Astro B.yond V6.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

dxjb
post Sep 19 2010, 02:17 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(David3850 @ Sep 18 2010, 04:40 PM)
Im writing a complaint to ASTRO.. this is too much!
I subscribe to ASTRO BEYOND solely to enjoy football in HD.

Im a crazy football fan, kudos to ASTRO showing most of the high profile EPL matches in HD but..

NOT SHOWING BARCELONA's matches in HD? wtf man! All of Barcelona matches this season was not shown in HD, even tomorrow's match Barcelona vs Atletico Madrid will not be shown in HD, instead they use the time slot to show "RED BULL NY" ...

Is there a conspiracy here...
i'll be very surprised if astro even acknowledge ur complaint..its an issue that has been around ever since LIVE European football was brought in to Malaysia..sometimes ur team will be on LIVE sometimes it wont..the most probable respond u will get from Astro is that the matches picked to be shown on their channels are based on what matches are shown by their broadcast partners in Europe..

n to show u that sometimes ur team is shown and sometimes they wont, Barcelona's match at home against Sporting Gijon on wednesday night early Thursday morning will be live in HD at 1.55 am..hope ur happy.. biggrin.gif

Added on September 19, 2010, 2:23 am
QUOTE(mr_faidhi @ Sep 19 2010, 01:30 AM)
But there is no mythbusters on Discover HD World. The programs aired are boring in this channel. A bit different from discovery channel that we have. Go check the guide on Starhub website. Maybe that's why astro doesn't want to take this channel.
quite true..there are those who have demanded Discovery HD to be brought in, do not realise that they wont see the exact same thing seen on Discovery HD as they see on the normal Discovery channel..one example that is true enough is Mythbusters..although the programme has been shot in HD, i believe it has yet to be shown on Discovery HD..correct me if im wrong..

i bet u if astro bring in Discovery HD now, we will then here sounds of complaints of y certain programmes are not shown on the channel..and astro will still get the blame..hahaha..hard to please everybody i guess.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Sep 19 2010, 02:25 AM
dxjb
post Sep 21 2010, 03:03 AM

807 posts

how much is the movie package again? i am currently on RM109 per month (Sports+learning,fun,news)..was thinking of getting variety when astro added FOX but seems FOX asia is crap..

really hoping they would add a HD channel to one of the mini packages still without a HD channel i.e news, fun or variety..hoping for star world HD so that I could add it to my list..but weird that variety costs RM10, whiLe the other mini packages coz RM5..
dxjb
post Sep 22 2010, 01:16 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Sep 22 2010, 01:06 AM)
is it true Star World HD coming to us? cant wait for it... now countdown for Star Movies HD...
i wonder... y astro didnt ask the customer opinion on what HD channels we want...
are u serious man..? rite now, they dont ask customers also they have so many requests and people still complain after getting/not getting the channels they want..imagine how many lorry load of requests they will get if they give customer the choice..haha

i bet if they did, the request list go from the likes of DISCOVERY HD to PORN TV HD..haha tongue.gif

Added on September 22, 2010, 1:20 am
QUOTE(smileguy @ Sep 21 2010, 09:03 AM)
Pls refer post 1033 page 52 for pricing icon_rolleyes.gif  Sports plus Movie wld be qiute heavy bro  abv RM150 rclxub.gif
never mind la..no movies for me is fine as it has lots of repeat...sports is important for me..if they put a HD channel in variety, i think i will take la..

This post has been edited by dxjb: Sep 22 2010, 01:20 AM
dxjb
post Sep 22 2010, 03:30 AM

807 posts

add on Star Movies HD would make it 10 right?
still got 5 slots to go..
come on astro..suck our money..
give one channel each to Variety, Fun, News, Metro and Dynasty..then it would be very worthwhile for everyone
dxjb
post Sep 22 2010, 10:48 PM

807 posts

ASTRO WILL HAVE THE COMMONWEALTH GAMES COVERAGE ON CHANNEL 820 FROM 3-14 OCTOBER..

just saw the ad but not sure in SD only or in HD also..

BTW, 2 questions..

1) How good is the the Food Network Asia channel and do we know the channel number?

2) Again..there have been those who have been crying out loud for Discovery HD..but do u realise the programming is not the same as the Discovery SD channel? I dont mind if astro give u Discovery HD now if those who want it are happy with it but it would be so annoying if they just complaining and screaming for Discovery HD then suddenly when they get it and they see its not the same as Discovery SD they come here and rant and complain again..

This post has been edited by dxjb: Sep 22 2010, 10:49 PM
dxjb
post Sep 24 2010, 03:44 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Sep 23 2010, 02:17 PM)
u can search regarding this new channel info in my blog...

www.myhdchannels.blogspot.com

not promoting but the info are there....
bro..better u state that the info u have on ur blog are from astro's website or fb or wherever..coz u are using their statement word by word and it looks as if u are the one saying it..its not wrong but its more blog ethical when u cite where u got the info from..it all has to do with rights and copyright and terms and condition and stuff..sure u heard the word plagiarism rite? hehee...just advice for ur won sake brows.gif
dxjb
post Sep 26 2010, 10:17 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Sep 26 2010, 09:39 PM)
Damm... why astro broadcast delay match between AS Roma vs Inter Milan on 831 right now?  doh.gif
Live F1 in HD should be a high priority than delay match.

Maybe no more F1 in HD (upscaled) anymore after this..  sweat.gif
u should do some research first before making accusations and jumping to conclusions.. ch831 (Astro) do not have the rights to broadcast F1..ESPN STAR SPORTS have the rights..and that also means ESPN HD have the rights to show it..so it was ESPN HD decision not to show F1 but instead show BPL football..the timing clashed so ESPN HD had to make the decision..astro and channel 831 could do nothing about it..

n..there will be more F1 in HD (upscaled)..it was just today that BPL and F1 had a clash of times..

This post has been edited by dxjb: Sep 26 2010, 10:19 PM
dxjb
post Sep 27 2010, 05:45 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(akerue @ Sep 27 2010, 09:49 AM)
But there will always be BPL match on Sunday right? So it will always clash I presume???
yes..that is the case but I think priority is given to BPL not because of its popular fanbase but because of the expensive contract for the rights paid by ESPN STAR SPORTS for the coverage..officially F1 has no HD coverage as the one shown now is an upscaled version..so not sure if there are any rights to show he HD content compared to the contracts for the HD content for BPL..

there are only f4 F1 races left on the calender..i have looked up the time schedule for F1 and BPL and here it is below:

FORMULA 1:
10 October 2010 Japan GP, Race Time: 2 pm - NO CLASHING WITH BPL

24 October 2010 South Korean GP, Race Time: 2 pm - NO CLASHING WITH BPL

7 November 2010 Brazil GP, Race Time: 12 am - CLASHES WITH LIVERPOOL VS CHELSEA (12 am)
UPDATE: THIS RACE WILL LIKELY BE LIVE ON ESPN AND ESPN HD BECAUSE LIVERPOOL VS CHELSEA WILL BE ON ASTRO SUPERSORT 3 AND SUPERSPORT HD

14 November 2010 Abu Dhabi GP, Race Time: 9 pm - CLASHES WITH EVERTON VS ARSENAL (10pm)

As u can see, there will be two matches that will clash with BPL..for the Brazillian GP, it has the same time with Liverpool vs Chelsea..i dont see F1 to be shown ahead of that match..as for the in Abu Dhabi, the F1 race starts an hour early..ESPN HD have been in this situation before..they showed the F1 race 1st and as soon as the race was over, they switched to the BPL match..

This post has been edited by dxjb: Sep 27 2010, 06:39 PM
dxjb
post Sep 27 2010, 06:50 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Sep 27 2010, 06:25 PM)
Guess we can only catch the delayed broadcast  blush.gif
7 November 2010 Brazil GP, Race Time: 12 am - CLASHES WITH LIVERPOOL VS CHELSEA (12 am)
UPDATE: THIS RACE WILL LIKELY BE LIVE ON ESPN AND ESPN HD BECAUSE LIVERPOOL VS CHELSEA WILL BE ON ASTRO SUPERSORT 3 AND SUPERSPORT HD

and the Abu Dhabi race should be LIVE also..ESPN HD will switch their feed from F1 to BPL once the race is over..
dxjb
post Sep 28 2010, 04:13 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Sep 28 2010, 12:15 AM)
If astro dont have the rights on F1, why not they broadcast LIVE BPL on 831 (instead of delay match) and LIVE F1 on 832.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Astro have a fully rights on all BPL match.
actually, astro doesnt have the rights to all BPL matches..that right is held by ESPN STAR SPORTS..astro can only show LIVE BPL matches on 3 time slots on their in house channel i.e ASSP 3 n ASSP HD..

Saturday > 10 pm (3pm UK kickoff), Sunday > 12.30 am (530 pm UK kickoff), Sunday > 11pm (4pm UK time)

All the other time slots are held by ESPN STAR SPORTS so the one that clashed with the F1 race was held by ESPN STAR SPORTS..its ESPN's right to either to show BPL or F1..astro had no say on what channel F1 should be on..

One more thing that should be noted in this controversy is that ESPN STAR as well as Astro have paid huge money to buy the rights for BPL and in those rights, there are certain terms such as number of matches and how the matches are broadcast (LIVE or DELAY) that has to be full filled by the rights holder..however, F1 does not have any official HD rights yet and the HD we are getting now are upscaled versions that is done by the broadcaster themselves..ESPN might also have felt it was better to show LIVE HD content as opposed to LIVE Upscaled content

So to cut short the story..ESPN n Astro have to meet the terms of their HD rights to show BPL but not to FIA F1 (as long as there is at least SD version of F1 available)..Hope I cleared some things up here.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Sep 28 2010, 04:14 AM
dxjb
post Sep 28 2010, 02:14 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:09 AM)
Currently I am using a standard Astro and I planned to install Astro B.yond in a different room, using new account and then cancel the old account.

I'm wandering can I still use the new Astro B.yond card and insert into my old Astro decoder to watch the standard channel?

no u cant..ur byond box and the smart card are exclusive to each other..meaning u cannot use standard astro card in ur Byond box and vice versa..why do u want to cancel ur account? just use the current account to install Byond,, They will automatically change it 4 u..
dxjb
post Sep 28 2010, 10:24 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Sep 28 2010, 02:56 PM)
I canceled my old account last time to get another set of decoder so that I can watch Astro at different location (daytime in living room and maybe night time in my room) by inserting the smart card to another decoder.

Now I planned to apply a new account and cancel the old one (should be no more contract because it was like 3 years ago), so that I can watch Astro at 3 different rooms, but with only one smart card.

So currently the decoder and smart card can't be share with another decoder/smart card? That's bad... cry.gif
Or maybe I should downgrade my current Astro package and split them into 2 accounts, at least paying for the same price? hmm.gif

Any idea anyone?
well u can downgrade and open new account for the same price but it woulD affect ur package? meAning u have to have the right package for Byond to watch HD..
dxjb
post Sep 29 2010, 03:53 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Sep 28 2010, 11:34 PM)
Discovery HD changed it's name to Discovery HD World for a reason.....so that they can scheduled boring programs and yet defend for themselves that it was not meant to be confused with DSC SD channel.....With programs like 'My Family Feast', 'Flavors of', 'Let It Snow', 'Water Life', 'Green Paradise' on that channel.....it's a big *yawn*.

I rather have SONY ONE than stuck with DSC HD WORLD.
been trying to get this message across to those Discovery HD enthusiasts who think they will get the same thing seen on discovery SD on the Discovery HD channel..im not saying all those who want Discovery HD dont know this fact..some do yet they still want its their preference..but its those others who are screaming out for Discovery HD to be introduced expecting to get the same thing but in actual fact they dont know how the channels programming is like..i bet u my bottom dollar these people will also be the same bunch who will then complain and scream why the programming is not the same, y is it so boring and so on.. shakehead.gif
dxjb
post Sep 30 2010, 12:33 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(amaraptor @ Sep 29 2010, 12:16 PM)
I'm not bored with learning package HD & movies HD.But i'm bored with sports and US TV series.Cabuttt.... whistling.gif
i'm not bored with sports and US TV series..i'm bored with learning package HD and movies HD.
dxjb
post Sep 30 2010, 04:50 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(evolutionize @ Sep 30 2010, 03:32 AM)
i dont get why ESPN HD wont broadcast the time and the score of the Champions League matches. instead i have to switch to the SD channel to check the time of play.
yeah..really frustrating..

anyone can tell me where can we send complains for ESPN HD? Like ESPN email or something? Last season when ESPN show Champions League football matches at the start of the season, they also did not show scoreboard and time for a few games..i sent an email to the Football Focus and John Dykes asking them why it was missing and asked for it to be put up..luckily after a few matches they did put it up..im not saying they listened to me or what but something must have made them realised..

Then ESPN HD was launched by astro and handled by them too and they put up the scoreboard and time..now after the handover to the Singapore based ESPN HD, they dont seem to know how to put it on..not only tonight but for all Champions League games so far from the qualifying rounds..

so anyone know how to contact or email the management of ESPN HD? would like to complain and request for the scoreboard and time to be put up during matches for ESPN HD..please tell me if u know how to contact them..thanks
dxjb
post Sep 30 2010, 02:17 PM

807 posts

anyone know where should i forward any complaint regarding ESPN HD yet?
dxjb
post Sep 30 2010, 02:45 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 30 2010, 02:22 PM)

dxjb
post Sep 30 2010, 04:21 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Sep 30 2010, 03:43 PM)
I am just wondering why ESPN HD cannot provide the pre-match show in HD as well.
i just think ESPN still dont have the capabilities to produce their own content in HD..most of the content they do have available is from their provider feeds..its still mind blogging that a big company like them still cant have their own pre game, half time and post game show in HD..although this is not a surprise really since they still havent figured out how to put the scoreboard and time on the screen during Champions League matches..this is something i hope raise to them in due course.. hmm.gif
dxjb
post Oct 1 2010, 03:44 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Sep 30 2010, 05:38 PM)
Please let us know if you receive any feedback from them.

On another note, I think we have to credit Supersport for broadcasting the pre-show, half time as well as post game analysis both in SD & HD although as we all have debated before, the choice of their pundits are a bit dodgy. But I am a little pleased that Des Corker(?) is on board.
i do applaud astro supersport for being able to produce their own HD pre match, half time and post match show..even ESPN cant do this but......damn they have the most boring set of host, 'expert' pundits, female presenters and also sometimes make glaring mistakes..if they can improve on this, they can be a top quality sports channel..u meant Dez Corkhill.. smile.gif

Added on October 1, 2010, 3:47 am
QUOTE(evolutionize @ Sep 30 2010, 08:00 PM)
its fine that they dont have pre-match shows and analysis as that requires alot of planning to conduct. however something as simple as pinning up a scoreboard on Champs League matches seems ridiculous coming from a big company like ESPN. even live sport feed on our national television can do that perfectly. anyway lets give ESPN HD a benefit of the doubt probably they have to obtain rights from UEFA or whoever because Astro is able to put scoreboard for EPL matches.
i dont believe its got to do with the rights as normally whoever has the rights to show a match will also get the rights for everything else..i think it has more to do with the guys at the new ESPN HD in singapore who are having trouble trying to come up with HD scoreboard and time..the ones they have for BPL comes directly form the feed they get from the UK (Premier League Productions channel)

Added on October 1, 2010, 3:48 am
QUOTE(RuFeZ @ Sep 30 2010, 10:53 PM)
Waiting for 2NE1 in One HD biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
eh..2D1N got in ONE HD meh? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Oct 1 2010, 03:48 AM
dxjb
post Oct 3 2010, 12:22 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Oct 2 2010, 11:45 PM)
Any reason when will ESPN HD display EPL scoreboard? brows.gif
u mean any news when ESPN will display Champions League scoreboard?
BPL got scoreboard already what..
I ask ESPN y no scoreboard and time for BPL but no reply from them..better if we get their email add so we can ask them directly..
anyone know the email address for feedback for ESPN HD?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0348sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:38 AM