akachester
post Aug 17 2010, 03:15 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 17 2010, 03:01 PM)
Link ? I can't notice any sad.gif
I control the sync as well as the data.
m.adobe.com i believe is the link. What i did was just surf the adobe.com website using the default browser, click on download adobe flash, and it will then say your phone is not supported. A list will be given on supported phone and so far, that list is only Nexus One.
akachester
post Aug 17 2010, 08:45 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Aug 17 2010, 07:56 PM)
hmm.. seems like nextsense 5.2 is draining my battery quite fast.. any other froyo flavour to recommend?
NextSense 5.3 perhaps tongue.gif It was said to be more battery saving compared to 5.2.

QUOTE(ksh9394 @ Aug 17 2010, 08:24 PM)
can some 1 post a link on partition the sd card?
No link needed. Just download the ROM Manager from the market, and launch the program. Then go to "partition your SD card" and it will require you to download the "ClockworkMod". Just download and install. Then, click on the "Partition your SD card" again and select 512MB as EXT and 0 as SWAP. It will restart and your SD will be successfully partitioned.
akachester
post Aug 18 2010, 09:58 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

On NextSense 5.3, does Google Map still require data connection?
akachester
post Aug 18 2010, 12:46 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(chaostan @ Aug 18 2010, 12:32 PM)
So meaning tat if the version is 0.92 we can't root it? Is there any different in term of performance for update froyo 2.2 with rooted device with froyo 2.2?
At the moment, no. HBOOT 0.92 cannot be rooted yet. However, i remember seeing a guide on how to turn it back to HBOOT 0.80 and root again. Maybe need to search it at XDA. In terms of performance, i believe they are the same because the base FroYo are from the same OTA source. However, Rooted FroYo might have a slight advantage because most of the time, they are customized by the developer and added / removed certain programs as well as being fine tuned. Rooted FroYo also have advantage when it comes to installing App2SD+ etc.
akachester
post Aug 18 2010, 04:00 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 18 2010, 03:53 PM)
how come there's no news yet for the SEA Froyo...  sad.gif
There is a "rumor" about it coming in at the end of September. Still no news from HTC SEA. All they will say is "wait and be informed". LOL...Just root it. tongue.gif Its fun!

Anyone have Maxis TTDI's phone number?

This post has been edited by akachester: Aug 18 2010, 04:02 PM
akachester
post Aug 18 2010, 05:54 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 18 2010, 05:27 PM)
wtf.... end of September?  I think I am not gonna wait for it forever.  Time to ROOT my desire this weekend.  Need to do research first before I root it - A2SD, A2SD+, cold card, etc, etc all these terms and all the different favours of ROM make me  rclxub.gif .
Do not need to use Gold Card. Its a rooting for the old method. Just use unrevoked. Its easy and hassle free smile.gif The most difficult choice is picking the right ROM for u tongue.gif

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 18 2010, 05:45 PM)
oo cynox bro.. lets do it together ..
i'm doing it on thur/fri nite..
not very clear of it too.. been reading a lot.. confusing ~
especially the making partition ext 2, 3, 4 etc etc ~
wah blur ~
cus all sifu's are here on weekday.. weekend kinda silent here.. so ar.. kenot do on weekend eh~ if not later got problem tat time no sifu's lead.. veli scare and danger ~~
dun forget to fully charge ur phone b4 u start doing it a ~~~~  biggrin.gif
i already got all the files needed... now just need Roms + radio nie..

i heard that.. A2SD+ is on some ROM nie rite?
original Froyo ( ap set who get official release ) is A2SD (without + one rite?)
so izzit A2SD+ need the ext 2,3,4 etc etc thingy while A2SD don't need partition ??

oo.. now nie i realise maliqu blog stated :  make partition after finish flash ROM..
previously i tot make partition only flash rom...
There isn't actually much to be worried about. Making partition is very easy. Its just download ROM Manager, select the partition size and you are ready to go. smile.gif You cant even select the partition type smile.gif

To be honest, the danger is really very minimal. I bootloop mine a couple of times already but all you need is confidence to do it smile.gif Most of the custom ROMs like NextSense have A2SD+. And yes, A2SD+ needs the EXT3 partition or else its pretty much like the native APP2SD. Look into the first post for the ways to root your phone and flash ROM. Its explained very clearly for step by step and if you follow it, it will be done in no time smile.gif
akachester
post Aug 18 2010, 05:57 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(maliqu3 @ Aug 18 2010, 05:55 PM)
if u want sense, modaco r8 is quite good and stable. no sense try the latest nightly cyanogenmod 08182010 it's now has better battery life, coz the OJ bugs should be fixed by now.
Exactly. On paper, R8 seems to be the best out there for Sense FroYo. Too bad i don't have a premium account to test it out tongue.gif
akachester
post Aug 18 2010, 06:02 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 18 2010, 05:58 PM)
Am using r8 since  I rooted my device. Will try out CM mod later.
A lot of new widgets today. Paul is on fire. rclxm9.gif
You can say Paul is very dedicated to Android at the moment tongue.gif He even list out 1 app per day for android in his tweets.
akachester
post Aug 18 2010, 06:13 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Well, i always clear my cache in recovery. I feel that is a better and easier way though smile.gif Can clear together with other stuffs. Not sure whats the use of clearing Davlik Cache though tongue.gif
akachester
post Aug 18 2010, 06:14 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 18 2010, 06:14 PM)
cyanogen got sense UI ?
i think i'm addicted to sense UI d tongue.gif
emm.. modaco i dun have premium acc... mostly won't buy for now first.. so modaco is out from my list.. maybe i'll try cyanogen  biggrin.gif
I believe No. Cyanogen is on stock UI.
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 09:02 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Wow..For the first time i am suprised by the NextSense. Yesterday at around 11pm, the battery is at about 49%. This morning when i woke up, its about 46%. I turned off all the options like Data Connection and Auto Sync. Never realise its that battery saving smile.gif
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 09:16 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(motopolah @ Aug 19 2010, 09:10 AM)
anybody?
No idea. I have the same problem on Custom FroYo as well tongue.gif Keeps getting Generic Network Failure when sending MMS.

QUOTE(chding @ Aug 19 2010, 09:11 AM)
which version you are using?
5.3 smile.gif
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:03 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 19 2010, 09:37 AM)
wah... save tat much battery ar~
tempted to try nextsense 5.3 eh ~~
but then maliqu say it boot veli slow ~  so not that recommended..
Might just try deLite biggrin.gif
duno the power savers in deLite is ok or not compare to nextsense 5.3 ~  anyone tried both? and have some comments ? smile.gif
Well, i dont mind the boot up to be honest. I don't restart much anyway. Personally, the boot up is only VERY slow for the first time. Other than they, they are fine with me.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 19 2010, 09:47 AM)
I have mine slightly better with r8
I am very tempted to try the R8 or RC1 but too bad, its for premium members only tongue.gif
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:08 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 19 2010, 10:06 AM)
ok, before I enter the dark side, some questions:

1.  Is it more advisable to upgrade my storage card from the 2GB to 8/16GB before I root?  As I understand, some rooting process will create partition on the card.  So I can save some works if I upgrade my card first?

2.  A2SD+ is better than A2SD from Froyo but A2SD+ is depend on rom?

These question might have asked before but this thread is moving so fast that the info has been fast buried.  sweat.gif

Thanks in advance.  smile.gif
On my 8gb, after partition and stuff, i loose about 1GB from my SD. So, i do recommend something bigger than 2GB unless you don't mind the lack in space.

A2SD+ are available on MOST of the custom ROMs. Without partition, they act about the same as the native APP2SD. They are only usable when you have EXT partition.
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:12 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 19 2010, 10:10 AM)
I thought Flashing ROM,  we need to do our own partition ??
or the ROM will create magically for us ??  sorry kinda blur on the partitioning part ~
No. NO Partition will magically be created. You need to create it manually using ROM Manager. Some ROM require partitions because they come by default, with APP2SD+. If it does not come with it, then NO partition is required.
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:25 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Well, it doesn't matter whether you Partition -> Flash or Flash -> Partition. I would flash first then only partition smile.gif
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:28 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 19 2010, 10:26 AM)
I turned away to read One Piece manga and it has 16 new updates... This thread is really growing fast.

I have used LeeDroid and NextSense. I want to try something else but I am not willing to pay for those premium ones. Can anyone recommend me something?
Download all the options available in XDA and flash them one by one until you are satisfied tongue.gif
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:32 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 19 2010, 10:30 AM)
yes, definitely I will upgrade my 2GB storage card.  My question is should I get the upgrade now?  If the migration from existing card to new card is as easy as just copy over than maybe I will wait further until the memory card price drop further.  If I need to redo the whole process (or most of the process) again if I want to upgrade the card later, then I may want to get a new card now.

Is there a custom rom with SenseUI which is stable?  The WhiteXperience above looks tasty but it does not have sense UI, right?

So the general steps:

1.  Root the phone with Unrevoked.
2.  Create partitions
3.  Flash rom.

Correct?  sweat.gif
Yes, thats correct.

This is basically the guideline that i follow besides maliqu3's blog and some of the links in the first post.

Source : http://rootmydroid.co.uk/guides/desire/how...our-htc-desire/

NextSense are pretty much stable to me on my second reinstall. First one was giving me some weird troubles but i believe it could be due to my faulty SD.

akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:48 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 19 2010, 10:42 AM)
Wow, you are really spoiling me, arent you? I might just do that once I get my 8gb kingmax (Class 10) micro sdcard.
CM6 rc2 eh? Ok, I will give it a shot. Double check, is it a Sense UI rom? Since you've tried so many Roms, which is your favorite?
I bought it for RM95 from a forumer name, leonlaitl. Then, yeokeeyie who was here recommended another cheaper one, RM80 from ebiz2u.
CM6 RC2 is vanilla UI. No Sense UI. Well, everyone have their comments on one ROM or another. Basically the most famous now are Modaco, OpenDesire, NextSense, Cynanogen etc.
akachester
post Aug 19 2010, 10:55 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 19 2010, 10:49 AM)
how's the performance of the card?  Some say difference brand even some class will have difference performance.  I think i am getting a 8GB too at the moment.  16GB class 10 a bit too expensive. 

thanks, akachester and maliqu3, the guide at the blog is clear and easy to follow.  Might want to try it now.  Anyone know what's the speed of the 2GB microSD card come with our Desire, any way to test it?  As the blog mention Class 4 and above is recommended for A2SD+.
Class 2. smile.gif The higher the class, the faster the minimum speed rating is, thus, a faster card.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0558sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:11 AM