Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

soul2soul
post Aug 26 2011, 11:06 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Aug 26 2011, 10:50 AM)
man having the thought of becoming nothingness scared the shit out of me...

I love this world's lifestyle too much biggrin.gif
Im an Indonesian, when will be the camp? and where?
I know what you mean exactly. But for us, the world looks fun.... but ultimately the Buddha said it's not a right view of the world because it's a lot of suffering, just that we cannot see it yet.

Because we suffer a lot in the world, maybe not so obvious in fortunate human existence but when you get born into areas of depravity like war-torn africa or born deficient or in miserable places, then this world isn't fun and that existence you wish you could be delivered from it but you are not in the position to break free at that time.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 26 2011, 11:12 AM
soul2soul
post Aug 26 2011, 11:16 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Aug 26 2011, 10:57 AM)
I once heard that it is not a sin in buddhist to have sex before marriage as long as the feeling of "love" is genuine... but to have a baby, you must do your responsibilities... inb4 abortion...

So, Buddhism follows time, generation, and keep on adapting?

I is not so sure, as I am not a hardcore religious guy...
Marriage is a human-created ceremony. It's technically not wrong to have sex between 2 consenting adults but they have to be sure they are not breaking the "sexual misconduct' precepts.

There are instances where sex shouldn't be done such as between male-woman of large age group (old man marry young women), or people under protection of their parents (underage people or people who cannot give you a valid consent to have sexual relation), people under vow of celibacy (holy people of any religion who undertake vow of celibacy), rape, etc, people who are married and under vow of their marriage.

Sexual misconduct happens when the sexual relation brings harm to either one party....

Abortion - breaking of 1st buddhist precept already...

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 26 2011, 11:23 AM
soul2soul
post Aug 26 2011, 11:21 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(asdzxc @ Aug 26 2011, 10:53 AM)
can i ask if fapping is sinful in buddhism, serious question
Seriously, I needed to google to find out what fapping means. LOL

Masturbation is not a transgression of the buddhist 5 precepts. (sexual misconduct)

But if you are taking 8 precepts, then masturbation or any form of sexual activity is not allowed. If you fap during 8 precept, you automatically fall back to 5 precepts already.
soul2soul
post Aug 27 2011, 09:34 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Woot... visuddhi magga available online already rclxms.gif drool.gif drool.gif
soul2soul
post Aug 27 2011, 10:22 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(profdrahhen @ Aug 27 2011, 10:09 AM)
Ok guys~ jz ignore da troll...buat tak nampak lor

Which school r u?
Theravāda
Mahāyāna
Vajrayāna

Me myself standing between Theravada and Mahayana! Coz da influence of Thai and Chinese Buddhism
Theravada
soul2soul
post Aug 27 2011, 10:44 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(profdrahhen @ Aug 27 2011, 08:15 PM)
is it? i tot Taoism and Buddhism come along...since all da deity also an awaken one??  hmm.gif
They come along well because they merged into traditional chinese culture but you have to make some effort to find out what the Buddha taught exactly.

Not all deities are awakened, but we can find among them the Noble Ones (ariyas) too.

In fact, some deities are opposed to the Buddha's teaching. Most notably is Mara.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 27 2011, 10:48 PM
soul2soul
post Aug 30 2011, 09:22 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(clayton-chew @ Aug 27 2011, 07:40 PM)
I see nowadays buddhist temples began to bring in joss stick because they do not want to lose their regulars.

Buddhism also needs support from the laity to survive. I guess some adaptation to local culture is needed for it to connect to the locals. That being said, certain fundamentals in Buddhism ought to be known clearly like the ones you mentioned - giving donations, learning the true dhamma, meditation.
soul2soul
post Aug 31 2011, 08:13 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Blackops981 @ Aug 31 2011, 12:19 AM)
What is Buddhism about?
Discovering yourself, self purification, happiness and ending of suffering.
soul2soul
post Aug 31 2011, 09:11 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 31 2011, 08:57 AM)
happiness, how?
Learning to let go of things, to recognize them as they are and move on with life. That's a way to put it.

Many types of suffering that causes unhappiness - get what you don't want, don't get what you want, associated with people you don't like, separated with people you love, etc....
soul2soul
post Sep 8 2011, 08:23 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

What are the benefits of metta (loving-kindness) meditation?

1. He sleeps well
2. He wakes up feeling good
3. He does not have bad dreams
4. He is well-liked by fellow men
5. He is well-liked by people everywhere
6. He is protected by Devas
7. He will not be harmed by fire, poison or weapons
8. He achieves Samadhi fast
9. His facial complexion is healthy
10. He will pass away unconfused
11. If he does not attain arahatship, he will be reborn in the Brahma world

Reference from Sutta Pitaka
As a mother, at the risk of her life,
Watches over her only child,
Let him cherish an unbounded mind
For all living beings.
Let him have love for the whole world,
And develop an unbounded mind,
Above, below and all around,
Boundless heart of goodwill, free of hatred,
Standing, walking, sitting or lying down,
So long as he be awake,
Let him cherish this thought,
This is called divine abiding here.

Karaniyametta Sutta

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 8 2011, 08:36 AM
soul2soul
post Sep 23 2011, 08:23 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(StarScream01 @ Sep 23 2011, 04:09 AM)
True. Everything is temporary. If good things happen, enjoy and appreciate it; otherwise if bad things happen, don't worry coz it will not last long either.
I rike. thumbup.gif
soul2soul
post Sep 23 2011, 04:22 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 23 2011, 03:27 PM)
hey guys hows the buddhists of LYN doing? smile.gif
never better! how about you yourself?
soul2soul
post Sep 26 2011, 01:54 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Sep 23 2011, 10:50 PM)
Someone.  And also myself, for being angry.
many people angry , maybe lost money in stock market?
soul2soul
post Sep 27 2011, 08:06 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(randyhow @ Sep 26 2011, 03:09 PM)
u mean it will last or it won't last?
Nirvana is an unconditioned state. There is nothing to last or not last...

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 27 2011, 08:08 AM
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2011, 12:29 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

The Ten Kasinas

1. earth (paṭhavī kasiṇa),
2. water (āpo kasiṇa),
3. air, wind (vāyo kasiṇa),
4. fire (tejo kasiṇa),
5. blue, green (nīla kasiṇa),
6. yellow (pīta kasiṇa),
7. red (lohita kasiṇa),
8. white (odāta kasiṇa),
9. enclosed space, hole, aperture (ākāsa kasiṇa),
10. bright light (āloka kasiṇa).

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 28 2011, 12:32 PM
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2011, 01:53 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Sep 28 2011, 01:43 PM)
Is there any good temple that have a sunday class around subang, feels like want to hear the teachings again...lol..
I am not sure about Subang but you can try Selangor Buddhist Vipassana Meditation society at their PJ branch. They do invite monks to give talk from time to time. This sunday got one monk coming to talk. Mostly in English.

You can also drop by Bricksfield MahaVihara and register your email with the staff there. They do have lots of speaker who come to KL to give talk from time to time, including Ajahn Brahm, Burmese monks, etc.

It's good to connect with the dhamma again. smile.gif This chance is very hard to come by in our wandering in Samsara.

Pm me if you need the details.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 28 2011, 01:56 PM
soul2soul
post Oct 11 2011, 08:37 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Work work cry.gif

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Oct 11 2011, 08:38 AM
soul2soul
post Oct 12 2011, 12:16 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Interesting, Hotjake, have you ever tried Kasina meditation?

I know a bit of the theory, but I am not sure if there are any masters in KL to teach it. I heard it's quite popular in certain monasteries in Burma (samatha-based) and also in Thailand.

I think in KL the most popular samatha is ANapanasati and Metta. Other than that, maybe I am just being ignorant, I am not sure of the other Samatha being taught widely.
soul2soul
post Oct 12 2011, 12:24 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Oct 12 2011, 12:18 PM)
But Vipasanna meditation is definitely more interesting.
It is indeed. biggrin.gif

soul2soul
post Oct 13 2011, 08:13 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(hotjake @ Oct 12 2011, 04:07 PM)
one more thing to add, samatha's object is limitless. u can recite Coca-Cola/Pepsi all-day long without break and with concentration, u'd still get adsorbed in it/ even achieve absorption. try it.

oh ya, i'm not sure who in kl can teach kasina meditation too.
I think Kasina meditation normally taught to monks and they practice it in seclusion.

I came across a sutta where the Buddha gave an advice on graduated training to a lay disciples (upasaka) and recommended him to undertake Loving Kindness meditation , and if possible the best is to do Vipassana. (gain insight). I can't remember the sutta's name, but it goes something like this

"good to do dana to the Buddha, better to the entire Sangha, better than that have confidence in the Tripple Gem, better than that undertake sila training (morality), better than that Loving kindness, better than that gain Insight."

Can anyone find this sutta?

p/s I think basically we do Metta and Vipassana, we won't be very wrong in our practice within this lifetime. and maybe this is why metta/vipassana is taught widely to the lay disciples.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Oct 13 2011, 08:29 AM

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0698sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:18 PM