16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

VW Golf 1.4TSI,Scirocco1.4,Polo 1.2TSI, Volkswagen Cars Discussion.Das Auto!

Mavik
post Nov 14 2010, 12:05 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 12 2010, 11:05 PM)
Yeah it's one of the major drawback, its back row space is even smaller than my Vios.. I think it's hard to squeeze in 3 peoples at the back

Added on November 12, 2010, 11:07 pm

Is there any non-SC for VW outsides?
Yes there are, the Volkswagen club has a few recommended ones in Sunway and PJ that provide services for VW cars
Mavik
post Nov 14 2010, 06:23 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(stevencbk @ Nov 14 2010, 11:39 AM)
Dear VW folks,

This is probably some of the reasons why we go for the world People's Car maker  biggrin.gif

VW German Factory
Woah totally awesome man! What an innovative way to showcase their work and products. I must visit it when I am in Germany!
Mavik
post Nov 15 2010, 10:21 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Nov 15 2010, 10:04 AM)
true but these days I find that almost every car can't comfortably seat 3 people at the back, especially for long distance driving sad.gif
tested it in a BMW 3 series, an Alfa Romeo, tested it in a Merc (can't remember which model), tested it in a Honda, Toyota, etc

I think it's made in such a way that if you want to ferry 5 people or more, you gotta buy a MPV or SUV doh.gif it's like we're being played by the car industry
Yeah, i remember back in the UK, we had to be cautious especially with the number of people sitting behind. I know a Ford Focus couldn't have more than 2 people behind due to some safety regulations and I remember the ticket I had to pay when I had 3 people at the back of my rented Nissan Sentra.
Mavik
post Nov 16 2010, 02:31 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Well technically I signed my bank loan documents before I received my car as well as before I even traded in my old car. The SA arranged it for me that the person from the bank met with me at the dealer and I proceeded to sign the hire purchase. Insurance details also haven't confirmed yet.
Mavik
post Nov 17 2010, 11:37 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(rigel1001 @ Nov 16 2010, 10:54 PM)
Hi there...any 1.4tsi owner here upgraded their fabric seat to leather...thinking of doing the same thing...mind sharing....thanks
Let me know if you managed to get it done as well. Would love to see the results tongue.gif

Kinda liking the fabric seats at the moment though icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Mavik: Nov 17 2010, 11:39 AM
Mavik
post Nov 17 2010, 01:51 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Nov 17 2010, 01:21 PM)
Yeah, luckily I still have my car with me. I'm just lazy to switch my booking to the beemer because have to reapply loan. Lotsa hassle.. but I don't like to be taken for a ride by the ppl at Volkswagen (if they don't provide me with the car by the end of this month).
I had this problem as well but my delay was only about 1 week mainly because of me not getting the number plate I wanted. So the delay was there, funny that the car was sitting at the SA shop but cannot deliver until the registration went through. Go for the 323i only la, no need the GTI tongue.gif

But also be careful with the dealers for BMW as well, but less likely to happen mainly because it is CKD hence you get more stock compared to those CBU units.

QUOTE(bbchua @ Nov 17 2010, 01:35 PM)
the sa told me will let be know the status by tmr. if the car only can be deliverd on dec, i most probably will just cancel the booking
Which SA did you book yours from?
Mavik
post Nov 17 2010, 03:08 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Nov 17 2010, 01:58 PM)
Really BMW better ah? Got so many negative remarks from people around me..... such as it being too common on Malaysian roads.
Well I have heard and experienced first hand with my friend's 320i where there was a lot of problems such as parts vibrating and the build quality was so so. Ever since the CKD versions, a lot of complaints on quality. So make sure must grill the SC kau kau. My friend brought it back to Auto Bavaria like 3 times then only finally managed to get the problems resolved. No cost involved since it was still under warranty.
Mavik
post Nov 18 2010, 09:15 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(btfan @ Nov 18 2010, 12:42 AM)
Heard about this as well. Even if you disable the airbags for that side (which would be silly), warranty will be voided if you change to leather. Hence you even if you're willing to go without the 2 airbags at the side, you can't touch your seat for the whole 5 years! VWM should have the foresight to throw in the leather into the package. With that price, doesn't make sense to provide only fabric.
If they did then the prices would be higher and the waiting period will be longer because they then have to cater on which models to ship in, which colour that customers will anticipate and whether they will take the leather seats option or not. Because we are considered the 3rd market (after developed countries and high volume ones), shipment volumes will be lower hence the wait for most of us here have to bear with. At least consider ourselves lucky, the Audi A4 now has a 7 months waiting list. The sales guy doesn't even try to sell you the car, he usually just says, when we have the car, you will be the first to find out.
Mavik
post Nov 18 2010, 02:37 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Nov 18 2010, 02:17 PM)
Should have just stuck to leather for a premium brand. I don't see any Audis or Beemers with fabric options, do you? The cost of changing to aftermarket leather seats is around RM2k+, if it's installed at the factory during assembly the cost is much lower.
I got to stop you there at the 1st sentence.

VW is not a premium brand, in Germany, Volkswagen means "People's Car"

Hence its not targeted to be a premium brand. It may be perceived here as one mainly because of it's price.

Note that you can't just change to leather seats here with the Golf 1.4 TSI (not too sure about the Polo) mainly because you will void the warranty of the side airbags at the two front seats.
Mavik
post Nov 19 2010, 01:02 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Will try Caltex Ron97 when I refuel the next round. So far tried Shell Ron97 V-Power. One day must try out V-Power Racing hohoho
Mavik
post Nov 19 2010, 09:16 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Nov 19 2010, 01:01 AM)
Ya bro I know VW is not exactly a premium brand in the global context, but in Asia it can still be considered as one since it belongs to VAG. It's Audi's little sibling smile.gif Yeah we can all talk about how the tax structure is screwing around with perceived values etc, but at the end of the day their objective is to sell more cars here; in this country a car doesn't even need to be over a hundred grand to warrant leather seats. Case in point: Peugeot 308 VTi smile.gif  More importantly, most cars in that price range come with an option for leather seats, and some of them do have more than 2 airbags.

I wasn't quoting the price for changing to leather seats as an option, merely pointing out the fact that cost-wise, it isn't a lot, especially if you spec it at factory level. IMHO (and I really mean humble opinion!), VW should have just specced the TSI with leather seats, period. It's a great car, great package, just too bad about the seats.

Let's just forget that I said "premium" for a minute, and consider that leather seats have more advantages against fabric, with fire, smell and stain retardant properties being on top of my list. At more than 150k, a few extra k won't be felt, that's all I'm saying.
To be honest, I did hope that they brought in the leather seat variants but after asking my friend who handles the VW account here, if they bring in the leather seat variants, it will be too expensive for the target market. Heck, I wished they had the variants which Singapore has, electric seats and adaptive suspension control as well! cry.gif

Unfortunately because of our tax structure, the tax is on the price of the overall car price/value so by opting for the leather variant would send the Golf's prices even higher. Roughly in the price range of RM166k. Include in insurance and that would bring the car to around RM171k. which is a lot and creeps quite close to the Scirocco 1.4. So if they include in leather seats for the Roc 1.4, that will bring it's price even higher (currently RM188k without insurance) and creeping even closer to the Golf GTI (RM211k o.t.r).

It was an economy of scale decision,
1) Leather seat option would bring it further away from their direct market competitors, e.g. as you mentioned, the Peugeot 308 (although my friend thinks its not a competition tongue.gif) especially since it is a CKD model, hence the cheaper price
2) Shipments for the VW will also take longer. E.g. they have to plan and forecast what colour models to ship in, so throw in the equation of leather seat options, and because Malaysia is considered a 3rd market, the wait for the car would be extremely long (think Audi A4 where the wait is about 7 months for the car). I was already complaining because my car took two months to arrive tongue.gif

To be perfectly honest, I think I should go and hijack the seat off from futobuta's upcoming GTI hahahahahaha thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Mavik
post Nov 19 2010, 09:19 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

New facelifted VW EOS, I saw an EOS the other day at the VW showroom. It looks absolutely gorgeous as well tongue.gif

Source: http://paultan.org/2010/11/19/revised-volk...ks-cover-in-la/
Mavik
post Nov 19 2010, 09:27 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Nov 19 2010, 09:22 AM)
Then I should hide mt exact location.... and perhaps taruh a bit of poison around the nuts of the chair. thumbup.gif
There shouldn't be that many Carbon Steel Gray Golf GTI Mk6 running around in Ipoh whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
Mavik
post Nov 19 2010, 10:53 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Velent @ Nov 19 2010, 10:22 AM)
nearly rm110k at Langkawi. not sure is the premium package or not but compare to peninsular price the tax just around rm40k+/- only?  rclxub.gif
Wow still RM110k at Langkawi? I thought it would be cheaper there, around less than RM100k tongue.gif
Mavik
post Nov 19 2010, 02:19 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Nov 19 2010, 12:07 PM)
so the clearing the current eos stock eh

btw the leather in the mk5 gets dirty really easily. i'm not sure whether this is normal
Dirty as in a lot of stains on it or a lot of scratches?
Mavik
post Nov 20 2010, 12:37 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

But the car is such a totally awesome looking car. Either the old or new version, it still looks sexy. Except when it rains, then not so sexy anymore haha
Mavik
post Nov 21 2010, 01:15 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Wah I am going to see more Golfs on the road tongue.gif

bbchua, what colour is your Golf?
Mavik
post Nov 22 2010, 09:23 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(cheesey @ Nov 22 2010, 09:20 AM)
yeah... futobuta.. hey where can i find place that can do seira glow? maybe we both can go together and get special price leh?
Just go check http://www.sierraglow.com/

Their shop is at USJ there. I am planning to schedule an appointment this weekend to send my car there for treatment.

Added on November 22, 2010, 9:30 amPumped petrol into the car 3 times already, just passed the 1000km mileage.

1st run - 438km (more than 3 quarter tank when I received the car from the SA)
2nd run - 520km (pumped Shell Ron 97 with 50% highway (avg around 8l/100km) and 50% city driving)

Currently on my 3rd run and I also pumped Shell Ron 97.

After this gonna test out Caltex Ron 97 and BHP Ron 97

This post has been edited by Mavik: Nov 22 2010, 09:30 AM
Mavik
post Nov 22 2010, 10:22 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Nov 22 2010, 10:16 AM)
Shell Ron97 is the V-Power one ah? Actually, which fuel is better ah? I'm currently collecting points with the ESSO/Mobil Smile card.
Yes it is the V-Power one. Previously in my old car, I get the most mileage out of Caltex Techron 97. Haven't tried it this time yet. Usually pump Shell because its the nearest to my house and they are also my client so I support them a bit.

Just to note as well that all Ron 97 fuel all come from the same source, just that different companies have different additives.
Mavik
post Nov 22 2010, 11:15 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Just made an appointment for tomorrow morning at Sierra Glow, procedure gonna take 5.5hours. Will share with you on the pricing once I negotiate with the fella tomorrow wink.gif

16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:57 AM