6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 29/08 Man Utd v West Ham | 00:30 CH817

Wan
post Aug 9 2010, 01:20 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Look at his siggy.
Chick
Kari
Toe!

OH NOES!!
BAN HIM!
Wan
post Aug 9 2010, 01:27 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

I guess it would be fair to give you one chance since siggy is a different matter. Only one game though. Be warned Punishment will be severe!

Added on August 9, 2010, 1:28 amYou have to eat chicken curry with your toes!

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 9 2010, 01:28 AM
Wan
post Aug 9 2010, 01:39 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Wth. His avatar too contain secret code? Are you working for Al-Qaeda?

Added on August 9, 2010, 1:39 amSumbat dia dlm ISA! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 9 2010, 01:39 AM
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 09:35 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Just a bit of confidence will do good for him. Looks like he had that against Chelsea. Let's hope that confidence grow and he'll have it most of the season. If he plays well, more often than not, we would too. His defensive game is quite underrated because he doesn't run around and make tackles. And his ability on the ball, keeping the play moving is important for us as well. Him on form would reduce our reliance on Scholes.

Added on August 10, 2010, 9:42 amAndo, Carrick, Fletcher, Gibson.. they all had parts of Keano-Scholes. Shame it's spread out on different players and not just one or two.

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 10 2010, 09:42 AM
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 10:41 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(gizmoduck @ Aug 10 2010, 10:22 AM)
But he often needs too much time on the ball imo. Confidence will make him an improved player but a lot of teams are pressing us higher up the pitch these days in hope of catching the CM and counter attacking. Running speed and size is no longer key as Iniesta and Xavi has shown; its more of having nimble footwork, quickness and agility - which Hargreaves embodied when he was fit. Carrick who could pick brilliant passes 2-3 seasons ago now have to content with moving the ball sideways and making the full-backs work harder than they need to, because the opposing team is up on his face as soon as he gets the ball. He is sort of found out in my opinion.

This is just a theory btw, but in order to make opposing teams drop deeper and leave gaps in the middle for players like Carrick and Scholes to operate, the strikers need to get up against the defenders and push the line all the way back to the opposition's half; similar to how andy cole used to play, right up against the shoulders. Rooney often drops too deep when he doesn't get the ball and Berbatov always plays in the AMC role anyway. Owen I think was bought for that purpose but he hasn't got the pace to worry defenders like he used to, so they'd rather play the offside trap with him.

Hernandez.. now that's a different kettle of fish altogether. Stick him up between both Centre backs making angled runs, that should force managers to provide more cover. Theoretically biggrin.gif
He could just be out of form you know which happens to every players. And if it took teams 3 seasons to 'shut him down', I worry about their IQ level. His confidence was low, and everything he does doesn't quite work out most of last season.

Owen was brought in because he's good, on a free and he has experience. We needed a 3rd striker since we missed out on Benzema and Tevez, and he is just that. Nothing more, nothing less. I like the look of Hernandez. He's always looking to run in behind the defenders which should help. But it wouldn't make that much difference anyways since team will always pressurize our midfield since they know we go through whoever that plays in the middle. Scholes/Carrick or both of them. It's nothing new.
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 11:25 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Playing 5 in the middle against the big sides is not a new thing. After seeing what damage Carrick-Scholes did in 06/07, teams surely would have known how to partly counter if not entirely stop them from playing? Stop them from playing, and it would likely make it harder for us to win games. Took them 3 seasons to finally be successful to sussing out Carrick? That's a bit too long for top flight teams. And it's not like they don't know what type of a player he is since his West Ham days. He was just out of form and playing without confidence. We don't have to look far for the effect. Rooney. When he's out of form everything he touches seemed a bit shit. And it could go 10+ for him until he gets a few goals and his confidence started coming back. We'll know soon enough whether it was just form and confidence or something more than that.

Added on August 10, 2010, 11:30 am
QUOTE(gizmoduck @ Aug 10 2010, 11:25 AM)
Amazing how he turned to sidefoot the shot with his right

LOL fuelling the mystery of Valencia's lefty
Some players are just more comfortable with their dominant side I guess. But that goal against League of Ireland XI came from his left foot. So he does have it. He's just reluctant to use it more often. biggrin.gif What a player. And what a signing. He's a beast of a player. Only 2 games back since his ankle injury back in May last season, and he was playing 90mins running non stop in both games playing like he was never away injured. His pace, power and directness is great to watch. Hes only 25 as well. More to come from him.

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 10 2010, 11:30 AM
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 03:53 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Yup. Shit timing. Just play the damn game on the weekend! Is it Sky or ESPN's decision to move the game?
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 04:07 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Saw this on another forum.. Our own Mr. Bean! laugh.gif

Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 04:27 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Carrick/Scholes the sitter dictating play. Fletcher the runner. Ando with the extra bit.

If the guy can play comfortably in a 2 CM setup, chances are high. If not, nah.. hard to see us get those kind of players. VDV, Sneijder, Ozil.. all of them play ahead of the CMs. And we don't often play that way.
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 04:39 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Aug 10 2010, 04:32 PM)
attack variation lol

we didn't have AM since.....what,Inche' Beckham?
Since forever. The closest is Scholes in 02/03 when he played behind Ruud in the hole. Before that, and since then, nobody else although maybe Giggs count as one since he plays behind the striker now and then. It's a luxury for us at the moment since we don't require someone playing that role that often.
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 06:11 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

TV want to make more money.. so they moved our game.
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 10:24 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Aug 10 2010, 09:55 PM)
One player that would really complete the team. Schweinsteiger, damn i want him soooo bad.
Good shout! Was stuck playing out wide since his breakthrough where he look good for his age, but doesn't really look like a potential world beater. But since he started playing in the middle, probably only in the last year or so, he looks really good.. one of the best in the position. Can do it all. 25/26. More evidence of CMs starting to get into the grove when they hit those ages. Ando and Gibson still have time, if not a world beater, but like Fletcher, a very good player for us.
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 11:11 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(robinwcm @ Aug 10 2010, 10:33 PM)
Watabout Ozil? He's young,he's talented and he's not overprice, a good long term replacement for Scholes. C'mon sir Alex do something please  nod.gif
He would be a very good signing considering his fee and what he can do right now and potentially in the future. But he's no Scholes. Different sort of players. Scholes plays in the middle from deep. Ozil is the opposite influencing the plays in advance position. We often play with two strikers and we already have the likes of Nani and Valencia out wide. Not sure he's good enough to play in the middle against the better sides(talking about CM position here).

QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Aug 10 2010, 10:52 PM)
Schweinsteiger is almost the finished product, his runs, stamina, work ethic, passing and he can score, he's the new ballack! Perhaps better!
Would be a very high price to get him. And Bayern won't let him go easily. If he moves, it would be to Spain, or City's $$$.
Wan
post Aug 10 2010, 11:31 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Envoy @ Aug 10 2010, 11:04 PM)
Confirmed, from high at #MUFC, that Fergie was at Fulham last w-e purely to see Ozil - not, as he said, to see forthcoming opponents...
Fergie ALWAYS delegates staff to spy on opposition unless it's, say, a big Champions League tie (but definitely not a friendly) #MUFC
whistling.gif
He's a bit late with the news. biggrin.gif
With the prices quoted for him, don't see why we shouldn't be interested especially since we were very interested before his move to Bremen. But with the players we have and the tactics we use, could easily see SAF give him a miss. Can't get all the players.

QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Aug 10 2010, 11:16 PM)
There was one commentary that he was giggs+keane in 1. If he's even as good as keane or giggs, definitely worth 30+m pounds for him.(http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2010/jul/04/bastian-schwiensteiger-maradona-germany-argentina)
It'll be more than that for him. Bayern would drive a hard bargain. Just look at Ribery last season, and when we tried to get Hargreaves from them. They bleed us dry.. good job they did because they sold us a broken player. Great player though. What makes him a success is that he's not shy to mix up his game doing the dirty stuff as well and he's able to dictate the play from deep. Not often you see attacking players being converted successfully. We tried to do it with Ando.. still a work in progress. Can't wait for the day he turns it on all the time. Hopefully it will happen.. drool.gif

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 10 2010, 11:40 PM
Wan
post Aug 11 2010, 04:32 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Aug 11 2010, 12:36 PM)
To be honest,even if we did get him,which position is he going to play? We already have quite a few central midfielders and like it was discussed a few days ago,the CAM method isn't our style. It might end up just being a luxury,and not a necessity. Im sure Ozil wouldnt want that to happen too,it could be like the Tevez situation.

With that said,I myself wish he joins us ; Amazing young talent at a potential bargain price.
I dont believe that there has been no bids at all for Ozil. He's on the last year of his contract and could potentially leave for free. Im sure there have been some cheeky offers that Bremen chose not to disclose.
He would not have much problems getting a first team place with us IMO if he does come. Either on one of the wings or the CAM role when we go that route. We certainly have a need for a CAM(only in the big games which even then we rarely use, last season can only think of the Milan, Chelsea games where we play it), but not sure he's a must have for our case over the whole season. Seeing the players we have, and the type of tactics we use, it's hard seeing us getting him unless we're planning on playing him out wide a lot.

QUOTE(dundermifflin @ Aug 11 2010, 02:59 PM)
i believe SAF is interested with Ozil. just he's not desperate and will waiting for last minute, for lowest price he can get.

BTW i dont think Ozil will make a immediate impact in EPL. he's primarily play as 2nd Striker in Bremen, but young enough to be groom to another position. he's not a CM, and he's far from complete AM yet.

i believe only Barca can hijack our bid (if we did act). no room in Man City (25 man rule and they just signed David Silva which i think is a similar player). Chelsea might be interested, but their vacant position in 25 man list should be prioritized on defenders. Real Madrid, i think they have more than enough AM.

having said that, his signing can make our squad much more solid, especially for long term since Giggs and Scholes will retire in a season or two.
He's someone that would be utilized in an advanced position. He started out wide with Diego playing as the AM. Last season with Diego gone, it was him who took that role. And seeing him at the WC it was hard not to notice his ability and potential.

----Ando-Fletch/Gibson
Valencia-Ozil-Nani
--------Rooney----

He would be perfect on paper, but we also have the likes of Berba and Hernandez to consider, not to mention Macheda in the future. Just a case of how SAF see things shape for us with the current players we have. 442/433 is what we usually play and that don't require someone like Ozil. Is SAF prepared to change how we set up(although not too much considering he would almost have the same role as Berba in our 442) and bench players to accommodate him? Just wonder why it took so long for us to make a move for him if we are interested. Surely there would have been contacts made, and it would be in Bremen's interests to reveal them to the public to fish for more targets.

I'm like air_mood on this. If we get him, great. If not, not the end of the world. Not the first time we 'missed' out on players. Last season it was Benzema. And fast forward less than a year, we identified a certain Mexican striker.

Could see Chelsea getting interested. Malouda can play in midfield, and they have Sturridge, Kalou and Anelka for the wide position?

Added on August 11, 2010, 4:34 pm
QUOTE(tatabun @ Aug 11 2010, 04:04 PM)
lulz.. why butthurt? it was a general description not narrowing it to anybody.. but thats the facht whut in this thread..

fyi... no one needs to be acknowledge by you to support man utd.. like i care if you care..

you protect your own chronies and attack the newbies..

hippo!
That means you do.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 11 2010, 04:34 PM
Wan
post Aug 11 2010, 06:07 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Wan
post Aug 11 2010, 06:15 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

For the next month or so. 3 games in Aug, and maybe a game against Everton in September.. by the Liverpool game, we should have our powers back! laugh.gif
Wan
post Aug 11 2010, 06:30 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Might be our hardest season yet with all the challengers around. But we'll be right up there around the top at the end of that I'm sure unless something unforeseen happens. Smalling and Hernandez will give us a boost. Just hoping Ando even if he doesn't grow this season yet, will give us the same type of performances that he has done so far. That would be good enough for me. And we need to hear news regarding Hargreaves. Good or bad. We need something to move on.

Added on August 11, 2010, 6:31 pmShame about Cathcart. Looks good playing in the pre-season games I think a few seasons back. But since then been on loan and haven't exactly turn out well for him.. not to mention he gets injured now and then.

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 11 2010, 06:31 PM
Wan
post Aug 11 2010, 07:25 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

That Kid is going to be a legend. Henry style. You heard it here first!
Wan
post Aug 11 2010, 07:25 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

He'll be a 20-20 player. 20 goals, 20 assists.. muahahaha. He's better than Diouf and Manucho combined too.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:33 AM