4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

benny888
post Dec 8 2010, 06:01 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(hakim_radzuan @ Dec 8 2010, 03:50 PM)
guys, my friend wanna sell his mba that comes with 80gb hd. Can i upgrade it to a larger size hd?
Is it the first generation MBA ( 80gb) ?
This MBA uses a PATA drive with modified ZIF pins. If you replaced it with the same type of higher capacity drive it will not read. Many guys has tried but unable to get it to work . Another issue - don't think you can get such a drive now. The 2nd gen uses SATA drives while the latest used flash SSD drives
However it is reported there were some success replacing it with a Photofast 128GB SSD drive but to do it required great technical skills and no Apple authorised service center will attempt to do it. This drive alone cost about US$500 - quoted is US$599 !!!! Seriously only for die hard enthuisiasts

http://www.dvnation.com/ZIF-SSD.html

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 8 2010, 06:03 PM
benny888
post Dec 9 2010, 09:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(m|key @ Dec 9 2010, 12:02 AM)
wow...realise the mba is very popular now. i am also getting itchy to get back to mac, sold mbp few moons ago.

i wonder if the 1.4ghz 2GBRAM is good is good enough? well, i am extremely happy with 2.4ghz during the mbp time.
I have the 1.4Ghz, 2GB ram MBA. I compared it to my current Macbook pro alu 2.53GHz:

1. Startup of the MBA 11" is only 10 sec versus about 25 sec for the MBP
2. Shutdown of the MBA 11" is only 2 sec versus about 12 sec for the MBP
3. As everyone is already aware, from standby the MBA is instant on
4. File access is faster on the MBA

All the above is mainly due to the MBA uses SSD flash drives

Generally the MBA can match the MBP in browsing, email, general office work but is obviously slower if you are using graphic intensive programs eg photoshop. I tried using open office - it opens slower than the MBP and saving files is slightly slower too by about 1-2 sec ( depend on file size) . However testing on Micrsoft Office 2011 was quite similar. On iPhoto 11 I find both are comparable, dont see any significant difference

So just as a general purpose notebook it is acceptable and worth to consider if your needs are simple

benny888
post Dec 9 2010, 09:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Dec 9 2010, 07:55 PM)
Better get the 128 GB.
Mine is 256 GB MBA 13.3" specs and have used up 122 GB already....
Can't imagine how people use a 64GB SSD....
If one use the MBA as a full fledge daily notebook, I agree even 256GB is insufficient. Both my iMac and MBP used up to 300 GB. However on my MBA I use only about 70 GB ( with a few favorite movies ) as I just use it for browsing, email, RSS, Zinio mags, office applications - it is more of a supplementary notebook due to its extreme portability.

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 10 2010, 10:33 AM
benny888
post Dec 10 2010, 08:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Dec 10 2010, 08:01 PM)
Wow - how much did 250GB SSD that cost you? Can you do that for the current Macbook Pro 13?
Such 250GB SSD is not cheap ; I last check nearly RM2000 !!!! Only for serious minded and deep pocket users
benny888
post Dec 13 2010, 04:12 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Dec 13 2010, 03:18 PM)
how bout the place where u put your palm on? Does it get hot there? I used to have a compaq that is scotching hot when i'm trying to type using the laptop. thats why i wanna make sure this issue is totally gotten rid of before i get my mac
Yes you can still feel the warmness on the top on the latest MacBook white. I bought a unit only 2 months ago for my brother. The mbp alu model, which I am using is similarly warm.

However surprisingly the latest MacBook air 11" I do not feel any warmness on the top even after 3 to 4 hours continous usage. You can only feel the heat on the base of the notebook
benny888
post Dec 15 2010, 09:23 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Dec 15 2010, 09:19 AM)
ok i will try it later... very ma fan la.. wan to get from  online store also so ma fan..
The phone number entry is not important - you can also put in 123456 - it is only an entry ; Anyway Apple will never call you
benny888
post Dec 15 2010, 10:48 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Dec 15 2010, 10:02 AM)
hmm if that is the case... how can DHL or delivery courier gonna call me for delivery? because i'm always on the go.. i need them to call my H/P
I have bought online 3 times and I never recieved any call. If this is important then just put in 1XXXXXX ; just ignore the 0 infront as understood
benny888
post Dec 15 2010, 11:33 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kirii @ Dec 15 2010, 10:43 PM)
boss,help me,my macbook pro 13 inch battery capacity left 90% only in 2 months time with 19 charge cycles only.When i plugged in the power to my mac,it keeps showing 99%(charging)..looks like it was always charging..lol..so how?what to do?
This is not a problem.
Often asked by many MacBook users and this is the standard Apple's support reply: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1909?locale=en_CA

This is normal. The batteries used in these computers are designed to avoid short discharge/charge cycles in order to prolong the overall life of the battery.

When setting the Mac OS X battery status menu bar icon to display charge state by percentage, you may notice that the reported charge stays between 93 or 95 percent and 99 percent.

To allow the adapter to recharge the battery to 100%, simply allow the charge to drop below 93%. The adapter will automatically recharge the battery to 100%.

If you refer to the support page, you will see other scenarios ( LHS column ) about the Mac battery's other issues

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 15 2010, 11:34 PM
benny888
post Dec 16 2010, 02:54 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Why don't you try use it till battery is flat and then recharge it till full to see the results
benny888
post Dec 16 2010, 10:39 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Dec 16 2010, 09:15 AM)
just ordered my MBA 13" CTO just the 4gb ram upgrade only.... yahoo.. btw normally how does u guys charge the batt? use until 90% only charge or 50% ?
The best advise is from Apple :
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?pa....6/en/9036.html

QUOTE:
Calibrating your battery ensures you get the longest possible running time from it. Calibrate your battery during the first week you own it, and then recalibrate it every two months. If you use your computer infrequently, it’s best to recalibrate it at least once a month.

Whenever you purchase new batteries, calibrate them as well.
To calibrate a portable computer battery:

Plug in the MagSafe Power Adapter and fully charge the battery.

When the battery is fully charged, the light on the MagSafe Power Adapter connector changes to green and the Battery icon in the menu bar indicates that the battery is charged.

Allow the battery to rest in the fully charged state for two hours or longer.

You can use your computer during this time as long as the power adapter is plugged in.

With the computer still on, disconnect the power adapter and continue to use your computer.

When you see the low battery warning, save your work and close all applications. Keep your computer turned on until it goes to sleep.

After your computer goes to sleep, turn it off or allow it to sleep for five hours or longer.

Connect the power adapter and leave it connected until the battery is fully charged.

You can use your computer during this time.

This website is also quite useful to understand Apple's batteries: I'd say is a must read for new MacBook users: I just quote here one part of it:
http://www.apple.com/batteries/notebooks.html

Standard Maintenance

For proper maintenance of a lithium-based battery, it’s important to keep the electrons in it moving occasionally. Apple does not recommend leaving your portable plugged in all the time. An ideal use would be a commuter who uses her MacBook Pro on the train, then plugs it in at the office to charge. This keeps the battery juices flowing. If on the other hand, you use a desktop computer at work, and save a notebook for infrequent travel, Apple recommends charging and discharging its battery at least once per month.

benny888
post Dec 16 2010, 04:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Dec 16 2010, 04:32 PM)
wana ask wat's d different between normal macbook,vs macbook unibody,macbook pro...?
jz beside d specs which i can see to different...
does macbook pro hav ani special effect or button compare to d normal one...?
thx...
coz plan to buy a macbook recently...
thx...
Refer to this site where the details of ALL the Apple models are described and compared. I dont think there is any site better than this

http://www.everymac.com/
benny888
post Dec 16 2010, 10:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Dec 16 2010, 08:54 PM)
thx for d link bro...
but all of them shows d different in d hardware specs in comparison onli...
btw...
does is mean normal macbook is for entry specs level...
and macbook pro is for higher specs & level onli...?
The white MacBook is basic entry level @ RM 3299

The MacBook Pro series is Alu body - with higher specs , price start RM 3899 ( 13") to 15" ( RM6499) and 17" ( RM 7499)

See the exact specs at Apple store for current model : http://store.apple.com/my/browse/home/shop...ook?mco=MTE4MTU

The website details the specs very clearly
benny888
post Dec 17 2010, 08:14 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I have both mbp and latest MBA. For basic use the MBA even with 2 gb ram is good enough
But if I have only one choice I will buy the mbp as it has more features and a good desktop replacement. If you need to lug it around is bit heavy
One just cannot have best of both world
benny888
post Dec 17 2010, 09:32 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(chelsh @ Dec 17 2010, 08:59 AM)
if i upgrade MBA to 4gb ram, will it last me for at least 3 to 4 years? smile.gif
as i will have a 2-year-old dell studio 15 to accompany the new macbook biggrin.gif
As the saying goes " One can never have enough of memory" and if you can afford to pay for it, why not
Increasing the memory will not help you to last your Mac .

I'd say even by next year your Mac will be out of date already
benny888
post Dec 17 2010, 10:15 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(chelsh @ Dec 17 2010, 09:40 AM)
what can i do to make my mac last longer?
or mac is a product that is supposed to be replaced in one or two years?

ohya..does mac becomes lag after using it for 2 or 3 years? (or all laptops tend to become lag?)
I have been a MAC user for the last 5 years. LAG issue seriously only occur in Windows O/S - that's why you can see there are at least up to 20 types of software ( free, shareware and paid ) just for you to clean up/defragmentise your hard drive to improve hard drive performance. There are too such software for Mac but is not so commonly used. Infact I never used such software, I leave it to the O/S itself to do it. Some users prefer to use such software - it is one's choice. But on Windows you definately need. Also Windows OS " attracts" viruz attacks/infections which will affect the O/S stabilioty-performance. Virus infections are rare on Macs and "touch wood" never faced such in my last 5 years since using the Mac

Apple upgrades their Macs at least once a year ( minor ) and major ( about 2 years) unlike Windows Notebooks you see the makers changing their models every 2 to 3 months !!!

Having used the Windows platform for the past 20 years ( since 1985 ) , I must say using the MAC was a completely new refreshing experience. I am so impressed by the Mac I always promote users to change and always say " Once you use a Mac , you will never want to use a Windows OS machine anymore"

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 17 2010, 10:43 AM
benny888
post Dec 18 2010, 11:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ahmadcivices01 @ Dec 18 2010, 11:05 AM)
is that true NEW MAC AIR (3rd generation) no more keyboard light,can someone clearly on this?
YES no more backlit keyboard
benny888
post Dec 20 2010, 07:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I don't like safari as it is not so versatile/user friendly and fast compared to chrome. For me speed and quick downloads is more crucial. Second is firefox
benny888
post Dec 21 2010, 12:28 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ahmadcivices01 @ Dec 20 2010, 02:48 PM)
What is the best application for mac os for editing picture,can someone help on this.
Use GIMP : GIMP is an acronym for GNU Image Manipulation Program. It is a freely distributed program for such tasks as photo retouching, image composition and image authoring.

It has many capabilities. It can be used as a simple paint program, an expert quality photo retouching program, an online batch processing system, a mass production image renderer, an image format converter, etc.

http://www.gimp.org/features/

Download : http://www.gimp.org/downloads/

Running GIMP on Mac OS X requires Apple's X11 environment. It is included on the "Optional Installs" package on the OS X install disk.
benny888
post Dec 24 2010, 11:38 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Dec 24 2010, 11:31 AM)
awesome! how did you changed the appearance of your dock items? They seem to be different from mine. Hmmmm....
The most popular software for changing your icons and dock : CANDYBAR. Dock changes plenty - just google for leopard docks
benny888
post Dec 24 2010, 04:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ahmadcivices01 @ Dec 24 2010, 04:03 PM)
how to upgraded RAM on new MacAir 3rd generation?can do it by self?please sifu here explain a bit.
Not possible at all . Additional ram should be specified on special order during time of purchase. It is done in factory as ram soldered down on motherboard

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0475sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:30 PM