gov.uk/tier-4-general-visa/overview

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/...-tier-4-student

To be honest, you would need more than that amount for proof of finance. The tuition fees alone amount to GBP 20k, which is about RM110000k. You will need to show enough funds to cover for your living expenses too.

My advice is read the guide thoroughly and try to plow through the jargon! biggrin.gif
eddydo
post Jan 3 2015, 11:45 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Dec 30 2014, 12:13 AM)
https://www.gov.uk/tier-4-general-visa/overview

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/...-tier-4-student

To be honest, you would need more than that amount for proof of finance. The tuition fees alone amount to GBP 20k, which is about RM110000k. You will need to show enough funds to cover for your living expenses too.

My advice is read the guide thoroughly and try to plow through the jargon!  biggrin.gif
RM 110 000k??? that's like 110 million lul whistling.gif

Anyways, my brother is studying in LSE now, anyone who is heading there might meet him thumbup.gif
LSE SU Malaysian club 2014-2015 Vice President

This post has been edited by eddydo: Jan 3 2015, 11:47 AM
studyboy
post Jan 4 2015, 10:28 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jan 3 2015, 11:45 AM)
RM 110 000k??? that's like 110 million lul whistling.gif

Anyways, my brother is studying in LSE now, anyone who is heading there might meet him  thumbup.gif
LSE SU Malaysian club 2014-2015 Vice President
Aiya!! It was a mistake! blush.gif blush.gif RM 110 000
cckkpr
post Jan 5 2015, 09:26 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(OTRoad @ Dec 29 2014, 01:02 PM)
I don't know if it's the right place to ask here but let's say someone pursues Accounting & Finance under a scholarship (say BNM/ Khazanah). When he graduates, what will he be working as to pay off his bond? Thanks.
You will be working as an officer in one of the departments and serve your bond period. Thinking of paying off the bond? Not so easy nowadays. Not only the amount spent on you but penalty and other damages.

174 Pages « < 151 152 153 154 155 > » Top

0.0428sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:17 PM