QUOTE(mitodna @ Aug 3 2010, 02:42 PM)
If thats the price later on then I'll get one more to xfire on my system lol... Praying vy vy hard.............AMD Radeon™ Discussion V3, Prepare Red! Green has attacked!
AMD Radeon™ Discussion V3, Prepare Red! Green has attacked!
Aug 4 2010, 04:02 PM
8,746 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: S.A.B.A.H |
Aug 13 2010, 10:32 AM
Here is another source for the HD6xxx series
http://www.maximumpc.com/article/news/rumo...slated_november |
Aug 16 2010, 12:34 PM
Guys, I have a question.
Currently I'm using 5770 Vapor-x on my Dell 20" (1600 x 900 reso), while I was playing Dirt2 on ultra (4xAA, Crowd & Shadows at low) It shows that I have 59frames performance... but in one of the race my monitor showed vertical rainbow stripes, music still playing and my PC reboots I was using 10.7 official on that and I have reverted to 10.4, haven't test again though. Yes the card is OC'ed using the CCC autotune at 950 mem 1450 clk speed. No problems with other games like MW2, SC2 and DragonAge all on Full settings with 8xAA. Is it just the driver? or do I need to note on other things as well? |
Aug 16 2010, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Aug 16 2010, 01:02 PM) overheating perhaps? Ok I'll run Furmark for stability test? and I'll tune down the OC a bit.or ur GPU wan'st meant to run @ dat speed. the auto tune not accurate. suggest u try furmark after u OC. Heat... It was running at 47 degrees on idle when I have 10.7 but was at 41 degrees on idle using 10.4, does it impact the performance? |
Aug 16 2010, 02:48 PM
Aug 16 2010, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Aug 16 2010, 04:43 PM) Always manually overclock your graphic card bro, autotune isn't perfected in OC'ing your card, too much variables (data, logarithm, Voltage & stability factor, etc.) to be calculate accurately. Unfortunately I'm a bit of a Noob when OCing still learning the trade so theoretically I get the idea, but I'd have to know what to look for in the settings And that high clock speed that your autotune configured really needs intimate attention that only 'manual overclocking' can give. |
Aug 16 2010, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Aug 16 2010, 11:05 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Safest one for 5770 at 1.125v would be Core:900/Memory:1300. Im at Core:900/Memory:1275 though.. Added on August 16, 2010, 11:38 pm QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Aug 16 2010, 09:55 PM) Fortunately for you OC'ing graphic cards are waaay easier than OC'ing processors and RAMs. ok thx so much for this, how long should the test run for?Overclocking with stock voltage: Benchmarking: ~From your stock clocks, 850mhz, just skip to 900mhz (memory clocks at 1300mhz) and take it from there by doing stress test (to see any signs of instability like anomalies such as artifacts, vertical lines, reboot, etc.) ~When you are satisfied with the stability, increase and increment of 10mhz, so 910mhz. Then do the stability test. ~Again when stable, increase by 10mhz to 920, then do stability test. ~Repeat until you encounter instability. ~When you hit the instability mark, decrease by 5 mhz and relatively start to increase the memory clocks from 1300mhz in increments. ~If you still unstable, decrease by increments of 2 mhz untill you are confident with the stability of the card. This post has been edited by Clem1982: Aug 16 2010, 11:38 PM |
Aug 17 2010, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Aug 17 2010, 06:17 AM) Well it was at 1.2v stock.. lol.. i undervolted it back to 5770 original stock voltage which supposedly is 1.125v.. Sry dude, haven't get to spend time on my PC last nite, will try the afterburner later Tried MSI AfterBurner? what temp do u recommend for the 5770? and what settings should I set the test at? full screen (1600x900)? what abt the AA? fan speed? |
Aug 17 2010, 09:18 PM
Ok downloaded MSI Afterburner
I'm at 900core 1300mem clocks on my 5770 and at 1600x900 resolution its stable with heat max at 74C fan spd 70% Gonna up the OC lil by lil Question: Do I have to keep MSI Afterburner on all the time for the setting to stick? and I'm benching without the AA turned on so if I play the game on Full spec it'll overheat as well? This post has been edited by Clem1982: Aug 17 2010, 10:55 PM |
Aug 18 2010, 09:05 AM
Thx JoBigShow, I'm using the bundled bench software with the AB to test the stability, any difference from using Furmark? & dun wry abt the fan speed, adjusted the auto setting and it only reached 60% to cool to 65C while gaming
Oh and I still wanna know abt the settings I do the stability test on.. Do I let it remain on no AA or I should be able to go 4xAA setting at least? I had the idea of using the AB as a main, was goin to ask if its safe to use it rather than the CCC utility lol now I stopped at 950core withe the mem still at 1300.. gotta sleep lol |
Aug 18 2010, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Aug 18 2010, 09:22 AM) How come if i use MSI Afterburner to OC.. the clocks never go down when idle? clock stays at 900/1300 lol.. PowerPlay bug? Im using the modded TWL drivers btw.. Not happening to me (thx goodness) gpu idle will have clocks less than 200 but i'm on official catalyst 10.4 (reverted from 10.7 as i registered higher temps on idle) Downloading latest driver from Asus... and smartdoctor too. I dare not try modded driver atm |
Aug 18 2010, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(ronaldlee007 @ Aug 18 2010, 03:32 PM) Since i am using PowerColor card, is it better to use their website driver? Just wanna know what is the different btw manufacturer and official ATI. PowerColor site only have V10.6 instead of the latest V10.7. I notice also, Powercolor have different link for the HD5800, HD5700 etc series while ATI official have only 1 universal driver for HD5XXX, HD4XXX etc series. lol I thought only can find in Official driver site? never bothered to look at Sapphire's site for drivers dunno if they have one specially for 5770 vapor |
Aug 19 2010, 01:17 AM
Glad to announce:
Sapphire HD5770 Vapor-X stable OC @ 950core/1320mem, running full reso on 1600x900 temp at stable 65C@65% fan spd (gaming), 75C@70% fan spd (MSI Kombustor) Thx for all who guided me especially the big tip from JoBigShow! |
Aug 19 2010, 07:36 AM
Oh but it does idle at low clock speed currently at 157/300 hehe now using 10.4 driver only so its ok
Aug 19 2010, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Aug 19 2010, 07:50 AM) how do u guys solve the Overclock high idle clock speed issue? refer to this one, the only way ATM I think?i wan to use catalyst 10.7a and overclock my card in the mean time maintaining the low idle clock speed not possible? QUOTE * IDLE clocks are high SOLUTION: Reset the clocks to default and you'll hardware will use normal IDLE clocks. (This ain't an bug it's an feature to keep multiple monitors up and running and fixable by simply stock clocks) |
Aug 19 2010, 11:12 AM
Aug 19 2010, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(gto87 @ Aug 19 2010, 07:55 PM) I'm kinda confused here. You said that the clock didn't stay (after you overclock) infact it downclock to 157/300 when idle? It's not possible with MSI afterburner for sure. The only way you can achieve that is by modding the GC bios. I'm sorry if I said anything wrong. Enlighten me please. ![]() There u go, just so u know, I also dunno y this can happen when everyone says it shouldn't downclock |
Aug 20 2010, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(moshpit21 @ Aug 20 2010, 08:00 AM) this is because you havent change anything yet in msi afterburner, you just open it and thats all. If you change it and click apply, it will stay at your defined setting, it wont downclock itself Well its adjusted to apply the OC when switching on the PC but I get what u mean... I'll try to post a vid on the Stability test then The fan spd can be controlled from the MSI AB itself using the fan spd chart.. I'll upload a vid on this as well then I'll post the link up here Just gimme some time |
Aug 20 2010, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(ronaldlee007 @ Aug 20 2010, 09:04 AM) In Chinese, "Every Family have 1 difficult book to read". I agree, Its mostly preference and the person's budget really, If I had the $$$ I'd go for the HD5970 Jump here and there but at the end still the same. Not only in driver, same as job etc, right? Come to think of it, I'll still tweak around with higher end cards as well... Nvidia or ATi |
Aug 20 2010, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(ronaldlee007 @ Aug 20 2010, 01:31 PM) DarkSilver, if all the driver teams fired meaning no more driver to drive our card. hehe Then, that will end the endless red VS green war anymore. We just use the integrated GPU by Intel and start playing back 2D and low 3D games. lol u think i'll go back to 2D games? I don't wanna even imagine, however if really come true then its time for us to pick up more outdoor activities lol |
| Change to: | 0.0345sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:50 AM |