Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

agn
post Nov 14 2010, 11:54 PM

317 posts

http://www.t3.com/feature/apple-ipad-2-rum...t-can-we-expect

iPad 2: 7-inch display
A dividing issue for many with the current iPad has been the size of the screen, and whether the 9.7-inch screen is as travel-friendly as something like the Galaxy Tab. Taiwanese component suppliers reportedly informed a Wall Street analyst that a smaller 7-inch display is earmaked for the revamped Apple tablet.

Jobs clearly has a different view on things however having told analysts at Apple’s quarterly conference call on the subject of a 7-inch iPad that, “This size isn’t sufficient to create great tablet apps, in our opinion.” Do you side with the suppliers or Jobs? we know who we would pick...

iPad 2: Front-facing camera and FaceTime
Apple has talked a lot of about FaceTime since it was unveiled at the iPhone 4 launch, and while at the time it was only available for the Apple's latest smartphone, it has since arrived for the new iPod Touch, the new MacBook Air and for desktop Macs.

So is the iPad next up for the FaceTime treatment? Well according to reports from Apple’s suppliers in Asia, the display aspects they are set to provide will be designed around a front facing camera. AppleInsider, has also had word from, 'a person with proven knowledge of Apple’s future product plans' that the camera many hoped the current iPad model would have will be added to the next model bringing FaceTime along with it.

iPad 2: Retina display and 128GB storage
The screen technology boasting 800:1 contrast ratio and 960x640p resolution, is currently housed in the smaller surroundings of the iPhone 4, but it could well find itself in the iPad in the not too distant future. The same Taiwanese component suppliers that claim a 7-inch display is one the way for the next iPad, also claims that it will be a high resolution Retina display. Storage capacity is also reported to get ramped up to 128GB while a micro mini USB port will be added on the connectivity front.

iPad 2: Connectivity
Patents are always a good indication for finding out what's on the Apple agenda and one trademark submission that emerged from the Cupertino company to the European Trademarks and Designs Registration Office points to a second 30-pin port. What does this mean for the iPad 2? Well, it could mean that you will be able to dock the tablet device in a horizontal and more traditional workstation position as opposed to the current vertical one.

iPad 2 price
There's been no talk about how much the Apple iPad 2 could cost, but judging from impressive opening sales, and the 3.27m sales Apple revealed in its quarterly results call, it's unlikely to change greatly. Cheaper tablet alternatives could be an argument for driving the price down but most of the budget iPad rivals we've seen so far struggle to match the iPad for all-round performance.

iPad 2 release date
While many suggest a Spring 2011 launch is the most likely time to see the iPad 2, the guys at 9 to 5 Mac claim to have spoken to a participant in trailers filmed for the next iPad ahead of a January 2011 launch. Could Apple buck the trend and change its usual product announcement cycle, especially with an army of tablets seemingly growing by the week? All we imagine will be revealed in the near future...
Agito666
post Nov 15 2010, 09:27 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(agn @ Nov 14 2010, 11:54 PM)
http://www.t3.com/feature/apple-ipad-2-rum...t-can-we-expect

iPad 2: 7-inch display
A dividing issue for many with the current iPad has been the size of the screen, and whether the 9.7-inch screen is as travel-friendly as something like the Galaxy Tab. Taiwanese component suppliers reportedly informed a Wall Street analyst that a smaller 7-inch display is earmaked for the revamped Apple tablet.

Jobs clearly has a different view on things however having told analysts at Apple’s quarterly conference call on the subject of a 7-inch iPad that, “This size isn’t sufficient to create great tablet apps, in our opinion.” Do you side with the suppliers or Jobs? we know who we would pick...

iPad 2: Front-facing camera and FaceTime
Apple has talked a lot of about FaceTime since it was unveiled at the iPhone 4 launch, and while at the time it was only available for the Apple's latest smartphone, it has since arrived for the new iPod Touch, the new MacBook Air and for desktop Macs.

So is the iPad next up for the FaceTime treatment? Well according to reports from Apple’s suppliers in Asia, the display aspects they are set to provide will be designed around a front facing camera. AppleInsider, has also had word from, 'a person with proven knowledge of Apple’s future product plans' that the camera many hoped the current iPad model would have will be added to the next model bringing FaceTime along with it.

iPad 2: Retina display and 128GB storage
The screen technology boasting 800:1 contrast ratio and 960x640p resolution, is currently housed in the smaller surroundings of the iPhone 4, but it could well find itself in the iPad in the not too distant future. The same Taiwanese component suppliers that claim a 7-inch display is one the way for the next iPad, also claims that it will be a high resolution Retina display. Storage capacity is also reported to get ramped up to 128GB while a micro mini USB port will be added on the connectivity front.

iPad 2: Connectivity
Patents are always a good indication for finding out what's on the Apple agenda and one trademark submission that emerged from the Cupertino company to the European Trademarks and Designs Registration Office points to a second 30-pin port. What does this mean for the iPad 2? Well, it could mean that you will be able to dock the tablet device in a horizontal and more traditional workstation position as opposed to the current vertical one.

iPad 2 price
There's been no talk about how much the Apple iPad 2 could cost, but judging from impressive opening sales, and the 3.27m sales Apple revealed in its quarterly results call, it's unlikely to change greatly. Cheaper tablet alternatives could be an argument for driving the price down but most of the budget iPad rivals we've seen so far struggle to match the iPad for all-round performance.

iPad 2 release date
While many suggest a Spring 2011 launch is the most likely time to see the iPad 2, the guys at 9 to 5 Mac claim to have spoken to a participant in trailers filmed for the next iPad ahead of a January 2011 launch. Could Apple buck the trend and change its usual product announcement cycle, especially with an army of tablets seemingly growing by the week? All we imagine will be revealed in the near future...
dun think it is real... whistling.gif
1) 7 inch?!....the first ipad is 9.7 inch and it is quite succesful for that, it is actually quite perfect for reading stuff...why need to reduce to 7 inch!? (i thing possible it will be have 2 choices? well i still guessing it will be stay in 9 inches.)
2) Retina display.... as i mentioned...double up the resolution size is not a good choice in ipad.... the resolution already same or exceed my normal 24" monitor (1900x1080)...and had to remember that, all developer had to increast the graphic resolution as well then the file size will hella big as hell. doh.gif
3) Dual 30-pin ports....this one is the only rumor i believe laugh.gif

oh well...in the end...i still say... "wait and see" biggrin.gif

bem69
post Nov 15 2010, 10:23 AM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

QUOTE(idesmond @ Nov 14 2010, 09:13 PM)
It doesn't matter where u buy it since all of them have international warranty. Hence claiming warranty in Malaysia when it's launched here is possible.
Actually, you're right, I almost forgot about that.
marky
post Nov 15 2010, 11:11 AM

xoxo
893 posts

just retain 9.7" or 10.1" 16:9 reso and make it lighter .. then its awesome hehe
stringfellow
post Nov 15 2010, 12:33 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Confirmation from AAPR and from my Maxis side that the Malaysian launch will be this November 26th. I fear that will be "too little too late" scenario, because everyone I know that wants one already have one. Plus the industry's already talking about the next iPad, and getting one now seems suicidal since the new one is so close to being introduced.
bem69
post Nov 15 2010, 12:42 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

At least its launching so we're getting the new iPad too, finally
bidfordun
post Nov 15 2010, 12:44 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(idesmond @ Nov 14 2010, 09:13 PM)
It doesn't matter where u buy it since all of them have international warranty. Hence claiming warranty in Malaysia when it's launched here is possible.
that is the point. i dont wanna go to singapore jsut to claim the warranty.
idesmond
post Nov 15 2010, 02:24 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Nov 15 2010, 12:44 PM)
that is the point. i dont wanna go to singapore jsut to claim the warranty.
Its ok.. u can buy now and hope nothing goes wrong with it before the launch in Malaysia.
Xirality
post Nov 15 2010, 02:53 PM

12,176 posts

should i really sell my ipad now? i just bought for 1 day
the only thing i want is a front facing camera aka facetime.
other than that i dont need.
Agito666
post Nov 15 2010, 02:56 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 15 2010, 02:53 PM)
doh.gif

who told you current generation ipad have camera? doh.gif

fruitie
post Nov 15 2010, 03:08 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 15 2010, 02:53 PM)
laugh.gif laugh.gif I didn't even know iPad 2 is already out. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Did you buy the wrong thing? You should have bought iPhone4 right? tongue.gif
Agito666
post Nov 15 2010, 03:11 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 15 2010, 03:08 PM)
laugh.gif laugh.gif I didn't even know iPad 2 is already out. laugh.gif laugh.gif
sell me rm 500 for that brows.gif brows.gif
stringfellow
post Nov 15 2010, 03:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 15 2010, 03:08 PM)
The guy has been clueless since his purchase. Asking question that is common knowledge and now this. I'm not surprised.
Xirality
post Nov 15 2010, 03:49 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 15 2010, 02:56 PM)
doh.gif

who told you current generation ipad have camera? doh.gif
sorry, my english is very bad.
i means ipad 2 maybe have facetime, should i sell it and wait for ipad 2 or keep my current ipad?
maybe i buy wrong thing? doh.gif

This post has been edited by Xirality: Nov 15 2010, 03:50 PM
Agito666
post Nov 15 2010, 03:52 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 15 2010, 03:49 PM)
sorry, my english is very bad.
i means ipad 2 maybe have facetime, should i sell it and wait for ipad 2 or keep my current ipad?
why you need to sell it now? wait for ipad 2 launch then sell it also can what. apple product wont drop price like others one... hmm.gif

i still wonder what is the good thing of facetime... baiscally it is video call with wifi network....anyphone with skype can do that i think hmm.gif
Xirality
post Nov 15 2010, 03:57 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 15 2010, 03:52 PM)
why you need to sell it now? wait for ipad 2 launch then sell it also can what. apple product wont drop price like others one... hmm.gif

i still wonder what is the good thing of facetime... baiscally it is video call with wifi network....anyphone with skype can do that i think hmm.gif
true also sweat.gif
since my family not apple user too.
probably wait till 3rd or 4th gen.
that will be a true "upgrade".
Agito666
post Nov 15 2010, 04:08 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 15 2010, 03:57 PM)
true also  sweat.gif
since my family not apple user too.
probably wait till 3rd or 4th gen.
that will be a true "upgrade".
apple product never compatible with other device doh.gif
Xirality
post Nov 15 2010, 04:31 PM

12,176 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 15 2010, 04:08 PM)
apple product never compatible with other device  doh.gif
i thought facetime can with itouch 4g, iphone 4 and mac?
ohmy.gif
Agito666
post Nov 15 2010, 04:32 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 15 2010, 04:31 PM)
i thought facetime can with itouch 4g, iphone 4 and mac?
ohmy.gif
i mean other BRAND product. doh.gif
stringfellow
post Nov 15 2010, 04:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Told you. Clueless.

146 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0368sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled