Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

soul2soul
post Sep 20 2010, 12:40 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Sep 20 2010, 11:59 AM)
thanks for the explaination  smile.gif
You are welcome. Give a try and may you derive all the benefits from it.

syadu , syadu , syadu
soul2soul
post Sep 20 2010, 01:59 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 01:46 PM)
anybody attending world buddhist conference this weekend?
Not attending wor

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 20 2010, 03:56 PM
soul2soul
post Sep 20 2010, 03:56 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Wah man, I'm getting addicted to this kopitiam thread. I think i will stop posting in those irrelevant topics,kena jaga-jaga don't talk too much nonsense breaking the 3rd precept. hu hu

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 20 2010, 03:59 PM
soul2soul
post Sep 21 2010, 09:47 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Good morning.

Venerable Sariputta was Buddha's first Chief Disciple, Marshall of the Dhamma, Elder and also expert of Abhidhamma (taught by the Buddha to the gods). His wisdom (panna) is second only to the Buddha. The Buddha praised Ven Sariputta as one of the 'turner of the wheel of the Dhamma' as the Buddha was himself.

Some of us might wonder "what is Dukkha"?

What is suffering? Below is Ven Sariputta's reply and elaboration on it.

Sariputta's elaboration

[Ven. Sariputta:] "Now what, friends, is the noble truth of stress? Birth is stressful, aging is stressful, death is stressful; sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, & despair are stressful; association with the unbeloved is stressful; separation from the loved is stressful; not getting what is wanted is stressful. In short, the five clinging-aggregates are stressful.

"And what is birth? Whatever birth, taking birth, descent, coming-to-be, coming-forth, appearance of aggregates, & acquisition of [sense] spheres of the various beings in this or that group of beings, that is called birth.

"And what is aging? Whatever aging, decrepitude, brokenness, graying, wrinkling, decline of life-force, weakening of the faculties of the various beings in this or that group of beings, that is called aging.

"And what is death? Whatever deceasing, passing away, breaking up, disappearance, dying, death, completion of time, break up of the aggregates, casting off of the body, interruption in the life faculty of the various beings in this or that group of beings, that is called death.

"And what is sorrow? Whatever sorrow, sorrowing, sadness, inward sorrow, inward sadness of anyone suffering from misfortune, touched by a painful thing, that is called sorrow.

"And what is lamentation? Whatever crying, grieving, lamenting, weeping, wailing, lamentation of anyone suffering from misfortune, touched by a painful thing, that is called lamentation.

"And what is pain? Whatever is experienced as bodily pain, bodily discomfort, pain or discomfort born of bodily contact, that is called pain.

"And what is distress? Whatever is experienced as mental pain, mental discomfort, pain or discomfort born of mental contact, that is called distress.

"And what is despair? Whatever despair, despondency, desperation of anyone suffering from misfortune, touched by a painful thing, that is called despair.

"And what is the stress of association with the unbeloved? There is the case where undesirable, unpleasing, unattractive sights, sounds, aromas, flavors, or tactile sensations occur to one; or one has connection, contact, relationship, interaction with those who wish one ill, who wish for one's harm, who wish for one's discomfort, who wish one no security from the yoke. This is called the stress of association with the unbeloved.

"And what is the stress of separation from the loved? There is the case where desirable, pleasing, attractive sights, sounds, aromas, flavors, or tactile sensations do not occur to one; or one has no connection, no contact, no relationship, no interaction with those who wish one well, who wish for one's benefit, who wish for one's comfort, who wish one security from the yoke, nor with one's mother, father, brother, sister, friends, companions, or relatives. This is called the stress of separation from the loved.

"And what is the stress of not getting what is wanted? In beings subject to birth, the wish arises, 'O, may we not be subject to birth, and may birth not come to us.' But this is not to be achieved by wanting. This is the stress of not getting what is wanted. In beings subject to aging... illness... death... sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, & despair, the wish arises, 'O, may we not be subject to aging... illness... death... sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, & despair, and may aging... illness... death... sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, & despair not come to us.' But this is not to be achieved by wanting. This is the stress of not getting what is wanted.

MN 141

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 21 2010, 09:48 AM
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2010, 10:03 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 27 2010, 09:49 AM)
world buddhist conference was fun. laugh.gif
attended by all the major schools?
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2010, 10:21 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Misteri2010 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:17 AM)
I found out there are lot of different Buddhist nowadays, so which one u are saying?...My friends told me that they are Buddhist, I tot should be same with me then when I follow her to her home then only she told me she is Japanese Buddhist Society...she consulted me about her religion and it is actually different from our normal Buddhist...

then, I also found some other different Buddhist society but they are actually not the normal Buddhist..the god that they pray are different..I'm confuse rclxub.gif

for the Japanese Buddhist Society, they don't have the buddha patung...they only pray to the wood with the close door..and my friends told me that we are the Buddha..human actually is the real Buddha and they wont pray for people that are death...
Well.. difference in opinion occurs even within 1 generation. We are talking about 2500 years of buddhism, so evolution of opinions and split of buddhism into different kinds of schools are expected. Need to do a bit of reading if you are interested.
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2010, 10:30 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 28 2010, 10:23 AM)
read this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daimoku

it still refers to the teachings of the Sakyamuni Buddha.
Is this the one used by Tina Turner?? LOL

so it's not attended by major buddhist schools but Daimoku only?
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2010, 11:01 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Misteri2010 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:31 AM)
I think the same as u but what my friend said is different when I tried to ask her some questions..
I went to her house I din see any Buddha picture and Buddha mold inside her house so I was curious and ask her what Buddha u pray? then, she said they don't pray to Buddha because we are Buddha..

I saw a wood with a close door in their hall..she told me she pray on that...
All of us have this thing called "buddha-citta", which is the capability to be enlightened. The 8fold path taught by the Buddha is to help us to arouse this Buddhacitta in us. That is to say, the Dhamma taught by the Buddha opens the way for this natural ability of our mind to arise. It's a good thing, because that means YOU and me all can become enlightened. In theravada buddhism, anyone who becomes enlightened is called an Arahant.

The highest respect one can accord to the Buddha, according to the Buddha himself, is to practice the Dhamma.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 28 2010, 11:02 AM
soul2soul
post Oct 1 2010, 09:45 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

edited

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Oct 8 2010, 08:28 AM
soul2soul
post Oct 8 2010, 08:35 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

wow, found a translation for Tipitaka here. Interesting.

http://www.metta.lk/tipitaka//

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Oct 8 2010, 08:51 AM
soul2soul
post Dec 29 2010, 08:05 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 28 2010, 08:12 AM)
Can anyone help me where can I get medidate alarm clock around Kuala Lumpur? Thanks in advance
What's that?
soul2soul
post Mar 2 2011, 08:09 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

quiet already??

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Apr 8 2011, 02:33 PM
soul2soul
post May 17 2011, 09:37 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

happy wesak day... may you all be happy!
soul2soul
post Aug 15 2011, 09:48 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(planb2 @ Aug 5 2011, 10:24 PM)
I think many got it wrong. It isn't way of life or all about doing good or burning josssticks or praying to images. The main purpose is enlightenment and all the sutras are all about guiding one to enlightenment if one were to read.
+1

strive hard!!
soul2soul
post Aug 25 2011, 03:13 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Aug 19 2011, 11:02 PM)
I thought I'd never find a Buddhist thread in LYN... *phew* 
Is anyone here a member of the Subang Jaya Buddhist Association (Youth Section)? I'd like to know more about it...
I am not qualified to be a youth there. Hehe. Try google , they got contact.

I paid them a visit few months ago. It was the one near USJ summit right?
soul2soul
post Aug 25 2011, 03:53 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(it.fusion @ Aug 25 2011, 03:27 PM)
does everyone who practise buddhism does the Dhamma Practise ?
Well, if you ask me, everyone practice the dhamma is for purification purposes.

Some are faster , some are slower but eventually they will reach the destination.

You may have to define what 'practice' and 'dhamma' is.

If you practice correctly and with the correct dhamma, then of course it will lead to the intended result.

If you practice wrongly with the correct dhamma, you won't get the result.

If you practice correctly but with the wrong dhamma, then you won't see the result.

You also have to take into consideration of competent teachers to instruct you.

So, those are the important things you may want to consider when you talk about practice of dhamma.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 25 2011, 03:57 PM
soul2soul
post Aug 25 2011, 04:37 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

wub.gif
QUOTE(RigerZ @ Aug 25 2011, 04:21 PM)
Their website is seriously outdated weyh. The location of the lot they gave (in SS15 facing the NPE) is different from where their lot is currently located (facing Asia Cafe). I had to walk around the whole row to find the place.  shakehead.gif
Want to send them an enquiry form but cannot because of some Captcha error.
Want to call them but no phone number given.
Want to visit them dont know what time they are open. Manatau their activities oso change time and day from what the website says.  rclxub.gif
The one near Summit is the main Buddhist Association, with the serious meditating and more in-depth dhamma activities. The youth one is more, you know, youth-oriented. That's the one I wanna join~
oh like that I don't really know , paiseh
soul2soul
post Aug 26 2011, 08:43 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(fire_hoax @ Aug 25 2011, 11:02 PM)
anyone read this book before?

When is a person considered a Upasaka (male lay buddhists) or Upasika (female lay buddhists)?

I have heard that on one occasion the Blessed One was staying in Rajagaha, at Jivaka's Mango Grove. Then Jivaka Komarabhacca went to the Blessed One and, on arrival, having bowed down, sat to one side. As he was sitting there he said to the Blessed One: "Lord, to what extent is one a lay follower?"

"Jivaka, when one has gone to the Buddha for refuge, has gone to the Dhamma for refuge, and has gone to the Sangha for refuge, then to that extent is one a lay follower."

"And to what extent, lord, is one a virtuous lay follower?"

"Jivaka, when one abstains from taking life, from stealing, from sexual misconduct, from lying, and from fermented & distilled drinks that lead to heedlessness, then to that extent is one a virtuous lay follower."

Jivaka Sutta AN:8.26
The Buddha said that to be a lay Buddhist one has to have taken the Triple Refuge and sincerely practise the five Precepts (A.IV.222). This of course is the bare minimum. The Buddha expected the highest ethical, intellectual and spiritual aspirations from all his disciples. The Dhamma was meant for all, it can be realized by all and therefore it should be practised by all. The Buddha said: "Whether in a householder or a monastic I praise right practice. And whether they be a householder or a monastic, if they practise in the right way, then because of their right practice they will be winners of the Truth, the Dhamma, the Skilful" (S.V,19). Some lay people today believe that it is sufficient for them to just worship the Buddha or other worthy persons. The Buddha would have agreed with this but his idea of what constitutes truly meaningful worship was in a different category from bowing, putting the hands in a praying gesture and placing flowers on shrines. He said: "The monk or the nun, the lay-man or lay-woman who lives by the Dhamma and perfectly fulfils it, it is they who honour me with the highest reverence" (D.II,138).

sauce

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 26 2011, 08:47 AM
soul2soul
post Aug 26 2011, 10:22 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Aug 26 2011, 10:09 AM)
does buddhist believes in end of the world?
It is mentioned in the Sutta.

Mini cycles and major cycles.

Mini cycles: Time for human lifespan to decrease from indefinite years (some say 100,000 ) to 10 years and back to 100,000 years.

Major cycles: Entire universe comes to dissolution at the end of the Aeon (Mahakappa).

If we talk about mini-cycles, some say about 16 or 64 mini cycles will pass before the coming of the destructive phase of the universe cycle. We are still very far from it.

The Buddha did not say exactly how long one Mahakappa (aeon) is, but he gave a simile and it is indeed a very long time. Some say it's few quadrillion of years.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Aug 26 2011, 10:25 AM
soul2soul
post Aug 26 2011, 10:42 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(helload @ Aug 26 2011, 10:34 AM)
thanks for the answer...
another thing, what is the real buddhist teaching:

- when you become a buddha (enlightened), you will become 1 with the universe (nothing, gone, finish) as you will not be in the karmic cycle anymoar.

or

- when you become a buddha, you will be like a deva(Gods), only in the highest tier.

I heard 2 different teachings... but in the buddhist teaching considering how life cycles and everything is attached to karma, I guess the first statement is more correct? as to become a Buddha is to lose all the connections with the world...
Well we exist because we are attached to the 5 aggregates.

Once you attain enlightenment, you relinquish these attachments. It means, after you die, you don't reappear anymore anywhere in the universe.

So your first statement is more accurate. But you must understand when you attain Nibbana, you don't have anything else already, not even feeling or consciousness - these are all 5 aggregates.

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0682sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:54 AM