4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V3, Please read FAQ!!

kmrdeva
post Aug 18 2010, 07:22 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(carboncrome @ Aug 18 2010, 07:10 PM)
have any of u guys hv problem like this?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1530290
No.
kmrdeva
post Aug 19 2010, 01:20 AM

4,786 posts

I don't know about you guys, but it's tiring sometimes to see the same questions asked over and over again in the forum. But then again, with so many pages and posts to go through, I guess this can't be helped.

Most people will probably go nuts if they have to read every single post from V1 to now...
kmrdeva
post Aug 19 2010, 11:00 AM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(excellentteo @ Aug 19 2010, 10:54 AM)
what is froyo?
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=chro...q=what+is+froyo
kmrdeva
post Aug 19 2010, 01:41 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Aug 19 2010, 12:32 PM)
quote from a forummer in XDA :
Thanks for the tip, buddy. I've just installed a number of this Ritesh fella's apps - SMS Backup & Restore, APN Backup & Restore, Call Logs Backup & Restore and Data Controller. The first 3 are probably not really that critical since I already have Titanium Backup (full version) but it never hurts to have additional backups, I think.

http://android.riteshsahu.com/category/apps
kmrdeva
post Aug 19 2010, 04:31 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Aug 19 2010, 04:25 PM)
anyone tried flashing ur set to froyo (2.2) ?
JP3 (beta froyo firmware, I think) is usable but not very stable. Feel free to try, buddy.

kmrdeva
post Aug 19 2010, 09:08 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(sandycvs @ Aug 19 2010, 09:05 PM)
@ Crossover - Yes I am from India and downloaded DDJG4 via Kies.

After the upgrade, even after trying various settings to enable Vibrate in the settings and the UP & down Volume button and also through Sound Manager Application, my phone still does not vibrate for calls or messages...

Any help or inputs from your side to resolve this??

Thanks!
Have you tried doing a factory reset on your phone, sandycvs? I'm hoping that it's not a hardware fault.

kmrdeva
post Aug 19 2010, 09:28 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Aug 19 2010, 09:24 PM)
anyone knows how to flash a kernel ? sad.gif
Wasn't the mimocan lagfix a custom kernel for the SGS, supporting mounting of an external ext3 or ext4 partition on the micro-SD card? If I remember correctly, I applied this last time via the update.zip method (in recovery mode). Now not using any lagfix, so my memory could be hazy.
kmrdeva
post Aug 19 2010, 09:41 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Aug 19 2010, 09:36 PM)
im using htc hero anyway. tumpang thread . haha,  how how how ? any online guide ?
I suspected that you were not an SGS user. smile.gif

BTW, I don't think the guides for SGS will work for the Hero, haha..
kmrdeva
post Aug 20 2010, 03:34 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Aug 20 2010, 03:20 PM)
where can i download this market enabler? I tried to search in the market, cant get any ler..
MarketAccess

kmrdeva
post Aug 20 2010, 03:40 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Aug 20 2010, 03:39 PM)
strange...! I typed in MarketAccess in the market, also cant seem to find the app.

Mine device shd be roots, as i can see the superuser permission (pirate android mascot) in my application..

Anything with my device?
Or i actually have to download the apk files from internet, then transfer and install?
Correct, on the last statement.
kmrdeva
post Aug 20 2010, 04:02 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Aug 20 2010, 03:59 PM)
For the MarketAccess setting, at the SIM numeric, do i need to do any alteration? As it is something like 50210. or i need to change to 310260?

My service provider is MAXIS
Buddy, if you wanna buy apps off the Market, you will need to emulate something other than 50210 (Maxis?). I'm using 310260 myself.
kmrdeva
post Aug 20 2010, 04:53 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(masamura @ Aug 20 2010, 04:51 PM)
I did try Maxis at Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah.. the guy said have to wait for 2 weeks. SGS to popular in Penang?
Did you try the Maxis outlet in Prangin Mall (ground floor, run by Northern Point, I think)?
kmrdeva
post Aug 21 2010, 01:35 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(kokhuang @ Aug 21 2010, 10:16 AM)
Digi smartplan is RM68 but the voice call usage will depend how much u use..
So it wont be like maxis have to combines with another call plan.
But if choose digi internet u have to combine with the call plan as well...Correct me if i m wrong..
Let me correct you.

Digi Smart Plan is RM68 per month, which covers unlimited internet access (up to 3GB high speed, speed reduced after u exceed the limit). So it doesn't matter if you have a BB or an Android phone, Digi Smart Plan charges are the same.

Calls, SMS and MMS are extra, pay per message or call items.

I was on a BB Curve 8900 with Digi Smart Plan, BIS was working fine. Phone died and now I am using an SGS, network data working fine too.

QUOTE(harfeatz86 @ Aug 21 2010, 01:21 PM)
but theres some bad reply about the  galaxy s. hope u all sifus can clear this to me..

As hihihehe wrote, no phone is perfect. I can tell you what I don't like about my SGS - battery too small for the phone's awesome display and power (can just about last a whole day, based on my usage), slight heating up of the phone's backside when phone is busy on network or games, slight lagging once in a while when multitasking or launching new apps, no Froyo (yet).

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Aug 21 2010, 01:42 PM
kmrdeva
post Aug 22 2010, 06:06 PM

4,786 posts

Something suddenly came to mind... good is no cheap, cheap is no good. A statement that rings true more often than not.
kmrdeva
post Aug 22 2010, 07:57 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Aug 22 2010, 07:56 PM)
guys, my firmware is DXJF4, seems like alot ppl using DXJG4, is it a newer one? should i upgrade? need to backup or no?  hmm.gif
My advice - yes, yes and yes.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Aug 22 2010, 07:57 PM
kmrdeva
post Aug 22 2010, 09:23 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(Vint @ Aug 22 2010, 09:06 PM)
any help regarding my problem?
or should i reflash my phone?
1) can you access your data plan, i.e. can browse web without wifi?
2) are you using MarketAccess or MarketEnabler to allow access to paid apps on the Android Market? If yes, maybe that's the reason. I get this at times.
3) not sure what else could be the reason, maybe a sifu here can help..

kmrdeva
post Aug 23 2010, 10:38 AM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(ahhon83 @ Aug 23 2010, 10:34 AM)
My internet explorer always shut off by itself whenever i surf CARI forum, anyone facing same problem?
Your internet explorer on Windows PC?

As for the Android web browser, I initially had some problems browsing certain sites (e.g. thestar.com.my - browser would auto close). Found that once I unchecked 'Enable Plug-Ins' in the browser settings, it would be ok.

kmrdeva
post Aug 23 2010, 10:58 AM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 23 2010, 10:46 AM)
lets complain about maxis laaa.. i also hate their system... if i terminate, then i didnt pay, can they sue me? ~i already terminate once.. still hv hutang RM495. haha
Guys, I moved out of Maxis some years back, went to Digi (the first week that MNP was launched in Penang) then over to Celcom (because Digi had no Blackberry plan then) and am now happily back with Digi again (on DG Smart Plan).

So far, of the 3 telcos, my best experience has been (and still is) with Digi. Easy to understand voice & data plan, no surprises with extra charges even if I used more than 3GB in a month, acceptable network reception (high speed 3G in Penang island), clear web page layout (OCS is superb!), generally positive experience with the helpdesk, simple and clear bill statements etc.

My only complaint about Digi at present is that it's not free.. tongue.gif
kmrdeva
post Aug 23 2010, 12:21 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Aug 23 2010, 11:11 AM)
anyone know? if i didnt pay the terminate cost, can they do anything to me?
Maybe not allow you to MNP to another telco? Last I checked, all the telcos work together to control inflow of subscribers with pending/unpaid charges..
kmrdeva
post Aug 23 2010, 12:53 PM

4,786 posts

QUOTE(guppy @ Aug 23 2010, 12:27 PM)
It's a technical limitation on their end because they are only able to tally up data/phone usage at the end of every billing cycle. I hardly think they'd want to risk their reputation and the ire of consumers simply by overcharging. Nevertheless, they do need to find a way to solve this.
Maybe Maxis should consider throttling data speeds once a subscriber reaches his/her monthly quota. From 3.5G down to GPRS speed.

I'm still within my 3GB monthly quota under Digi, the last 2 months - 352MB in June (after porting over from Celcom), 2.8GB in July..

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Aug 23 2010, 01:01 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0259sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:26 AM