fonda82
post Nov 27 2010, 05:08 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Deswin @ Nov 27 2010, 04:35 PM)
DHD will be much better..

sgs is having problems with their gps and laggness. unless u root it
now waiting for digi to launch DHD... hopefully price not too high for contract... or else cry.gif
oh.. so sgs having problem like dat.... which mean we need to root it to solve all those problems??
sidewinderz
post Nov 27 2010, 08:54 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(fonda82 @ Nov 27 2010, 05:08 PM)
now waiting for digi to launch DHD... hopefully price not too high for contract... or else  cry.gif
oh.. so sgs having problem like dat.... which mean we need to root it to solve all those problems??
you dun have to root to solve the lagginess of sgs, just need to use the speedmod kernel and you'll experience the true speed... =)
angheah
post Nov 27 2010, 08:58 PM

48 posts

What andriod phone is considered reasonable and cheap with good functions?

I heard that samsung Galaxy 5 is good blush.gif

This post has been edited by angheah: Nov 27 2010, 08:59 PM
AskarPerang
post Nov 27 2010, 11:44 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(angheah @ Nov 27 2010, 08:58 PM)
What andriod phone is considered reasonable and cheap with good functions?

I heard that samsung Galaxy 5 is good  blush.gif
Yes, you are right.
A higher budget can get you HTC Wildfire.

Both are good entry level android phones.
mode893
post Nov 28 2010, 12:21 AM

812 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 26 2010, 01:11 PM)
But SE cannot upgrade to 2.2Froyo right?
And SE usually lack update.
That was their major flaw, correct me if I'm wrong.
Can upgrade to 2.2, SE just haven't confirmed it. Devs at XDA are already working on froyo custom rom if you don't wanna wait for SE. Step into X10 thread to look at photo samples. Right now the experience with 2.1 is amazing plus it has high end specs at 1.1k ap set. It's a very underrated phone due to SE's stupidity in marketing their own product doh.gif
FallenOut
post Nov 28 2010, 12:23 AM

#eieiru
6,077 posts

QUOTE(mode893 @ Nov 28 2010, 12:21 AM)
Can upgrade to 2.2, SE just haven't confirmed it. Devs at XDA are already working on froyo custom rom if you don't wanna wait for SE. Step into X10 thread to look at photo samples. Right now the experience with 2.1 is amazing plus it has high end specs at 1.1k ap set. It's a very underrated phone due to SE's stupidity in marketing their own product  doh.gif
agree on the se fails at marketin their own products btr
bt the phones looks nice
HybridMaestro
post Nov 28 2010, 02:03 AM

Hi, guys. need some opinion.

I'm totally new to Android, therefore i would like to try something at the entry level. I'm torn between 2 phones.
Which are:
Samsung Galaxy 5
HTC Wildfire

1. I dont care about the camera, 2mp or 5mp with flash doesn't matter with me.
2. Some hearsay says that Wildfire has a pixelated screen. due to the screen size and resolution.
3. I read a review saying that Wildfire doesnt permit using of Swype.
4. Samsung G5 is cheaper than Wildfire by 400 MYR.

I know it has been very one-sided comment till now. But there are things that i'm worried about the Samsung G5 as well.

Problems hindering from it:
Can it support most of the needed Apps?
It has a smaller screen at 2.8".
Not sure whether it can be upgraded to FROYO or not.

Apps i think that are necessary to me are APPS like GPS. or maybe install some games with PSXAndroid.

So what do you guys think? G5 or Wildfire?

Your comments are very much appreciated. Thank You!

lost123
post Nov 28 2010, 02:43 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(HybridMaestro @ Nov 28 2010, 02:03 AM)

I'm totally new to Android, therefore i would like to try something at the entry level. I'm torn between 2 phones.
Which are:
Samsung Galaxy 5
HTC Wildfire

2. Some hearsay says that Wildfire has a pixelated screen. due to the screen size and resolution.

I know it has been very one-sided comment till now. But there are things that i'm worried about the Samsung G5 as well.

Apps i think that are necessary to me are APPS like GPS. or maybe install some games with PSXAndroid.

imo, if apps are that important and if u want to use PSX4droid, best would be to go for sumthin a little better like the HTC Aria or Legend, coz some apps still dont support the QVGA resolution of the wildfire and the galaxy 5..

go check out reviews and comparisons of all these fones.. it will really help.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Nov 28 2010, 03:10 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(mode893 @ Nov 28 2010, 12:21 AM)
Can upgrade to 2.2, SE just haven't confirmed it. Devs at XDA are already working on froyo custom rom if you don't wanna wait for SE. Step into X10 thread to look at photo samples. Right now the experience with 2.1 is amazing plus it has high end specs at 1.1k ap set. It's a very underrated phone due to SE's stupidity in marketing their own product  doh.gif
laugh.gif I doubt that SE will froyo upgrade to X10 series...............custom ROM maybe
-kytz-
post Nov 28 2010, 03:16 AM

12,573 posts

Wildfire is perfect for me! As i just sms, call and surf the web!

But the thing holding me back is that mediocre 320x240 screen! Even my 5800 has a much higher pixel count!

*sigh*
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Nov 28 2010, 03:20 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(HybridMaestro @ Nov 28 2010, 02:03 AM)

Which are:
Samsung Galaxy 5
HTC Wildfire

Can it support most of the needed Apps? Can, dont listen to some others said it cant support many apps, those person they did not try 320*240 actually. In fact 320*240 did not encounter any apps compatibility issue, did not found any unsupport apps till now, but for games it does, some of the games are not support.

It has a smaller screen at 2.8". SMS Typing will be more difficult than Wildfire

or maybe install some games with PSXAndroid. Galaxy 5 unable run emulator due to not support multi touch

Not sure whether it can be upgraded to FROYO or not. Not sure

Both are entry android, but wildfire a bit pricey, not suitable for heavy gamer, or you can consider the LG Optimus One, RM899 with decent spec
asm@m
post Nov 28 2010, 03:26 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(asm@m @ Nov 27 2010, 08:45 AM)
Ok guys..

Thinking of buying new phone next month, next weekend maybe.

I just have 2 handset in my mind. DHD and SGS.

I would like to know a few things.

i) Sound quality with speaker and  earphone (for MP3, Radio and Video)
ii) Battery life
iii) Internet (like wifi connection and GPS Maps)

Any help is greatly appreciated
FallenOut
post Nov 28 2010, 04:10 AM

#eieiru
6,077 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 28 2010, 03:10 AM)
laugh.gif I doubt that SE will froyo upgrade to X10 series...............custom ROM maybe
i also doubt tat
even the 2.1 update takes a long time
custom rom is the only way we can get froyo
n it wont b long if all goes well
hamster9
post Nov 28 2010, 12:16 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

heyaa peeps..

Just wondering about the HTC as I'm still contemplating between an A10 which has Garmin or a decent wait for HTC DHD. I am currently a HTC Artemis user (old skool) with MapKing as a GPS software. I'm kind of favoured Mapking in comparison to a friend who uses SGS with Ndrive.

So I decided to surf around and on the HTC website, I'm kind of attracted to of what they mentioned "maps that never keep you waiting" and also "a phone you can't lose".

The maps that never keep me waiting.. what software are they using? I do hope it's reliable as MapKing and Papago.

The phone you cant lose, this feature is really attractive... but how does it works? How does it know a cat is sleeping on my phone? Anybody has any experience for HTC Sense in this manner?
HybridMaestro
post Nov 28 2010, 02:04 PM

Thanks to StupidGuyPlayComp & lost123 comment.

I have personally went to the shop to test the phone.
Conclusion:
1. I have difficulty texting on the G5.
2. I'm not sure bout ppl who criticizes on the resoultion of the Wildfire. I looks perfectly fine to me. (Or maybe i do not pay attention to the details)

Looks like i'm set to be a Wildfire user. Thanks.
-kytz-
post Nov 28 2010, 02:09 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(HybridMaestro @ Nov 28 2010, 02:04 PM)

Conclusion:
2. I'm not sure bout ppl who criticizes on the resoultion of the Wildfire. I looks perfectly fine to me. (Or maybe i do not pay attention to the details)

Good tip.

Comments on the Wildfire 320x240 screen? hmm.gif Worried about this also..
phantomash
post Nov 28 2010, 02:32 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 28 2010, 02:09 PM)
Good tip.

Comments on the Wildfire 320x240 screen? hmm.gif Worried about this also..
perhaps you should go to one of the phone shop and try Wildfire out,
from there you can make your own decision
HybridMaestro
post Nov 28 2010, 04:25 PM

yup...seeing the real thing really doest help. smile.gif
Narako
post Nov 28 2010, 07:03 PM

what?
705 posts

QUOTE(HybridMaestro @ Nov 28 2010, 02:04 PM)

Conclusion:

or you can get lg optimus one
mode893
post Nov 28 2010, 09:09 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 28 2010, 03:10 AM)
SE confirmed no multitouch on X10 before, but now they've confirmed X10 will have it in the next update. They said that possibility is being considered for Froyo too, so no so far fetched now is it?

131 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:12 PM