Acer RevoView, RV100 = RM349

fenture
post Oct 1 2010, 12:21 AM

60 posts

bought it last week. here are my 2 cents.

- it auto indexes all music or movie files. so, you cannot hide movies/music you dun wanna displayed.
- it automatically plays the movie when you browse the movie list, kind of slows down the scrolling
- when u plug in the thumbdrive, it only sees media files. i tried to copy .srt file over, but it doesnt see it.
- quality is OK
- it hangs n rebooted a few times while i was playing w/ it.
- i thought it runs samba on it, no, u cannot treat it as a file server. i thought it runs linux, that's the reason why i bought it. wondering how to get a copy of the firmware to look at it.

overall, i am a bit regret buying this. sigh... too new, not many reviews from others. nonetheless, i am enjoying watching movies on it.

smokey
post Oct 2 2010, 09:46 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

where can i buy acer revoview in KL?
does it come together with usb wifi?

can i copy and paste files from my pc directly to this revoview, like a hdd on a network?
fenture
post Oct 3 2010, 11:02 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Oct 2 2010, 09:46 PM)
where can i buy acer revoview in KL?
does it come together with usb wifi?

can i copy and paste files from my pc directly to this revoview, like a hdd on a network?
you can connect it to ur pc as an external hdd. but, you cannot copy over the network.

no usb wifi dongle. wanna buy over my unit? laugh.gif
hdwarexpert
post Oct 3 2010, 12:12 PM

1,342 posts

apparently, alot buyers wanna dispose their units after using it...... hmm.gif
richard912
post Oct 3 2010, 12:47 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ Oct 3 2010, 12:12 PM)
apparently, alot buyers wanna dispose their units after using it...... hmm.gif
Heh, a friend of mine actually gave his away after 1 week sweat.gif
smokey
post Oct 3 2010, 08:13 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

what device i can drag and drop over network? lazy to bring the device around my hse...
richard912
post Oct 4 2010, 10:25 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Oct 3 2010, 08:13 PM)
what device i can drag and drop over network? lazy to bring the device around my hse...
You mean stream direct from NAS or your "main" PC? Plenty of choices out there, ACRyan, XStreamer, Dune.....just need to have network feature, kao tim
yangxi
post Oct 4 2010, 03:07 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

Hdpro much better than this
fenture
post Oct 7 2010, 03:54 AM

60 posts

several things I dislike:
- remote control - can't display time lapse or left
- GUI
- no network copy

What are the suggestions for:
- samba/nfs server
- xbmc frontend
- linux based
WK500
post Oct 8 2010, 02:15 PM

Have you tried it out with the new firmware? Last I checked there was a ver1.00.04 release on 6th Oct 2010 and was wondering what changes have they made.

As for the other things:

I think the RV100 IS linux based because after checking out the firmware release (mentioned above) it uses the same update methods as in the Asus O!Play and the Seagate Freeagent Theatre. Unpacking the firmware update I can see yaffs2 being used as the flash operation and vmlinux.

So maybe there's hope in future for alternative firmwares .....

I think network copy was not implemented because this model was introduced to be paired with Win7 built-in feature "Play To Device" so there's no need to copy to the playback device, just right-click on file and choose play-to rv100 ... but I could be wrong blush.gif

Anyways, if sell how much tongue.gif ?

QUOTE(fenture @ Oct 7 2010, 03:54 AM)
- GUI
- no network copy

- samba/nfs server
- xbmc frontend
- linux based
wunan
post Oct 9 2010, 04:57 PM

104 posts

how about the subtitle rendering?
does it have thin or thick black outline?
the font smooth or blocky?

QUOTE(fenture @ Oct 7 2010, 03:54 AM)
- GUI
- no network copy

- samba/nfs server
- xbmc frontend
- linux based
fenture
post Oct 15 2010, 11:50 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(wunan @ Oct 9 2010, 04:57 PM)
how about the subtitle rendering?
does it have  thin or thick black outline?
the font smooth or blocky?
subtitle is ok, no problem.

Added on October 15, 2010, 11:54 pm
QUOTE(WK500 @ Oct 8 2010, 02:15 PM)
Have you tried it out with the new firmware? Last I checked there was a ver1.00.04 release on 6th Oct 2010 and was wondering what changes have they made.

As for the other things:

I think the RV100 IS linux based because after checking out the firmware release (mentioned above) it uses the same update methods as in the Asus O!Play and the Seagate Freeagent Theatre. Unpacking the firmware update I can see yaffs2 being used as the flash operation and vmlinux.

I think network copy was not implemented because this model was introduced to be paired with Win7 built-in feature "Play To Device" so there's no need to copy to the playback device, just right-click on file and choose play-to rv100 ... but I could be wrong  blush.gif

Anyways, if sell how much  tongue.gif  ?
will try to upgrade the fw.

i guess this prod isn't launched in US yet. Hopefully it will be soon, so that we can get more hackers to play with it.

I am just hoping for someone to come up with something that just uses XBMC instead of writing their own. XBMC is just so great. This acer's UI sux big time. But the price is cheap, so not too much complain.

Added on October 16, 2010, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(WK500 @ Oct 8 2010, 02:15 PM)

As for the other things:

I think network copy was not implemented because this model was introduced to be paired with Win7 built-in feature "Play To Device" so there's no need to copy to the playback device, just right-click on file and choose play-to rv100 ... but I could be wrong  blush.gif

Anyways, if sell how much  tongue.gif  ?
where did u find the 1.00.04 fw? i tried to update, but said no new fw. still on 1.00.02 on mine.

This post has been edited by fenture: Oct 16 2010, 12:01 PM
WK500
post Oct 16 2010, 10:45 PM

I found the firmware download at the Acer (www.acer.com.my) website whilst I was updating the firmware on my laptop. Its under service & support -> Download Driver -> Desktop -> Aspire -> Revoview100 -> BIOS

Its a 30MB+ download ... hoping it changes some things and updates the features to make it more worthwhile cos the default firmware is under-utilising the Realtek chip

QUOTE(fenture @ Oct 15 2010, 11:50 PM)
subtitle is ok, no problem.

Added on October 15, 2010, 11:54 pm

will try to upgrade the fw.

i guess this prod isn't launched in US yet.  Hopefully it will be soon, so that we can get more hackers to play with it.

I am just hoping for someone to come up with something that just uses XBMC instead of writing their own.  XBMC is just so great.  This acer's UI sux big time.  But the price is cheap, so not too much complain.

Added on October 16, 2010, 12:01 pm

where did u find the 1.00.04 fw?  i tried to update, but said no new fw.  still on 1.00.02 on mine.
drkoay
post Oct 29 2010, 06:17 PM

1920 × 1080 mkv is play fine with usb external hdd.

i didn't hv hdd inside, but i using a network share with my pc. can save money and transfer time (happy.gif).

i just update to 1.00.04 fw but not c any different.

and also what u guys means not support divx? it is divx extension file or the codec?? cause divx codec and xvid codec is working fine.
maybe try change the extension into .avi
gerd78
post Dec 10 2010, 09:19 PM

Have anyone tried installing an internal HDD? I tried using the usb cable to connect it to my pc (windows xp and 7) and both OS won't recognise the HDD. The HDD is WD Caviar SE16. I use the same HDD and connect it via external usb external HDD and it works.

Any helps?

Thanks!
Rubikian
post Dec 26 2010, 02:23 PM

22 posts

I connect it to my win 7 using the USB. You need to use the mini USB at the back not the USB ports at the side. It can detect my NTFS drive that I installed into the RV100.

Added on December 26, 2010, 2:23 pmThe only issue that I face currently is the DivX movie audio not sync after watching for a while.

This post has been edited by Rubikian: Dec 26 2010, 02:23 PM
sarvinG
post Dec 26 2010, 02:49 PM

Quality is better than Quantity
1,155 posts

I have this. Its pretty good and looks well also. But only problem is that I don't know why I can't get access to YouTube.
kapultek
post Dec 26 2010, 08:27 PM

1,376 posts

How much rite now
Rubikian
post Dec 27 2010, 12:31 AM

22 posts

I bought it for RM359 without hard drive. From PCDepot.
alwin cSk
post Apr 11 2011, 09:19 PM

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Aug 3 2010, 11:39 AM)
Would be interesting to find out whether it supports :

1) 1280*720 RMVB - most RMVB players in the market only supports 800*600

2) Decoding DTS in MKV files
yeah .....support Mkv & M2ts Blu-ray File

Added on April 11, 2011, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(fenture @ Oct 3 2010, 11:02 AM)
you can connect it to ur pc as an external hdd.  but, you cannot copy over the network.

no usb wifi dongle.  wanna buy over my unit?   laugh.gif
Try here :
Favourite It Solution
2.103, 2nd Floor The Summit USJ
Persiaran Kewajipan Usj 1 47600 UEP Subang Jaya Selangor.
can contact this guy alwin +6 012-567 2268

Added on April 11, 2011, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(skydevils @ Aug 24 2010, 02:36 PM)
does it support like Bluray origin file M2TS or REMUX file?
as im downloading Transformer 2 over 40GB can running ?
Yeah, i have tested with many m2ts movie ....running great !

This post has been edited by alwin cSk: Apr 11 2011, 09:23 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0201sec    1.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:25 AM