Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

digilife
post Dec 6 2010, 12:47 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

Steve Jobs ady said 7" tablet is DOA , meaning Dead On Arrival

he even went on to say tat if you draw a line in the middle of the ipad when you are holding it upright ( not landscape) tat is how small the screen a 7" tablet look like

you guys dun expect him to eat his words do you

sincerely a 7" tablet is really too small for ebook, i hav an 7" Android tablet tat i din touch since i got my Ipad biggrin.gif
beyond
post Dec 6 2010, 09:24 AM

280 posts

Digilife!~

Would you happen to be selling any Mifi Device? tongue.gif
icepixes
post Dec 6 2010, 10:14 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(qunox @ Dec 5 2010, 11:33 PM)
Hi guys, just wanaa ask a newbie question.

Is Ipad good for doing document editing? Can it connect to a projector?

Was thinking of buying ipad 3g.
It can be connected to a projector. Just seen a guy in our meeting group did that but using an adapter. Cost him around RM200 just for that cable.
balutmau
post Dec 6 2010, 10:27 AM

need some help here.

i found some problem on downloading game. My son accidentally press download for those game which have to pay one. and it automatically loading without asking for password. How do set the setting that it need to enter password whenever we buy the game/software.?

Just logoff before you let your son play, or best disable your wifi/3g
benny888
post Dec 6 2010, 10:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(qunox @ Dec 5 2010, 11:33 PM)
Hi guys, just wanaa ask a newbie question.

Is Ipad good for doing document editing? Can it connect to a projector?

Was thinking of buying ipad 3g.
Projector : Need the Dock connector to VGA adapter. You'd better countercheck first whether your projector is compatible or not. This is not cheap and many users end up unhappy buying it mainly because they failed to research properly what are the limitations of the product

Read users comments here : http://store.apple.com/hk/reviews/MC552ZM/...mco=MTc1MDc0NTk

And read Apple's OFFICIAL requirements/limitations for product to work , which many users didn't bother : http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4108

Document editing : Personally I find it is poor. If you wish to do intensive office work with lots of documents edit - you will end up frustrated. The editing mode is poor and cumbersome and slow. I's suggest you test out the edit function in the apple reseller store to have a feel of it. If you can accpt it, good. I find this is one of the major weakness of the ipad.

Added on December 6, 2010, 10:34 am
QUOTE(balutmau @ Dec 6 2010, 10:27 AM)
need some help here.

i found some problem on downloading game. My son accidentally press download for those game which have to pay one. and it automatically loading without asking for password. How do set the setting that it need to enter password whenever we buy the game/software.?

Strange - you are the second user here reporting this. Since day one, I always have to key in password to download any apps ( even free ones ). I was looking back at the settings and was unable to find any option to disable it. I am still on 3.2.1 though.

Maybe the new firmware 3.2.2 or 4.2.1 has this disable ? - any users can verify this ?

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 6 2010, 10:34 AM
balutmau
post Dec 6 2010, 10:39 AM

I am on 4.2.1, can anyone advise whether we should close the apps that are running on background ? Does it consume the 'memory' or can we just let it be, sometimes very troublesome to close all of them 1 by 1.

Also, i am looking for a gyroscope 'ruler' apps. Those tools that used by contractor. Anyone care to share ?
beyond
post Dec 6 2010, 10:49 AM

280 posts

@balutmau. Odd..From iPhone, iPod and iPad, I still need to key in my password everytime I press the button download. I m still on 3.2.2.
fariq_azad
post Dec 6 2010, 10:51 AM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

hi guys, am thinking of getting an Ipad and need some advice. notworthy.gif

Now that apple has released the ipad officially in Malaysia at a starting price of RM1549 some retailers who sell import ones (SG,JP,US sets) have adjusted thier price to compete and some even selling lower than Apple Malaysia.

The thing that I am wondering is that even though the import ones have International Warranty (and now can claim in Malaysia), what about the warranty period?

Do I still get full 12 months international warranty or just 12 months minus the date that the retailers got the ipad stock?

or does the wrranty date start from the date I register the device?

rclxub.gif
beyond
post Dec 6 2010, 11:06 AM

280 posts

Ok. I got mine on the night they announced the Msia release.
It was a sealed box. I got home. I plugged onto the pc. Registered. Just checked my warranty status this morning. It started on the night I plugged it in and registered.

Regarding the International Warranty. I checked with Machines. They said it s covered. I sure hope so. No need to head to Sg.
benny888
post Dec 6 2010, 11:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(fariq_azad @ Dec 6 2010, 10:51 AM)
hi guys, am thinking of getting an Ipad and need some advice. notworthy.gif

Now that apple has released the ipad officially in Malaysia at a starting price of RM1549 some retailers who sell import ones (SG,JP,US sets) have adjusted thier price to compete and some even selling lower than Apple Malaysia.

The thing that I am wondering is that even though the import ones have International Warranty (and now can claim in Malaysia), what about the warranty period?

Do I still get full 12 months international warranty or just 12 months minus the date that the retailers got the ipad stock?

or does the wrranty date start from the date I register the device?

rclxub.gif
Warranty start from the date you activate it through iTunes. I saw quite few sets selling at lowyat - claimed to be new but is already activated. So buy a new sealed set to start from day one
qunox
post Dec 6 2010, 11:20 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 6 2010, 10:31 AM)
Projector : Need the Dock connector to VGA adapter. You'd better countercheck first whether your projector is compatible or not. This is not cheap and many users end up unhappy buying it mainly because they failed to research properly what are the limitations of the product

Read users comments here : http://store.apple.com/hk/reviews/MC552ZM/...mco=MTc1MDc0NTk

And read Apple's OFFICIAL requirements/limitations  for product to work , which many users didn't bother : http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4108

Document editing : Personally I find it is poor. If you wish to do intensive office work with lots of documents edit - you will end up frustrated. The editing mode is poor and cumbersome and slow. I's suggest you test out the edit function in the apple reseller store to have a feel of it. If you can accpt it, good. I find this is one of the major weakness of the ipad.

Strange - you are the second user here reporting this. Since day one, I always have to key in password to download any apps ( even free ones ). I was looking back at the settings and was unable to find any option to disable it. I am still on 3.2.1 though.

Maybe the new firmware 3.2.2 or 4.2.1  has this disable ? - any users can verify this ?
Thanks, I think i'm going to cut ipad from my list. I really want to buy a pad, but mainly for doing document edditing
xda2
post Dec 6 2010, 04:00 PM

50 posts

Am 0n 4.2.1 and it requires password to download even free apps.

BTW, moved from the Galaxy Tab to the iPad. Wasn't expecting much but the screen wowed me. Magazines and newspapers look so much better more so because don't need to scroll around anymore smile.gif

Maybe the new firmware 3.2.2 or 4.2.1 has this disable ? - any users can verify this ?

[/quote]

KUTTY
post Dec 6 2010, 06:32 PM

92 posts

when i register for new itunes account, can i use my debit card instead of my credit card?
valentinonkk
post Dec 6 2010, 06:47 PM

317 posts

Can someone PM me a reliable link for JB 4.2.1 or 4.2? Please. notworthy.gif
KUTTY
post Dec 6 2010, 06:48 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(valentinonkk @ Dec 6 2010, 06:47 PM)
Can someone PM me a reliable link for JB 4.2.1 or 4.2? Please.  notworthy.gif
google it cool2.gif
Agito666
post Dec 6 2010, 08:15 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(valentinonkk @ Dec 6 2010, 06:47 PM)
Can someone PM me a reliable link for JB 4.2.1 or 4.2? Please.  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(KUTTY @ Dec 6 2010, 06:48 PM)
google it  cool2.gif
Then you 2 will kena notification from our dear mod. whistling.gif
SherM
post Dec 6 2010, 09:06 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(balutmau @ Dec 6 2010, 10:27 AM)
need some help here.

From my experience, if you're signed in and you just hand it over to your son without putting it to sleep first (pressing the power button), you won't have to key in the password. But after you put it to sleep, you'll have to key in the password. But that's just for me not sure about you guys.
jiant
post Dec 6 2010, 10:10 PM

1,785 posts

1. what mean with Ipad 16G ?is it mean the harddisk space that after Ipad OS or Ipad OS is include in 16G (less than 16G)

2. can i install internet explorer in Ipad?
Redcross
post Dec 6 2010, 10:24 PM

1,680 posts

Hello guys, new owner of iPad here biggrin.gif
juz wanna ask something about iPad

I dunno these 1 - 2 days....the iPad screen is flickering nonstop once a while sweat.gif

izzit due to auto screen brightness? cuz i set off also the same.... sweat.gif
UglyOrgan
post Dec 6 2010, 10:29 PM

22 posts

i just bought an ipad 16GB!!!! yay!!!!

hahaha... just a quick question..

I'm a current iPhone4 owner and purchased a lot of apps.. some are iphone/ipad apps.

can i sync those apps to my new ipad?
or do i need to pay another time to get those apps to be in my new ipad?

146 Pages « < 137 138 139 140 141 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:18 PM