4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

benny888
post Nov 20 2010, 11:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Nov 20 2010, 10:09 PM)
previously, i bought norton antivirus 2011 and used in my windows vista but now that i'm using macbook, is norton antivirus 2011 compatible with mac? i couldn't seem to find a download link for norton antivirus 2011 for mac. sad.gif I don't want to buy another one. It will cost me another USD48.
You cannot use a windows version on a MacOSX. However you can install it in the Windows OS ( if you have installed it) on the Mac. You can only install it if you have bought the 3 user licence

I have been using Mac for several years ( my iMac, MBP ) and my 2 children MBP too, have never encountered virus issues.
benny888
post Nov 20 2010, 11:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Nov 20 2010, 11:39 PM)
erm...what do you mean? LOL. I know cannot use exe in mac. so, I was trying to find a download link that's compatible with Mac .dmg. But, I can't find.
You can use your present Windows Norton ONLY in Windows OS. So if you want to use it, installed example Windows 7 on your Mac via another interface - bootcamp, or VMWare Fusion or Parallel. Then you have dual boot system in your MAC. As far as I know Norton doesn't have any anti viruius solution for MAC OSX. Infact there are very few such solutions. You can google for Mac anti-virus software if you really need it

I was suprised that you mentioned you immediately has virus - this is indeed very rare
benny888
post Nov 22 2010, 11:12 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

As far as I know, these authorized service centers do not stock hard disk. II sent in my iMac ( hard disk issue ) to QCD ( Times Square ) - after a week they confirm is hard disk need replace - gave me 2 options : If I need a higher capacity, I need to buy myself and sent to them to replace or they will just replace it with default capacity. They need 2-3 days to order bring in from Spore. So I will only get my iMac back in 2 weeks since the day I sent in.
benny888
post Nov 26 2010, 10:52 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Nov 26 2010, 04:03 AM)
hi, i'm new here, thinking of getting the macbook air 11" since it is the smallest, most powerful, lightest, most stylish netbook/laptop i could find around.

is that a good investment? i really like that model.

is it sufficient for photo editing?

i'm using Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom3 often, less/no video editing.

i could buy any mac compatible external HDD anywhere right? it can use a generic USB expander also right?

Just my 2 sens. I am not a graphic expert but I can tell you based on just my simple edits using photoshop on the 11" model - it is slow and disappointing. If you are heavily into this, you should probably consider the higher end 13.3 2.13 Ghz model for portability.

So I always go back to my MBP or iMAC if I need to do several photo edits

Any USB external harddrives can be used - I have several Maxtor, WD, Lacie and Philips. Any even my cheap unbranded USB external DVD RW/R can be used with it too

benny888
post Nov 26 2010, 02:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Nov 26 2010, 01:48 PM)
both the MacBook White and MacBook air 11" is using the NVIDIA GeForce 320M right?

the the processor of MacBook air 11" is 1.4Ghz intel Core 2 Duo

how simple is the simple editing u are saying?

i usually touch up photos, so i wish to touch up it anywhere i'm and also backing it up.

btw, how much for upgrading to 4GB RAM?

Added on November 26, 2010, 1:53 pmand also, about the steam. i got some steam games, which is compatible for both OSX and windows(such as TF2) can i sign in my steam account from my mac and install that game? cause i already install in my window computer
Simple edits : touch up, changing color shades/levels, resizing .

Upgrade only thro online order at applestore : RM 359 for additional 2GB and upgrade to 1.6 Ghz is RM 372

Sorry I don't play any games, so cannot advise.

Added on November 26, 2010, 2:41 pm
QUOTE(jphlau @ Nov 26 2010, 11:17 AM)
as long as its laptop 2.5" hard drives

http://eshop.macsales.com/installvideos/macbook_13_mem_hd/
refer to the link above for step by step installation guide
My daughter's white macbook 1.8 GHz 2008 model works well with her Western Digital 320gb

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 26 2010, 02:41 PM
benny888
post Nov 26 2010, 10:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Some updates on the new MacBook Air's 11" ( 1.4 Ghz ) battery life. Apple had said the new MBA's battery can last up to 5 hours. I'd say if you are basically using it for browsing and office work - it is even possible to hit close to 6 hours

Movies playback : 3.5 hours ( over 2 movies ) on iTunes: battery usage 40 %
Browsing ( over wifi ) : Continuous 2 hours - battery usage 40 %
Browsing ( over 3G full bar reception using USB modem ) : Terrible - over just half hour, battery usage 20 %

Perhaps others can share their experience.
benny888
post Nov 27 2010, 04:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Nov 27 2010, 01:46 PM)
No heat. A least not that I know of. I place my Air on table surface not my lap, and even after prolonged usage, it is still cool to the touch.

As for continuous web surfing, check my usage, second from below, in the previous post.
You are right ; the unit still remains cool even after usage continuously 4 to 5 hours. The warmness is at the bottom of the unit but you cant feel it at the top. Compared to the older models which gets warm and hot ( very obvious which you can feel it on your palms ) just after an hour of use.

benny888
post Nov 27 2010, 08:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

When we need to make a choice, just look at your NEEDS not your WANTS. You need to gather all the pros n cons of the products and then decide based on your NEEDS. No one can tell you which is better .
It would be great if there is product that can meet both needs and wants. Such a product is possible in our dreams only
benny888
post Nov 29 2010, 09:43 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Nov 29 2010, 09:02 AM)
Okay, Thanks  notworthy.gif
Get started with MAC : http://www.apple.com/support/mac101/

Switching from Windows to MAC : http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/

these 2 sites will answer most your questions
benny888
post Dec 1 2010, 11:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 1 2010, 09:00 AM)
Have you experience any beach ball symptom lately? If yes, you might have a bad HDD.
Faced similar issues on my iMac. I sent in to QCD Tech to check and the harddisk was replaced FOC and bonus was I got a 500gb replacement instead of the default 250GB. My unit was nearing the end of the extended warranty ( 3 years ) period
benny888
post Dec 1 2010, 06:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(The Sifu @ Dec 1 2010, 06:15 PM)
Interesting mate...

I'm going to purchase mine there too later tonight. Im going for the 128G 13" Air, super drive and iWork too. But instead of the mouse I'm going for the extra RAM  smile.gif

From what I understand, your machine will come with iWork and OSX both installed on the "recovery thumbdrive" that ships with the machine.

Regards

Mark
It comes with iLife 11 not iWork
benny888
post Dec 2 2010, 11:16 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Dec 2 2010, 10:59 PM)
should be possible. iphoto doesn't require internet connection as far as I know. And the wifi thing, mine connect perfectly. Maybe some config with your modem? Did you set it to enable sharing?
Yes the first time you open iPhoto - you will be prompted to update as the version on the MBA is already out of date !!

You should sent back your MBA to the seller to check - do not hold it any longer as if till now you still cannot connect. But before you do that, test it at other WiFi places , example your workplace, cafe, etc. If similar problems, have to accept it is probably hardware issue - this kind of thing, quality issues happens. I always like to quote this : my ex boss brandnew Mercedes S Class which cost him RM800,000 broke down on day 2 on the highway ; imagine his frustration . He told me it was not an issue of frustration or disappointment, more of a shame stranded on the highway with the brand new expensive luxury car with the bonnet open

Added on December 2, 2010, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(natzakaria @ Dec 2 2010, 11:05 PM)
new to this mac thing as hv always been a windoze user.
What are the essential softwares required?
This depends on what you wish the MAC to do. Tell us specifically what type of programs you need and we can advise you whether it is available or you need to install 3rd party , either free or paid software. Basically all Macs will come with browser, iTunes ( for music/video management ) , address book, calendar, simple text editor, dictionary, dvd player, Finder - a file explorer

You might need to purchase iWork for office applications or Microsoft Office for Mac. the newer Macs comes with iLife ( which is a photo, video, movie management software ). Some models come preinstalled with iWork - just check this up at Apple website the model you are interested: http://www.apple.com/mac/

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 2 2010, 11:28 PM
benny888
post Dec 3 2010, 12:47 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Dec 2 2010, 11:35 PM)
Thanks Benny888
I have installed outlook, iworks , adobe acrobat x, cleanmymac
Would like to know what would be good rar application, partitioning tools along those lines
Is antivirus required?
UNRAR for rar - it is a free program

Partition your hard drive from Mac itself:

Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility - choose the drive, select partition tab etc : Suggest you google and read up from Apple site how to use it ; actually quite straightforward but is good to readup if you are unsure

AntiVirus : not necessary - I have been using Macs for the last 5 years and " touch wood" has yet to have any virus infection

And use CleanMyMac with caution. Seriously I don't see the need of such software. MacOSX is different from Windows - you need not worry even about disk deframenatation although there are such software available too. Other users might not agree but I never used such software but I did use many types of such when I was on Windows

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 3 2010, 01:04 AM
benny888
post Dec 3 2010, 01:03 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Dec 3 2010, 12:59 AM)
I got a problem with my Macbook.Wifi being gay..can't connect to my home network at all. cry.gif
" gay " ??? - what word is this ?
Can it connect with other wifi networks outside your home ?
benny888
post Dec 5 2010, 09:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Dec 5 2010, 04:11 AM)
u no need a internet connection for using iphoto..try find a preferences or setting or option..check auto update or manual..thats small software issues..
You NEED it the first time if you are using the latest iLIFE 11 that comes bundled with the Mac. When you launch iPhoto, it will prompt you to update. If you dont the program cannot proceed.

If you have installed a purchased /retail version probably not necessary - why ?? I don't know. I installed the retail version on my iMAC it just launched and proceed but on my new MBA 11.6", I am unable as it needs to be updated first
benny888
post Dec 5 2010, 09:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(beyond @ Dec 5 2010, 08:54 PM)
Hi guys, was wondering if it is worth getting Jun 2009 MBP 13 inch model? Thanks for the input.
What I can say this is a very good Mac - I bought 2 units last year : one for myself and the other for my son. Whether worth is up to you as probably a new model is expected by Q1 2011. So is just a question whether you wish to wait. We can never catch up with technology and newer models will always be around and probably with even lower pricing.
benny888
post Dec 7 2010, 10:17 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Dec 7 2010, 09:38 AM)
Before flaming begins I have been googling for the past 3 days as I am a new MBA first time user.
My quest is to transfer ALL my emails from Win Outlook to Mac Outlook 2011 with no success.
Can someone please give me or point me to a guide as only contacts and calender got transferred and not emails.
What I did was save the .pst from Outlook(Win) and imported the .pst to Mac Outlook.
No success there.
At Outlook 2011: File /Import/--select pst file : You mean this cannot work ?

This is from the HELP query inside Outlook 2011: Check your status against this :

To help you transfer messages and other items from a Windows-based computer to a Macintosh computer, Outlook for Mac can import Outlook Data Files (.pst) that are created in Outlook for Windows.
Transfer the .pst file to your Macintosh computer.
On the Outlook for Mac File menu, click Import.
Click Outlook Data File, and then click the right arrow.
Select Outlook for Windows Data File, and then click the right arrow.
Locate the data file on your computer, and then click Import.
When the import process is complete, click Done.
The imported items appear in the navigation pane under On My Computer.
Note Outlook for Mac can only import Unicode-based .pst files which are the standard format for Personal Folders files for Outlook (for Windows) 2003 and later versions. ANSI-formatted .pst files, also known as Outlook 97-2002 Personal Folders Files, were the standard personal folder format for saving data in Outlook for Windows in versions 97-2002. This file format can't be imported into Outlook for Mac. If you have the older version of ANSI-formatted .pst file, there is no automated procedure to convert that file to the newer file format. However, you can create a new Outlook Data File (.pst) in Microsoft Outlook for Windows 2003 or later, and then import items from the older file into the new file. You can then import the new .pst file into Outlook for Mac. For more information about how to create .pst files and importing items, see Help for your version of Outlook for Windows.

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 7 2010, 10:21 AM
benny888
post Dec 7 2010, 12:58 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(beyond @ Dec 7 2010, 11:14 AM)
Er..Anyone can help with my question?
Is it about saving downloads ?
In Safari Browser Just go to Preferences/General/Save download files -- select the folder where you wish to save.
Same for Chrome

Actually you will not see any pop up asking you where to save. BY default it will go to user/downloads

Added on December 7, 2010, 1:01 pm
QUOTE(Moutzu @ Dec 7 2010, 11:33 AM)
Of late, the discussion in this Thread is oft times about the latest MBA which is an an interesting read.

I have a question which I dunno whether ever raised b4. My question is, MBP comes with iSight camera? It can be used for video chat, right? If this is the case, how to start a video chat? Can I chat with the person who is not an MBP user?
You can use Skype for video chat with other users irrespective whether is Windows or MacOSX as long as they also have installed Skype. It is a freeware.

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 7 2010, 01:01 PM
benny888
post Dec 8 2010, 07:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Dec 7 2010, 07:12 PM)
i downloaded an item(in rar) which are divided into a few parts. how to unrar it? I tried but it unrar that part only and didn't combine with the other parts. should i use another software?
Use UNRAR a freeware
if you still have problem then probably one of the file is corrupted

benny888
post Dec 8 2010, 10:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Dec 8 2010, 10:03 AM)
Benny888

Whilst importing the .pst from Win Outlook to Mac Outlook and everything looks fine to my horror the attachments are not displayed.
Any workaround?
Which Outlook version are you using ? Version 2002 and below will have this problem according to Apple support website. I do not know how to solve this.
Versions 2003 and 2007 will not have this issue. I was using version 2003 previously

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0367sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:21 PM