12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

[WTA] Starcraft 2 worth it to get it now ?

tjinn
post Aug 4 2010, 11:37 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 4 2010, 02:43 AM)
SEA >.<
blame JS and Zac...
now jason is the only one that does not have it lol...
where u got it from for 220 la wei.
js and zac got d? jason won't be getting it i guess he just got bbcs and still unemployed XD
L.S.D
post Aug 4 2010, 11:38 AM

I will laugh my ass off when the servers are all open up and those rushing to buy Limited edition at Rm799++ and so on will get screwed tongue.gif

Anyway, as the above poster said, no money, dont buy.
flix
post Aug 4 2010, 11:40 AM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(JackAlvins @ Aug 4 2010, 02:46 AM)
I like Blizzard but I don't like Activision.
I like StarCraft but I don't like StarCraft II as it is now.

No LAN.
No chat channels.
No proper sorting of custom maps. The same ones will be at top of list.
No US server access for SEA for two months.
No satisfying storyline.

Not worth. Wait.
Hmm.. I hate to bring you bad news but I give it 2 years at most. Did anyone mention you're gonna have to pay at those prices two more times within the next four years? There will be 2 more expansions. STANDALONE expansions! It means they can run as separate full games. Hence full prices. RM220 again 2 more times. So, it will be RM660 for your four years unless you wanna stay out of date.

USD60 is the raised price of the original game from USD50. You're supposed to be paying RM170 for a standard original game. The more people buying such prices, the more Activision are going to raise the price even further. Even Bobby Kotick says he wants to raise prices even higher:

http://www.destructoid.com/kotick-i-would-...ld-143049.phtml

Not to mention SEA version around retailers are basically USD79 rather than the USD75 claimed from the press release. Lack of patience. Lack of resistance to temptation. You reap what you sow. Thunder. Whirlwind. Hell, it's not the time.
Still, I think RM660 is cheaper than what I would be spending on other type of entertainment laugh.gif .
MetalIronWood
post Aug 4 2010, 11:48 AM

218 posts

market selling RM248,

if u like SC2 , don't said need to paid RM248,
if RM2480 also i will buy,

why?

if i go for others entertainment it cost me more then that already,
plus SC2 is the world known best RTS game .
some more u can play up to min 3 to 5 years.

so TS, u try to think,worth or not? u decide ..!!
yimingwuzere
post Aug 4 2010, 11:48 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 4 2010, 05:38 AM)
I think you should be aware that game reviews, unlike music/movie reviews, are generally FAIL nowadays. Too much influence by advertisers to rate things highly. Too many letters written to sites and magazines pressuring them to rate things highly. SC2 already falls under the first category due to the massive ad spammage over any media source with the slightest reference to gaming.

"Are these three separate games? How much will all of these games cost?
The StarCraft II Trilogy will consist of the base StarCraft II game and two expansion sets. Pricing on these games hasn't been determined at this early stage; however, we've always charged an appropriate price for the content the player receives, and we will continue to release high-quality games that offer great value."
Er, Blizzard clearly failed at this. BFBC2 costs RM129 at retail, SC2 costs RM248 (both at normal price). The first has lots of official dedicated servers in SEA, the second has Bnet SEA. But either IAH, Blizzard and/or Craptivi$ion thinks the extra RM50 is for the higher bandwidth costs in SG, whereas EA gives you the same package and can still profit by selling it for less than in the US.

And as far as I know JackAlvins does actual game development IRL.

Anyway OP,
I would say hold on your horses till SEA owners get US client access. If they seem to have no issues with playing games on the US, get the US version then. Otherwise sit it out till they roll out a SC2 bundle together with Heart of the Swarm zerg expansion or later. SC2 is simply overpriced as it is, and right now the hype wagon is clouding the judgment of too many gamers.

Played on a friend's copy, here's my tl;dr opinions:

Single player: 6.5/10
Gameplay 4.5/5, missions are well designed. Friend tells em there's no kill-em-all long big battle missions like Omega in SC:BW though...
Story 2/10 (granted I only played half of it but the story is piss-poor compared to SC1 and WC3)

Multiplayer and Battle.net: 4/10, Bnet 2.0 is still worse than 1.0 despite the marginal improvements here and there

Weight:
IAH Games publishes SEA SC2, 0/10 for SC2 SEA edition. Go look up IAH's history with screwing gamers over time and time again in Singapore.

Edit: seems like frags here has the same opinions as I do: http://malaysian-gamer.blogspot.com/2010/0...ofiteering.html

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Aug 4 2010, 12:00 PM
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2010, 11:59 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(L.S.D @ Aug 4 2010, 11:38 AM)
I will laugh my ass off when the servers are all open up and those rushing to buy Limited edition at Rm799++ and so on will get screwed tongue.gif

Anyway, as the above poster said, no money, dont buy.
i got my limited edition for rm400+
yimingwuzere
post Aug 4 2010, 12:01 PM

990 posts

AFAIK the only limited edition Blizzard game worth RM800 or more is the original WoW limited edition. The rest are too common compared to that.
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2010, 12:04 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

- no one tell you to trust reviews word by word without even putting any thought into what they say
- go play BFBC2 then. this is sc2, not even a FPS.
- as far as i know jackalvins is trying to convince people to support piracy, game developer or not.
L.S.D
post Aug 4 2010, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 4 2010, 12:59 PM)
i got my limited edition for rm400+
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Aug 4 2010, 01:01 PM)
AFAIK the only limited edition Blizzard game worth RM800 or more is the original WoW limited edition. The rest are too common compared to that.
That is why I am like WTF?? when there is a seller selling the CE for RM900 =.=" I can buy PS3 by topping up another RM300 already

yimingwuzere
post Aug 4 2010, 12:08 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(L.S.D @ Aug 4 2010, 12:05 PM)
That is why I am like WTF?? when there is a seller selling the CE for RM900 =.=" I can buy PS3 by topping up another RM300 already
But AFAIK if thousands of gamers are willing to get their butts screwed over for SC2 at the price of two games with long multiplayer replayability, surely there's a fool who'd pay RM800 for the CE.
froz3nnoob
post Aug 4 2010, 12:11 PM

Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the tr
837 posts

worth it dumb ass ! bought mine last week and been playing and enjoy it!
GEFORCEXTREME
post Aug 4 2010, 12:13 PM

60 posts

I think SC2 is overrated. I've played the campaign a little and here are my thoughts of it.

1) Diablo 2 styled cinematics are great, especially the Zeratul vs Kerrigan part. Should have more of these.
2) Story is crap
3) I don't like how there can be be some mission you can opt not to do or do later (ie, the order of missions) and how the main story comes after playing some missions. Means the story is in a arbitrary order.
4) I was a Battle.net player on SC but play on normal difficulty and I feel the missions are crap, and easy (maybe because on normal) compared to SC1.
5) The atmosphere SC2 gives you is in no way comparable to SC1. In SC, you get the fear of the Zergs, but in SC2, there're lots of humor, and the battlecruser Hyperion itself is a joke.
6) It eats too much resources, uses over 1 GB of RAM!
yimingwuzere
post Aug 4 2010, 12:14 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(froz3nnoob @ Aug 4 2010, 12:11 PM)
worth it dumb ass ! bought mine last week and been playing and enjoy it!
I was referring to the SEA edition so if you bought the US edition then I apologize. If not then I hope buyer's remorse doesn't get you because in most cases if you pay too much for something it certainly will.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Aug 4 2010, 12:15 PM
GEFORCEXTREME
post Aug 4 2010, 12:16 PM

60 posts

More:

7) The SC1 with the cool mouse cursors and great graphics with low PC-requirements where everyone can play lag-free is gone. Replaced with 3D version of the game, which is not excactly so much of an improvement if you ask me. Yeah, I play Ultra VQ, on 1080p resolution.
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2010, 12:17 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Aug 4 2010, 12:08 PM)
But AFAIK if thousands of gamers are willing to get their butts screwed over for SC2 at the price of two games with long multiplayer replayability, surely there's a fool who'd pay RM800 for the CE.
he got money, its his money, who are you to judge? lol
yimingwuzere
post Aug 4 2010, 12:23 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 4 2010, 12:17 PM)
he got money, its his money, who are you to judge? lol
Because it sets a precedent where games go up in price with no tangible improvement of quality or content to gamers if gamers choose to buy these games.

MW2 -> 60 USD for a PC game with no Sony/Microsoft console tax. Yet many people bought it. What happened next? Assassin's Creed 2 PC 60 USD. Splinter Cell US$60. And on Youbeli.com i see craptivi$ion's Singularity at RM220. If a popular game sells well despite the price gouging, the rest will follow.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Aug 4 2010, 12:24 PM
geforce88
post Aug 4 2010, 12:24 PM

2,841 posts

next week u see ppl sell rm50 at garage sale, then next month u see pc game shop sell rm10 per dvd...

not worth at all, especially this kind of games......
H@H@
post Aug 4 2010, 12:30 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Aug 4 2010, 12:23 PM)
Because it sets a precedent where games go up in price with no tangible improvement of quality or content to gamers if gamers choose to buy these games.

MW2 -> 60 USD for a PC game with no Sony/Microsoft console tax. Yet many people bought it. What happened next? Assassin's Creed 2 PC 60 USD. Splinter Cell US$60. And on Youbeli.com i see craptivi$ion's Singularity at RM220. If a popular game sells well despite the price gouging, the rest will follow.
Well, in Malaysia's case, I blame our Activision distros. If you look at the last 2 years, all Activision games sell for a minimum of RM 180 (Unlike RM 150 which is the average for other companies) and of late, I'm seeing that rise to about RM 200... Hence, I'm ignoring pretty much all Activision games.

As for Singularity, hmmmm, looks like Youbeli is jacking its price as its only RM 200 at TSB.

Ah well, our local retail scene had a good run (In spite of that, I'm still a fan of EA SEA). Time to turn to DDs I guess.
Quazacolt
post Aug 4 2010, 12:30 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Aug 4 2010, 12:23 PM)

dont buy it to make a point to the developers/publishers then. however, if the game is good, people would still buy it regardless and it'd make you look silly. look at THIS thread for example.

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(geforce88 @ Aug 4 2010, 12:24 PM)
next week u see ppl sell rm50 at garage sale, then next month u see pc game shop sell rm10 per dvd...

not worth at all, especially this kind of games......
decent trolling attempt. thumbup.gif

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(H@H@ @ Aug 4 2010, 12:30 PM)
Well, in Malaysia's case, I blame our Activision distros. If you look at the last 2 years, all Activision games sell for a minimum of RM 180 (Unlike RM 150 which is the average for other companies) and of late, I'm seeing that rise to about RM 200... Hence, I'm ignoring pretty much all Activision games.

As for Singularity, hmmmm, looks like Youbeli is jacking its price as its only RM 200 at TSB.

Ah well, our local retail scene had a good run (In spite of that, I'm still a fan of EA SEA). Time to turn to DDs I guess.
im not even going jump on the activision bandwagon as its a sc2 thread within a sc2 sub-forum, so for our sc2 case:

lol @ IAH and SMM. (amongst the reasons i stick dead-on to my US ver.)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 4 2010, 12:33 PM
evofantasy
post Aug 4 2010, 12:38 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ Aug 4 2010, 11:37 AM)
where u got it from for 220 la wei.
js and zac got d? jason won't be getting it i guess he just got bbcs and still unemployed XD
jz look at LYN game sales section...
u dun need to buy from stores that stick to their RM248 price tags...

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:40 pm
QUOTE(flix @ Aug 4 2010, 11:40 AM)
Still, I think RM660 is cheaper than what I would be spending on other type of entertainment  laugh.gif .
that's the problem...
ppl can complain about the price (cough then pirate it) but never thought about other entertainment which cost so much more...

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 4 2010, 12:04 PM)

- no one tell you to trust reviews word by word without even putting any thought into what they say
- go play BFBC2 then. this is sc2, not even a FPS.
- as far as i know jackalvins is trying to convince people to support piracy, game developer or not.
if he is a game developer himself, he should be aware on the whole piracy issue and stop supporting it...
i'm a comp scientist by major and i am against it even when i dun develop software atm...

reviews are meants as a guideline...
u dun have to fully agree as one man's meat is another man's poison...

any1 here sick of the whole BF:BC fiasco?
this game get quote so much now when EA was the most hated company back then lol...

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 4 2010, 12:30 PM)
dont buy it to make a point to the developers/publishers then. however, if the game is good, people would still buy it regardless and it'd make you look silly. look at THIS thread for example.

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:30 pm

decent trolling attempt.  thumbup.gif

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:33 pm

im not even going jump on the activision bandwagon as its a sc2 thread within a sc2 sub-forum, so for our sc2 case:

lol @ IAH and SMM. (amongst the reasons i stick dead-on to my US ver.)
most ppl is bashing the game due to their dislike to activision...
seriously, they are the publisher and not the developer to the game...
boycott wut u want, this thread shows that ppl (those who supported it like me) will buy the game when it is good regardless of all the drama...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Aug 4 2010, 12:46 PM

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0148sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:24 PM