Credit Card v11

MilesAndMore
post Sep 19 2010, 11:49 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Sep 19 2010, 11:29 AM)
I work in an advertising agency and I'm told that OCBC's relaunched Titanium card will be advertised prominently in the papers tomorrow.

With the 5% rebate, I'm sure applications will flood in. So forumers who plan to apply better do it fast. I'm glad I applied several days ago.
Sent mine in on 2/9/10. Approximately 5 working days later, i received a text message from them asking me to resend a clear copy of my MyKad and existing credit card. I did what they requested. Faxed them everything requested. A few days later, the status was changed back to "under processing" in the morning. However, when i checked again at night, the status was change back to "waiting for pending documents" shakehead.gif doh.gif Have not received any calls or text message from them since though.

QUOTE(shauyan @ Sep 19 2010, 11:39 AM)
I saw the CIMB saying RM0.50 for IBG transfer on their website.
Why today when i first time want to pay my Citi CC at CIMB online, it show RM2? If really RM2 then it is not worth to get a Citi Plat Cash Back, because all my rebate will go to Cimb bank surcharge for IBG.
CIMB Bank was having this MEPS IBG promotion but i think it had ended. Anyway, open a Basic Savings Account with them. Then you will be charged only RM0.50/IBG for the first 2 transfers done in a month.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 19 2010, 07:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Sep 19 2010, 01:18 PM)
It's now 19/9/10  shakehead.gif  I think you better call them again to check if the application has been approved.
Yeah. I think i will do just that. It's been so long ... doh.gif

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 19 2010, 04:00 PM)
mind post the link to check the CC's application status online?

You can't check your card application status online. I always check it through their general line.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 19 2010, 10:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 19 2010, 09:27 PM)
And who says a person having a particular number is from a certain place? I have mobile numbers starting from 2,3,7, 8 and 9 where a few of them bought from LYN members at Garage Sale.
Last time all numbers from Sabah start from 8 only tongue.gif Most new numbers sold in Sabah still start mainly from 8 especially those numbers sold by DiGi and Maxis.

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 19 2010, 10:09 PM)
If increase the service tax to RM100, then is the time to hold only debit card......
Yeah ... i guess so. Not everyone spends high enough to have enough rewards points to offset the stupid tax.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 19 2010, 11:02 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 19 2010, 10:42 PM)
Ya, i didn't hold any cc until apply for OCBC titanium.
Although i spend not much but the cash back is much enough for me to pay the service tax.
They rejected your MasterCard Titanium application right ? May be you can try to reapply by pledging FD to it ? Will need to pay RM10 for stamp duty but this card is so great that you will get your RM10 back in no time biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 19 2010, 11:03 PM
MilesAndMore
post Sep 19 2010, 11:14 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 19 2010, 11:05 PM)
pledging FD??
u mean need to put FD in OCBC?

Yes. As collateral. This way you'll get the credit card for sure. Say that you pledge only RM5,000 of FD, they will give you RM5,000 of credit line for your MasterCard Titanium.

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 19 2010, 11:05 PM)
But why need to pay for RM10 stamp duty???
It is for the collateral contract i suppose. Anyway, they only charge you RM10. Alliance Bank charge you RM10 for stamp duty and another RM50 for processing fee shakehead.gif

MilesAndMore
post Sep 19 2010, 11:16 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Sep 19 2010, 11:12 PM)
My yet to receive OCBC titanium card has CL of 5k only... lower than my Amex Gold... lol
What ? Very low indeed. But at least you get the card lah thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 19 2010, 11:16 PM
MilesAndMore
post Sep 20 2010, 11:14 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(shauyan @ Sep 20 2010, 11:06 AM)
I have Savings Acc with CIMB, I am using savings to pay the bill. It showed RM2 at the time before I confirm the payment?
So it is still RM0.50 or RM2, I am so confused. I asked my fren some of them telling me is RM0.50 but some said RM2.

Anyone from here can confirm? Thanks.
Your CIMB Savings Account is most likely to be a Regular Savings Account. Regular Savings Account is a non-Basic Savings Account. Therefore, the MEPS IBG fee for this account is RM2/transfer.

In order to enjoy the MEPS IBG at a discounted rate of RM0.50/transfer (applicable only to the first 2 MEPS IBG done in a month), you need to open a Basic Savings Account with them.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 20 2010, 11:14 AM
MilesAndMore
post Sep 20 2010, 06:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Sep 20 2010, 05:54 PM)
oit JB ka doh.gif

any OCBC KL opens at Sunday?  tongue.gif
I think you have to look for OCBC Al-Amin.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 20 2010, 11:11 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 20 2010, 10:39 PM)
My FD was deposit b4 OCBC launch the titanium cc, i have told the agent b4, she said will make note in my application form.
But i donno she did it or not...
That agent always didn't pick up my phone or replay my e-mail.
That's why ... don't get why many people need an agent to help them to apply credit card. We can do this ourselves and follow up on our own. Doesn't take much of our time ... I do not even use agent's service to renew my motor insurance policy now. I just pay directly to AIG (now known as Chartis) and i get 10% rebate every year thumbup.gif

QUOTE(oyl66 @ Sep 20 2010, 11:01 PM)
hi everyone..i am planing to get 1 credit card for myself..RHB,citibank, public bank..may i know  which 1 is good? in term of service and package they offer?
Try the local bank first such as CIMB Bank and Maybank.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 20 2010, 11:18 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 20 2010, 11:07 PM)
Do u mind calling OCBC Hotline to inquire your card application status? only if you dont mind... sweat.gif
I doubt the accuracy of OCBC Automated Service.
I'd say it's pretty accurate ... for my case at least biggrin.gif

Anyway, spoke to a customer service executive (OCBC calls it so) this evening. My call was answered in just a few seconds. Told my problem to the polite Malay guy who entertained me. He promised to call me back as soon as he got the feedback from the relevant department which he did. He called me back just before 6pm and told me that they did receive photocopies of my IC and credit card last week but they claimed that the credit card is still not clear. He politely asked me to resend them another copy of my credit card, preferably through email this time around. Hopefully thing goes smoothly this time sweat.gif

MilesAndMore
post Sep 20 2010, 11:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 20 2010, 11:22 PM)
I fax them on 13th. They should at least tell me they're processing, not "Sorry, we don't find your application in our record". ohmy.gif
Then i suppose you should talk to them. If your application is lost then you can send them another fresh application form smile.gif

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 20 2010, 11:30 PM)
I faxed mine last fri and was told this afternoon that it was rejected sad.gif
how come yrs is so slow?
Because the credit card photocopies i sent them are too blurry ... so i was told.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 20 2010, 11:33 PM
MilesAndMore
post Sep 21 2010, 01:00 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 20 2010, 11:50 PM)
And, you would get a free AAM membership too. smile.gif
They did give me a leaflet and a sticker. Something about free towing service ... i believe that's the AAM membership you're talking about biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Sep 21 2010, 01:33 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Sep 21 2010, 01:08 AM)
cimb is having ongoing promotion at their card centres. visa infinite / world mastercard approval within 1 hour and card can be collected on the spot.

my friends applied today. for those who don't wish to submit income documents and would like to use existing credit card, if your card is hsbc minimum existing CL required is 30k. if current citibank cardholder, minimum CL required is 50k. if maybank minimum current CL required is 70k.
What ??? Only RM30k of credit limit needed from HSBC credit card ??? drool.gif Can this be done at Pavillion ?

MilesAndMore
post Sep 21 2010, 09:20 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Sep 21 2010, 01:46 AM)
both had theirs done in pavilion today smile.gif

do share with us when you get yours smile.gif

just wait for one hour get card immediately!
Yes. I think i'll try my luck biggrin.gif Will post an update if i get it ... But really sure RM30k from HSBC credit card is enough ? It's kind of surreal ... laugh.gif

QUOTE(Angel On Fire @ Sep 21 2010, 01:49 AM)
Hi there,

To get 10% rebate for your motor insurance, do you have to go to a Chartis branch to pay the premium? Or can just ask Chartis via standing instruction to automatically charge your credit card?
Every year, you will get a renewal notice from them. I do have to go to their office to lower down the sum insured. So usually, i pay at their office and not via the reply form. The 10% rebate saves me around RM60 + RM10 (agent's runner fee). To renew a motor insurance policy doesn't take much time. The total savings definitely is worth it that i do it all on my own. Besides, last time when my car got in an accident, my agent did not help me to do anything too. All the claims were prepared and done by the car repairing centre. So why would i need an agent's service right ?

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 21 2010, 07:27 AM)
So good??
My 1 is MSIG, if renew myself got 10% discount and those benefits??
Yes. I believe you will. I believe the 10% is the agent's commission and they will rebate it for you if you are not using an agent's service. Not exactly sure if MSIG will get you the AAM membership though. I believe it is exclusively for those renewing their motor insurance policy through AIG (now Chartis) only.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 21 2010, 08:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Sep 21 2010, 08:01 PM)
Yes! Go and try smile.gif
Thanks ! I definitely will tongue.gif

MilesAndMore
post Sep 22 2010, 12:30 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(oyl66 @ Sep 21 2010, 10:24 PM)
local bank? all of my friends dont recommend it...how is the offer of public and rhb cc?
Any reasons why they do not recommend credit cards from local banks ? Maybank and CIMB Bank have the most offers throughout the year and they are supported for most 0% installment in the market, something which you might find useless at some point. Citibank and HSBC have lots of promotions too but the kind of promotion HSBC is having all the time will only benefit those high spenders.

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Sep 21 2010, 10:40 PM)
if his hsbc plat is only 6months can apply ma? or need at least one year ?
Need to be more than 12-month old. This rule is made by BNM, if i'm not mistaken.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 22 2010, 10:57 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 22 2010, 02:12 AM)
Received call from OCBC Credit Processing Department. Said my NRIC and cc fax copies were too dark =.=
I requested to re-apply through email, and she really did give me an email! All the Customer Service officers said cannot apply via email, but this girl says can. What's going on?

You guys also can try to apply through "cap@ocbc.com". You may attach the form and supporting documents in Word/PDF/JPG format.
May be you can't send the application form through email but you definitely can email your supporting documents such as salary slip, existing credit card and IC to them.

By the way, cap@ocbc.com is a legit OCBC email address.

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Sep 22 2010, 07:21 AM)
Actually, they are right. You do need to provide prove of income if required. After all, the existing card could be an FD secured card etc.  tongue.gif
If the existing card is a secured card, they can check it through your CCRIS record. The particular card will be marked as "collateral" in your credit report which can be obtained at any BNM branch.

QUOTE(Coconut @ Sep 22 2010, 10:49 AM)
Just applied the citibank cash back platinum, 5% rebate on petrol and 2% on tesco guardian etc. Is this good? Or they are other banks offer better cash back?
Yes. There is a better one from the Singaporean bank > OCBC Bank. It's their Titanium MasterCard you should look out for.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 22 2010, 02:22 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 22 2010, 01:55 PM)
The goverment won't cancel the GST, 1 of the goveenment income.
Just worry will increase.....
They did cancel it before though. Anyway, i am still praying that it will be canceled one day but i don't really expect them to cancel it just after one year. May be they will cancel it before the next general election ? You know ? "Gula" for rakyat laugh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Sep 22 2010, 02:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 22 2010, 02:31 PM)
if u like cash rebate, try hsbc too, RM150 for plat.
Should be RM160. Anyway, they are also giving RM160 to those applying for the newly launched Advance VISA Platinum online too. And if you apply for the Advance account online, they will give you another RM30. So that's a total of RM190 free money tongue.gif

MilesAndMore
post Sep 22 2010, 03:57 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 22 2010, 03:50 PM)
the card doesnt look appealing to me as compared to the plat.

what's d significant diff comparing to the plat?
This Advance VISA Platinum is a notch lower than the generic VISA Platinum. In terms of benefit, it would be more or less the same except that the latter has higher travel insurance coverage.

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:12 AM