5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

iipohbee
post Dec 5 2010, 03:15 PM

603 posts

I'm terminating my Umobile if things doesn't get better here in Ipoh.

My latest interest will be Maxis Broadband.
Due to the overwhelming jump to Umobile in Ipoh, Maxis network has now become very pleasantly good.They even have HSUPA in Ipoh now.

My speedtest with Maxis gives around 4mbps download and my uploads can reach 800kbps-1mbps.

It is never good to follow the crowd.
iipohbee
post Dec 5 2010, 08:58 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 5 2010, 05:22 PM)

you've said that many many times.

i'd suggest to terminate first. or get prepaid to use it every alternate month to see if there is any improvements.

since your maxis is getting 4mbps, this is a better package for you then.
also, even if umobile speed improves, you wont get 4mbps anyway.
umobile got hsupa in ipoh? what is the speed?
So much for Umobile customer support. I'm heading down to their service outlet to terminate in the next few days.

RM68 is well spent elsewhere even if they are more expensive.

What's the use of getting only 400kbps while paying full rate every month when I hardly use up the 5GB cap limit.

iipohbee
post Dec 5 2010, 09:08 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 5 2010, 09:02 PM)
Maxis Broadband is worst but Maxis 3G Internet is good (rm99/mth) but discontinue for new subscriber
Maxis Broadband used to be bad. But somehow since many moved out, their glory seems to have returned.
On average even on peak hours I'm getting between 2.0 - 2.5mbps.

It's a whole different story if I run my downloads at 3am in the morning with a HSUPA modem.

EDIT: Additional information for you guys.

The differences between Mobile Internet and Maxis Broadband lies in their APN which u insert in your settings.

unet = Mobile Internet
bbnet = Maxis Broadband

For Maxis Broadband once you hit your quota, speed will drop to unsable dial up(better off to reload)

For Mobile Internet, heh you won't feel any slowdown, next u know your credit will all be depleted.Only use this in your smartphone.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 5 2010, 09:13 PM
iipohbee
post Dec 5 2010, 09:16 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 5 2010, 09:12 PM)
Maxis speed is good , esp in HSUPA area BUT its the quota and FUP tat suks,
I monitored my own usage for mobile broadband, on average it's only 300-500mb per week.
That's just around 2GB per month.
iipohbee
post Dec 5 2010, 09:56 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 5 2010, 09:28 PM)
i am afraid tat when you feel tat the speed is SO GOOD tat you would find more stuff to DL thereby you would breach the 2GB FUP in no time, btw, i am using Maxis 3G internet and i can DL 6GB a day if i am really mad abt DL tat day biggrin.gif
I keep that with my Streamyx & Jaring lines only.

My mobile broadband is used to update apps, IM chat, read news and update feeds only.
Over the weekend I did so much browsing, updates and chat only ~100mb used.

Never used it to download large movie files/images like I do on my desktop though.

Edit:

The other reason why I said that usage will be minimal even when tempted with high speed is because if you only use the line between your SGT, iPhone & handheld devices, you will not have the urgency to download large isos, full music albums or HD movies on those devices.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 5 2010, 10:09 PM
iipohbee
post Dec 7 2010, 11:15 AM

603 posts

It's very easy to identify telco spokesperson on forums.One things for sure.
rclxms.gif

iipohbee
post Dec 7 2010, 04:29 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 7 2010, 02:55 PM)
Where you heard from about the people using the 60GB per month?
Last time, i actually heard people said that U mobile download is the best, but dunno why streaming youtube always laggy. rclxub.gif
It is no more the best and most areas will only provide you 3.6mbps at most.
With the overheads your best average speed during the most non peak hours will only get you around 2.6mbps.

Fast meh?
iipohbee
post Dec 12 2010, 01:32 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(acat @ Dec 10 2010, 09:53 AM)
anyone here tried YES? how's the plan?
As mentioned, I finally got Yes over the weekend and will terminate Umobile due to bad customer support and unfulfilled promises.

Here is my Yes speedtest result close to noon time at Pasir Putih, Ipoh.

Coverage still remains patchy but overall 4G really blows current HSDPA networks away.

You have 30mbps uncap download speed allowed on Yes's 4G network.Although you can't reach that even half the speed you'll get is really amazing provided you can attain 4-5bars of signal strength.

iipohbee
post Dec 12 2010, 02:16 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 12 2010, 02:02 PM)
Nice speed  thumbup.gif , get ready to pay for the premium after free 10GB
I only use it on my smartphones and ipad.

It's for mobile internet use only.

You don't torrent or do DDLs with mobile internet devices such as those.
I'm very sure you don't do torrenting or DDL with you iPAD would you?

Only restricted to casual browsing, IM, feed updates and app downloads/update.
On average, no more than 300mb per week.

That's just about 1GB per month.

Yes plan is actually quite logic. In comparison, I got the Maxis weekly broadband for RM25 which comes with a 7 days usage.Throughout the week, I only managed 300mb with all my smartphone updates and all. 2GB-0.3GB...My 1.7GB all went to waste upon expiration.

FYI. 1GB only cost you RM20 per month with current Yes promotion.

You'll get RM10 x 10 months promotion if you sign up now.
Your minimum commitment is RM30 per month but with the rebate of RM10 you pay only RM20 for the next 10 months.
iipohbee
post Dec 12 2010, 02:28 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 12 2010, 02:23 PM)
You can use it with your ipad or smartphone? How? I tot it is sim less. shocking.gif

If you don't want to reply here coz it is off topic, you can PM me.
The Huddle is a personal a wireless router(mifi device) running on battery.

You input your account userid and password in its web configuration screen just like you would in a wireless router by keying in its ip address http://192.168.1.1, type of security and SSID.

All your devices will connect to it via wi-fi b/g.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 12 2010, 02:31 PM
iipohbee
post Dec 12 2010, 09:39 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 12 2010, 05:42 PM)
care to do a DDL stats for us

i might sign up soon if its good...........

btw, you took the rm1200 + free huddle package?
No just the modem RM399. Why pay so much money upfront?

The Huddle is the 4G version of the Mifi device.
iipohbee
post Dec 14 2010, 08:17 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(md_player99 @ Dec 13 2010, 11:23 PM)
Seriously im a piss off user of ubroadband. Like mention by iipohbee, ubroadband really have bad customer support and unfulfilled promises.. They capped till 384 after reach 5g..but now they change policy d, speed will reduce till 128 after reaching 5g.

WTH they can change anytime they want?!!!...but we still pay for rm68 for every bloody month..they can change to whatever speed they wish without informing us. Dun mention bout downloading stuff, i even had hard times browsing...suckss..

They had a breakdown for more than 2 week at batu 9 cheras area. No ppl fixing it for bloody 2 weeks..seriously its really a bad idea to sign up ubroadband...
It was found out why my area suffered a drastic drop in signal for Umobile 3G.

Previously I always got full to 80% most of the time.

They had licensing issues with the base station in my area and thus was forced to take it down.

Why I said they didn't fulfill their promise was because they gave me a date whereby they would resolve this issue but nothing was done.Waited for a week or 2 more still nothing.

Terminate it once and for all.

Why UMobile? Having hard time finding cheap places to set up your base stations?
iipohbee
post Dec 17 2010, 10:14 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 16 2010, 10:15 PM)
Hope for the best, bro.

Although i think they would not provide us with the offer like you stated, unless a new package that would attract new subscriber that would benefit us as well.
Umobile 42mbps HSPA+ will have different pricing scheme and will probably follow Yes. Believe me.

They can't be offering you something so much faster with the same old RM68 unlimited plan.Don't even hope it will be priced less than double that amount.It will not be priced much different from Unifi's 20MB plan with a smaller monthly quota.
iipohbee
post Dec 17 2010, 10:48 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 17 2010, 10:22 PM)
They better not do this!!

Now having a hard time downloading stuff. My Digi Prepaid Internet does not work well, U mobile out of coverage and streamyx down.

Where can i download stuff????? cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
It is already said in their FAQ. A different pricing plan would be out when launch. It'll not be the same as the current RM68 unlimited plan.

http://www.u.com.my/faqs/42mbps-mobile-broadband-service
How much is the 42Mbps HSPA+ rate plan?
1)The new 42Mbps HSPA+ rate plan will be announced when the service is available next year.

What are the expected download and upload speed with a 42Mbps HSPA+ USB modem?
2)Within 42Mbps HSPA+ coverage area, the average download speed is between 3 to 10Mbps, and the average upload speed is between 0.5 to 1.5Mbps.
3-10mbps makes it even slower than Yes.

iipohbee
post Dec 17 2010, 11:20 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 17 2010, 10:56 PM)
No la, we don't produce modems. We only produce things like BTS - Base Transceiver Station and etc. smile.gif The tower which is built for all of us to make calls/SMS/and surf Internet. biggrin.gif
Last heard Huawei has beaten NSN to almost every European country for LTE-Italy, Germany, Sweden and other Scandinavian nations.
This also is true for new FTTH projects.

They do not only sell cheap devices with the impression that China only market cheap stuffs. They also produce very high quality products which are only marketed to more advance countries which could afford to pay more.

It's a very competitive market out there with very little growth anymore. The one pushing the cheapest price with highest value often gets the deal.

iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 01:01 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 18 2010, 12:41 AM)
start compare with "yes" after 3 years of operation: customers increase, bandwidth usage sure increase if ppl excessively use it.

then we'll see how fast "yes" can offer; in terms of handling increase of customers and bandwidth.
am not expecting ub68 to go with higher 42mbps. maybe a bit more, rm88 or rm98 or rm108.
Not many would get to excessively use it unless you've lots of money to burn.
Even with the increase of subscribers it will not affect their pricing mechanism which increases proportionally with takeup rates.

To get something which equals somewhere Unifi speeds over the air, you can't be charging anything less than Unifi's current pricing which is around RM160 for a symmetrical 5mbps connection.

The other way is to immitate Yes's pay as you use with RM30 per GB.

Expect nothing less than 2X of UB68.

Between the 2 options, Yes's pricing is still fairer because not everyone would want the high commitment of RM100+ like what you pay for the U68.
Some would only use it occasionally and might want a lighter commitment.

To have such wide coverage at launch, it really looks promising.

iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 05:08 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 18 2010, 12:14 PM)
From the comment here, I think they better keep UB40 at RM40 for 2gb for 42mbps, then PAYU after exceeded a cheaper than Yes rate.
Hihi speed roll-out need a lot money, maybe a bigger quota looking at 20gb, PAYU after that for HSPA+, 118myr? Smaller quota higher speed, no hogging base station?
Snap out of the dream.

It won't happen.Maintaining UB40 with 42mbps plan at the same current price?

How are they going to break even with the extra cost spend for the equipment upgrades?

and your further thoughts of charging RM118 for 20GB?That would make it even cheaper than current UB68 unlimited with 5GB volume cap.
That would be only RM29.50 for 5GB.

We are talking about a plan which is 4-5 times faster here.

It can't be cheaper than Unifi either because they are not getting subsidized for this and it's wireless.
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 10:52 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(hariznasir @ Dec 18 2010, 10:49 PM)
haiyaa , then what wireless BB good for p2p other than 3g ?
wimax ok ah ?
Jaring Wireless?

Streamyx Wireless with CDMA 1X EVDO?

P1 Wimax?
iipohbee
post Dec 26 2010, 02:06 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Username is username @ Dec 26 2010, 01:34 PM)
guys..i think my umobile broadband speed getting worse..on the first 2-3 weeks, the signal bar is full..now, i only get 1 bar..wth?? wut could be the factor of it getting so slow? is it bcoz of christmas? i doubt so..
That's true. Have doubts about their expansion plan especially the ability to launch the 42mbps DC HSPA+ network widely with enough bandwidth to keep customers happy.

Other companies such as DiGi and Maxis are just observing them as guinea pig because if it manages to take off well, both of them are in a better financial position to bring it wide scale. That is if uMobile manages to pull it off well..if it fails, DiGi and Maxis will think twice.They are observing uMobile closely at this moment on their progress...

Talk about customer service, they have some of the rudest around. Have the nerve to tell their customers that they can't inform their 2nd level to call back their customer because they cannot spoil them. What? Wait till this is escalated to MCMC.

iipohbee
post Dec 26 2010, 04:41 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 26 2010, 04:18 PM)
Call back means spoiling customer? I do not think so. 

However, in some circumstances they really should not spoil the customer especially the extreme extreme downloader.
He was trying to tell us that they won't entertain customers by allowing their 2nd level to call back by request to update their customers of their difficulties. If the customer wants to know they would only be allowed to go back to the official customer care line 018-3881318 to know their status?

What kind of attitude is that?

Your customer is already pissed for months and you tell them in their face like that?

For your information the consultant who attended to my call sounded like a midget<name withheld>. Useless staffs like him would only bring down productivity to the company.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0439sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:39 AM