4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Protoss Discussion Thread Ver. 1, [SEASON 2] Tips & Strategies.

tatyinw
post Sep 9 2010, 12:22 PM

35 posts

Containment tactics?
Think Quazacolt was teaching me on it a page back on how to contain the terran in their base. You can watch his replays too. Like the one against arwa. It is to make it so that he can't even leave his base and expand.
tatyinw
post Sep 10 2010, 05:06 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 10 2010, 12:32 AM)
guys, toss vs toss, what counters void rays, stalkers?

met a mass void ray and it seems like rays just eat stalkers, even with micro focus fire.
Have met one before too.
Just that since he went 2 stargate, he did not have enough to get an observer.
So the robotics facility helped a lot to have an observer following his void rays.

The only thing left is to catch him offguard sending it in to a mass army of blink stalkers.
The important thing is to never let his void rays charge up to level 3.
So when you have enough stalkers, just send half of it to his base which is usually quite weakly defended as he went mass void rays and see it go down. smile.gif
tatyinw
post Sep 16 2010, 01:27 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Sep 14 2010, 10:48 AM)
by experience i would say, you see when you scout, you would roughly know what are your opponent's army is.

for example, you wont rush a terran with stalkers if he has 4 barracks, you shuld get immortals zealots sentry and stalkers

if he makes a bunker it shows that he is teching, tahts the right time to rush if you didnt tech as well and go for the standard robo gateway build,

get what i mean?
When I saw the bunker, I didn't expect my opponent to tech up to a thor and come up my ramp.
That was really an unexpected experience. sweat.gif
tatyinw
post Sep 25 2010, 09:25 PM

35 posts

Omg!! I thought he was getting married?
And now he is leaving the girl behind to go Korea? Haha.
tatyinw
post Sep 26 2010, 08:09 PM

35 posts

Oh yea. Thanks evo.
I mixed up the 2 of them. blush.gif Pai seh....
tatyinw
post Oct 11 2010, 11:24 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 11 2010, 03:09 PM)
sad new, tester got eliminated by flintzenith (terran)...
as cool said, TvP hugely favor terran...

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=159751
I'll go QQ in a corner right now....

*corner*cry.gif
tatyinw
post Oct 12 2010, 07:15 PM

35 posts

Those games strats won't apply in practice leagues.
It is better that you just skip practice leagues if you plan to play normally cause those rocks really screws up your gameplay when you enter a proper league game. smile.gif
tatyinw
post Oct 13 2010, 01:06 PM

35 posts

So far I find that denying their expand to their natural is really important.
Can't really deny it that much but you can try and slow it down at least by putting a pylon right on it.
tatyinw
post Oct 20 2010, 12:23 PM

35 posts

Ouch. Just got rolled by a MMM too.
FE at 2nd Gate is still the best against it.
Just that I was so slow to build up my army.
My resources unused was too much.
Had like 2k minerals and like 600 gas waiting to be used.
Think I need more Warp Gates. Only had 5 up.
tatyinw
post Oct 21 2010, 11:20 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 20 2010, 05:11 PM)
sentries to GS...
helps a lot...
immortals + any comp of gateway units...

Added on October 21, 2010, 12:47 amPvZ its over...
toss been eliminated by zergs so much
Due to roaches?
It is kinda hard to handle at the moment...
tatyinw
post Oct 21 2010, 12:37 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 21 2010, 12:09 PM)
yup...
roaches are killing toss in GSL it is sad =(

well try to the 15nexus build (even tester is seen doing it now) for PvZ...
jz be prepare to def ur ass off...
known when to stop probe production and use the chrono from both nexus well between probes and ur army...
Argh... =(
Wow. I only know how to go the 1-2 Gate FE.
The Gate Forge FE is still a mess. Not sure where to place the forge properly.
15 nexus is going to be hell to defend...
What's that like? 1 Gate FE? Or the forge FE?

This post has been edited by tatyinw: Oct 21 2010, 12:43 PM
tatyinw
post Oct 21 2010, 03:30 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 21 2010, 01:10 PM)
depends on wut u scouted...
u can either go 15nexus or 15forge -> 15nexus...
its a simcity and u gotta make ur chrono really well =p
Haha, I suck at simcity. I often just natural disaster it with fire, blizzards and alien invasions. tongue.gif
I am like, "Damn you citizens of simcity making my life miserable. Die a painful death!~"

Maybe that's why my bases now are such a mess that it looks like a maze...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2010, 01:15 PM)
roach is so retarded man, when i random zerg i just spam that shit and almost all the time auto win :/

as a protoss, i just focus on anti roach shit and that usually guarantee my win unless zerg is good at FE/techswitches to counter my counter then i still gg anyways oTL
Maybe I should try playing Zerg and roach spam a bit for fun. tongue.gif
Hope I don't get addicted...

Added on October 21, 2010, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(his @ Oct 21 2010, 02:47 PM)
hey guys, what army would u build if against terran and they hv a siege tank and a few marines at the choke of the ramp in the early 5 mins of the game ?
I'll probably camp outside his natural and already have an expansion up. tongue.gif
Warp prism to his mineral line and cause havoc and then send my army up his ramp.
Or Quazaolt's replay, snipe his tanks with colossi and observers.

Scrubie's answer works really well too cause your opponent could be massing up banshees and Phoenix would be awesome.

This post has been edited by tatyinw: Oct 21 2010, 03:36 PM
tatyinw
post Oct 22 2010, 03:02 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 22 2010, 01:40 AM)
haha sorry for such a short reply.. biggrin.gif

Anyways what i meant was if you are rushing you can go pheonix because pheonix has graviton beam, it can disables siege tank and i  doubt terrans will go banshees or raven after siege tank because it would be taking out alot of gasses and even if they do go raven their forces wont be big because they are teching so rush the terran before he has his full force..

wow im facing alot of trouble against roaches too haha i feel that sentry stalkers are the safest way but you can split them in to two group with ff would give the favour to you but the problem is you need alot of sentries like 4-5 which takes out alot of gas too sad.gif the extra minerals can be sued for another expo n extract gas but by then u shud go collo n stop relying on your sentries already..
Haha yea. I didn't expect a mass banshee either. He turtled up in his base with the tanks and went mass banshees. I thought my mass stalkers could take it down but guess I underestimated the mass amount of banshees. Should have gone phoenix to screw him up. tongue.gif

Yea I hate those roaches too. Luckily stalkers have a longer range so you can still kite them a bit and as long as they are not on creep.
So far gold and platinum tiered people are still falling to a 4 gate rush.
Think it won't work against your league. sad.gif
tatyinw
post Oct 22 2010, 04:50 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(MintDarker @ Oct 22 2010, 03:16 PM)
I think roaches with speed upgrade walk faster than stalker off creep, coz whenever I retreat my stalker those roaches are able to chase up and hit. correct me if im wrong.
Yea. If they get the speed upgrade, we're kinda screwed. cry.gif
Plus burrow its going to be hell...
tatyinw
post Oct 26 2010, 02:43 PM

35 posts

Yea. Tried it out too but had to lose almost 8 games in a row to get it right for me. tongue.gif

Evo's 15 Forge to 17 Nexus FE is safer for maps that you can't wall off safely at your natural like Blistering Sands as they can just backdoor you. 15 Nexus FE works wonders on Lost Temple and Metalopolis.

I find the Phoenix really important to stop them from going mass roaches on you. I forgot to go Phoenix one round and then got pwned by mass roaches.

Each time I go that 4 phoenix, my opponent would tech to hydra to get pwned by colossi. The replays in that link was really good. smile.gif
tatyinw
post Nov 1 2010, 03:01 PM

35 posts

He just defined the new meaning to 13 Gate 14 Gas. laugh.gif
tatyinw
post Nov 1 2010, 04:20 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Nov 1 2010, 03:25 PM)
such a good strats, i wonder if you could make 14 gas in a game :S
7 bases in total.
Pretty crazy if you actually manage to pull that off. tongue.gif

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 1 2010, 03:32 PM)
i told my fren to 9rax into supply (old patch) and he literally did that...
and he is nt trolling like cella is LOL!
Haha. That would really be an epic game when the opponent scout his base and sees that.
Did he win?

tatyinw
post Nov 1 2010, 04:24 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 1 2010, 04:23 PM)
lol no he didnt...
i managed to stop him when i see he has 3 rax and 0 supply depot >.<
Hahahaha.
Lucky he is not trolling like cella if not I think you would feel like face palming or vomitting blood. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tatyinw: Nov 1 2010, 04:25 PM
tatyinw
post Nov 1 2010, 05:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 1 2010, 04:54 PM)
lol he was new...
he's pretty good now so its a learnign experience...
not many ppl get the supply numbers for BO after all...
Haha yea.
Unless they at least played Starcraft before.
But it is kinda fun teaching new players.
A lot of weird things can happen.
And most of the time, you end up laughing until you cannot concentrate. tongue.gif
tatyinw
post Nov 1 2010, 06:14 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 1 2010, 06:07 PM)
well i mostly got to know about it from VoDs cause i dun really play sc1bw as well since i was a heavy console gamer =p
btw in 2v2 if u are doing the pump strat, mass blink stalkers...
its really a sick build LOL
That's like mass dragoons back in sc1bw. smile.gif
Though its even more sick now since you can blink haha.
So now left consoles and became a PC Gamer? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 1 2010, 06:09 PM)
oh my you couldnt imagine the trollans i/my friends done.

in fact, radkliler made up a thread about it, sadly, no ventrilo recordings to fill in the gaps of lulz content.
Ah damn. Would have loved to listen to em. laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0232sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:24 AM