5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

iipohbee
post Dec 26 2010, 05:08 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Dec 26 2010, 04:51 PM)
Well when the level2 called me he said to tell CS to forward my call to his name when I want to report to him directly in future. biggrin.gif

Guess you need to ask them on how to contact them. Unless the one at the CS is a bitch then different story.
They want to avoid customers to have direct contact with their technical or Level 2 team.Make it hard for us to know what's happening.
Hiding things from us.

Playing merry go round bush with us lor.

Only this could happen in Malaysian companies. In developed countries, if you can't comply within promised times, you're going straight to the authorities for explanation.

My case was because the 2nd level was already assigned to follow up with my issues. This consultant knew nuts about what was going on and still want to act smart by creating another case reference number for me telling me my previous case was already resolved and closed.

Next time if a uMobile consultant who sounds like a midget takes up your call, you know what to do.
iipohbee
post Dec 26 2010, 05:23 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 26 2010, 05:14 PM)
if i were you, i would forward the experience to MCMC, and you would get a pleasant surprise thumbup.gif

google for MCMC's email, easy rite

i done tat to Sialcom and my complaint was resolved within 14 days thumbup.gif
My case was the work permit for their previous base station at my place was revoked and they had to take it down causing almost no coverage at my area.

They kept promising me that they'll resolve it many times with definite dates but all were false promises.

This alone tells much about their expansion plans.

iipohbee
post Dec 26 2010, 05:29 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Dec 26 2010, 05:26 PM)
Speaking atof which from what I know the plan was:

Penang -> Johor -> Ipoh

I don't know why.
This is not upgrade plan but the restoration of service which was taken down causing almost no coverage in my area.

But to have their base station taken down by having their license revoked tells a lot on how well they can pull of their expansion plans.

They won't have the same ability as the larger companies such as DiGi or Maxis.
iipohbee
post Dec 27 2010, 01:01 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 27 2010, 06:51 AM)
strange. already dumped umobile and changed to yes4g. yet complaining about umobile?

trolling? hmm.gif
Strange, a uMobile trooper telling people indirectly that u tak suka u keluar?
Wow excellent customer service by uMobile.

I'm still waiting for my waiver until today if you don't want my rants.

iipohbee
post Dec 27 2010, 01:39 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 27 2010, 01:17 PM)
only yes4g got (storm)trooper.  rclxm9.gif

and too bad, they dont have coverage at my house. just grey coverage = coming soon in 2011.

Added on December 27, 2010, 1:19 pm
yes, no data (quota) allowance. just slower speed after 5-10GB. keep on continue to use until month end and just pay flat of RM68.
What if I can proof to you that I'm not in any way affiliated to Yes and tell you that I was a real subscriber of uMobile? vmad.gif
Only cybertroopers like you are paid to sing songs and praise your pay cheque issuer.

This stupid company is making me pissed by the day.
iipohbee
post Jan 1 2011, 12:29 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Dec 31 2010, 02:11 PM)

if i subscript mi-fi at 7.2Mbps will i get better speed?
i may cancel this plan and go for mifi february, b4 they end the promo

this is Usb68

or just wait (but no one can tell) the 42mbps one...
From my usage experience, usb modem reception is better than the Huawei E5 Mifi device.At least when compared using the Huawei E1550/E1762.
Won't see the difference because uMobile is still using 3.6mbps HSDPA everywhere except BTS.
2mbps+ is the max you can go and that is if you can get full bars or 4 all the time.

Anything weaker than that don't bother upgrading.

iipohbee
post Jan 15 2011, 01:05 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(ulart_mie @ Jan 14 2011, 12:04 AM)
what the F.. since yesterday my Dload speed having hick up?? for 1-2sec bost 1.5 - 2.0mb after that the speed dload just only reach 115kb?? shakehead.gif
Very bad signal reception strength.

-103dB is close to disconnect.Once it reaches 107dBm you're in useless state.

Same situation as mine here used to get 5 bars now since they took down their illegal station, now signal drops to unusable rate.
iipohbee
post Jan 22 2011, 01:59 PM

603 posts

Those who wants the MiFi modem just subscribe to their UB40 Plan With It.
Use it for other broadband plans instead.

I'm terminating it when it ends..

You get 1st 3 months free and the modem.What the heck.
RM378 initial payment.

For the 1st 5 months where the RM20 rebate applies and your RM68 advanced payment kicks in,

1st to 3rd month - Free
4th month - RM12 only
5th month - RM20

As soon as the rebate ends, just potong.

iipohbee
post Jan 22 2011, 07:56 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 22 2011, 05:09 PM)
look at this chart CAREFULLY b4 you subscribe to UB40

[attachmentid=2009526]

its pay as you use after 2GB quota laugh.gif
Well you see the case is different for me.

When I have 5 broadband plans with me - Streamyx 4mbps, Yes, DiGi Unlimited Internet, Maxis Broadband and Jaring, Umobile is the last on my list since I'm only getting the most 1 bar signal.

That's why I hardly use it.

When you pay RM378 for the MiFi modem it's already well worth it if you subscribe UB40 with it.
That means you're paying for the modem plus 3 months free access for tryout and half subsidized for the next 2 remaining months.

With already more than 4 broadband plans I have, I almost never use more than 500mb on the UB40 plan after bying this Huawei MiFi modem.
Just treating it as a complimentary plan and the SIM is used in my old Huawei E1550 modem.

Well when time comes if uMobile still doesn't restore their signal coverage in my area, I will just terminate it..
iipohbee
post Jan 23 2011, 10:09 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Jan 23 2011, 01:27 AM)
so in ur oppinon which one is best? for wirelesss? dig maxis or celcom ? i tniking of getting a good one but cheap one
DiGi is getting slower nowadays in my area. Someone must be hogging it in my area because when I tried doing a speed test in the middle of Ipoh town and Greentown my speed could reach 2-3mbps with uploads of ~1.5mbps.

At home with same signal level only getting around 1mbps with upload of ~700kbps.

My MiFi device settings page shows DiGi is already running a HSPA around Ipoh. It displays "HSPA".

But one advise is you can never compromise speed with cheap pricing packages.

The cheaper the packages, you're more likely to have slower speeds because there would be more people on it having the same idea as you.

iipohbee
post Jan 23 2011, 12:35 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 23 2011, 12:27 PM)
Well for me, slower speed sometime can be due to the modem. I use the data card modem and it would hardly achieve the speed if i am using my Nokia phone as a modem to surf the internet.
I use a few devices my tablet, HSUPA enabled HP and laptop at multiple locations for the tests.

At Greentown area, the upload could reach as high as 1.8mbps on HSUPA while at home the most around 700kbps.

uMobile's network is still old and while not saying that they are bad, you get good download speeds only if your signal strength is very good.
iipohbee
post Jan 24 2011, 09:51 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jan 24 2011, 11:04 AM)
I believe with HSPA, upload is 'better', unless I am reading iipohbee post wrongly.
If you're lucky your upload can be even faster than your download. blink.gif

You'll know that HSUPA is made available in your area if you're getting upload speeds of over 800kbps till 1.8mbps.
iipohbee
post Jan 30 2011, 09:58 PM

603 posts

To those who are just planning to get just the mifi modem and uMobile coverage sucks in your area.

Just opt for the UB40 plan to go with your MiFi.

With it you'll get free 3 months and subsidized remaining 2 months..

Only 2GB but what the heck, I rarely even use the SIM with my other USB modem. Just as spare for my other lines.

RM310 for the mifi modem still cheap ma..
iipohbee
post Feb 2 2011, 04:36 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Jan 31 2011, 11:59 AM)
Free 3 months??? Sure or not....
It's already covered with your first payment for the MiFi device/advanced RM68 payment plus the 1st 5 months of RM20 rebates.

Therefore with the RM68 advanced payment made, you'll have a rebate of RM20 for the 1st 5 months:

1st-3rd month: RM20 + RM20 (free)
4th month: RM8 + RM20 (RM28) - U only pay RM40-RM28 = RM12
5th month: RM20(rebate) - U only pay RM40-RM20 = RM20

Thereafter RM40 per month-That's when I will terminate the account!
iipohbee
post Feb 3 2011, 06:49 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Feb 3 2011, 06:37 PM)
I'm totally confused. As far as I know, for U68, 1st five months is
RM68 - RM20 = RM48.

For U40, 1st 5 months is:
RM40 - RM20 = RM20

That's why I don't see FREE anywhere.
When you buy the MiFi modem, you pay RM378 outright (RM210-for the modem, RM100 for non refundable activation and RM68 advanced 1 month payment)

It's the same amount you pay whether you choose UB68 or UB40 to go with it.

The RM68 advanced payment will be deducted for the next few months in addition to the RM20 rebates that you receive.

Meaning 1st month

RM20 rebate + (RM68-RM20) = FREE
Same goes for 2nd and 3rd until the RM68 depletes leaving only RM8 for the 4th month.
iipohbee
post Feb 3 2011, 08:20 PM

603 posts

For those who intends only to buy the mifi modem but rarely use uMobile due to bad coverage, just go with the UB40 instead of the UB68.

Only drawback is that the profile assigned for UB40 is 1024kbps/128bps. Slow but if you hardly use it you get more worth with the initial outright payment since you're going to use it with other isps.
iipohbee
post Mar 12 2011, 10:13 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(fizz37 @ Mar 12 2011, 09:54 PM)

Manjoi, Ipoh
uMobile is currently upgrading their network to HSPA in Ipoh.
In fact Celcom is already trialling LTE in Ipoh.

That's why you can have 350-400kbps uploads.

Nice speed you have there. Manjoi is a Malay settlement in Ipoh near Jelapang.
Seems they are heavily emphasizing development there for the next election.

It's just a small kampung situated away from Ipoh but somehow recently the Perak Government is shifting all their Govt Depts as well as the Ipoh Sentral station development to that area. More so, it'll be one of the first areas to have Unifi at the same time as Tasek Exchange in Ipoh.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Mar 12 2011, 10:16 PM
iipohbee
post Mar 19 2011, 01:44 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 19 2011, 01:37 PM)
after quota

speed is 16KB/s
That's exactly 128kbps.

16kB/s is good only for surfing sites without flash contents and downloading very small files such as those below 5mb just like those dial up days.
iipohbee
post Mar 23 2011, 09:31 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(seatux @ Mar 22 2011, 11:12 PM)
If I use the UMobile prepaid data plan with the iPad, how do I reload the sim card, without another microsim phone (ie:iphone) to help reload it?
You need to reload it via online top up with online banking or mobile service portals.
Or use a regular SIM adapter to use the micro SIM on your phone.
iipohbee
post Mar 28 2011, 07:52 PM

603 posts

Thailand's 3.9G 42mbps HSPA+ speedtest

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0491sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:34 AM